Response to Arguments
The applicant’s drawings submitted on 06/10/2026 resolve the objection presented in the previous office action of record and said objection is accordingly withdrawn.
The new title submitted by the applicant is sufficiently descriptive, and accordingly, the objection presented in the previous office action of record is withdrawn.
Additionally, the applicant’s amendments have resolved the issues of indefiniteness presented in the previous office action of record, and they are accordingly withdrawn.
Additionally, in regards to the limitation which requires that the wiring is provided at the connection portion and passes through a region not overlapping with the control board from the region overlapping with the control board, and extends to the region overlapping with the control board again, the applicant asserts that Dawley fails to disclose or teach said structure. This argument has been fully considered but is not persuasive. Here, this limitation is disclosed by Dawley in the alternative embodiment shown in their figure 4B, which the rejection below is modified to rely upon.
Here, it is noted that this limitation does not provide any requirement for the direction from which the wiring and control board should be viewed from to determine the state of overlapping. Accordingly, where any two components overlap when all possible axes and viewpoints are considered, a consistent single axis must be used to determine the state of overlapping for the purpose of this limitation.
Here, we look to Dawley’s figures 4B (Paragraph 0045, “FIGS. 4A and 4B correspond to the relative positioning of the flex circuit 18 and PCB 16 as shown in FIGS. 11C and 11B, respectively.”) which show an upside-down representation of the board assembly (See Paragraph 0044), which depict the flexible printed board being molded over the control board. Here, looking from a side axis, the wiring extends from a position where it overlaps with the side of the control board, extending to a region above the control board, where it no longer overlaps from the view point of the side axis, and then extends again to the other busbar, moving past the control board such that it again overlaps from a side axis point of view. Accordingly, this is structure where the wiring passes through a region not overlapping with the control board from the region overlapping with the control board, and extends to the region overlapping with the control board again. Additionally, where Dawley’s flexible printed circuit 18 is in contact with the control board 16, the wiring is therefore provided at the connection portion.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 06/10/2026. These drawings are accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, and 10-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dawley (US 20200274204 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Dawley discloses a battery module comprising a plurality of battery cells 24 arranged in a first direction, shown in figure 1, as well as a plate member 35 provided on a first side of the plurality of battery cells, also depicted in figure 1. Here, the first side is the top side of the battery cells. Additionally, Dawley discloses a flexible printed board 18 and control board 16 each provided on the plate member (Paragraph 0026, “the ICB assembly 14 of FIG. 1 includes a printed circuit board assembly (“PCBA”) 140, the integral components of which include a printed circuit board (“PCB”) 16 and a flexible printed circuit (“flex-circuit”) (FLX) 18.”).
Additionally, the flexible printed board 18 has a wiring electrically connected to the control board 16 (Paragraph 0026, “joining the cell-monitoring PCB 16 to the flex circuit 18.”). Additionally, at least a portion of the wiring of the flexible printed board is located between the control board and at least one of the battery cells at a region overlapping with the control board when viewed from the first side. Here, a view from the first side is a view from the top face of the plurality of batteries as shown in figure 1, positioned internally within the battery module.
Here, looking to the embodiment shown in figure 4B, which depicts an upside down view of the board assembly 14, where the batteries are therefore located above the busbars 30, at least a portion of the wiring of the flexible printed board 18 is located diaconally between the control board 16 and at least one of the plurality of battery cells. Additionally, where the wiring of the flexible printed circuit board 18 is located above the control board 18, it is therefore located at a region overlapping with the control board when viewed from the first side (in this case the direction from above).
Additionally, Dawley discloses structure where the control board 16 has a connector portion and the flexible printed board 18 has a connection portion (Paragraph 0026, “The PCB 16 and flex circuit 18 are integrally formed or constructed, such as by using a reflow surface-mounted technology (SMT)-based soldering process or other suitable fabrication process as set forth herein.”), shown in figure 4B, which depicts the control board 16 connecting to the flexible printed board 18. Additionally, Dawley discloses that they are electrically connected to each other when the connector portion and connection portion are connected through being soldered together (Paragraph 0031, “The adjacent PCB 16 and flex circuit 18 may be subjected to the above-noted reflow SMT soldering process, with optional variations thereof described below with reference to FIGS.”).
Additionally, in regards to the limitation which requires that the wiring is provided at the connection portion and passes through a region not overlapping with the control board from the region overlapping with the control board, and extends to the region overlapping with the control board again, Dawley discloses said structure. Here, where Dawley’s flexible printed circuit 18 is in contact with the control board 16, the wiring is provided at the connection portion.
Here, it is noted that this limitation does not provide any requirement for the direction from which the wiring and control board should be viewed from to determine the state of overlapping. Accordingly, where any two components overlap when all possible axes and viewpoints are considered, a consistent single axis must be used to determine the state of overlapping for the purpose of this limitation.
Here, we look to Dawley’s figures 4B (Paragraph 0045, “FIGS. 4A and 4B correspond to the relative positioning of the flex circuit 18 and PCB 16 as shown in FIGS. 11C and 11B, respectively.”) which show an upside-down representation of the board assembly (Paragraph 0044), which depict the flexible printed board being molded over the control board. Here, looking from a side axis, the wiring extends from a position where it overlaps with the side of the control board, extending to a region above the control board, where it no longer overlaps from the view point of the side axis, and then extends again to the other busbar, moving past the control board such that it again overlaps from a side axis point of view. Accordingly, this is structure where the wiring passes through a region not overlapping with the control board from the region overlapping with the control board, and extends to the region overlapping with the control board again.
Regarding Claim 2, Dawley anticipates the invention of Claim 1. Additionally, Dawley discloses structure wherein at least the portion of the wiring of the flexible printed board 18 is located between the control board 16 and the plate member. Here, shown in figure 4B, the wiring portion of the flexible printed circuit board 18 is located to the side of the control board 16, between the control board 16 and the outermost portion of the plate member, here component 128.
Additionally, the wiring portion, in extending from the contact point with the control board is therefore located at the region overlapping with the control board when viewed from the first side, which as discussed above from the top of figure 4B, where figure 4B depicts an upside down view of the board assembly.
Regarding Claim 3, Dawley anticipates the invention of Claim 1. Additionally, Dawley discloses structure where the plate member has a protruding portion that positions the flexible printed board 18, as shown in figure 3A, where the flexible printed board 18 is positioned on a protrusion of the plate member.
Regarding Claim 4, Dawley anticipates the invention of Claim 1. Additionally, Dawley discloses structure wherein at least the portion of the wiring of the flexible printed board 18 is located between the control board 16 and the plate member. Here, shown in figure 4B, the wiring portion of the flexible printed circuit board 18 is located to the side of the control board 16, between the control board 16 and the outermost portion of the plate member, here component 128.
Additionally, the wiring portion, in extending from the contact point with the control board is therefore located at the region overlapping with the control board when viewed from the first side, which as discussed above from the top of figure 4B, where figure 4B depicts an upside down view of the board assembly.
Additionally, Dawley discloses structure where the plate member has a protruding portion that positions the flexible printed board 18, as shown in figure 4B, where the protrusions of the plate member position the control board 16, and the flexible printed board 18 which rests on top of the control board.
Regarding Claim 6, Dawley anticipates the invention of Claim 1. Additionally, in regards to the limitation of the instant claim which requires that in a state in which the connection portion is not connected to the connector portion, at least a portion of the connection portion is located between the portion of the control board and at least one of the plurality of battery cells when viewed from the first side, this limitation, in requiring that the connection portion is not connected to the connection portion, is
Here, based on the depictions shown in Dawley’s figures 3A and 4B, the flexible printed board 18 can connect to either a top side or a bottom side of the control board 16. Accordingly, both the top side and bottom side of the control board 16 can be considered to be parts of the connection portion. Accordingly, the connection portion surrounds the control board 16, and at least a portion of the connection portion is located between a portion of the control board and at least one of the plurality of battery cells when viewed from the first side, based on the portioning of the batteries above the control board 16 in figure 4B, where the first side is the top side of the battery cells.
Additionally, where the limitation states requires that “in a state in which the connection portion is not connected to the connector portion”, the limitation does not positively recite that this state is present and therefore requires that the condition of the claim to be met if the state would be present. Accordingly, where as discussed above Dawley discloses structure where the connection portion is located between a portion of the control board and at least one of the plurality of battery cells when viewed from the first side, this condition is always met, and would therefore continue to be met if the state of the claim were present.
Regarding Claim 10, Dawley anticipates the invention of Claim 1. Additionally, Dawley discloses structure wherein the flexible printed board has a film layer, and a conductor portion formed on the film layer and forming the wiring, as shown in figure 10, which depicts the flexible printed board 18. Here, the flexible printed board has a film layer 38 (Paragraph 0033, “The substrate 18S may be coated with an electrically-insulating layer 38, e.g., polyethylene naphthalate (PEN), polyethylene terephthalate (PET), polyimide (PI), etc. An adhesive binder layer 47 such as epoxy may be used to adhere the substrate 18S to the insulating layer 38, or the insulating layer 38 may be self-adhering.”) and a conductor portion 18S formed on the film layer and forming the wiring (Paragraph 0032, “The flex circuit 18 in its various embodiments is constructed of a thin substrate 18S of conductive material, e.g., metal foil.”).
Regarding Claim 11, Dawley anticipates the invention of Claim 1. Additionally, Dawley discloses structure wherein at least the portion of the wiring of the flexible printed board 18 is located between the control board 16 and the plate member. Here, shown in figure 4B, the wiring portion of the flexible printed circuit board 18 is located to the side of the control board 16, between the control board 16 and the outermost portion of the plate member, here component 128.
Additionally, the wiring portion, in extending from the contact point with the control board is therefore located at the region overlapping with the control board when viewed from the first side, which as discussed above from the top of figure 4B, where figure 4B depicts an upside down view of the board assembly.
Additionally, Dawley discloses structure where the plate member has a protruding portion that positions the flexible printed board 18, as shown in figure 4B, where the protrusions of the plate member position the control board 16, and the flexible printed board 18 which rests on top of the control board.
Additionally, Dawley discloses structure wherein the flexible printed board has a film layer, and a conductor portion formed on the film layer and forming the wiring, as shown in figure 10, which depicts the flexible printed board 18. Here, the flexible printed board has a film layer 38 (Paragraph 0033, “The substrate 18S may be coated with an electrically-insulating layer 38, e.g., polyethylene naphthalate (PEN), polyethylene terephthalate (PET), polyimide (PI), etc. An adhesive binder layer 47 such as epoxy may be used to adhere the substrate 18S to the insulating layer 38, or the insulating layer 38 may be self-adhering.”) and a conductor portion 18S formed on the film layer and forming the wiring (Paragraph 0032, “The flex circuit 18 in its various embodiments is constructed of a thin substrate 18S of conductive material, e.g., metal foil.”).
Regarding Claim 12, Dawley anticipates the invention of Claim 1. Additionally, Dawley discloses structure where the wiring 18S includes a first portion that is located at the region overlapping with the control board when viewed from the first side, when viewed from the first side as shown in figure 4B, as well as a second portion 22 which is contiguous to the first portion and that is located at a region exposed from the control board when viewed from the first side (Paragraph 0030, “The flex circuit 18 depicted in FIG. 2 defines a plurality of radial tabs which are spaced around its periphery. Such radial tabs, which are referred to hereinafter and in the general art as “flying leads” 22,”). Here, the second portion are located on a left side of the control board as shown in figure 3. Additionally, Dawley discloses a third portion which is the leads lower section of the insulating layer 38, located on a side opposite to the first portion which is on the top of the flexible printed board. Here it is contiguously connected to the second portion as shown in figures 3A and 10. Additionally, as shown in figure 4B, based on the position of the third portion, the third portion is located at the region overlapping with the control board when viewed from the first side.
Regarding Claim 13, Dawley anticipates the invention of Claim 1. Additionally, Dawley discloses structure wherein at least the portion of the wiring of the flexible printed board 18 is located between the control board 16 and the plate member. Here, shown in figure 4B, the wiring portion of the flexible printed circuit board 18 is located to the side of the control board 16, between the control board 16 and the outermost portion of the plate member, here component 128.
Additionally, the wiring portion, in extending from the contact point with the control board is therefore located at the region overlapping with the control board when viewed from the first side, which as discussed above from the top of figure 4B, where figure 4B depicts an upside down view of the board assembly.
Additionally, Dawley discloses structure where the plate member has a protruding portion that positions the flexible printed board 18, as shown in figure 4B, where the protrusions of the plate member position the control board 16, and the flexible printed board 18 which rests on top of the control board.
Additionally, Dawley discloses structure wherein the flexible printed board has a film layer, and a conductor portion formed on the film layer and forming the wiring, as shown in figure 10, which depicts the flexible printed board 18. Here, the flexible printed board has a film layer 38 (Paragraph 0033, “The substrate 18S may be coated with an electrically-insulating layer 38, e.g., polyethylene naphthalate (PEN), polyethylene terephthalate (PET), polyimide (PI), etc. An adhesive binder layer 47 such as epoxy may be used to adhere the substrate 18S to the insulating layer 38, or the insulating layer 38 may be self-adhering.”) and a conductor portion 18S formed on the film layer and forming the wiring (Paragraph 0032, “The flex circuit 18 in its various embodiments is constructed of a thin substrate 18S of conductive material, e.g., metal foil.”).
Additionally, Dawley discloses structure wherein the flexible printed board has a film layer, and a conductor portion formed on the film layer and forming the wiring, as shown in figure 10, which depicts the flexible printed board 18. Here, the flexible printed board has a film layer 38 (Paragraph 0033, “The substrate 18S may be coated with an electrically-insulating layer 38, e.g., polyethylene naphthalate (PEN), polyethylene terephthalate (PET), polyimide (PI), etc. An adhesive binder layer 47 such as epoxy may be used to adhere the substrate 18S to the insulating layer 38, or the insulating layer 38 may be self-adhering.”) and a conductor portion 18S formed on the film layer and forming the wiring (Paragraph 0032, “The flex circuit 18 in its various embodiments is constructed of a thin substrate 18S of conductive material, e.g., metal foil.”).
Additionally, Dawley discloses structure where the wiring 18S includes a first portion that is located at the region overlapping with the control board when viewed from the first side, when viewed from the first side as shown in figure 4B, as well as a second portion 22 which is contiguous to the first portion and that is located at a region exposed from the control board when viewed from the first side (Paragraph 0030, “The flex circuit 18 depicted in FIG. 2 defines a plurality of radial tabs which are spaced around its periphery. Such radial tabs, which are referred to hereinafter and in the general art as “flying leads” 22,”). Here, the second portion are located on a left side of the control board as shown in figure 3. Additionally, Dawley discloses a third portion which is the leads lower section of the insulating layer 38, located on a side opposite to the first portion which is on the top of the flexible printed board. Here it is contiguously connected to the second portion as shown in figures 4B and 10. Additionally, as shown in figure 3A, based on the position of the third portion, the third portion is located at the region overlapping with the control board when viewed from the first side.
Regarding Claim 14, Dawley anticipates the invention of Claim 1. Additionally, Dawley discloses structure where the wiring includes a voltage detection line and a temperature detection line (Paragraph 0032, “The flex circuit 18 is configured to transfer measured voltage and/or temperature signals from individual cell electrode terminals 26 of the battery cells 24, both shown in FIG. 1.”).
Regarding Claim 15, Dawley anticipates the invention of Claim 1. Additionally, Dawley discloses structure wherein at least the portion of the wiring of the flexible printed board 18 is located between the control board 16 and the plate member. Here, shown in figure 4B, the wiring portion of the flexible printed circuit board 18 is located to the side of the control board 16, between the control board 16 and the outermost portion of the plate member, here component 128.
Additionally, the wiring portion, in extending from the contact point with the control board is therefore located at the region overlapping with the control board when viewed from the first side, which as discussed above from the top of figure 4B, where figure 4B depicts an upside down view of the board assembly.
Additionally, Dawley discloses structure where the plate member has a protruding portion that positions the flexible printed board 18, as shown in figure 4B, where the protrusions of the plate member position the control board 16, and the flexible printed board 18 which rests on top of the control board.
Additionally, Dawley discloses structure wherein the flexible printed board has a film layer, and a conductor portion formed on the film layer and forming the wiring, as shown in figure 10, which depicts the flexible printed board 18. Here, the flexible printed board has a film layer 38 (Paragraph 0033, “The substrate 18S may be coated with an electrically-insulating layer 38, e.g., polyethylene naphthalate (PEN), polyethylene terephthalate (PET), polyimide (PI), etc. An adhesive binder layer 47 such as epoxy may be used to adhere the substrate 18S to the insulating layer 38, or the insulating layer 38 may be self-adhering.”) and a conductor portion 18S formed on the film layer and forming the wiring (Paragraph 0032, “The flex circuit 18 in its various embodiments is constructed of a thin substrate 18S of conductive material, e.g., metal foil.”).
Additionally, Dawley discloses structure wherein the flexible printed board has a film layer, and a conductor portion formed on the film layer and forming the wiring, as shown in figure 10, which depicts the flexible printed board 18. Here, the flexible printed board has a film layer 38 (Paragraph 0033, “The substrate 18S may be coated with an electrically-insulating layer 38, e.g., polyethylene naphthalate (PEN), polyethylene terephthalate (PET), polyimide (PI), etc. An adhesive binder layer 47 such as epoxy may be used to adhere the substrate 18S to the insulating layer 38, or the insulating layer 38 may be self-adhering.”) and a conductor portion 18S formed on the film layer and forming the wiring (Paragraph 0032, “The flex circuit 18 in its various embodiments is constructed of a thin substrate 18S of conductive material, e.g., metal foil.”).
Additionally, Dawley discloses structure where the wiring 18S includes a first portion that is located at the region overlapping with the control board when viewed from the first side, when viewed from the first side as shown in figure 4B, as well as a second portion 22 which is contiguous to the first portion and that is located at a region exposed from the control board when viewed from the first side (Paragraph 0030, “The flex circuit 18 depicted in FIG. 2 defines a plurality of radial tabs which are spaced around its periphery. Such radial tabs, which are referred to hereinafter and in the general art as “flying leads” 22,”). Here, the second portion are located on a left side of the control board as shown in figure 3. Additionally, Dawley discloses a third portion which is the leads lower section of the insulating layer 38, located on a side opposite to the first portion which is on the top of the flexible printed board. Here it is contiguously connected to the second portion as shown in figures 4B and 10. Additionally, as shown in figure 3A, based on the position of the third portion, the third portion is located at the region overlapping with the control board when viewed from the first side.
Additionally, Dawley discloses structure where the wiring includes a voltage detection line and a temperature detection line (Paragraph 0032, “The flex circuit 18 is configured to transfer measured voltage and/or temperature signals from individual cell electrode terminals 26 of the battery cells 24, both shown in FIG. 1.”).
Regarding Claim 16, Dawley anticipates the invention of Claim 1. Additionally, Dawley discloses structure where the control board has a fastening portion with which the flexible printed board is fastened, which are the soldering portions of the control board which connect to the soldering portions 36 of the flexible printed board, fastening them together (Paragraph 0005, “One approach for ensuring the requisite integration of the PCB and flex circuit is the use of a reflow surface-mounted technology (SMT) soldering process. The reflow process may be selective in nature, e.g., through local application of heat, as in an example “hot bar” soldering.”; Paragraph 0032, “the flex circuit 18 is shown in schematic cross-sectional view in proximity to a discrete solder pad or landing 36.”).
Regarding Claim 17, Dawley anticipates the invention of Claim 16. Additionally Dawley discloses structure wherein the flexible printed board 18 has an avoidance portion that avoids the fastening portion, as shown in figure 10, where the top portions of the insulating layer 38 avoid the fastening portion 36 through not being in direct contact, as shown in figure 10.
Regarding Claim 18, Dawley anticipates the invention of Claim 1. Additionally, Dawley discloses structure wherein at least the portion of the wiring of the flexible printed board 18 is located between the control board 16 and the plate member. Here, shown in figure 4B, the wiring portion of the flexible printed circuit board 18 is located to the side of the control board 16, between the control board 16 and the outermost portion of the plate member, here component 128.
Additionally, the wiring portion, in extending from the contact point with the control board is therefore located at the region overlapping with the control board when viewed from the first side, which as discussed above from the top of figure 4B, where figure 4B depicts an upside down view of the board assembly.
Additionally, Dawley discloses structure where the plate member has a protruding portion that positions the flexible printed board 18, as shown in figure 4B, where the protrusions of the plate member position the control board 16, and the flexible printed board 18 which rests on top of the control board.
Additionally, Dawley discloses structure wherein the flexible printed board has a film layer, and a conductor portion formed on the film layer and forming the wiring, as shown in figure 10, which depicts the flexible printed board 18. Here, the flexible printed board has a film layer 38 (Paragraph 0033, “The substrate 18S may be coated with an electrically-insulating layer 38, e.g., polyethylene naphthalate (PEN), polyethylene terephthalate (PET), polyimide (PI), etc. An adhesive binder layer 47 such as epoxy may be used to adhere the substrate 18S to the insulating layer 38, or the insulating layer 38 may be self-adhering.”) and a conductor portion 18S formed on the film layer and forming the wiring (Paragraph 0032, “The flex circuit 18 in its various embodiments is constructed of a thin substrate 18S of conductive material, e.g., metal foil.”).
Additionally, Dawley discloses structure wherein the flexible printed board has a film layer, and a conductor portion formed on the film layer and forming the wiring, as shown in figure 10, which depicts the flexible printed board 18. Here, the flexible printed board has a film layer 38 (Paragraph 0033, “The substrate 18S may be coated with an electrically-insulating layer 38, e.g., polyethylene naphthalate (PEN), polyethylene terephthalate (PET), polyimide (PI), etc. An adhesive binder layer 47 such as epoxy may be used to adhere the substrate 18S to the insulating layer 38, or the insulating layer 38 may be self-adhering.”) and a conductor portion 18S formed on the film layer and forming the wiring (Paragraph 0032, “The flex circuit 18 in its various embodiments is constructed of a thin substrate 18S of conductive material, e.g., metal foil.”).
Additionally, Dawley discloses structure where the wiring 18S includes a first portion that is located at the region overlapping with the control board when viewed from the first side, when viewed from the first side as shown in figure 4B, as well as a second portion 22 which is contiguous to the first portion and that is located at a region exposed from the control board when viewed from the first side (Paragraph 0030, “The flex circuit 18 depicted in FIG. 2 defines a plurality of radial tabs which are spaced around its periphery. Such radial tabs, which are referred to hereinafter and in the general art as “flying leads” 22,”). Here, the second portion are located on a left side of the control board as shown in figure 3. Additionally, Dawley discloses a third portion which is the leads lower section of the insulating layer 38, located on a side opposite to the first portion which is on the top of the flexible printed board. Here it is contiguously connected to the second portion as shown in figures 4B and 10. Additionally, as shown in figure 3A, based on the position of the third portion, the third portion is located at the region overlapping with the control board when viewed from the first side.
Additionally, Dawley discloses structure where the wiring includes a voltage detection line and a temperature detection line (Paragraph 0032, “The flex circuit 18 is configured to transfer measured voltage and/or temperature signals from individual cell electrode terminals 26 of the battery cells 24, both shown in FIG. 1.”).
Additionally, Dawley discloses structure where the control board has a fastening portion with which the flexible printed board is fastened, which are the soldering portions of the control board which connect to the soldering portions 36 of the flexible printed board, fastening them together (Paragraph 0005, “One approach for ensuring the requisite integration of the PCB and flex circuit is the use of a reflow surface-mounted technology (SMT) soldering process. The reflow process may be selective in nature, e.g., through local application of heat, as in an example “hot bar” soldering.”; Paragraph 0032, “the flex circuit 18 is shown in schematic cross-sectional view in proximity to a discrete solder pad or landing 36.”).
Additionally Dawley discloses structure wherein the flexible printed board 18 has an avoidance portion that avoids the fastening portion, as shown in figure 10, where the top portions of the insulating layer 38 avoid the fastening portion 36 through not being in direct contact, as shown in figure 10.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.W.E./Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/BASIA A RIDLEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725