Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-7 and 15-20 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 01/22/2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 8-14 in the reply filed on 01/22/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 8, the recitation of the claim renders the claim indefinite because the preamble of the claim is to an apparatus for an apparatus configured to remove flexible material from rotating equipment; and the body of the claim does not clear about how the apparatus is configured remove flexible material.
Regarding claim 8, in line 3 the phrase “within a frame” render the claim indefinite because it is unclear which element having “a frame”;
Further, the phrase “within a frame” render the claim indefinite because the examiner notes “based upon the Applicant’s specification” that the frame is part of the rotating equipment; and a rotating equipment is recited in the preamble of the claim, however the claim appears to be drawn to an apparatus configured to remove flexible material as set forth in line 2. Therefore, the recitation of "a frame" in the body of the claim renders the claim unclear because it is unclear if the scope of the claim is to a rotating equipment including a frame and an apparatus configured to remove flexible material from rotating equipment or merely an apparatus configured to remove flexible material. The frame does not appear to be positively recited in the body of the claim.
Claims 9-14 are rejected because they depend from claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 8 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vantrease (US20130175379A1).
Regarding claim 8, Vantrease discloses an apparatus configured to remove flexible material from rotating equipment (abstract; paragraphs 0002-0003 and 0033-0035), the apparatus comprising:
a roller assembly (figs.13-15: (175)) positioned within a frame (fig.12: (112)) (paragraphs 0041-0045);
at least one first shearing element ((figs.13-15: the shearing scissor roll (175))) extending radially from the roller assembly; and
at least one second shearing element (figs.13-15: (154)) secured to the frame and configured to contact the at least one first shearing element extending radially from the roller assembly (figs.2 and 13-15).
Regarding claim 13, Vantrease discloses wherein the roller comprises at least two shredder disks (fig.15) extending radially from the roller and a roller spacer (fig.15: (192)) defining a space between the at least two disks (paragraph 0045).
Regarding claim 14, Vantrease discloses wherein the at least one first shearing element and the at least one second shearing element are axially aligned with the roller spacer between the at least two shredder disks (paragraph 0045 and fig.2).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Davis (US4173177A).
Regarding claim 8, Davis discloses an apparatus configured to remove flexible material (intended use) from rotating equipment (abstract; col.2 last 15 lines-col.4), the apparatus comprising:
a roller assembly (fig.2: (26)) positioned within a frame (fig.2: the frame of the element (2));
at least one first shearing element (fig.2: (36)) extending radially from the roller assembly; and
at least one second shearing element (fig.3: (40)) secured to the frame and configured to contact the at least one first shearing element extending radially from the roller assembly (figs.3 and 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Davis (US4173177A).
Regarding claim 9, Davis does not disclose wherein the at least one second shearing element is configured to rotate relative to the frame between an engaged position and a disengaged position;
However, Davis discloses wherein the at least one second shearing element is configured to move relative to the frame between an engaged position and a disengaged position (col.3 lines last 27 lines);
It appears both of the configuration of the Applicant disclosure and the prior art of Davis lead to the same result of having the at least one second shearing element has an engaged position and a disengaged position;
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to substitute the engaged-disengaged means of Davis by any engaged-disengaged means, including wherein the at least one second shearing element is configured to rotate relative to the frame between an engaged position and a disengaged position in order to control the position of the scarper blade with respect to the roller (Davis: col.3 lines last 27 lines). MPEP 2144.06.
Regarding claim 10, Davis discloses wherein the at least one second shearing element is configured to contact with the at least one first shearing element in the engaged position (col.3 lines last 27 lines).
Regarding claim 11, Davis discloses wherein the at least one second shearing element is configured to define a space between the at least one first shearing element and the at least one second shearing element in the disengaged position (col.3 lines last 27 lines).
Regarding claim 12, Davis discloses a movement mechanism (fig.3: (46)) configured to move the at least one second shearing element between the engaged position and the disengaged position (col.3 lines last 27 lines).
Conclusion
/MOHAMMED S. ALAWADI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725