DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claim(s) 14, 16, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wong (US 5,918,338) in view of Cheskin (US 2007/0033834), and in further view of Issler (US 2018/0352901).
Regarding Claim 14, Wong discloses a shoe comprising: a shoe sole member (4) that comprises a front member (7,11) arranged on a front side of the shoe and a rear member (12) arranged on a rear side of the shoe: a first interlocking member (6) that interlocks the front member and the rear member (Col.2, line 66-Col.3, line 2; as seen in Fig.1 & 2); and a second interlocking member (3) that interlocks the front member and the rear member (as seen in Fig.1); wherein the second interlocking member comprises an insole (Col.1, line 67). Wong does not disclose the insole has a metatarsus portion projectedly curved upward in an arch shape, a rigidity of a central part of the metatarsus portion extending in the front-rear direction is higher than a rigidity of left and right side portions in the width direction of the metatarsus portion, when the insole is viewed from above, the insole has a non-stretchable reinforcing sheet along a lower surface of the insole or along an upper surface of the insole, and when the insole is viewed from above, the non-stretchable reinforcing sheet is arranged in the central part of the metatarsus portion and is not arranged on the left and right side portions in the width direction of the metatarsus portion. However, Cheskin teaches an insole (20) having a metatarsus portion (i.e. metatarsal region of 20 containing 80A-80E) projectedly curved upward in an arch shape (38)(as seen in Fig.5 & 9), a rigidity of a central part of the metatarsus portion (i.e. 80A-80E containing 24) extending in the front-rear direction is higher than a rigidity of left and right side portions in the width direction of the metatarsus portion (see annotated Figure below), when the insole is viewed from above (as seen in Fig.5 & 11), the insole has a non-stretchable reinforcing sheet (24) along a lower surface of the insole or along an upper surface of the insole (as seen in Fig.1), and when the insole is viewed from above (as seen in Fig.5 & 11), the non-stretchable reinforcing sheet (24) is arranged in the central part of the metatarsus portion (i.e. 80A-80E containing 24) and is not arranged on the left and right side portions in the width direction of the metatarsus portion (see annotated Figure below).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the insole of Wong to have a metatarsus portion projectedly curved upward in an arch shape and a non-stretchable reinforcing sheet arranged in the central part of the metatarsus portion and not arranged on the left and right side portions in the width direction of the metatarsus portion, as taught by Cheskin, in order to provide an insole that has enhanced cushioning and controls foot motion.
Wong and Cheskin disclose the invention substantially as claimed above. Wong does not disclose the insole has a symmetrical shape relative to a centerline passing through a center of the insole and extending in a front-rear direction, when the insole is viewed from above. However, Issler teaches an insole (1000/1500/1607) having a symmetrical shape relative to a centerline (1250) passing through a center of the insole in a width direction of the insole and extending in a front-rear direction, when the insole is viewed from above (para.80, 82 & 85; as seen in Fig.1D & 1G).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the insole of Wong to be symmetrical, as taught by Issler, in order to provide an insole that provides symmetrical support to the user’s foot, while also allowing the insole to flipped as needed.
Regarding Claim 16, Modified Wong discloses a shoe according to claim 14, wherein the insole is configured such that, when a load is applied to one side (i.e. lateral side) in the width direction of the metatarsus portion from above, the opposite side of the insole (i.e. medial side) protrudes upward (Cheskin: as seen in Fig.4, 6, 9 & 10).
Regarding Claim 20, Wong discloses a shoe comprising: a shoe sole member (4) that comprises a front member (7,11) arranged on a front side of the shoe and a rear member (12) arranged on a rear side of the shoe: a first interlocking member (6) that interlocks the front member and the rear member (Col.2, line 66-Col.3, line 2; as seen in Fig.1 & 2); and a second interlocking member (3) that interlocks the front member and the rear member (as seen in Fig.1); wherein the second interlocking member comprises an insole (Col.1, line 67), an entirety of the second interlocking member (3) is separate from the first interlocking member (6) with a space therebetween (i.e. the space that contains 5)(as seen in Fig.1). Wong does not disclose the insole has a metatarsus portion projectedly curved upward in an arch shape; a rigidity of a central part of the metatarsus portion extending in the front-rear direction is higher than a rigidity of left and right side portions in the width direction of the metatarsus portion, when the insole is viewed from above, the insole has a non-stretchable reinforcing sheet along a lower surface of the insole or along an upper surface of the insole, and when the insole is viewed from above, the non-stretchable reinforcing sheet is arranged in the central part of the metatarsus portion and is not arranged on the left and right side portions in the width direction of the metatarsus portion. However, Cheskin teaches an insole (20) having a metatarsus portion (i.e. metatarsal region of 20 containing 80A-80E) projectedly curved upward in an arch shape (38)(as seen in Fig.5 & 9), a rigidity of a central part of the metatarsus portion (i.e. 80A-80E containing 24) extending in the front-rear direction is higher than a rigidity of left and right side portions in the width direction of the metatarsus portion (see annotated Figure above), when the insole is viewed from above (as seen in Fig.5 & 11), the insole has a non-stretchable reinforcing sheet (24) along a lower surface of the insole or along an upper surface of the insole (as seen in Fig.1), and when the insole is viewed from above (as seen in Fig.5 & 11), the non-stretchable reinforcing sheet (24) is arranged in the central part of the metatarsus portion (i.e. 80A-80E containing 24) and is not arranged on the left and right side portions in the width direction of the metatarsus portion (see annotated Figure above).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the insole of Wong to have a metatarsus portion projectedly curved upward in an arch shape and a non-stretchable reinforcing sheet arranged in the central part of the metatarsus portion and not arranged on the left and right side portions in the width direction of the metatarsus portion, as taught by Cheskin, in order to provide an insole that has enhanced cushioning and controls foot motion.
Wong and Cheskin disclose the invention substantially as claimed above. Wong does not disclose the insole has a symmetrical shape relative to a centerline passing through a center of the insole and extending in a front-rear direction, when the insole is viewed from above. However, Issler teaches an insole (1000/1500/1607) having a symmetrical shape relative to a centerline (1250) passing through a center of the insole in a width direction of the insole and extending in a front-rear direction, when the insole is viewed from above (para.80, 82 & 85; as seen in Fig.1D & 1G).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the insole of Wong to be symmetrical, as taught by Issler, in order to provide an insole that provides symmetrical support to the user’s foot, while also allowing the insole to flipped as needed.
Response to Arguments
In view of Applicant's amendment, the search has been updated, and new prior art has been identified and applied. Applicant's arguments have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/MEGAN E LYNCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732