DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 02/10/2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 9, 11-12, and 15-16 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 9, 11-12, and 15-16 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, filed 02/10/2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-2 and 17 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 is made in view of Shamban et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2023/0414963 A1) in view of Chau (U.S. Pat. No. 10,525,277 B1) and Dae (KR 2021/0058362 A).
Applicant's arguments, filed 02/10/2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant contends that “Chau merely discloses that radio frequency electrodes 206 may be configured to generate radio frequency waves, however, the radio frequency electrodes 206 of Chau fundamentally differs from the third electrodes of the present application. In Chau, the radio frequency electrodes 206 are not combined with other electrodes to generate microcurrents,” that “Chau also fails to disclose the radio frequency electrodes 206 to be triangularly distributed as a whole, or Chau also fails to disclose the electrodes 206, first electrodes 204A, and the second electrodes 204B to be triangularly distributed as a whole,” and that “the two second electrodes 204B are not respectively located on two sides of the two radio frequency electrodes 206.” Examiner respectfully disagrees.
In response to Applicant’s argument that “Chau fundamentally differs from the third electrodes of the present application,” Examiner takes the position that Chau does not fundamentally differ since, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, either generation of a microcurrent or a radio frequency current must be taught since an “or” statement is utilized in the claim language. Applicant’s claim limitation in amended claim 1, which is incorporated from previously dependent claim 4, states that “the third electrodes further comprise group-B electrodes configured to independently generate a microcurrent or a radio frequency current.” Additionally, Examiner notes that Shamban teaches generation of a microcurrent or a radio frequency current by third electrodes (See Shamban ¶[0002], where “Electro-muscular stimulation (EMS) utilizes microcurrent electrical impulses to stimulate nerves,” ¶[0003], where “Radiofrequency (RF) therapy uses low energy radiation to heat the deep layer of the skin called the dermis,” ¶[0032], where “the first pair of electrodes 270, 273 may provide RF therapy treatment and the second pair of electrodes 271, 272 provide EMS therapy treatment. In certain cases, an RF therapy treatment may include application of RF energy at higher relative voltages and EMS therapy treatment may include application of RF energy at lower relative voltages”), where Chau teaches that the third electrodes comprise group-B electrodes capable of generating radio frequency current.
Regarding Applicant’s argument that “Chau also fails to disclose the radio frequency electrodes 206 to be triangularly distributed as a whole, or Chau also fails to disclose the electrodes 206, first electrodes 204A, and the second electrodes 204B to be triangularly distributed as a whole,” Examiner would like to note that Dae teaches the triangular distribution of electrodes since this claim limitation is incorporated from previously dependent claim 5.
Furthermore, in response to Applicant’s argument that “the two second electrodes 204B are not respectively located on two sides of the two radio frequency electrodes 206,” Examiner takes the position that the Figure 2A of Chau shows the two second electrodes 204B on two sides of the two radio frequency electrodes 206 under the broadest reasonable interpretation since the two second electrodes 204B surround the two radio frequency electrodes 206. Additionally, Examiner notes that this limitation is a feature which is not claimed. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “the two second electrodes 204B are not respectively located on two sides of the two radio frequency electrodes 206”) are not recited in the rejected claims. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant contends that “Dae merely discloses three annular electrodes 21, 22, and 23, but these three annular electrodes 21, 22, and 23 have a sequentially overlapping relationship. The Applicant would like to emphasize that ‘an annular electrode’ and ‘the electrodes are triangularly distributed as a whole’ are two completely different designs. Obviously, Dae also fails to disclose the three annular electrodes 21, 22, and 23 to be triangularly distributed as a whole” and that “Dae fails to disclose two different kinds of annular electrodes 21, 22, and 23, for example, Dae fails to disclose some annular electrodes 21, 22, and 23 at the middle can generate a microcurrent or a radio frequency current, while some annular electrodes 21, 22, and 23 at two sides can generate a microcurrent together with the electrode 270.” Examiner respectfully disagrees.
In response to Applicant’s argument that “Dae merely discloses three annular electrodes 21, 22, and 23, but these three annular electrodes 21, 22, and 23 have a sequentially overlapping relationship. The Applicant would like to emphasize that ‘an annular electrode’ and ‘the electrodes are triangularly distributed as a whole’ are two completely different designs. Obviously, Dae also fails to disclose the three annular electrodes 21, 22, and 23 to be triangularly distributed as a whole,” Examiner takes the position that Applicant does not claim that any specific element is triangular in shape, only claiming a triangular distribution. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, Examiner interprets that “the electrodes are triangularly distributed as a whole” requires any triangular distribution of electrodes such that Dae teaches such a shape in Figure 4. Additionally, Examiner notes that the primary reference, Shamban, teaches other arrangements (See ¶[0034, where “In other embodiments, there may be a different number of LED sources in the LED array 205, arranged in any suitable pattern in the treatment surface 225”), such that it would be obvious to combine Shamban and Dae as other designs are contemplated.
Regarding Applicant’s argument that “Dae fails to disclose two different kinds of annular electrodes 21, 22, and 23, for example, Dae fails to disclose some annular electrodes 21, 22, and 23 at the middle can generate a microcurrent or a radio frequency current, while some annular electrodes 21, 22, and 23 at two sides can generate a microcurrent together with the electrode 270,” Examiner notes that Shamban and Chau teach the claimed microcurrent or radio frequency current as the combination of Shamban with Chau and Dae teaches previously dependent claim 4 which is incorporated into amended claim 1.
Applicant contends that “the shape of the third electrodes as a whole is a significant improvement. Different electrodes of the present application can act on different facial regions, and therefore, the present application designs the shape of the electrodes according on the corresponding facial regions. … However, any one of Shamban, Chau and Dar or any combination of the two fail to disclose different electrodes being designed to action on different facial regions of the face.” Examiner respectfully disagrees.
In response to applicant's argument that “any one of Shamban, Chau and Dar or any combination of the two fail to disclose different electrodes being designed to action on different facial regions of the face,” a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. Here, since the combination of Shamban in view of Chau and Dae teaches the structure as claimed by Applicant, the combination also teaches the intended use being described.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shamban et al. (hereinafter “Shamban”) (U.S. Pub. No. 2023/0414963 A1) in view of Chau (U.S. Pat. No. 10,525,277 B1) and Dae (KR 2021/0058362 A).
Regarding claim 1, Shamban teaches a portable beauty instrument (See Title, Figure 2A, ¶[0003], where “heat stimulates the production of collagen to help improve signs of wrinkles and sagging skin,” ¶[0004], where “LED light therapy is also used in aesthetics, for example, to increase collagen in tissues. All of which can smooth out the skin and reduce the appearance of damage from age spots, acne, wrinkles”), comprising:
a housing (Figure 2B, treatment surface 225, skin treatment device 200, which encloses the components of the device such that it is a housing), comprising an end portion and a side portion that are used for contacting to-be-processed skin (Figure 2B, treatment surface 225, ¶[0031], where “the treatment surface 225 is teardrop shaped, to allow the treatment surface to be positioned by the user on the user's skin as desired.” Examiner interprets that the end portion is the surface of the housing and that the side portion includes the edge of the surface of the housing.); and
electrodes (Figure 2B, electrodes 270, 271, 272, and 273), comprising:
a first electrode (Figure 2B, electrode 270), wherein a part of the first electrode is located in the end portion of the housing, and a remaining part is located in the side portion of the housing (Figure 2B, treatment surface 225, electrode 270, where the electrode is positioned at the outer edge of the housing such that the electrode is located in both the end of the housing as well as the side); and
third electrodes (Figure 2B, electrodes 271 and 272), disposed in the end portion or the side portion of the housing (Figure 2B, electrodes 271 and 272, where the electrodes are positioned at the outer edge of the housing such that the electrodes are located in the end of the housing as well as the side), wherein the third electrodes comprise group-C electrodes (Figure 2B, electrodes 271 and 272), and each of the group-C electrodes and an adjacent first electrode form an electrode pair (Figure 2B, electrodes 270, 271, 272, and 273, ¶[0032], where “A first pair of electrodes 270, 273 serve as an anode-cathode pair for an electrical signal generated by an RF generation system … A second pair of electrodes 271, 272 serve as an anode-cathode pair for an electrical signal generated by another RF generation system.” Examiner takes the position that since each electrode pair has an anode and a cathode that one electrode from the first pair of electrodes and the second pair of electrodes may form an electrode pair.) to generate a microcurrent (¶[0002], where “Electro-muscular stimulation (EMS) utilizes microcurrent electrical impulses to stimulate nerves,” ¶[0032], where “the second pair of electrodes 271, 272 provide EMS therapy treatment”);
wherein the first electrode is an electrode strip extending along an edge of the housing (Figure 2B, electrodes 270 and 273).
Although Shamban teaches third electrodes and that the electrodes that can independently work to generate a microcurrent or a radio frequency current (¶[0002], where “Electro-muscular stimulation (EMS) utilizes microcurrent electrical impulses to stimulate nerves,” ¶[0003], where “Radiofrequency (RF) therapy uses low energy radiation to heat the deep layer of the skin called the dermis,” ¶[0032], where “the first pair of electrodes 270, 273 may provide RF therapy treatment and the second pair of electrodes 271, 272 provide EMS therapy treatment. In certain cases, an RF therapy treatment may include application of RF energy at higher relative voltages and EMS therapy treatment may include application of RF energy at lower relative voltages”), Shamban does not teach that the third electrodes further comprise group-B electrodes configured to independently generate a microcurrent or a radio frequency current, and electrodes in the group-B electrodes are arranged at intervals in a length direction of the first electrode; the third electrodes are triangularly distributed as a whole, and two electrodes in the group-C electrodes are respectively located on two sides of the group-B electrodes.
Chau teaches a skin treatment device with radio frequency electrodes configured to generate radio frequency waves, electrical stimulation electrodes configured to generate electrical impulses and negative ions, and light emitting diodes configured to emit light (Abstract), and further teaches that the third electrodes further comprise group-B electrodes configured to independently generate a microcurrent or a radio frequency current, that electrodes in the group-B electrodes are arranged at intervals in a length direction of the first electrode (Figure 2A, radio frequency (RF) electrodes 206, Col. 3, lines 15-18, where “The radio frequency electrodes 206 are configured to generate radio frequency waves. As shown in FIG. 2A, each of the radio frequency electrodes 206 is elongated and curved”), and that two electrodes in the group-C electrodes (Figure 2A, first electrodes 204A) are respectively located on two sides of the group-B electrodes (Figure 2A, first electrodes 204A, radio frequency electrodes 206).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the above-described teachings of Chau, which teaches the third electrodes further comprise group-B electrodes configured to independently generate a microcurrent or a radio frequency current, that electrodes in the group-B electrodes are arranged at intervals in a length direction of the first electrode, and that two electrodes in the group-C electrodes are respectively located on two sides of the group-B electrodes, with the invention of Shamban so that contact between the skincare electrodes and the user's skin or the treatment effect is improved, such as when the skincare device is moved across an area on the user's skin (Chau Col. 1, lines 41-47).
Although Shamban teaches the third electrodes and the group-C electrodes and Chau teaches the electrodes respective locations, neither Shamban nor Chau teaches that the third electrodes are triangularly distributed as a whole.
Dae teaches a multifunctional skin massager with a high-frequency current generator that generates a high-frequency (RF) current to be applied to the front electrode end and the rear electrode end and a low-frequency current generator that generates a low-frequency (EMS) current to be applied to the front electrode end and the rear electrode end (Abstract), and further teaches that the third electrodes are triangularly distributed as a whole (Figure 4, front electrode end 20, front loop electrodes 21, 22, and 23, Page 4, ¶ 1, where “the front loop electrodes 21, 22, and 23 have a triangular or circular shape as a whole, and massage a relatively narrow part of the face, such as between the cheek and the nose, and the nose”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the above-described teachings of Dae, which teaches that the third electrodes are triangularly distributed as a whole, with the modified invention of Shamban in order to treat a relatively narrow part of the face, such as between the cheek and the nose and the nose (Dae Page 4, ¶ 1).
Regarding claim 2, Shamban in combination with Chau and Dae teaches all limitations of claim 1 as described in the rejection above.
Shamban teaches that the electrodes comprise two first electrodes (Figure 2B, electrodes 270 and 273), the first electrodes are arc-shaped electrode strips extending along an edge of the housing (Figure 2B, electrodes 270 and 273), and that the two first electrodes are respectively located on two opposite sides of the end portion of the housing (Figure 2B, electrodes 270 and 273, where electrodes 270 and 273 are opposite from one another).
Regarding claim 3, Shamban in combination with Chau and Dae teaches all limitations of claim 2 as described in the rejection above.
Shamban teaches that the group-C electrodes comprise two electrodes, the group-C electrodes are disposed in the end portion of the housing (Figure 2B, electrodes 271 and 272), and that each of the first electrodes cooperates with an adjacent electrode in the group-C electrodes to form an electrode pair (Figure 2B, electrodes 270, 271, 272, and 273, ¶[0032], where “A first pair of electrodes 270, 273 serve as an anode-cathode pair for an electrical signal generated by an RF generation system … A second pair of electrodes 271, 272 serve as an anode-cathode pair for an electrical signal generated by another RF generation system.” Examiner takes the position that since each electrode pair has an anode and a cathode that one electrode from the first pair of electrodes and the second pair of electrodes forms an electrode pair.).
Although Shamban teaches the group-C electrodes and the first electrodes, Shamban does not explicitly teach that the group-C electrodes are located between the two first electrodes.
Chau teaches a skin treatment device with radio frequency electrodes configured to generate radio frequency waves, electrical stimulation electrodes configured to generate electrical impulses and negative ions, and light emitting diodes configured to emit light (Abstract), and further teaches that the group-C electrodes are located between the two first electrodes (Figure 2A, translucent cover 208, first electrodes 204A, second electrodes 204B, where the first electrodes are located between the second electrodes).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the above-described teachings of Chau, which teaches that the group-C electrodes are located between the two first electrodes, with the invention of Shamban so that contact between the skincare electrodes and the user's skin or the treatment effect is improved, such as when the skincare device is moved across an area on the user's skin (Chau Col. 1, lines 41-47).
Regarding claim 17, Shamban in combination with Chau and Dae teaches all limitations of claim 1 as described in the rejection above.
Shamban teaches conductive members, connected to at least two of the electrodes and a processing circuit (¶[0032], where “electrodes 270-273 include conductive surfaces grouped into diagonal pairs,” ¶[0025], where “The device 100 also includes a user interface 120 and a treatment surface 125. A processor 130 is communicatively coupled to the user interface 120, the LED system 105, and the RF generation systems 110, 115,” ¶[0032], where “A first pair of electrodes 270, 273 serve as an anode-cathode pair for an electrical signal generated by an RF generation system, for example, inside the device 200. A second pair of electrodes 271, 272 serve as an anode-cathode pair for an electrical signal generated by another RF generation system,” ¶[0039], where “device 200 also has a user interface PCBA 310, which houses the treatment mode selection buttons 260-262, the display 265, or the indicator light 267. The device further includes a main PCBA 315, which houses a processor (e.g., processor 130 of FIG. 1) that receives input from the user interface PCBA 310 and sends commands to the treatment PCBA 305.” Examiner takes the position that since the processor is connected to the RF generation systems which are connected to the electrodes that the processor, equivalent to a processing circuit, is also connected to the electrodes.).
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shamban in view of Chau and Dae as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of a second embodiment of Shamban.
Regarding claim 6, Shamban in combination with Chau and Dae teaches all limitations of claim 1 as described in the rejection above.
Although Shamban teaches the electrodes being disposed in the end portion of the housing (Figure 2B, electrodes 270, 271, 272, and 273) and that the electrode pair can discharge into the skin (¶[0026], where “The RF generation systems 110, 115 are electrically coupled to the treatment surface 125 so that electrical signals generated by the RF generation systems 110, 115 are provided from the treatment surface 125. In some embodiments, the RF generation systems 110, 115 are coupled to electrodes (not shown in FIG. 1) on the treatment surface, such that the electrodes provide the electrical signals generated by the RF generation systems 110, 115 to the user's skin,” ¶[0028], where “a multi-modal skin treatment device 200 is similar to the embodiment of the device 100 discussed above with respect to FIG. 1, and like reference numerals have been used to refer to the same or similar components. A detailed description of these components will be omitted, and the following discussion focuses on the differences between these embodiments. Any of the various features discussed with any one of the embodiments discussed herein may also apply to and be used with any other embodiments”), the referenced embodiment of Shamban does not teach that the electrodes further comprise: second electrodes.
A second embodiment of Shamban teaches that the electrodes further comprise: second electrodes (¶[0033], where “in some embodiments, at least one RF generator may be connected to more than one electrode pair, to provide a larger treatment area for the electrical signal generated by that generator. In some embodiments, there may be more than two RF generators, each connected to at least one electrode pair. As an example, some embodiments may have a large treatment surface with four electrode pairs”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the above-described teachings of the second embodiment of Shamban, which teaches that the electrodes further comprise: second electrodes, with the modified invention of Shamban in order to provide a larger treatment area (Shamban ¶[0033]).
Regarding claim 7, Shamban as modified in combination with Chau and Dae teaches all limitations of claim 6 as described in the rejection above.
Shamban teaches that an outer side surface of the housing has a first region and a second region, an area of the first region is greater than an area of the second region (Figure 2B, where the treatment surface 225 is a teardrop shape. Examiner interprets that the lower portion with electrodes 272 and 273 is a first region and that the upper portion with electrodes 270 and 271 is a second region, where the first region has a greater area since it is larger than the second region.).
Although Shamban teaches third electrodes and a second embodiment of Shamban teaches second electrodes, Shamban as modified does not explicitly teach that the second electrodes are disposed in the first region, and the third electrodes are disposed in the second region.
Dae teaches a first region (Figure 4, rear electrode end 30) and second region (Figure 4, front electrode end 20), and that the second electrodes are disposed in the first region, and the third electrodes are disposed in the second region (Figure 4, front electrode end 20, rear electrode end 30, where rear loop electrodes 31, 32, 33, and 34 are within the first region, or rear electrode end 30, and front loop electrodes 21, 22, 23 are within the second region, or front electrode end 20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the above-described teachings of Dae, which teaches that the second electrodes are disposed in the first region and the third electrodes are disposed in the second region, with the modified invention of Shamban in order to treat a relatively narrow part of the face, such as between the cheek and the nose and the nose, and to treat relatively large portions of the face such as cheeks and foreheads (Dae Page 4, ¶ 1 - ¶ 2).
Regarding claim 8, Shamban as modified in combination with Chau and Dae teaches all limitations of claim 6 as described in the rejection above.
Although Shamban as modified teaches the first electrode, second electrodes, and third electrodes, Shamban as modified does not explicitly teach where the second electrodes are placed in relation to the third electrodes.
Dae teaches that the second electrodes are located at one end of the third electrodes in an extension direction of the first electrode (Figure 4, front loop electrodes 21, 22, 23, rear loop electrodes 31, 32, 33, and 34, edge electrode end 60, where the front loop electrodes are at one end of the rear loop electrodes, and the front loop electrodes and rear loop electrodes are surrounded by the edge electrode end such that the front loop electrodes are in an extension direction of the edge electrode end).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the above-described teachings of Dae, which teaches that the second electrodes are located at one end of the third electrodes in an extension direction of the first electrode, with the modified invention of Shamban in order to treat a relatively narrow part of the face, such as between the cheek and the nose and the nose, and to treat relatively large portions of the face such as cheeks and foreheads (Dae Page 4, ¶ 1 - ¶ 2).
Claims 9-10 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shamban as modified in view of Chau and Dae as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Jiang et al. (hereinafter “Jiang”) (CN 216295006 U).
Regarding claim 9, Shamban as modified in combination with Chau and Dae teaches all limitations of claim 6 as described in the rejection above.
Although Shamban as modified teaches the second electrodes, Shamban as modified does not explicitly teach that the second electrodes comprise a central electrode and multiple peripheral electrodes, and the multiple peripheral electrodes are disposed around the central electrode.
Jiang teaches an electrode head (Abstract) with high frequency oscillation to penetrate skin and the dermis layer to tighten the dermis and stimulate the collagen regeneration (Page 1, see background section of description), and further teaches that the second electrodes comprise a central electrode (Figure 1, first electrode 41) and multiple peripheral electrodes (Figure 1, second electrodes 42), and the multiple peripheral electrodes are disposed around the central electrode (Figure 1, first electrode 41, second electrodes 42).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the above-described teachings of Jiang, which teaches that that the second electrodes comprise a central electrode and multiple peripheral electrodes, and the multiple peripheral electrodes are disposed around the central electrode, with the modified invention of Shamban in order to improve the grooming effect (Jiang Page 4, ¶ 7), which here is the effect of tightening the dermis and stimulating collagen regeneration (Page 1, see background section of description).
Regarding claim 10, Shamban as modified in combination with Chau, Dae, and Jiang teaches all limitations of claim 9 as described in the rejection above.
Jiang teaches that the central electrode is a ring-shaped electrode, the peripheral electrode is an arc segment-shaped electrode, and taking the central electrode as a center, the peripheral electrodes are distributed around the circumference of a specified circle at equal intervals (Figure 1, first electrode 41, second electrodes 42).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the above-described teachings of Jiang, which teaches that the central electrode is a ring-shaped electrode, the peripheral electrode is an arc segment-shaped electrode, and taking the central electrode as a center, the peripheral electrodes are distributed around the circumference of a specified circle at equal intervals, with the modified invention of Shamban in order to improve the grooming effect (Jiang Page 4, ¶ 7), which here is the effect of tightening the dermis and stimulating collagen regeneration (Page 1, see background section of description).
Regarding claim 13, Shamban as modified in combination with Chau, Dae, and Jiang teaches all limitations of claim 9 as described in the rejection above.
Jiang teaches that all the peripheral electrodes in the second electrodes are connected through a connection line and/or a connection ring and/or a connection piece (Figure 3, where all parts of second electrode 42 are connected by mounting plate 3, or a connection piece).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the above-described teachings of Jiang, which teaches that all the peripheral electrodes in the second electrodes are connected through a connection line and/or a connection ring and/or a connection piece, with the modified invention of Shamban in order to mount the electrodes and to allow for convenient assembly (Jiang Page 5, ¶ 2).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shamban as modified as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Intan Technologies (Electrode adapters. Intan Technologies. (n.d.). https://web.archive.org/web/20210225192051/https://intantech.com/electrode_adapters.html).
Regarding claim 11, Shamban as modified in combination with Chau and Dae teaches all limitations of claim 6 as described in the rejection above.
Shamban teaches a processing circuit, located in the housing and connected to the electrodes (¶[0025], where “The device 100 also includes a user interface 120 and a treatment surface 125. A processor 130 is communicatively coupled to the user interface 120, the LED system 105, and the RF generation systems 110, 115,” ¶[0032], where “A first pair of electrodes 270, 273 serve as an anode-cathode pair for an electrical signal generated by an RF generation system, for example, inside the device 200. A second pair of electrodes 271, 272 serve as an anode-cathode pair for an electrical signal generated by another RF generation system,” ¶[0039], where “device 200 also has a user interface PCBA 310, which houses the treatment mode selection buttons 260-262, the display 265, or the indicator light 267. The device further includes a main PCBA 315, which houses a processor (e.g., processor 130 of FIG. 1) that receives input from the user interface PCBA 310 and sends commands to the treatment PCBA 305.” Examiner takes the position that since the processor is connected to the RF generation systems which are connected to the electrodes that the processor, equivalent to a processing circuit, is also connected to the electrodes.); and
an adapter board, located in the housing and disposed near the end portion (Figure 3, PCBA 305).
Although Shamban teaches the adapter board connected to the electrodes (Figure 3, PCBA 305, electrodes 270 and 272) and the processing circuit being connected to the adapter board (Figure 3, PCBA 315 which is connected to PCBA 305), Shamban does not explicitly teach that the adapter board has multiple connection terminals corresponding to the second electrodes and the third electrodes, the end portion has first through-holes corresponding to the second electrodes and the third electrodes, the second electrodes and the third electrodes are electrically connected to the multiple connection terminals through the first through-holes, and the multiple connection terminals are connected to the processing circuit.
Intan Technologies teaches an electrode adapter (See Figure of 18-pin electrode adapter board), and further teaches that the adapter board has multiple connection terminals corresponding to the second electrodes and the third electrodes, the end portion has first through-holes corresponding to the second electrodes and the third electrodes, the second electrodes and the third electrodes are electrically connected to the multiple connection terminals through the first through-holes, and the multiple connection terminals are connected to the processing circuit (See the 18-pin electrode adapter board, where the board has connection terminals for electrode contacts and the annotated Figure below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the above-described teachings of Intan Technologies, which teaches that the adapter board has multiple connection terminals corresponding to the second electrodes and the third electrodes, the end portion has first through-holes corresponding to the second electrodes and the third electrodes, the second electrodes and the third electrodes are electrically connected to the multiple connection terminals through the first through-holes, and the multiple connection terminals are connected to the processing circuit, with the modified invention of Shamban in order to provide connections for the electrode elements and to facilitate custom electrode wiring.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shamban as modified in view of Chau, Dae, and Intan Technologies as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Jiang.
Regarding claim 12, Shamban as modified in combination with Chau, Dae, and Intan Technologies teaches all limitations of claim 11 as described in the rejection above.
Shamban teaches multiple first fasteners, wherein second through-holes are disposed at positions of the adapter board corresponding to the connection terminals, there are first fastening portions on sides of the second electrode and the third electrode facing the adapter board, and the first fasteners pass through the second through- holes from a side of the adapter board facing away from the second electrodes and the third electrodes, and are fastened to the first fastening portions (Figure 3, which shows screws, equivalent to fasteners that travel through the electrodes 270 and 272 as well as through PCBA 305).
Neither Shamban as modified nor Intan Technologies teaches the multiple first fasteners having conductivity.
Jiang teaches the multiple first fasteners (conductive columns 411 and 421 in Figure 3) having conductivity (Figure 3, first electrode 41, second electrode 42, circuit board 2, Figure 4, first electrode 41, first conductive column 411, second electrode 42, second conductive column 421, Page 5, ¶ 3, where “the first electrode 41 towards one side of the circuit board 2 extends with a first conductive column 411, the second electrode 42 towards one side of the circuit board 2 extends with a second conductive column 421. the first conductive column 411 and the second conductive column 421 respectively electrically connected with the circuit board 2”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the above-described teachings of Jiang, which teaches the multiple first fasteners having conductivity, with the modified invention of Shamban in order to electrically connect the electrodes to the circuit board (Jiang Page 5, ¶ 3).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shamban in view of Chau and Dae as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jiang and Kang (U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0111252 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Shamban in combination with Chau and Dae teaches all limitations of claim 1 as described in the rejection above.
Although Shamban teaches the first electrode fastened to the end and side portion of the housing (Figure 2B, Figure 3), Shamban does not explicitly teach a fastener, wherein a mounting groove and a through-hole disposed at a groove bottom of the mounting groove are disposed in a connection region between the end portion and the side portion of the housing, there is a fastening portion on a side of the first electrode facing the housing, and the fastener passes through the through-hole from the inside of the housing, and is connected to the fastening portion; and a sealing ring, sleeved on the fastening portion or the fastener and located between the first electrode and the groove bottom, to seal a gap between the fastening portion and an inner wall of the through-hole or seal a gap between the fastener and the inner wall of the through-hole.
Jiang teaches a fastener, wherein a mounting groove and a through-hole disposed at a groove bottom of the mounting groove are disposed in a connection region between the end portion and the side portion of the housing, there is a fastening portion on a side of the first electrode facing the housing, and the fastener passes through the through-hole from the inside of the housing, and is connected to the fastening portion (Figure 3, mounting plate 3, mounting hole 32, Figure 4, second electrode 42, conductive column 421, Page 5, ¶ 4, where “the second conductive column 421 passes through the second mounting hole 32 and is electrically connected with the circuit board 2” ) and a sleeve on the fastening portion or the fastener (Figure 4, conductive column jack 422).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the above-described teachings of Jiang, which teaches a fastener, wherein a mounting groove and a through-hole disposed at a groove bottom of the mounting groove are disposed in a connection region between the end portion and the side portion of the housing, there is a fastening portion on a side of the first electrode facing the housing, and the fastener passes through the through-hole from the inside of the housing, and is connected to the fastening portion and a sleeve on the fastening portion or the fastener, with the modified invention of Shamban in order to electrically connect the electrodes to the circuit board (Jiang Page 5, ¶ 3).
Although Jiang teaches a sleeve on the fastening portion or the fastener, none of Shamban, Chau, Dae, nor Jiang teaches a sealing ring, sleeved on the fastening portion or the fastener and located between the first electrode and the groove bottom, to seal a gap between the fastening portion and an inner wall of the through-hole or seal a gap between the fastener and the inner wall of the through-hole.
Kang teaches a resistive electric transfer (RET)-based high-frequency massaging device that stimulates the deep part of the skin using high-frequency to attain skin care and skin care effects such as skin elasticity enhancement (¶[0014]), and further teaches a sealing ring, sleeved on the fastening portion or the fastener and located between the first electrode and the groove bottom, to seal a gap between the fastening portion and an inner wall of the through-hole or seal a gap between the fastener and the inner wall of the through-hole (¶[0081], where “A first O-ring O1 is provided on an outer side of the connection main body 310, and a second O-ring O2 is provided on an inner side of the connection main body 310 to achieve a sealing function”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the above-described teachings of Kang, which teaches a sealing ring, sleeved on the fastening portion or the fastener and located between the first electrode and the groove bottom, to seal a gap between the fastening portion and an inner wall of the through-hole or seal a gap between the fastener and the inner wall of the through-hole, with the modified invention of Shamban in order to achieve a sealing function (Kang ¶[0081]).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shamban as modified, Chau, Dae, and Intan Technologies as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Chen et al. (hereinafter “Chen”) (CN 213554899 U).
Regarding claim 15, Shamban as modified in combination with Chau, Dae, and Intan Technologies teaches all limitations of claim 11 as described in the rejection above.
Shamban teaches a circuit board (Figure 3, PCBA 310, ¶[0038], where “FIG. 3 shows a cross section view, taken along line 3-3 in FIG. 2A, of the multi-modal skin treatment device 200 according to various embodiments. In this view, several printed circuit board assemblies (PCBAs) are shown,” ¶[0039], where “a main PCBA 315, which houses a processor (e.g., processor 130 of FIG. 1) that receives input from the user interface PCBA 310 and sends commands to the treatment PCBA 305”);
multiple light therapy lamps, disposed on a side of the circuit board facing the end portion (Figure 2C, LED array 205) and connected to the processing circuit through the circuit board (¶[0025], where “A processor 130 is communicatively coupled to … the LED system 105,” ¶[0039], where “a main PCBA 315, which houses a processor (e.g., processor 130 of FIG. 1) that receives input from the user interface PCBA 310 and sends commands to the treatment PCBA 305”), wherein
the end portion has a transparent region corresponding to the light therapy lamp (¶[0031], where “treatment surface 225 is visible in the rear view of FIG. 2B, and is covered by a clear base (e.g., formed of a transparent or translucent plastic material),” ¶[0034], where “an LED array 205 is included in proximity to the treatment surface 225, for example, located below the clear plastic base and the electrodes 270-273 ... The LED sources generate light that passes through the clear plastic base”), and the transparent region is configured to shield an external line of sight when the light therapy lamp does not emit light and be capable of transmitting at least a part of light when the light therapy lamp emits light (Figure 2B, treatment surface 225, ¶[0034], where “The LED sources generate light that passes through the clear plastic base and is partly scattered thereby, before shining upon the skin.” Examiner takes the position that the treatment surface shields an external line of sight since it covers the LEDs.).
Although Shamban teaches a circuit board, adapter board, and end portion, none of Shamban as modified, Chau, Dae, nor Intan Technologies teaches that the circuit board is disposed between the adapter board and the end portion.
Chen teaches a beautifying device (Abstract), and further teaches that the circuit board (Figure 3, circuit board 503) is disposed between the adapter board (Figure 3, LED printed circuit board 70) and the end portion (Figure 3, guide shell 502).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the above-described teachings of Chen, which teaches that the circuit board is disposed between the adapter board and the end portion, with the modified invention of Shamban in order to form a sealed cavity (Chen Page 7, ¶ 5).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shamban as modified, Chau, Dae, Intan Technologies, and Chen as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Jiang.
Regarding claim 16, Shamban as modified in combination with Chau, Dae, Intan Technologies, and Chen teaches all limitations of claim 15 as described in the rejection above.
Although Shamban teaches fastening components in order to hold the device together, neither Shamban as modified nor Intan Technologies teaches a mounting bracket, disposed between the adapter board and the end portion and having multiple positioning holes or positioning slots, wherein there is a light shielding region around the positioning holes or the positioning slots; and a light guide member, disposed between the mounting bracket and the adapter board, wherein the light guide member comprises a connecting bracket and multiple light guide columns, and the connecting bracket is connected between the multiple light guide columns, wherein the positioning holes or the positioning slots, the light guide columns, and the light therapy lamps are disposed in a one-to-one correspondence.
Chen teaches a mounting bracket (Figure 3, guide rear shell 504), disposed between the adapter board (Figure 3, LED printed circuit board 70) and the end portion (Figure 3, guide shell 502) and having multiple positioning holes or positioning slots (Figure 3, guide rear shell 504, which shows several positioning holes or slots on its surface), wherein there is a light shielding region around the positioning holes or the positioning slots (Figure 3, guide rear shell 504, where Examiner takes the position that since the positioning holes or slots are raised that they will shield light around them.), a light guide member (Figure 3, light guide plate 80), disposed between the mounting bracket (Figure 3, guide rear shell 504) and the adapter board (Figure 3, LED printed circuit board 70), and multiple light guide columns (Figure 12, light guide column 801, where Examiner takes the position that there are multiple light guide columns since there are three shown in Figure 12.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the above-described teachings of Chen, which teaches a mounting bracket disposed between the adapter board and the end portion and having multiple positioning holes or positioning slots, wherein there is a light shielding region around the positioning holes or the positioning slots, a light guide member, disposed between the mounting bracket and the adapter board, and multiple light guide columns, with the modified invention of Shamban in order to form a sealed cavity (Chen Page 7, ¶ 5) and to guide the emitted light to a desired location.
Although Chen teaches a light guide member that is connected to a circuit board and the guide rear shell, none of Shamban as modified, Chau, Dae, Intan Technologies, nor Chen teaches that a connecting bracket is the connection mechanism.
Jiang teaches a connecting bracket to connect components of the device (Page 4, ¶ 2, where “the lower end of the shell 1 is connected with the main body of the beauty instrument. The circuit board 2 can be installed in the cavity of the shell 1 through a bracket … mounting plate 3 can be mounted at the top opening of the cavity of the housing 1 by means of a bracket”) and that the connecting bracket is connected between the multiple light guide columns (Examiner takes the position that since the light guide member with multiple light guide columns is connected to the guide rear shell in Chen, and since the connecting bracket of Jiang is a fastening means to connect components together, that the connecting bracket is between the multiple light guide columns as they are attached to the light guide member being connected to the guide rear shell of Chen.), wherein the positioning holes or the positioning slots, the light guide columns, and the light therapy lamps are disposed in a one-to-one correspondence (Examiner takes the position that the positioning holes or the positioning slots, the light guide columns, and the light therapy lamps are disposed in a one-to-one correspondence since the taught components align with one another when the device is assembled.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the above-described teachings of Jiang, which teaches a connecting bracket to connect components of the device and that the connecting bracket is connected between the multiple light guide columns, wherein the positioning holes or the positioning slots, the light guide columns, and the light therapy lamps are disposed in a one-to-one correspondence, with the modified invention of Shamban in order to properly connect and align components of the device.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shamban in view of Chau and Dae as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Doan et al. (hereinafter “Doan”) (U.S. Pub. No. 2023/0124830 A1).
Regarding claim 18, Shamban in combination with Chau and Dae teaches all limitations of claim 17 as described in the rejection above.
Shamban teaches that the conductive members comprise a first conductive member and a second conductive member (¶[0032], where “electrodes 270-273 include conductive surfaces grouped into diagonal pairs.” Examiner takes the position that since each electrode has a conductive surface, or a conductive member, that there is at least a first and second conductive member as there are four electrodes.).
Although Shamban teaches a processing circuit (¶[0039], where “device 200 also has a user interface PCBA 310, which houses the treatment mode selection buttons 260-262, the display 265, or the indicator light 267. The device further includes a main PCBA 315, which houses a processor (e.g., processor 130 of FIG. 1) that receives input from the user interface PCBA 310 and sends commands to the treatment PCBA 305.” Examiner interprets that the processor is equivalent to a processing circuit.), and further teaches the use of gating circuits (¶[0074], where “While the above discussion primarily refers to microprocessor or multi-core processors that execute software, some embodiments are performed by one or more integrated circuits, such as … field programmable gate arrays (FPGAs). In some embodiments, such integrated circuits execute instructions that are stored on the circuit itself”), Shamban does not explicitly teach a gating circuit connected to the processing circuit, that the electrodes comprise second electrodes, nor that the gating circuit is connected between the first conductive member and the second conductive member, and at least two of the second electrodes are connected to the first conductive member; and at least two of the third electrodes are connected to the second conductive member, and the processing circuit drives the second electrodes, the third electrodes, or the second electrodes and the third electrodes by using the gating circuit.
A second embodiment of Shamban teaches that the electrodes comprise second electrodes (¶[0033], where “in some embodiments, at least one RF generator may be connected to more than one electrode pair, to provide a larger treatment area for the electrical signal generated by that generator. In some embodiments, there may be more than two RF generators, each connected to at least one electrode pair. As an example, some embodiments may have a large treatment surface with four electrode pairs”), that at least two of the second electrodes are connected to the first conductive member, and that at least two of the third electrodes are connected to the second conductive member (¶[0032], where “electrodes 270-273 include conductive surfaces grouped into diagonal pairs.” Examiner takes the position that since each electrode has a conductive surface, or a conductive member, that there is at least a first and second conductive member as there are four electrodes, ¶[0033], where “in some embodiments, at least one RF generator may be connected to more than one electrode pair, to provide a larger treatment area for the electrical signal generated by that generator. In some embodiments, there may be more than two RF generators, each connected to at least one electrode pair. As an example, some embodiments may have a large treatment surface with four electrode pairs.” Examiner takes the position that since each electrode has a conductive surface, or a conductive member, and since each electrode set comes in a pair, that at least two of the second electrodes and at least two of the third electrodes will be connected to a respective conductive member of the pair.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the above-described teachings of the second embodiment of Shamban, which teaches that the electrodes comprise second electrodes, that at least two of the second electrodes are connected to the first conductive member, and that at least two of the third electrodes are connected to the second conductive member, with the modified invention of Shamban in order to provide a larger treatment area (Shamban ¶[0033]).
Shamban as modified does not explicitly teach a gating circuit connected to the processing circuit, that the gating circuit is connected between the first conductive member and the second conductive member, nor that the processing circuit drives the second electrodes, the third electrodes, or the second electrodes and the third electrodes by using the gating circuit.
Doan teaches a skin treatment device has one or more electrodes adapted for application of a current to a skin surface of a subject, a voltage or current supply configured to generate the current, and a controller configured to modulate the power output to the skin surface (Abstract), and further teaches a gating circuit connected to the processing circuit (¶[0058], where “control circuit 500 is divided into a software controller section 510, and a hardware control section 520,” ¶[0059], where “Software side (or section) 510 of control circuit 500 includes a programmable microprocessor or microcontroller (MCU) module 512, a signal generator 514, a level control (or control circuit) 516, and a voltage monitor or feedback circuit 518. Hardware side (or section) 520 includes a sequence of operational amplifiers (op amps) 522, 523 coupled to a first electrode 120A (electrode A), and a current control device 524 coupled to a second electrode 120B (electrode B); e.g., operating according to FIG. 4, or another suitable three-terminal or non-linear device 524,” ¶[0097], where “The control circuit comprises a non-linear current control device adapted to modulate changes in the current signal (ΔS) applied to the skin surface (1040), based on the feedback signal (FDBK). … The current control device comprises … a gate coupled to the control circuit,” where Examiner interprets that the gate coupled to the control circuit is a gating circuit.), the gating circuit is connected between the first conductive member and the second conductive member (¶[0058], where “control circuit 500 is divided into a software controller section 510, and a hardware control section 520,” ¶[0059], where “Hardware side (or section) 520 includes a sequence of operational amplifiers (op amps) 522, 523 coupled to a first electrode 120A (electrode A), and a current control device 524 coupled to a second electrode 120B (electrode B); e.g., operating according to FIG. 4, or another suitable three-terminal or non-linear device 524.” Examiner takes the position that since Shamban teaches electrodes with conductive members, that Doan teaches the gating circuit connected to the conductive members since the gating circuit is attached to the first and second electrodes.), and that the processing circuit drives the second electrodes, the third electrodes, or the second electrodes and the third electrodes by using the gating circuit (¶[0058], where “control circuit 500 is divided into a software controller section 510, and a hardware control section 520,” ¶[0059], where “Software side (or section) 510 of control circuit 500 includes a programmable microprocessor or microcontroller (MCU) module 512 … Hardware side (or section) 520 includes … a first electrode 120A (electrode A) … a second electrode 120B (electrode B),” ¶[0085], where “Electrodes 820 are adapted to provide an electrical stimulus S to the skin 110 of a subject, for example according to a device 100 as shown in FIG. 1.,” ¶[0095], where “A control circuit 850 can be configured for modulating power delivered by one or more electrodes 820 as described herein, including any combination of the disclosed features,” ¶[0097], where “The control circuit comprises a non-linear current control device adapted to modulate changes in the current signal (ΔS) applied to the skin surface (1040), based on the feedback signal (FDBK). … The current control device comprises … a gate coupled to the control circuit,” where Examiner interprets that the gate coupled to the control circuit is a gating circuit.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the above-described teachings of the second embodiment of Doan, which teaches a gating circuit connected to the processing circuit, that the gating circuit is connected between the first conductive member and the second conductive member, and that the processing circuit drives the second electrodes, the third electrodes, or the second electrodes and the third electrodes by using the gating circuit, with the modified invention of Shamban in order to modulate power delivered by one or more electrodes (Doan ¶[0095]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SEFRA D. MANOS/Examiner, Art Unit 3792
/ALLEN PORTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796