DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kuwayama et al. (US 6,499,730).
In Re claim 1, Kuwayama et al. disclose a tubular vibration damping device (figs. 7 and 8), comprising: an inner shaft member (driver shaft – not shown); an outer tubular member (12); and a main rubber elastic body (50) connected between the two tubular members, wherein the main rubber elastic body further comprises: a plurality of first identification protrusions (54); and a plurality of second identification protrusions (58), wherein the first and second identification protrusions are formed on opposing axial surfaces, and are arranged at positions differing from each other in the circumferential direction (see 60 degree offset ribs 56), and wherein the overall pattern weight balance is comprehensively maintained on a central axis (see even spacing in fig. 8). The examiner notes that the claim does not preclude the projections from having some circumferential overlap (see claim 5 specifically detailing such a feature).
In Re claim 2, the first and second protrusion pattern is the same (see figs. 7 and 8).
In Re claim 3, the first and second protrusions are all the same size and shape (see figs. 7 and 8).
In Re claim 4, the first and second protrusions all extend in an axial direction with equal width (see figs. 7 and 8).
In Re claim 6, an equal number of first and second protrusions are provided (see figs. 7 and 8).
In Re claim 7, the first and second protrusions are provided at equal intervals (see figs. 7 and 8).
In Re claim 8, Kuwayama et al. disclose “eight” protrusions in one embodiment (see col. 13, lines 10-11).
In Re claim 9, the tubular vibration damping device is a mass inertia damper (col. 1, lines 8-15).
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shiratori et al. (US 4,465,296).
In Re claim 1, Shiratori et al. disclose a tubular vibration damping device (figs. 3), comprising: an inner shaft member (42); an outer tubular member (46); and a main rubber elastic body (44) connected between the two tubular members, wherein the main rubber elastic body further comprises: a plurality of first identification protrusions (58, 62); and a plurality of second identification protrusions (64, 68), wherein the first and second identification protrusions are formed on opposing axial surfaces, and are arranged at positions differing from each other in the circumferential direction (see figs. 5 and 6; col. 4, lines 53-54), and wherein the overall pattern weight balance is comprehensively maintained on a central axis (see even spacing in fig. 6).
In Re claim 2, the first and second protrusion pattern is the same (see figs. 4-6).
In Re claim 3, the first and second protrusions are all the same size and shape (see figs. 4-6).
In Re claim 4, the first and second protrusions all extend in an axial direction with equal width (see figs. 4-6).
In Re claim 5, the first and second protrusions do no overlap with each other in the circumferential direction or axial projection (see figs. 4-6).
In Re claim 6, an equal number of first and second protrusions are provided (see figs. 4-6).
In Re claim 7, the first and second protrusions are provided at equal intervals (see figs. 4-6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shiratori et al. (US 4,465,296).
In Re claim 8, Shiratori et al. fail to specifically disclose four or more protrusions. However, Shiratori et al. further disclose that “the size, number and arrangement of the [protrusions]… are determined as needed according to their function and performance required” (cols. 6-7, lines 66-2). Therefore, the examiner asserts that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the vibration damping device of Shiratori et al. to include four or more protrusions, as a matter of engineering and research and development design choice, simply to change the performance and characteristics of the damping device to meet different operational demands. The examiner additionally notes that it has been held that a mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/THOMAS W IRVIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616