Claims 1-6 are currently being examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsukui 20180311768 in view of Terada et al. 20200094342.
Regarding independent claim 1, Tsukui teaches a method for producing a power storage device (battery, i.e., storage device, 10 in Fig. 1) that comprises:
a case (11 Fig. 1) including a rectangular opening (opening 11K of case 11 in Fig. 2; 11K is rectangular) and an opening wall portion (11KT Fig. 2) surrounding the opening (11KT surrounds 11K in Fig. 2); and
a rectangular sealing plate (12 Fig. 2) closing the opening (12 closes opening 11K in Fig. 2) and including an outer periphery edge portion (12P in Fig. 1),
the opening wall portion and the outer periphery edge portion being welded over an entire circumference (as shown in FIG. 8 and described in {0088], case 11 and rectangular sealing plate 12 are disposed such that the irradiation target surfaces of opening wall portion 11KT and 12PT respectively of opening wall portion 11K of case 11 and outer periphery edge portion 12P of 12 coincide with the first irradiation plane SS1 and are welded over an entire circumference as shown in Fig. 16 and per [0062],
the method comprising:
closing the opening of the case with the sealing plate by inserting the sealing plate in the opening (per [0069] 12 is inserted in 11K to close 11K); and
welding by laser a to-be-welded portion of both the outer periphery edge portion of the sealing plate and the opening wall portion of the case (to-be-welded portion of 12P is 12PT and to-be-welded portion of 11K is 11KT in Figs. 1-2 are welded by laser as shown in Fig. 8) over an entire circumference in a circumferential direction (over entire circumference in a circumferential direction as shown in Fig. 16) by irradiating the to-be-welded portion with a laser beam (laser beam LT1, LT2 in Fig. 8) from above the sealing plate having an outer surface facing upward (laser beam LT1, LT2 is above 12 in Fig. 8 with outer surface of 12 facing upward toward laser beam LT1, LT2 in Fig. 8) while the opening of the case is closed with the sealing plate (11K is closed by 12 during welding),
wherein
the to-be-welded portion has a rectangular ring shape in a plan view (as shown in Figs. 2 and 16, to-be-welded portion 12PT, 11KT has a rectangular ring shape in plan view), and includes a first long-side part (labeled in annotated Fig. 16) and a second long-side part (labeled in annotated Fig. 16), which are parallel to each other (first and second long-side parts are parallel in Fig. 16), and a first short-side part (labeled in annotated Fig. 16) and a second short-side part (labeled in annotated Fig. 16), which are parallel to each other (first and second short-side parts are parallel in Fig. 16),
welding the to-be-welded portion includes:
welding the first long-side part through scanning of the laser beam from a second short-side part side to a first short-side part side of the first long-side part (welding first long-side part through scanning of laser beam LT1,LT2 from second short-side part side on left to first short-side part side on right of first long-side part as shown by XW1 arrow in Fig. 16), and
welding the second long-side part through scanning of the laser beam from a first short-side part side to a second short-side part side of the second long-side part (welding second long-side part through scanning of laser beam LT1,LT2 from first short-side part side on right to second short-side part side on left of second long-side part as shown by XW2 arrow in Fig. 16).
Tsukui is silent regarding:
the welding of the first long-side part is performed while generating a first gas stream that flows above the first long-side part from the first short-side part side to the second short-side part side, and
the welding of the second long-side part is performed while generating a second gas stream that flows above the second long-side part from the second short-side part side to the first short-side part side.
Terada teaches a welding apparatus 1 which welds a part 2 by laser beam welding with laser beam L per [0012]-[0013] and as shown in Fig. 1. Terada teaches:
welding while generating a gas stream (as shown in Fig. 1 gas feeding device 12 generates a gas stream G1 per [0019]) that flows above the part (as seen in Fig. 1 G1 flows through nozzle 21 above part 2 and as described in [0018]) from a first part side on left in Fig. 1 to a second part side on right in Fig. 1. In Fig. 1, laser beam L scans irradiation position P and moves in negative X direction to left while gas stream G1 moves downward and over surface of part 2 toward irradiation position P per [0021]. As described in [0026], traveling direction Da intersects with the discharge direction De of G1 and welding is feasible while the optical device 11 generating laser beam L, gas feeding device 12 and suction device 14 are moved relative to part 2 in the direction opposite to the traveling direction Da in Fig. 1. G1 is a shield gas to inhibit oxidation of the laser irradiated spot, i.e., of the weld, per [0003]. Shield gas G1 collides with and spreads along surface 2a and reaches the irradiation position P and shields the irradiation position P against the atmosphere and inhibits oxidation of part 2 at the irradiation position P per [0052].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Tsukui to include the welding of the first long-side part is performed while generating a first gas stream that flows above the first long-side part from the first short-side part side to the second short-side part side, and the welding of the second long-side part is performed while generating a second gas stream that flows above the second long-side part from the second short-side part side to the first short-side part side as taught by Terada to shield the welded portion of the first long-side part with the first gas stream and shield the welded portion of the second long-side part with the second gas stream from oxidation as each is welded.
Regarding claim 2, Tsukui in view of Terada teaches all that is claimed above in claim 1 but is silent as discussed so far regarding wherein in welding the first long-side part, a first fume generated from the first long-side part and carried by the first gas stream to pass above the first long-side part is sucked and removed by a first suction device, and in welding the second long-side part, a second fume generated from the second long-side part and carried by the second gas stream to pass above the second long-side part is sucked and removed by a second suction device.
Terada further teaches in welding the part, a fume (fume F in Fig. 1) generated from the part (metal fumes F occur from the irradiation position P per [0053]) and carried by the gas stream to pass above the part (per [0057] fume F is carried by G1 above the part) is sucked and removed by a suction device (suction device 14 suctions G1 and fume F per [0058] and as seen in Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Tsukui in view of Terada to include in welding the first long-side part, a first fume generated from the first long-side part and carried by the first gas stream to pass above the first long-side part is sucked and removed by a first suction device to prevent the first fume from approaching and attaching to a first front face of the first nozzle which provides the first gas stream which thereby prevents the first fume from peeling off from the first front face to the first long-side part which would otherwise occur and lower welding yields.
"[I]f a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill. . . . [A] court must ask whether the improvement is more than the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions." KSR at 1396.
It would therefore also have been obvious to include in welding the second long-side part, a second fume generated from the second long-side part and carried by the second gas stream to pass above the second long-side part is sucked and removed by a second suction device to predictably prevent the second fume from approaching and attaching to a second front face of the second nozzle which provides the second gas stream which thereby prevents the second fume from peeling off from the second front face to the second long-side part which would otherwise occur and lower welding yields similar to when welding the first long-side part.
Regarding claim 3, Tsukui in view of Terada teaches all that is claimed above in claim 1 but is silent as discussed so far regarding wherein welding the to-be-welded portion includes: welding the first short-side part through scanning of the laser beam from a first long-side part side to a second long-side part side of the first short-side part, and welding the second short-side part through scanning of the laser beam from a second long-side part side to a first long-side part side of the second short-side part, the welding of the first short-side part is performed while generating a third gas stream that flows above the first short-side part from the second long-side part side to the first long-side part side, and the welding of the second short-side part is performed while generating a fourth gas stream that flows above the second short-side part from the first long-side part side to the second long-side part side.
"[I]f a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill. . . . [A] court must ask whether the improvement is more than the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions." KSR at 1396.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Tsukui in view of Terada to have welding the to-be-welded portion include: welding the first short-side part through scanning of the laser beam from a first long-side part side to a second long-side part side of the first short-side part, and welding the second short-side part through scanning of the laser beam from a second long-side part side to a first long-side part side of the second short-side part, the welding of the first short-side part is performed while generating a third gas stream that flows above the first short-side part from the second long-side part side to the first long-side part side, and the welding of the second short-side part is performed while generating a fourth gas stream that flows above the second short-side part from the first long-side part side to the second long-side part side similar to the method steps for welding the first long-side part and for welding the second long-side part as taught by Terada to shield the welded portion of the first short-side part with the third gas stream and shield the welded portion of the second short-side part with the fourth gas stream from oxidation as each is welded.
Regarding claim 4, Tsukui in view of Terada teaches all that is claimed above in claim 2 but is silent as discussed so far regarding wherein welding the to-be-welded portion includes: welding the first short-side part through scanning of the laser beam from a first long-side part side to a second long-side part side of the first short-side part, and welding the second short-side part through scanning of the laser beam from a second long-side part side to a first long-side part side of the second short-side part, the welding of the first short-side part is performed while generating a third gas stream that flows above the first short-side part from the second long-side part side to the first long-side part side, and the welding of the second short-side part is performed while generating a fourth gas stream that flows above the second short-side part from the first long-side part side to the second long-side part side.
"[I]f a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill. . . . [A] court must ask whether the improvement is more than the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions." KSR at 1396.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Tsukui in view of Terada to have welding the to-be-welded portion includes: welding the first short-side part through scanning of the laser beam from a first long-side part side to a second long-side part side of the first short-side part, and welding the second short-side part through scanning of the laser beam from a second long-side part side to a first long-side part side of the second short-side part, the welding of the first short-side part is performed while generating a third gas stream that flows above the first short-side part from the second long-side part side to the first long-side part side, and the welding of the second short-side part is performed while generating a fourth gas stream that flows above the second short-side part from the first long-side part side to the second long-side part side similar to the method steps for welding the first long-side part and for welding the second long-side part as taught by Terada to shield the welded portion of the first short-side part with the third gas stream and shield the welded portion of the second short-side part with the fourth gas stream from oxidation as each is welded.
Regarding claim 5, Tsukui in view of Terada teaches all that is claimed above in claim 3 but is silent as discussed so far regarding in welding the first short-side part, a third fume generated from the first short-side part and carried by the third gas stream to pass above the first short-side part is sucked and removed by a third suction device, and in welding the second short-side part, a fourth fume generated from the second short-side part and carried by the fourth stream to pass above the second short-side part is sucked and removed by a fourth suction device.
Terada further teaches in welding the part, a fume (fume F in Fig. 1) generated from the part (metal fumes F occur from the irradiation position P per [0053]) and carried by the gas stream to pass above the part (per [0057] fume F is carried by G1 above the part) is sucked and removed by a suction device (suction device 14 suctions G1 and fume F per [0058] and as seen in Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Tsukui in view of Terada to include in welding the first short-side part, a third fume generated from the first short-side part and carried by the third gas stream to pass above the first short-side part is sucked and removed by a third suction device to prevent the third fume from approaching and attaching to a third front face of the third nozzle which provides the third gas stream which thereby prevents the third fume from peeling off from the third front face to the first short-side part which would otherwise occur and lower welding yields.
"[I]f a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill. . . . [A] court must ask whether the improvement is more than the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions." KSR at 1396.
It would therefore also have been obvious to include in welding the second short-side part, a fourth fume generated from the second short-side part and carried by the fourth stream to pass above the second short-side part is sucked and removed by a fourth suction device to predictably prevent the fourth fume from approaching and attaching to a fourth front face of the fourth nozzle which provides the fourth gas stream which thereby prevents the fourth fume from peeling off from the fourth front face to the second short-side part which would otherwise occur and lower welding yields similar to when welding the first short-side part.
Regarding claim 6, Tsukui in view of Terada teaches all that is claimed above in claim 4 but is silent as discussed so far regarding in welding the first short-side part, a third fume generated from the first short-side part and carried by the third gas stream to pass above the first short-side part is sucked and removed by a third suction device, and in welding the second short-side part, a fourth fume generated from the second short-side part and carried by the fourth stream to pass above the second short-side part is sucked and removed by a fourth suction device.
"[I]f a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill. . . . [A] court must ask whether the improvement is more than the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions." KSR at 1396.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Tsukui in view of Terada to include in welding the first short-side part, a third fume generated from the first short-side part and carried by the third gas stream to pass above the first short-side part is sucked and removed by a third suction device, and in welding the second short-side part, a fourth fume generated from the second short-side part and carried by the fourth stream to pass above the second short-side part is sucked and removed by a fourth suction device similar to the method steps in welding the first long-side part and in welding the second long-side part as taught by Terada to predictably prevent the third fume from approaching and attaching to a third front face of the third nozzle which provides the third gas stream which thereby prevents the third fume from peeling off from the third front face to the first short-side part which would otherwise occur and lower welding yields, and to predictably prevent the fourth fume from approaching and attaching to a fourth front face of the fourth nozzle which provides the fourth gas stream which thereby prevents the fourth fume from peeling off from the fourth front face to the second short-side part which would otherwise occur and lower welding yields similar to when welding the first short-side part.
Conclusion
/A.J.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3741
/LORNE E MEADE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741