DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-6 are currently being examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsukui 20180311768 in view of Terada et al. 20200094342.
Regarding independent claim 1, Tsukui teaches a method for producing a power storage device (battery, i.e., storage device, 10 in Fig. 1) that comprises:
a case (11 Fig. 1) including a rectangular opening (opening 11K of case 11 in Fig. 2; 11K is rectangular) and an opening wall portion (11KT Fig. 2) surrounding the rectangular opening (11KT surrounds 11K in Fig. 2); and
a rectangular sealing plate (12 Fig. 2) closing the rectangular opening (12 closes rectangular opening 11K in Fig. 2) and including an outer periphery edge portion (12P in Fig. 1),
the opening wall portion and the outer periphery edge portion being welded over an entire circumference (as shown in FIG. 8 and described in {0088], case 11 and rectangular sealing plate 12 are disposed such that the irradiation target surfaces of opening wall portion 11KT and 12PT respectively of opening wall portion 11K of case 11 and outer periphery edge portion 12P of 12 coincide with the first irradiation plane SS1 and are welded over an entire circumference as shown in Fig. 16 and per [0062],
the method comprising:
closing the rectangular opening of the case with the rectangular sealing plate by inserting the rectangular sealing plate in the rectangular opening (per [0069] 12 is inserted in 11K to close 11K); and
welding by laser a to-be-welded portion of both the outer periphery edge portion of the rectangular sealing plate and the opening wall portion of the case (to-be-welded portion of 12P is 12PT and to-be-welded portion of 11K is 11KT in Figs. 1-2 are welded by laser as shown in Fig. 8) over the entire circumference in a circumferential direction of the to-be-welded portion (over entire circumference in a circumferential direction as shown in Fig. 16) by irradiating the to-be-welded portion with a laser beam (laser beam LT1, LT2 in Fig. 8) from above the rectangular sealing plate having an outer surface facing upward (laser beam LT1, LT2 is above 12 in Fig. 8 with outer surface of 12 facing upward toward laser beam LT1, LT2 in Fig. 8) while the rectangular opening of the case is closed with the rectangular sealing plate (11K is closed by 12 during welding),
wherein
the to-be-welded portion has a rectangular ring shape in a plan view of the power storage device (as shown in Figs. 2 and 16, to-be-welded portion 12PT, 11KT has a rectangular ring shape in plan view), and includes a first long-side part (labeled in annotated Fig. 16) and a second long-side part (labeled in annotated Fig. 16), which are parallel to each other (first and second long-side parts are parallel in Fig. 16), and a first short-side part (labeled in annotated Fig. 16) and a second short-side part (labeled in annotated Fig. 16), which are parallel to each other (first and second short-side parts are parallel in Fig. 16),
the welding of the to-be-welded portion includes:
welding the first long-side part through scanning of the laser beam from a second short-side part side to a first short-side part side of the first long-side part (welding first long-side part through scanning of laser beam LT1,LT2 from second short-side part side on left to first short-side part side on right of first long-side part as shown by XW1 arrow in Fig. 16), and
welding the second long-side part through scanning of the laser beam from a first short-side part side to a second short-side part side of the second long-side part (welding second long-side part through scanning of laser beam LT1,LT2 from first short-side part side on right to second short-side part side on left of second long-side part as shown by XW2 arrow in Fig. 16).
Tsukui is silent regarding:
the welding of the first long-side part is performed while generating a first gas stream that flows above the first long-side part from an end portion on the first short-side part side of the first long-side part toward an end portion on the second short-side part side of the first long-side part, and moving a first fume generated from the first long-side part by the first gas stream to a side above the first long-side part where the welding of the first long-side part has been completed, and
the welding of the second long-side part is performed while generating a second gas stream that flows above the second long-side part from an end portion on the second short-side part side of the second long-side part toward an end portion on the first short-side part side of the second long-side part, and moving a second fume generated from the second long-side part by the second gas stream to a side above the second long-side part where the welding of the second long-side part has been completed.
Terada teaches a welding apparatus 1 which welds a part 2 by laser beam welding with laser beam L per [0012]-[0013] and as shown in Fig. 1. Terada teaches:
welding while generating a gas stream (as shown in Fig. 1 gas feeding device 12 generates a gas stream G1 per [0019]) that flows above the part (as seen in Fig. 1 G1 flows through nozzle 21 above part 2 and as described in [0018]) from an end portion on a first part side of part 2 (end portion on left side of part 2 in Fig. 1) toward an end portion on a second part side of part 2 (end portion on right ride of part 2 in Fig. 1), and moving a fume (F) generated from the part (metal fumes F occur from the irradiation position P on part 2 per [0053]) by the gas stream to a side above the part where the welding has been completed (as shown in Fig. 1 and per [0057], G1 moves fume F to a side of part 2 to the right of laser L where welding has been completed). In Fig. 1, laser beam L scans irradiation position P and moves in negative X direction to left while gas stream G1 moves downward and toward right over surface of part 2 toward irradiation position P per [0021]. As described in [0026], traveling direction Da intersects with the discharge direction De of G1 and welding is feasible while optical device 11 generating laser beam L, gas feeding device 12 and suction device 14 are moved relative to part 2 in the direction opposite to the traveling direction Da in Fig. 1 which is from right to left in Fig. 1. G1 is a shield gas to inhibit oxidation of the laser irradiated spot, i.e., of the weld, per [0003]. Shield gas G1 collides with and spreads along surface 2a and reaches the irradiation position P and shields the irradiation position P against the atmosphere and inhibits oxidation of part 2 at the irradiation position P per [0052].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Tsukui to include the welding of the first long-side part is performed while generating a first gas stream that flows above the first long-side part from an end portion on the first short-side part side of the first long-side part toward an end portion on the second short-side part side of the first long-side part, and moving a first fume generated from the first long-side part by the first gas stream to a side above the first long-side part where the welding of the first long-side part has been completed, and the welding of the second long-side part is performed while generating a second gas stream that flows above the second long-side part from an end portion on the second short-side part side of the second long-side part toward an end portion on the first short-side part side of the second long-side part, and moving a second fume generated from the second long-side part by the second gas stream to a side above the second long-side part where the welding of the second long-side part has been completed as taught by Terada to shield the irradiation position, i.e., laser beam welding position on surface of first long-side part, against the atmosphere and inhibit oxidation at the irradiation position of the first long-side part with the first gas stream, and to shield the irradiation position, i.e., laser beam welding position on surface of second long-side part, against the atmosphere and inhibit oxidation at the irradiation position of the second long-side part with the second gas stream as each of first long-side part and second long-side part is welded, and to have the first fume moved to a side above the first long-side part where the welding of the first long-side part has been completed and the second fume moved to a side above the second long-side part where the welding of the second long-side part has been completed to keep the first fume away from a first nozzle of a gas feeding device and to keep the second fume away from a second nozzle of a gas feeding device to prevent metal fumes from attaching and solidifying onto the surface of each nozzle so that metal particles are prevented from peeling off each nozzle to the power storage device at the weld sites which could decrease welding yields (Terada [0004]).
Regarding claim 2, Tsukui in view of Terada teaches all that is claimed above in claim 1 but is silent as discussed so far regarding wherein in the welding of the first long-side part, the first fume is sucked and removed by a first suction device, and in the welding of the second long-side part, the second fume is sucked and removed by a second suction device.
Terada further teaches in welding the part 2, fume F in Fig. 1 is sucked and removed by a suction device (suction device 14 suctions G1 and fume F per [0058] and as seen in Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Tsukui in view of Terada to include in the welding of the first long-side part, the first fume is sucked and removed by a first suction device to prevent the first fume from approaching and attaching to the first nozzle which provides the first gas stream which thereby prevents metal particles of the first fume from peeling off from the first nozzle to the first long-side part which would otherwise occur with lower welding yields.
"[I]f a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill. . . . [A] court must ask whether the improvement is more than the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions." KSR at 1396. In addition, mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced, see MPEP 2144.04 (VI) (B).
It would therefore also have been obvious to include in the welding of the second long-side part, the second fume is sucked and removed by a second suction device to predictably prevent the second fume from approaching and attaching to the second nozzle which provides the second gas stream which thereby prevents metal particles of the second fume from peeling off from the second nozzle to the second long-side part which would otherwise occur and lower welding yields similar to when welding the first long-side part.
Regarding claim 3, Tsukui in view of Terada teaches all that is claimed above in claim 1 and Tsukui teaches welding the first short-side part through scanning of the laser beam from a first long-side part side to a second long-side part side of the first short-side part (welding of first short-side part through scanning of laser beam LT1, LT2 from first long-side part side at bottom of first short-side part to second long-side part side at top of first short-side part as shown by YW1 arrow in annotated Fig. 16), and welding the second short-side part through scanning of the laser beam from a second long-side part side to a first long-side part side of the second short-side part (welding of second short-side part through scanning of the laser beam LT1, LT2 from a second long-side part side at top of second short-side part to a first long-side part side at bottom of second short-side part as shown by YW2 arrow in annotated Fig. 16), but Tsukui in view of Terada is silent as discussed so far regarding wherein the welding of the to-be-welded portion includes: the welding of the first short-side part is performed while generating a third gas stream that flows above the first short-side part from an end portion on the second long-side part side of the first short-side part toward an end portion on the first long-side part side of the first short-side part, and moving a third fume generated from the first short-side part by the third gas stream to a side above the first short-side part where the welding of the first short-side part has been completed, and the welding of the second short-side part is performed while generating a fourth gas stream that flows above the second short-side part from an end portion on the first long-side part side of the second short-side part toward an end portion on the second long-side part side of the second short-side part, and moving a fourth fume generated from the second short-side part by the fourth gas stream to a side above the second short-side part where the welding of the second short-side part has been completed.
"[I]f a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill. . . . [A] court must ask whether the improvement is more than the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions." KSR at 1396. In addition, mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced, see MPEP 2144.04 (VI) (B).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Tsukui in view of Terada to use same technique and duplicate parts for welding as for first long-side part and second long-side part taught by Terada and have welding the to-be-welded portion include: welding the first short-side part through scanning of the laser beam from a first long-side part side to a second long-side part side of the first short-side part, and welding the second short-side part through scanning of the laser beam from a second long-side part side to a first long-side part side of the second short-side part, the welding of the first short-side part is performed while generating a third gas stream that flows above the first short-side part from an end portion on the second long-side part side of the first short-side part toward an end portion on the first long-side part side of the first short-side part, and moving a third fume generated from the first short-side part by the third gas stream to a side above the first short-side part where the welding of the first short-side part has been completed, and the welding of the second short-side part is performed while generating a fourth gas stream that flows above the second short-side part from an end portion on the first long-side part side of the second short-side part toward an end portion on the second long-side part side of the second short-side part, and moving a fourth fume generated from the second short-side part by the fourth gas stream to a side above the second short-side part where the welding of the second short-side part has been to predictably shield the irradiation position, i.e., laser beam welding position on surface of first short-side part, against the atmosphere and inhibit oxidation at the irradiation position of the first short-side part with the third gas stream, and to predictably shield the irradiation position, i.e., laser beam welding position on surface of second short-side part, against the atmosphere and inhibit oxidation at the irradiation position of the second short-side part with the fourth gas stream as each of first short-side part and second short-side part is welded, and to have the third fume moved to a side above the first short-side part where the welding of the first short-side part has been completed and the fourth fume moved to a side above the second short-side part where the welding of the second short-side part has been completed to predictably keep the third fume away from a third nozzle of a gas feeding device and to predictably keep the fourth fume away from a fourth nozzle of a gas feeding device to prevent metal fumes from attaching and solidifying onto the surface of each nozzle so that metal particles are prevented from peeling off each nozzle to the power storage device at the weld sites which could decrease welding yields.
Regarding claim 4, Tsukui in view of Terada teaches all that is claimed above in claim 2 and Tsukui teaches welding the first short-side part through scanning of the laser beam from a first long-side part side to a second long-side part side of the first short-side part (welding of first short-side part through scanning of laser beam LT1, LT2 from first long-side part side at bottom of first short-side part to second long-side part side at top of first short-side part as shown by YW1 arrow in annotated Fig. 16), and welding the second short-side part through scanning of the laser beam from a second long-side part side to a first long-side part side of the second short-side part (welding of second short-side part through scanning of the laser beam LT1, LT2 from a second long-side part side at top of second short-side part to a first long-side part side at bottom of second short-side part as shown by YW2 arrow in annotated Fig. 16), but Tsukui in view of Terada is silent as discussed so far regarding wherein the welding of the to-be-welded portion includes: the welding of the first short-side part is performed while generating a third gas stream that flows above the first short-side part from an end portion on the second long-side part side of the first short-side part toward an end portion on the first long-side part side of the first short-side part, and moving a third fume generated from the first short-side part by the third gas stream to a side above the first short-side part where the welding of the first short-side part has been completed, and the welding of the second short-side part is performed while generating a fourth gas stream that flows above the second short-side part from an end portion on the first long-side part side of the second short-side part toward an end portion on the second long-side part side of the second short-side part, and moving a fourth fume generated from the second short-side part by the fourth gas stream to a side above the second short-side part where the welding of the second short-side part has been completed.
"[I]f a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill. . . . [A] court must ask whether the improvement is more than the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions." KSR at 1396. In addition, mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced, see MPEP 2144.04 (VI) (B).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Tsukui in view of Terada to use same technique and duplicate parts for welding as for first long-side part and second long-side part taught by Terada and have welding the to-be-welded portion include: welding the first short-side part through scanning of the laser beam from a first long-side part side to a second long-side part side of the first short-side part, and welding the second short-side part through scanning of the laser beam from a second long-side part side to a first long-side part side of the second short-side part, the welding of the first short-side part is performed while generating a third gas stream that flows above the first short-side part from an end portion on the second long-side part side of the first short-side part toward an end portion on the first long-side part side of the first short-side part, and moving a third fume generated from the first short-side part by the third gas stream to a side above the first short-side part where the welding of the first short-side part has been completed, and the welding of the second short-side part is performed while generating a fourth gas stream that flows above the second short-side part from an end portion on the first long-side part side of the second short-side part toward an end portion on the second long-side part side of the second short-side part, and moving a fourth fume generated from the second short-side part by the fourth gas stream to a side above the second short-side part where the welding of the second short-side part has been to predictably shield the irradiation position, i.e., laser beam welding position on surface of first short-side part, against the atmosphere and inhibit oxidation at the irradiation position of the first short-side part with the third gas stream, and to predictably shield the irradiation position, i.e., laser beam welding position on surface of second short-side part, against the atmosphere and inhibit oxidation at the irradiation position of the second short-side part with the fourth gas stream as each of first short-side part and second short-side part is welded, and to have the third fume moved to a side above the first short-side part where the welding of the first short-side part has been completed and the fourth fume moved to a side above the second short-side part where the welding of the second short-side part has been completed to predictably keep the third fume away from a third nozzle of a gas feeding device and to predictably keep the fourth fume away from a fourth nozzle of a gas feeding device to prevent metal fumes from attaching and solidifying onto the surface of each nozzle so that metal particles are prevented from peeling off each nozzle to the power storage device at the weld sites which could decrease welding yields.
Regarding claim 5, Tsukui in view of Terada teaches all that is claimed above in claim 3 but is silent as discussed so far regarding in welding the first short-side part, the third fume generated from the first short-side part is sucked and removed by a third suction device, and in welding the second short-side part, the fourth fume is sucked and removed by a fourth suction device.
Terada further teaches in welding the part 2, fume F in Fig. 1 is sucked and removed by a suction device (suction device 14 suctions G1 and fume F per [0058] and as seen in Fig. 1).
"[I]f a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill. . . . [A] court must ask whether the improvement is more than the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions." KSR at 1396. In addition, mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced, see MPEP 2144.04 (VI) (B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Tsukui in view of Terada to use same technique and duplicate parts for welding as for first long-side part and second long-side part as taught by Terada and include in welding the first short-side part, the third fume is sucked and removed by a third suction device, and in welding the second short-side part, the fourth fume is sucked and removed by a fourth suction device to predictably prevent the third fume from approaching and attaching to the third nozzle to prevent the metal particles of the third fume from peeling off from the third nozzle to the first short-side part and to predictably prevent the fourth fume from approaching and attaching to the fourth nozzle to prevent the metal particles of the fourth fume from peeling off from the fourth nozzle to the second short-side part which would otherwise occur with lower welding yields.
Regarding claim 6, Tsukui in view of Terada teaches all that is claimed above in claim 4 but is silent as discussed so far regarding in welding the first short-side part, the third fume generated from the first short-side part is sucked and removed by a third suction device, and in welding the second short-side part, the fourth fume is sucked and removed by a fourth suction device.
Terada further teaches in welding the part 2, fume F in Fig. 1 is sucked and removed by a suction device (suction device 14 suctions G1 and fume F per [0058] and as seen in Fig. 1).
"[I]f a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill. . . . [A] court must ask whether the improvement is more than the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions." KSR at 1396. In addition, mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced, see MPEP 2144.04 (VI) (B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Tsukui in view of Terada to use same technique and duplicate parts for welding as for first long-side part and second long-side part as taught by Terada and include in welding the first short-side part, the third fume is sucked and removed by a third suction device, and in welding the second short-side part, the fourth fume is sucked and removed by a fourth suction device to predictably prevent the third fume from approaching and attaching to the third nozzle to prevent the metal particles of the third fume from peeling off from the third nozzle to the first short-side part and to predictably prevent the fourth fume from approaching and attaching to the fourth nozzle to prevent the metal particles of the fourth fume from peeling off from the fourth nozzle to the second short-side part which would otherwise occur with lower welding yields.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding the 103 rejection of claim 1, Applicant argues that prior art Terada [0026] teaches with reference to Fig. 1 that laser L of optical device 11, gas feeding device 12, wire feeding device 13, and suction device 14 are moved relative to the object 2 in the direction opposite to the traveling direction Da, which is leftward direction in Fig. 1; and [0052] describes shield gas G1 shields the irradiation position P against the atmosphere and inhibits oxidation. Examiner agrees that Terada teaches as Applicant cites, and the 103 rejection of claim 1 in the Non-Final rejection and the current 103 rejection of amended claim 1 above also cites those paragraphs of Terada for the same reasons since those paragraphs teach the limitations of claim 1 and Fig. 1 of Terada shows positioning of claimed features, scanning direction, and gas stream direction which are similar to as shown in instant Fig. 9.
As seen in Fig. 1 of Terada and per the last sentence of [0026] teaching that welding is done with the laser L of optical device 11 traveling in opposite direction of Da which is from right to left toward the gas stream G1 from gas feeding device 12 with the gas stream G1 moving fume F per [0057] to a side of part 2 where welding has been completed which is to the right of laser L in Fig. 1 since laser L moves from right to left opposite of direction Da. This is similar to instant Fig. 9 which shows laser LB moving toward gas delivery device 81d which delivers gas stream A1 towards laser LB to carry fume F1 behind laser LB which is to the left in instant Fig. 9 where welding has been completed. Therefore, gas stream G1 of Terada, although described as shield gas by Terada, accomplishes the claim limitation of moving a first fume generated from the first long-side part by the first gas stream to a side above the first long-side part where the welding of the first long-side part has been completed. It would be obvious to modify Tsukui in view of Terada to shield the welded portion of the first long-side part with the first gas stream and shield the welded portion of the second long-side part with the second gas stream from oxidation as each side is welded per [0003] of Terada.
Applicant does not argue the dependent claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.J.H./ /GERALD L SUNG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741 Examiner, Art Unit 3741