DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Restriction to one of the following inventions is required under 35 U.S.C. 121:
I. Claims1-7, drawn to a pharmaceutical composition, classified in A61K 31/045.
II. Claims 8, drawn to a gas-liquid preparation containing sections of ethanol separated by gas, classified in A61B 2017/22089.
III. Claims 11-15, drawn to a method of using an ethanol composition, classified in A61B 2018/00416.
The inventions are independent or distinct, each from the other because:
Inventions I and III are related to invention II as combination and subcombination. Inventions in this relationship are distinct if it can be shown that (1) the combination as claimed does not require the particulars of the subcombination as claimed for patentability, and (2) that the subcombination has utility by itself or in other combinations (MPEP § 806.05(c)). In the instant case, the combination as claimed does not require the particulars of the subcombination as claimed because the gas liquid preparation could be produced from another liquid. The subcombination has separate utility such as the composition could be used on its own as a pharmaceutical composition or sterilizing liquid.
The examiner has required restriction between combination and subcombination inventions. Where applicant elects a subcombination, and claims thereto are subsequently found allowable, any claim(s) depending from or otherwise requiring all the limitations of the allowable subcombination will be examined for patentability in accordance with 37 CFR 1.104. See MPEP § 821.04(a). Applicant is advised that if any claim presented in a divisional application is anticipated by, or includes all the limitations of, a claim that is allowable in the present application, such claim may be subject to provisional statutory and/or nonstatutory double patenting rejections over the claims of the instant application.
Inventions I and II are related to invention III as product and process of use. The inventions can be shown to be distinct if either or both of the following can be shown: (1) the process for using the product as claimed can be practiced with another materially different product or (2) the product as claimed can be used in a materially different process of using that product. See MPEP § 806.05(h). In the instant case the products could be used in a materially different manner other than treating the conditions listed, as an antiseptic wash.
Restriction for examination purposes as indicated is proper because all the inventions listed in this action are independent or distinct for the reasons given above and there would be a serious search and/or examination burden if restriction were not required because one or more of the following reasons apply:
The inventions require a different field of search (e.g., searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search queries); and/or the prior art applicable to one invention would not likely be applicable to another invention.
Applicant is advised that the reply to this requirement to be complete must include (i) an election of an invention to be examined even though the requirement may be traversed (37 CFR 1.143) and (ii) identification of the claims encompassing the elected invention.
The election of an invention may be made with or without traverse. To reserve a right to petition, the election must be made with traverse. If the reply does not distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election shall be treated as an election without traverse. Traversal must be presented at the time of election in order to be considered timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are added after the election, applicant must indicate which of these claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
During a telephone conversation with George Wang on 2/17/2026 a provisional election was made without traverse to prosecute the invention of group I, claims 1-7. Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action. Claims 8,11-15 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
The examiner has required restriction between product or apparatus claims and process claims. Where applicant elects claims directed to the product/apparatus, and all product/apparatus claims are subsequently found allowable, withdrawn process claims that include all the limitations of the allowable product/apparatus claims should be considered for rejoinder. All claims directed to a nonelected process invention must include all the limitations of an allowable product/apparatus claim for that process invention to be rejoined.
In the event of rejoinder, the requirement for restriction between the product/apparatus claims and the rejoined process claims will be withdrawn, and the rejoined process claims will be fully examined for patentability in accordance with 37 CFR 1.104. Thus, to be allowable, the rejoined claims must meet all criteria for patentability including the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 101, 102, 103 and 112. Until all claims to the elected product/apparatus are found allowable, an otherwise proper restriction requirement between product/apparatus claims and process claims may be maintained. Withdrawn process claims that are not commensurate in scope with an allowable product/apparatus claim will not be rejoined. See MPEP § 821.04. Additionally, in order for rejoinder to occur, applicant is advised that the process claims should be amended during prosecution to require the limitations of the product/apparatus claims. Failure to do so may result in no rejoinder. Further, note that the prohibition against double patenting rejections of 35 U.S.C. 121 does not apply where the restriction requirement is withdrawn by the examiner before the patent issues. See MPEP § 804.01.
Duty to Disclose
Applicants are kindly reminded of their duty to disclose pursuant to 37 C.F.R. 1.56 which encompasses the citation of references material to patentability of which Applicants are aware, such as references that may have been cited in the prosecution of the international application or PCT or in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In particular the range of 10 to 60 g/mL seems to include amounts that are not within the range of not less than 50% ethanol recited in claim 1. Note 10 g/mL would be at or close to 10% concentration. The limitation is indefinite as it seems to include values outside of the range recited in the claim it depends upon.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,4-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Dangman et al. (US 5,335,373).
Dangman discloses a protective medical glove with an internal puncturable compartment containing an antiseptic liquid comprising 0.02 to 20 parts povidone, 0.1 to 90 parts ethanol, the solution additionally contained dye (imagining agent), sodium acetate and calcium carbonate. See entire disclosure, especially abstract, col 19 lines 16-53, col 24 line 64-col 25 line 25, col 26 lines 15-44, and claims, especially 1,5-6,8 and 14. Regarding claim 6, since the salt is the same it follows it too will have the same pH. Regarding claim 7, which recites in the preamble of the claim the intended use of the composition, it follows that since Dangman is within the scope of the pending claim it will be capable of the same intended use. The subject matter of a properly construed claim is defined by the terms that limit its scope. It is this subject matter that must be examined. As a general matter, the grammar and intended meaning of terms used in a claim will dictate whether the language limits the claim scope. Language that suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed or does not limit a claim to a particular structure does not limit the scope of a claim or claim limitation. See MPEP 2106 [R-6] pages 2100-6 through 2100-8.
Claim(s) 1,4 and 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Zhong et al. (2005/0064045 A1).
Zhong discloses sterile injectable formulations comprising an ablation agent, including ethanol, a viscosity adjusting agent including povidone, an optical imagining agent, solid particles including calcium carbonate and a liquid. See entire disclosure, especially abstract and claims. Regarding claim 6, since the salt is the same it follows it too will have the same pH.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dangman et al. (US 5,335,373).
Dangman is disclosed above. As noted above Dangman teaches an antiseptic liquid comprising 0.02 to 20 parts povidone and 0.1 to 90 parts ethanol, overlapping/incorporating the claimed amounts in claims 2-3. A prima facie case of obviousness typically exists when the range of a claimed composition lies inside the range disclosed in the prior art, such as in the instant rejection. Therefore, based on the described overlap above, the instant claims would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP § 2144.05.
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhong et al. (2005/0064045 A1).
Zhong is disclosed above. Zhong while teaching use of ethanol and povidone as a thickener the references is silent on the concentration of each within the claimed amounts. However, the preparation of injectable pharmaceutical compositions having variable amount of viscosity adjuster and liquid is within the level of skill of one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. One of ordinary skill would adjust the amounts to achieve the desired viscosity for an injectable formulation. It has also been held that the mere selection of proportions and ranges is not patentable absent a showing of criticality. See In re Russell, 439 F.2d 1228 169 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1971).
Conclusion
/JAMES W ROGERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1618