DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7-8, 11-12, 18-19, 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (US 2020/0209726 A1; Lin) in view of Katou (US 2013/0038847 A1) and further in view of KITANO (US 2013/0088471 A1).
As of claim 1, Lin teaches an illumination system 100 [fig 1], comprising a light-emitting element 110 [fig 1], a wavelength conversion element 120 [fig 1] [0035], at least a first light homogenizing element 140 (integration rod) [fig 1] [0058] and a second light homogenizing element 140 (integration rod) [fig 1] [0058], wherein: the light-emitting element 110 (excitation light source modules) [fig 1] [0060] is configured to provide an excitation light beam 50 [fig 1] [0060]; the wavelength conversion element 120 [fig 1] is disposed on a transmission path of the excitation light beam 50 [fig 1] and is configured to convert the excitation light beam 50 [fig 1] into a conversion light beam [0044], and through the wavelength conversion element 120 [fig 1], and the second light homogenizing element 140 [fig 1] is disposed on a transmission path of the illumination light beam (shown with arrows in fig 1) from the wavelength conversion element 120 [fig 1], wherein a shape of a light incident surface (bottom part size of 140) [fig 1] of the at least one first light homogenizing element 140 [fig 1] is the same as a shape of a light incident surface (bottom part size of 140) [fig 1] of the second light homogenizing element 140 [fig 1].
Lin does not teach the excitation light beam and the conversion light beam sequentially form an illumination light beam, and the illumination light beam comprises at least one of the excitation light beam and the conversion light beam; the at least one first light homogenizing element is disposed on the transmission path of the excitation light beam from the light-emitting element, and is located between the light-emitting element and the wavelength conversion element, and the at least one first light homogenizing element is configured to adjust a shape of a light spot formed by the excitation light beam on the wavelength conversion element.
Katou teaches an illumination optical system [fig 1] having the excitation light beam (from laser light source 101) [fig 1] and the conversion light beam (from fluorescent wheel 104) [fig 1] sequentially form an illumination light beam (the laser light generated by laser light source 101 is entering fluorescent wheel 104, blue fluorescent light, green fluorescent light and the red fluorescent light are sequentially generated) [0040], and the illumination light beam comprises at least one of the excitation light beam (from laser light source 101) [fig 1] and the conversion light beam (from fluorescent wheel 104) [fig 1]; the at least one first light homogenizing element 103 (light tunnel) [fig 1] is disposed on the transmission path of the excitation light beam from the light-emitting element (from laser light source 101) [fig 1], and is located between the light-emitting element 101 [fig 1] and the wavelength conversion element 104 [fig 1].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the excitation light beam and the conversion light beam sequentially form an illumination light beam, and the illumination light beam comprises at least one of the excitation light beam and the conversion light beam; the at least one first light homogenizing element is disposed on the transmission path of the excitation light beam from the light-emitting element, and is located between the light-emitting element and the wavelength conversion element, and the at least one first light homogenizing element is configured to adjust a shape of a light spot formed by the excitation light beam on the wavelength conversion element as taught by Katou to the illumination system as disclosed by Lin to realize an illumination optical system that has small etendues, a longer operating life and a higher brightness (Katou; [0007]).
Lin in view of Katou the invention as cited above except for the at least one first light homogenizing element is configured to adjust a shape of a light spot formed by the excitation light beam on the wavelength conversion element.
KITANO teaches a light source device [fig 1] having at least one first light homogenizing element 108 (rod integrator) [fig 1] [0041] is configured to adjust a shape of a light spot (the image of the emission end face of the rod integrator 108 is formed on the phosphor by this relay optical system. The lateral magnification of the relay optical system here is 0.25, and the spot of the laser light flux formed on the phosphor measures 2.0. times.1.5 mm) [0046] formed by the excitation light beam (from light source 104) [fig 1] [0128] on the wavelength conversion element 100 [fig 1].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have at least one first light homogenizing element is configured to adjust a shape of a light spot formed by the excitation light beam on the wavelength conversion element as taught by KITANO to the illumination system as disclosed by Lin in view of Katou in order to provide a light source device that uses a phosphor to obtain illumination light of high brightness and high efficiency (KITANO; [0018]).
As of claim 7, Lin teaches a filter element DM1 (dichroic mirrors) [fig 1] [0045], disposed on the transmission path of the illumination light beam from the wavelength conversion element 120 [fig 1], and located between the wavelength conversion element 120 [fig 1] and the second light homogenizing element 140 [fig 1].
As of claim 8, Lin teaches a beam splitter set DM2, DM4 [fig 1], disposed on the transmission path of the excitation light beam (from 110) [fig 1] and the illumination light beam 50 [fig 1], and configured to guide the excitation light beam (from 110) [fig 1] from the light-emitting element 110 [fig 1] to the wavelength conversion element 120 [fig 1], and guide the illumination light beam 50 [fig 1] from the wavelength conversion element 120 [fig 1] to the second light homogenizing element 140 [fig 1].
As of claim 11, Lin teaches at least one first light homogenizing element and/or the second light homogenizing element 140 [fig 1] is composed of a light transmissive body (light uniforming elements 140 transmits lights 70A, 70B through the body) [fig 1].
As of claim 12, Lin teaches a projection device 200 [fig 1], comprising an illumination system 100 [fig 1], a light valve 210 [fig 1] [0033] and a projection lens 220 [fig 1] [0033], wherein the illumination system 100 [fig 1] is configured to provide an illumination light beam 50 [fig 1], the light valve 210 [fig 1] is disposed on the transmission path of the illumination light beam (shown with arrows in fig 1) from the second light homogenizing element 140 [fig 1], and is configured to convert the illumination light beam into an image light beam 80 [fig 1]; and the projection lens 220 [fig 1] is arranged on a transmission path of the image light beam 80 [fig 1], and is configured to project the image light beam out of the projection device (on screen 230) [0059]; illumination system 100 [fig 1], comprising a light-emitting element 110 [fig 1], a wavelength conversion element 120 [fig 1] [0035], at least a first light homogenizing element 140 (integration rod) [fig 1] [0058] and a second light homogenizing element 140 (integration rod) [fig 1] [0058], wherein: the light-emitting element 110 (excitation light source modules) [fig 1] [0060] is configured to provide an excitation light beam 50 [fig 1] [0060]; the wavelength conversion element 120 [fig 1] is disposed on a transmission path of the excitation light beam 50 [fig 1] and is configured to convert the excitation light beam 50 [fig 1] into a conversion light beam [0044], and through the wavelength conversion element 120 [fig 1], and the second light homogenizing element 140 [fig 1] is disposed on a transmission path of the illumination light beam (shown with arrows in fig 1) from the wavelength conversion element 120 [fig 1], wherein a shape of a light incident surface (bottom part size of 140) [fig 1] of the at least one first light homogenizing element 140 [fig 1] is the same as a shape of a light incident surface (bottom part size of 140) [fig 1] of the second light homogenizing element 140 [fig 1].
Lin does not teach the excitation light beam and the conversion light beam sequentially form an illumination light beam, and the illumination light beam comprises at least one of the excitation light beam and the conversion light beam; the at least one first light homogenizing element is disposed on the transmission path of the excitation light beam from the light-emitting element, and is located between the light-emitting element and the wavelength conversion element, and the at least one first light homogenizing element is configured to adjust a shape of a light spot formed by the excitation light beam on the wavelength conversion element.
Katou teaches an illumination optical system [fig 1] having the excitation light beam (from laser light source 101) [fig 1] and the conversion light beam (from fluorescent wheel 104) [fig 1] sequentially form an illumination light beam (the laser light generated by laser light source 101 is entering fluorescent wheel 104, blue fluorescent light, green fluorescent light and the red fluorescent light are sequentially generated) [0040], and the illumination light beam comprises at least one of the excitation light beam (from laser light source 101) [fig 1] and the conversion light beam (from fluorescent wheel 104) [fig 1]; the at least one first light homogenizing element 103 (light tunnel) [fig 1] is disposed on the transmission path of the excitation light beam from the light-emitting element (from laser light source 101) [fig 1], and is located between the light-emitting element 101 [fig 1] and the wavelength conversion element 104 [fig 1].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the excitation light beam and the conversion light beam sequentially form an illumination light beam, and the illumination light beam comprises at least one of the excitation light beam and the conversion light beam; the at least one first light homogenizing element is disposed on the transmission path of the excitation light beam from the light-emitting element, and is located between the light-emitting element and the wavelength conversion element, and the at least one first light homogenizing element is configured to adjust a shape of a light spot formed by the excitation light beam on the wavelength conversion element as taught by Katou to the illumination system as disclosed by Lin to realize an illumination optical system that has small etendues, a longer operating life and a higher brightness (Katou; [0007]).
Lin in view of Katou the invention as cited above except for the at least one first light homogenizing element is configured to adjust a shape of a light spot formed by the excitation light beam on the wavelength conversion element.
KITANO teaches a light source device [fig 1] having at least one first light homogenizing element 108 (rod integrator) [fig 1] [0041] is configured to adjust a shape of a light spot (the image of the emission end face of the rod integrator 108 is formed on the phosphor by this relay optical system. The lateral magnification of the relay optical system here is 0.25, and the spot of the laser light flux formed on the phosphor measures 2.0. times. 1.5 mm) [0046] formed by the excitation light beam (from light source 104) [fig 1] [0128] on the wavelength conversion element 100 [fig 1].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have at least one first light homogenizing element is configured to adjust a shape of a light spot formed by the excitation light beam on the wavelength conversion element as taught by KITANO to the illumination system as disclosed by Lin in view of Katou in order to provide a light source device that uses a phosphor to obtain illumination light of high brightness and high efficiency (KITANO; [0018]).
As of claim 18, Lin teaches a filter element DM1 (dichroic mirrors) [fig 1] [0045], disposed on the transmission path of the illumination light beam from the wavelength conversion element 120 [fig 1], and located between the wavelength conversion element 120 [fig 1] and the second light homogenizing element 140 [fig 1].
As of claim 19, Lin teaches a beam splitter set DM2, DM4 [fig 1], disposed on the transmission path of the excitation light beam (from 110) [fig 1] and the illumination light beam 50 [fig 1], and configured to guide the excitation light beam (from 110) [fig 1] from the light-emitting element 110 [fig 1] to the wavelength conversion element 120 [fig 1], and guide the illumination light beam 50 [fig 1] from the wavelength conversion element 120 [fig 1] to the second light homogenizing element 140 [fig 1].
As of claim 22, Lin teaches at least one first light homogenizing element and/or the second light homogenizing element 140 [fig 1] is composed of a light transmissive body (light uniforming elements 140 transmits lights 70A, 70B through the body) [fig 1].
As of claim 23, Lin teaches a shape of a light spot formed by the illumination light beam 70A, 70B [fig 1] on the light valve 210 [fig 1] is a rectangle (light valve 210 is rectangular shape) [fig 1].
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (US 2020/0209726 A1; Lin) in view of Katou (US 2013/0038847 A1) and KITANO (US 2013/0088471 A1) and further in view of Nishida et al. (US 6,443,576 B1; Nishida).
Lin in view of Katou and KITANO teaches the invention as cited above except for the shape of the light incident surface of the at least one first light homogenizing element is a quadrilateral, and at least one interior angle of the light incident surface is not equal to 90 degrees.
Nishida teaches a light-transmitting rod 180 [fig 11] having the shape of the light incident surface (front surface of 180) [fig 11] of the at least one first light homogenizing element is a quadrilateral [fig 11], and at least one interior angle of the light incident surface is not equal to 90 degrees [fig 11].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the shape of the light incident surface of the at least one first light homogenizing element is a quadrilateral, and at least one interior angle of the light incident surface is not equal to 90 degrees as taught by Nishida to the illumination system as disclosed by Lin in view of Katou and KITANO in order to increase the illumination efficiency owing to the light emitted from the light-transmitting rod (Nishida; col 16, lines 16-18).
Lin in view of Katou and KITANO and further in view of Nishida teaches the invention as cited above except for the shape of the light incident surface of the second light homogenizing element is a quadrilateral, and at least one interior angle of the light incident surface is not equal to 90 degrees. However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the shape of the light incident surface of the second light homogenizing element is a quadrilateral, and at least one interior angle of the light incident surface is not equal to 90 degrees (same as first light homogenizing element) since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). See also MPEP 2144.04 VI. (B).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (US 2020/0209726 A1; Lin) in view of Katou (US 2013/0038847 A1) and further in view of KITANO (US 2013/0088471 A1).
Lin in view of Katou teaches the invention as cited above except for a lens group, disposed on the transmission path of the excitation light beam, and comprising at least two lenses, wherein the at least one first light homogenizing element is disposed between the at least two lenses.
KITANO teaches a lens group 106, 109 [fig 1], disposed on the transmission path of the excitation light beam (from 104) [fig 1], and comprising at least two lenses 106, 109 [fig 1], wherein the at least one first light homogenizing element 108 [fig 1] is disposed between the at least two lenses 106, 109 [fig 1].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a lens group, disposed on the transmission path of the excitation light beam, and comprising at least two lenses, wherein the at least one first light homogenizing element is disposed between the at least two lenses as taught by KITANO to the illumination system as disclosed by Lin in view of Katou in order to provide a light source device that uses a phosphor to obtain illumination light of high brightness and high efficiency (KITANO; [0018]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (US 2020/0209726 A1; Lin) in view of Katou (US 2013/0038847 A1) and KITANO (US 2013/0088471 A1) and further in view of TAKANO et al. (US 2022/0171267 A1; TAKANO).
Lin in view of Katou and KITANO teaches the invention as cited above except for at least one first light homogenizing element and/or the second light homogenizing element is formed by four optical sheets.
TAKANO teaches a projector 1 [fig 1] having at least one first light homogenizing element and/or the second light homogenizing element 30 (light tunnel) [fig 1] is formed by four optical sheets (the light tunnel enclosed by four mirror plates with their mirrors facing inside) [0033].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have at least one first light homogenizing element and/or the second light homogenizing element is formed by four optical sheets as taught by TAKANO to the illumination system as disclosed by Lin in view of Katou and KITANO in order to uniformize the light intensities of the light beams (TAKANO; [0033]).
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (US 2020/0209726 A1; Lin) in view of Katou (US 2013/0038847 A1) and KITANO (US 2013/0088471 A1) and further in view of Nishida et al. (US 6,443,576 B1; Nishida).
Lin in view of Katou and KITANO teaches the invention as cited above except for the shape of the light incident surface of the at least one first light homogenizing element is a quadrilateral, and at least one interior angle of the light incident surface is not equal to 90 degrees.
Nishida teaches a light-transmitting rod 180 [fig 11] having the shape of the light incident surface (front surface of 180) [fig 11] of the at least one first light homogenizing element is a quadrilateral [fig 11], and at least one interior angle of the light incident surface is not equal to 90 degrees [fig 11].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the shape of the light incident surface of the at least one first light homogenizing element is a quadrilateral, and at least one interior angle of the light incident surface is not equal to 90 degrees as taught by Nishida to the illumination system as disclosed by Lin in view of Katou and KITANO in order to increase the illumination efficiency owing to the light emitted from the light-transmitting rod (Nishida; col 16, lines 16-18).
Lin in view of Katou and KITANO and further in view of Nishida teaches the invention as cited above except for the shape of the light incident surface of the second light homogenizing element is a quadrilateral, and at least one interior angle of the light incident surface is not equal to 90 degrees. However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the shape of the light incident surface of the second light homogenizing element is a quadrilateral, and at least one interior angle of the light incident surface is not equal to 90 degrees (same as first light homogenizing element) since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). See also MPEP 2144.04 VI. (B).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (US 2020/0209726 A1; Lin) in view of Katou (US 2013/0038847 A1) and further in view of KITANO (US 2013/0088471 A1).
Lin in view of Katou teaches the invention as cited above except for a lens group, disposed on the transmission path of the excitation light beam, and comprising at least two lenses, wherein the at least one first light homogenizing element is disposed between the at least two lenses.
KITANO teaches a lens group 106, 109 [fig 1], disposed on the transmission path of the excitation light beam (from 104) [fig 1], and comprising at least two lenses 106, 109 [fig 1], wherein the at least one first light homogenizing element 108 [fig 1] is disposed between the at least two lenses 106, 109 [fig 1].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a lens group, disposed on the transmission path of the excitation light beam, and comprising at least two lenses, wherein the at least one first light homogenizing element is disposed between the at least two lenses as taught by KITANO to the illumination system as disclosed by Lin in view of Katou in order to provide a light source device that uses a phosphor to obtain illumination light of high brightness and high efficiency (KITANO; [0018]).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (US 2020/0209726 A1; Lin) in view of Katou (US 2013/0038847 A1) and KITANO (US 2013/0088471 A1) and further in view of TAKANO et al. (US 2022/0171267 A1; TAKANO).
Lin in view of Katou and KITANO teaches the invention as cited above except for at least one first light homogenizing element and/or the second light homogenizing element is formed by four optical sheets.
TAKANO teaches a projector 1 [fig 1] having at least one first light homogenizing element and/or the second light homogenizing element 30 (light tunnel) [fig 1] is formed by four optical sheets (the light tunnel enclosed by four mirror plates with their mirrors facing inside) [0033].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have at least one first light homogenizing element and/or the second light homogenizing element is formed by four optical sheets as taught by TAKANO to the illumination system as disclosed by Lin in view of Katou and KITANO in order to uniformize the light intensities of the light beams (TAKANO; [0033]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5, 9, 15-16, 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As of claim 4, the closest prior art Lin et al. (US 2020/0209726 A1; Lin) teaches a projection apparatus 200 includes an illumination system 100, at least one light valve 210 and a projection lens 220. For example, in the embodiment, the light valve 210 is a Digital Micro-mirror Device (DMD) or a Liquid-Crystal-On-Silicon (LCOS) panel. However, in other embodiments, the light valve 210 may also be a transmissive liquid crystal panel or other light modulator, and the number of the at least one light valve is not limited. To be specific, as shown in FIG. 1, in the embodiment, the illumination system 100 includes a plurality of excitation light source modules 110 and a wavelength conversion module 120. As shown in FIG. 1, each of the excitation light source modules 110 includes a first excitation light source 111 and a second excitation light source 112, which are respectively configured to emit a plurality of excitation beams 50. In the embodiment, the first excitation light source 111 and the second excitation light source 112 of the excitation light source module 110 are laser light sources, and the excitation beams 50 are blue laser beams. For example, the first excitation light source 111 and the second excitation light source 112 may include a plurality of blue laser diodes (not shown) arranged in an array, though the invention is not limited thereto. Moreover, in the embodiment, the blue laser beams produced by the first excitation light source 111 and the second excitation light source 112 have the same wavelength, and a wavelength range of the blue laser beams is, for example, 440-460 nm. In other embodiments, the blue laser beams produced by the first excitation light source 111 and the second excitation light source 112 may have different wavelengths, and the wavelength range of the blue laser beams is, for example, 440-460 nm. On the other hand, as shown in FIG. 1, in the embodiment, the wavelength conversion module 120 is located on a transmission path of the excitation beams 50, and the wavelength conversion module 120 includes a substrate 121, a first region R120A and a second region R120B. The substrate 121 has an axle center (not shown), and the substrate 121 has a first surface 121A and a second surface 121B opposite to each other. The first region R120A is located on the first surface 121A of the substrate 121, and located on the transmission path of the excitation beams 50. The second region R120B is located on the second surface 121B of the substrate 121, and is located on the transmission path of the excitation beams 50. Lin does not anticipate or render obvious, alone or in combination, the shape of the light spot formed on the wavelength conversion element is a quadrilateral, at least one interior angle of the quadrilateral is not equal to 90 degrees, and the at least one interior angle of the quadrilateral is the same as at least one interior angle of the light incident surface of the at least one first light homogenizing element.
As of claim 5, the closest prior art Lin et al. (US 2020/0209726 A1; Lin) teaches a projection apparatus 200 includes an illumination system 100, at least one light valve 210 and a projection lens 220. For example, in the embodiment, the light valve 210 is a Digital Micro-mirror Device (DMD) or a Liquid-Crystal-On-Silicon (LCOS) panel. However, in other embodiments, the light valve 210 may also be a transmissive liquid crystal panel or other light modulator, and the number of the at least one light valve is not limited. To be specific, as shown in FIG. 1, in the embodiment, the illumination system 100 includes a plurality of excitation light source modules 110 and a wavelength conversion module 120. As shown in FIG. 1, each of the excitation light source modules 110 includes a first excitation light source 111 and a second excitation light source 112, which are respectively configured to emit a plurality of excitation beams 50. In the embodiment, the first excitation light source 111 and the second excitation light source 112 of the excitation light source module 110 are laser light sources, and the excitation beams 50 are blue laser beams. For example, the first excitation light source 111 and the second excitation light source 112 may include a plurality of blue laser diodes (not shown) arranged in an array, though the invention is not limited thereto. Moreover, in the embodiment, the blue laser beams produced by the first excitation light source 111 and the second excitation light source 112 have the same wavelength, and a wavelength range of the blue laser beams is, for example, 440-460 nm. In other embodiments, the blue laser beams produced by the first excitation light source 111 and the second excitation light source 112 may have different wavelengths, and the wavelength range of the blue laser beams is, for example, 440-460 nm. On the other hand, as shown in FIG. 1, in the embodiment, the wavelength conversion module 120 is located on a transmission path of the excitation beams 50, and the wavelength conversion module 120 includes a substrate 121, a first region R120A and a second region R120B. The substrate 121 has an axle center (not shown), and the substrate 121 has a first surface 121A and a second surface 121B opposite to each other. The first region R120A is located on the first surface 121A of the substrate 121, and located on the transmission path of the excitation beams 50. The second region R120B is located on the second surface 121B of the substrate 121, and is located on the transmission path of the excitation beams 50. Lin does not anticipate or render obvious, alone or in combination, an area of the light incident surface of the second light homogenizing element is larger than an area of the light incident surface of the at least one first light homogenizing element.
As of claim 9, the closest prior art Lin et al. (US 2020/0209726 A1; Lin) teaches a projection apparatus 200 includes an illumination system 100, at least one light valve 210 and a projection lens 220. For example, in the embodiment, the light valve 210 is a Digital Micro-mirror Device (DMD) or a Liquid-Crystal-On-Silicon (LCOS) panel. However, in other embodiments, the light valve 210 may also be a transmissive liquid crystal panel or other light modulator, and the number of the at least one light valve is not limited. To be specific, as shown in FIG. 1, in the embodiment, the illumination system 100 includes a plurality of excitation light source modules 110 and a wavelength conversion module 120. As shown in FIG. 1, each of the excitation light source modules 110 includes a first excitation light source 111 and a second excitation light source 112, which are respectively configured to emit a plurality of excitation beams 50. In the embodiment, the first excitation light source 111 and the second excitation light source 112 of the excitation light source module 110 are laser light sources, and the excitation beams 50 are blue laser beams. For example, the first excitation light source 111 and the second excitation light source 112 may include a plurality of blue laser diodes (not shown) arranged in an array, though the invention is not limited thereto. Moreover, in the embodiment, the blue laser beams produced by the first excitation light source 111 and the second excitation light source 112 have the same wavelength, and a wavelength range of the blue laser beams is, for example, 440-460 nm. In other embodiments, the blue laser beams produced by the first excitation light source 111 and the second excitation light source 112 may have different wavelengths, and the wavelength range of the blue laser beams is, for example, 440-460 nm. On the other hand, as shown in FIG. 1, in the embodiment, the wavelength conversion module 120 is located on a transmission path of the excitation beams 50, and the wavelength conversion module 120 includes a substrate 121, a first region R120A and a second region R120B. The substrate 121 has an axle center (not shown), and the substrate 121 has a first surface 121A and a second surface 121B opposite to each other. The first region R120A is located on the first surface 121A of the substrate 121, and located on the transmission path of the excitation beams 50. The second region R120B is located on the second surface 121B of the substrate 121, and is located on the transmission path of the excitation beams 50. Lin does not anticipate or render obvious, alone or in combination, a number of the at least one first light homogenizing element is plural, and the plurality of first light homogenizing elements are arranged in an array in a direction perpendicular to a transmission direction of the excitation light beam from the light-emitting element.
As of claim 15, the closest prior art Lin et al. (US 2020/0209726 A1; Lin) teaches a projection apparatus 200 includes an illumination system 100, at least one light valve 210 and a projection lens 220. For example, in the embodiment, the light valve 210 is a Digital Micro-mirror Device (DMD) or a Liquid-Crystal-On-Silicon (LCOS) panel. However, in other embodiments, the light valve 210 may also be a transmissive liquid crystal panel or other light modulator, and the number of the at least one light valve is not limited. To be specific, as shown in FIG. 1, in the embodiment, the illumination system 100 includes a plurality of excitation light source modules 110 and a wavelength conversion module 120. As shown in FIG. 1, each of the excitation light source modules 110 includes a first excitation light source 111 and a second excitation light source 112, which are respectively configured to emit a plurality of excitation beams 50. In the embodiment, the first excitation light source 111 and the second excitation light source 112 of the excitation light source module 110 are laser light sources, and the excitation beams 50 are blue laser beams. For example, the first excitation light source 111 and the second excitation light source 112 may include a plurality of blue laser diodes (not shown) arranged in an array, though the invention is not limited thereto. Moreover, in the embodiment, the blue laser beams produced by the first excitation light source 111 and the second excitation light source 112 have the same wavelength, and a wavelength range of the blue laser beams is, for example, 440-460 nm. In other embodiments, the blue laser beams produced by the first excitation light source 111 and the second excitation light source 112 may have different wavelengths, and the wavelength range of the blue laser beams is, for example, 440-460 nm. On the other hand, as shown in FIG. 1, in the embodiment, the wavelength conversion module 120 is located on a transmission path of the excitation beams 50, and the wavelength conversion module 120 includes a substrate 121, a first region R120A and a second region R120B. The substrate 121 has an axle center (not shown), and the substrate 121 has a first surface 121A and a second surface 121B opposite to each other. The first region R120A is located on the first surface 121A of the substrate 121, and located on the transmission path of the excitation beams 50. The second region R120B is located on the second surface 121B of the substrate 121, and is located on the transmission path of the excitation beams 50. Lin does not anticipate or render obvious, alone or in combination, the shape of the light spot formed on the wavelength conversion element is a quadrilateral, at least one interior angle of the quadrilateral is not equal to 90 degrees, and the at least one interior angle of the quadrilateral is the same as at least one interior angle of the light incident surface of the at least one first light homogenizing element.
As of claim 16, the closest prior art Lin et al. (US 2020/0209726 A1; Lin) teaches a projection apparatus 200 includes an illumination system 100, at least one light valve 210 and a projection lens 220. For example, in the embodiment, the light valve 210 is a Digital Micro-mirror Device (DMD) or a Liquid-Crystal-On-Silicon (LCOS) panel. However, in other embodiments, the light valve 210 may also be a transmissive liquid crystal panel or other light modulator, and the number of the at least one light valve is not limited. To be specific, as shown in FIG. 1, in the embodiment, the illumination system 100 includes a plurality of excitation light source modules 110 and a wavelength conversion module 120. As shown in FIG. 1, each of the excitation light source modules 110 includes a first excitation light source 111 and a second excitation light source 112, which are respectively configured to emit a plurality of excitation beams 50. In the embodiment, the first excitation light source 111 and the second excitation light source 112 of the excitation light source module 110 are laser light sources, and the excitation beams 50 are blue laser beams. For example, the first excitation light source 111 and the second excitation light source 112 may include a plurality of blue laser diodes (not shown) arranged in an array, though the invention is not limited thereto. Moreover, in the embodiment, the blue laser beams produced by the first excitation light source 111 and the second excitation light source 112 have the same wavelength, and a wavelength range of the blue laser beams is, for example, 440-460 nm. In other embodiments, the blue laser beams produced by the first excitation light source 111 and the second excitation light source 112 may have different wavelengths, and the wavelength range of the blue laser beams is, for example, 440-460 nm. On the other hand, as shown in FIG. 1, in the embodiment, the wavelength conversion module 120 is located on a transmission path of the excitation beams 50, and the wavelength conversion module 120 includes a substrate 121, a first region R120A and a second region R120B. The substrate 121 has an axle center (not shown), and the substrate 121 has a first surface 121A and a second surface 121B opposite to each other. The first region R120A is located on the first surface 121A of the substrate 121, and located on the transmission path of the excitation beams 50. The second region R120B is located on the second surface 121B of the substrate 121, and is located on the transmission path of the excitation beams 50. Lin does not anticipate or render obvious, alone or in combination, an area of the light incident surface of the second light homogenizing element is larger than an area of the light incident surface of the at least one first light homogenizing element.
As of claim 20, the closest prior art Lin et al. (US 2020/0209726 A1; Lin) teaches a projection apparatus 200 includes an illumination system 100, at least one light valve 210 and a projection lens 220. For example, in the embodiment, the light valve 210 is a Digital Micro-mirror Device (DMD) or a Liquid-Crystal-On-Silicon (LCOS) panel. However, in other embodiments, the light valve 210 may also be a transmissive liquid crystal panel or other light modulator, and the number of the at least one light valve is not limited. To be specific, as shown in FIG. 1, in the embodiment, the illumination system 100 includes a plurality of excitation light source modules 110 and a wavelength conversion module 120. As shown in FIG. 1, each of the excitation light source modules 110 includes a first excitation light source 111 and a second excitation light source 112, which are respectively configured to emit a plurality of excitation beams 50. In the embodiment, the first excitation light source 111 and the second excitation light source 112 of the excitation light source module 110 are laser light sources, and the excitation beams 50 are blue laser beams. For example, the first excitation light source 111 and the second excitation light source 112 may include a plurality of blue laser diodes (not shown) arranged in an array, though the invention is not limited thereto. Moreover, in the embodiment, the blue laser beams produced by the first excitation light source 111 and the second excitation light source 112 have the same wavelength, and a wavelength range of the blue laser beams is, for example, 440-460 nm. In other embodiments, the blue laser beams produced by the first excitation light source 111 and the second excitation light source 112 may have different wavelengths, and the wavelength range of the blue laser beams is, for example, 440-460 nm. On the other hand, as shown in FIG. 1, in the embodiment, the wavelength conversion module 120 is located on a transmission path of the excitation beams 50, and the wavelength conversion module 120 includes a substrate 121, a first region R120A and a second region R120B. The substrate 121 has an axle center (not shown), and the substrate 121 has a first surface 121A and a second surface 121B opposite to each other. The first region R120A is located on the first surface 121A of the substrate 121, and located on the transmission path of the excitation beams 50. The second region R120B is located on the second surface 121B of the substrate 121, and is located on the transmission path of the excitation beams 50. Lin does not anticipate or render obvious, alone or in combination, a number of the at least one first light homogenizing element is plural, and the plurality of first light homogenizing elements are arranged in an array in a direction perpendicular to a transmission direction of the excitation light beam from the light-emitting element.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
- Prior Art Chen et al. (US 8029143 B2) teaches an illumination system includes a light source, a light integration rod, a color wheel, a first focusing unit and a second focusing unit. The light source is capable of generating the illumination beam, and the light integration rod is disposed on the transmission path of the illumination beam. The first focusing unit is disposed between the integration rod and the color wheel and is capable of focusing the illumination beam onto the color wheel. The second focusing unit is disposed between the color wheel and the light valve and is capable of focusing the illumination beam onto the light valve;
- Prior Art Chang et al. (US 20160054646 A1) teaches a projector which includes a light source module, an optical engine, a light valve and a projecting lens. The light source module includes light sources, optical fibers and a light integration rod. Each of the light sources provides an illumination sub-beam. Each of the illumination sub-beams transmits to the light integration rod through the corresponding optical fiber, and passes through the light integration rod and emits out to form a first illumination beam. The optical engine includes a phosphor wheel located at a transmission path of the first illumination beam and converting the first illumination beam into a second illumination beam. The light valve is located at a transmission path of the second illumination beam and converts the second illumination beam into an image beam. The projecting lens is located at a transmission path of the image beam and projects the image beams out of the projector.
/SULTAN CHOWDHURY/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882