DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-6 are pending and under examination herein.
Claims 1-2 are objected to.
Claims 1-6 are rejected.
Priority
The instant application is a Continuation of PCT/CN2021/121703 , filed 09/29/2021, which claims foreign priority to CN2021111119809, filed 09/23/2021. Certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55 have not been received. As such, the effective filing date assigned to each of claims 1-6 is 09/23/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
No information disclosure statements have been filed here.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Fig 3(a) is improperly labeled.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: The “ Cross-reference to related applications” section is missing. Appropriate correction is required.
The following guidelines illustrate the preferred layout for the specification of a utility application. These guidelines are suggested for the applicant’s use.
Arrangement of the Specification
As provided in 37 CFR 1.77(b), the specification of a utility application should include the following sections in order. Each of the lettered items should appear in upper case, without underlining or bold type, as a section heading. If no text follows the section heading, the phrase “Not Applicable” should follow the section heading:
(a) TITLE OF THE INVENTION.
(b) CROSS-REFERENCE TO RELATED APPLICATIONS.
(c) STATEMENT REGARDING FEDERALLY SPONSORED RESEARCH OR DEVELOPMENT.
(d) THE NAMES OF THE PARTIES TO A JOINT RESEARCH AGREEMENT.
(e) INCORPORATION-BY-REFERENCE OF MATERIAL SUBMITTED ON A READ-ONLY OPTICAL DISC, AS A TEXT FILE OR AN XML FILE VIA THE PATENT ELECTRONIC SYSTEM.
(f) STATEMENT REGARDING PRIOR DISCLOSURES BY THE INVENTOR OR A JOINT INVENTOR.
(g) BACKGROUND OF THE INVENTION.
(1) Field of the Invention.
(2) Description of Related Art including information disclosed under 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98.
(h) BRIEF SUMMARY OF THE INVENTION.
(i) BRIEF DESCRIPTION OF THE SEVERAL VIEWS OF THE DRAWING(S).
(j) DETAILED DESCRIPTION OF THE INVENTION.
(k) CLAIM OR CLAIMS (commencing on a separate sheet).
(l) ABSTRACT OF THE DISCLOSURE (commencing on a separate sheet).
(m) SEQUENCE LISTING. (See MPEP § 2422.03 and 37 CFR 1.821 - 1.825). A “Sequence Listing” is required on paper if the application discloses a nucleotide or amino acid sequence as defined in 37 CFR 1.821(a) and if the required “Sequence Listing” is not submitted as an electronic document either on read-only optical disc or as a text file via the patent electronic system.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-2 are objected to because of the following informalities: The steps of the claims are not separated by a line indentation. Where a claim sets forth a plurality of elements or steps, each element or step of the claim should be separated by a line indentation (see MPEP 608.01(i)). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, and all claims dependent thereon, recites the limitations "the elemental analysis results" in line 3, “the contents of aromatic hydrocarbon,..“ in lines 3-4, “the carbon structural parameters” in line 5, “the number of carbon atoms” in line 6, “the sizes of aromatic clusters” in line 8, “the composition features” in line 9, “the total number of carbon atoms” in line 10, “the number of aliphatic carbo atoms” in line 10, “the categories” in line 12, and “the structural forms” in line 15. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as the claim does not previously recite these limitations.
Claim 1, and all claims dependent thereon, is unclear with respect to the terms “the number of carbon atoms in lignite” and “the total number carbon atoms”. The metes and bounds of claim 1 are rendered indefinite by the lack of clarity. Specifically, it is unclear if the number of carbon atoms in lignite is the same as the total number of carbon atoms. For the purposes of examination, these terms are interpreted to be the same.
Claims 2 and 3 recite the limitations "the structural parameters” in lines 7 and 2, respectively. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as the claims, not claim 1 on which they depend, do not previously recite a structural parameter. For the purposes of examination, this limitation is interpreted to be the “carbon structural parameters” recited in claim 1.
Claim 5 recites the limitations “the ratio of bridging carbon to peripheral carbon" in line 4 and “the value in raw coal" in line 4-5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim, as neither the claim, nor claim 1 on which it depends, previously recite a ratio of bridging carbon to peripheral carbon or a value in raw coal.
Furthermore, claim 5 is unclear with respect to the phrase “the value in raw coal”. The metes and bounds of claim 5 are rendered indefinite by the lack of clarity. Specifically, lignite is a type of raw coal and it is unclear if this value refers to the value of the lignite sample or another reference. For the purposes of examination, the value of raw coal is interpreted to refer to ratio of bridging carbon to peripheral carbon in any raw coal sample or reference.
Furthermore, claim 5 is incomplete for omitting essential steps, such omission amounting to a gap between the steps. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted steps are: the steps for determining a the ratio of bridging carbon to peripheral carbon, and obtaining the value for raw coal.
Claim 6 recites the limitations “the number of carbon atoms in other parameters” in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as neither the claim, nor claim 1 on which it depends, previously recite a number of carbon atoms in other parameters.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea/law of nature/natural phenomenon without significantly more. In accordance with MPEP § 2106, claims found to recite statutory subject matter (Step 1: YES) are then analyzed to determine if the claims recite any concepts that equate to an abstract idea, law of nature or natural phenomenon (Step 2A, Prong 1). In the instant application, the claims recite the following limitations that equate to an abstract idea:
Claim 1 recites calculating the number of carbon atoms in lignite based on the elemental analysis results, the contents of aromatic hydrocarbon, aliphatic hydrocarbon and various oxygen-containing functional groups, and the carbon structural parameters, obtaining the sizes of aromatic clusters, and determining the composition features and number of aromatic structural units in lignite; calculating the total number of carbon atoms and the number of aliphatic carbon atoms in lignite based on the composition features and number of aromatic structural units; obtaining the categories and number of oxygen-containing functional groups in lignite based on the contents of aromatic hydrocarbon, aliphatic hydrocarbon and various oxygen-containing functional groups, designing the structural forms of nitrogen and sulfur; constructing a molecular structure model of lignite based on the composition features and number of aromatic structural units in lignite, the total number of carbon atoms and the number of aliphatic carbon atoms in lignite, the categories and number of oxygen-containing functional groups in lignite, and the structural forms of nitrogen and sulfur.
These recitations equate to steps of collecting information, analyzing data and making observations, evaluations and judgements that can be carried out in the human mind. Specifically, calculating the number of carbon atoms in lignite based on the elemental analysis results, the contents of aromatic hydrocarbon, aliphatic hydrocarbon and various oxygen-containing functional groups, and the carbon structural parameters, obtaining the sizes of aromatic clusters, determining the composition features and number of aromatic structural units in lignite, calculating the total number of carbon atoms and the number of aliphatic carbon atoms in lignite based on the determined features and numbers, obtaining the categories and number of oxygen-containing functional groups in lignite based on the obtained data, designing the structural forms of nitrogen and sulfur, and constructing a molecular structure model of lignite can be practically performing the human mind as claimed and are similar to the concepts of collecting and comparing known information in Classen Immunotherapies, Inc. v. Biogen IDEC, 659 F.3d 1057, 1067, 100 USPQ2d 1492, 1500 (Fed. Cir. 2011) and collecting information, analyzing it, and reporting certain results of the collection and analysis in Electric Power Group v. Alstom, S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1353-54, 119 USPQ2d 1739, 1741-42 (Fed. Cir. 2016) that the courts have identified as concepts that can be practically performed in the human mind. Therefore, each of the above recited limitations fall under the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Furthermore, the steps of calculating the number of carbons and obtaining the sizes of aromatic clusters equate to organizing information and manipulating information through mathematical correlations and reciting a mathematical equation, similar to the concepts of taking existing information, manipulating the data using mathematical functions, and organizing this information into a new form in Digitech Image Techs., LLC v. Electronics for Imaging, Inc., 758 F.3d 1344, 1350, 111 USPQ2d 1717, 1721 (Fed. Cir. 2014). Therefore, these limitations fall under the “mathematical concepts” grouping of abstract ideas. Claims 4-6 further qualify the judicial exceptions. As such, claims 1-6 recite an abstract idea (Step 2A, Prong 1: YES).
Claims found to recite a judicial exception under Step 2A, Prong 1 are then further analyzed to determine if the claims as a whole integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application or not (Step 2A, Prong 2). This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claims do not recite an additional element that reflects an improvement to technology, applies or uses the recited judicial exception to affect a particular treatment for a condition, implements a judicial exception with, or uses a judicial exception in conjunction with, a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim, effects a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing or applies or uses the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception. Rather, the instant claims recite additional elements that amount to mere data gathering and outputting and mere instructions to implement the abstract idea in a generic computing environment. Specifically, the claims recite the following additional elements:
Claim 1 recites collecting and processing a lignite sample to obtain a lignite experimental sample; analyzing the lignite experimental sample to obtain the elemental analysis results, the contents of aromatic hydrocarbon, aliphatic hydrocarbon and various oxygen-containing functional groups, and the carbon structural parameters of the lignite sample.
Claim 2 recites wherein the step of analyzing the lignite experimental sample comprises: conducting infrared spectroscopic analysis to the lignite experimental sample to obtain the contents of aromatic hydrocarbon, aliphatic hydrocarbon and various oxygen-containing functional groups; testing the lignite experimental sample by a nuclear magnetic resonance spectrometer through Cross Polarization Magic Angle Spinning (CPMAS) and Total Suppression of Sidebands (TOSS) to obtain the structural parameters.
Claim 3 recites wherein the structural parameters include aromatic carbon, carbonyl carbon with a chemical shift of >l65 ppm, aromatic ring carbon, unprotonated carbon, protonated carbon, phenol or aromatic ether carbon, alkylated aromatic carbon, bridging aromatic carbon, aliphatic carbon, aliphatic methyl, aromatic methyl, quaternary carbon, methylene, and aliphatic carbon bonded to oxygen.
Claims 1-3 recite limitations of how data is obtained and further limitations on that data. These limitations equate to mere data gathering activity to obtain the data necessary for the mental evaluations and judgements (see MPEP 2106.05(g)). There is no indication that any of these additional elements provide a practical application of the recited judicial exception outside of the judicial exception itself. As such, claims 1-6 are directed to an abstract idea (Step 2A, Prong 2: NO).
Claims found to be directed to a judicial exception are then further evaluated to determine if the claims recite an inventive concept that provides significantly more than the judicial exception itself (Step 2B). Further analyzing the additional elements under step 2B, the additional elements as described above do not rise to the level of significantly more than the judicial exception. As set forth in the MPEP, determinations of whether or not additional elements (or a combination of additional elements) may provide significantly more and/or an inventive concept rests in whether or not the additional elements (or combination of elements) represents well-understood, routine, conventional activity. Said assessment is made by a factual determination stemming from a conclusion that an element (or combination of elements) is widely prevalent or in common use in the relevant industry, which is determined by either a citation to an express statement in the specification or to a statement made by an applicant during prosecution that demonstrates a well-understood, routine or conventional nature of the additional element(s); a citation to one or more of the court decisions as discussed in MPEP 2106(d)(II) as noting the well-understood, routine, conventional nature of the additional element(s); a citation to a publication that demonstrates the well-understood, routine, conventional nature of the additional element(s); and/or a statement that the examiner is taking official notice with respect to the well-understood, routine, conventional nature of the additional element(s).
With respect to the instant claims under the 2B analysis, the instant specification discloses obtaining and analyzing the samples in accordance with national standards and using commercially available machines and software (para 0034-0038; 0041; 0044;0077) . As such, activities such as data gathering do not provide a non-conventional or unconventional step. Rather, the data gathering and as recited in the instant claims constitute a general link to a technological environment which is insufficient to constitute an inventive concept which would render the claims significantly more than the judicial exception (MPEP2106.05(g)&(h)). Therefore, the additional elements do not comprise an inventive concept when considered individually or as an ordered combination that transforms the claimed judicial exception into a patent-eligible application of the judicial exception, and the claims do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself (Step 2B: NO). As such, claims 1-6 are not patent eligible under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (Fuel 2015, 153, pp.176-182; hereafter referred to as Li), and further in view of Feng et al. (Fuel 2017, 203, pp.924-931; hereafter referred to as Feng).
With respect to claim 1, Li et al. discloses characterizing the chemical structures of lignite through multiple tools (abstract).
Li discloses obtaining lignite samples and performing proximate and elemental analysis, suggesting that the molecular formula could be determined, and obtaining the contents of aliphatic carbons, aromatic carbons, and carbonyl carbons, as well as the structural parameters (section 2.1-3.1; tables 1-3).
Li further discloses determining the carbon skeleton of lignite and the number of carbon atoms and aliphatic carbons per 100 carbon atoms in lignite, as well as the size of aromatic clusters and the number of aromatic rings per cluster, as well as composition features (abstract; section 3.1; table 2-3).
Li discloses distributions of carbon, oxygen, and nitrogen forms in ZL from XPS analysis, and suggests that oxygen atoms mainly exist in C-O moieties (abstract; section 3.1.; Table; section 4).
Li discloses determining the structural forms of sulfur and nitrogen (section 3.1; table 5).
However, Li does not appear to disclose constructing a molecular structure model of lignite.
However, the prior art to Feng, in the same field of endeavor, discloses construction of the molecular structure model of the Shengli lignite using TG-GC/MS and FTIR spectrometry data, wherein the molecular structure model of the Shengli lignite was determined via TG-GC/MS for the analysis of the pyrolysis products’ structure and contents, in combination with ultimate analysis and FTIR for the determination of its structure parameters (title; abstract; fig 1; highlights).
Feng disclosed element contents and molecular formula of the sample were calculated according on the results of ultimate analysis and further discloses determining the aromatic structure, oxygen-containing functional group, aliphatic functional group), and hydroxyl group using FTIR data, and determining aliphatic chain length and degree of branching of aliphatic side groups, as well as the ratio of the number of aliphatic carbons to the total number of carbons (highlights; abstract; section 3.2.1-3.2.2).
Feng uses the lignite’s molecular formula, the composition features and number of aromatic structural units in lignite, the total number of carbon atoms and the number of aliphatic carbon atoms in lignite, the categories and number of oxygen-containing functional groups in lignite, and the structural forms of nitrogen and sulfur to construct and optimize lignite’s molecular model (sections 3.3.2-4; fig 8).
Feng further discloses that understanding and construction of the macromolecular structure of lignite is essential for understanding its physiochemical properties and reactivity, and the stability of macromolecular structure configuration, the mechanism of macromolecular structural changing during coalification, the intermolecular interactions and etc. can be gained through molecular mechanics, molecular dynamics and quantum chemistry calculations studies, providing key insight into coal structure and reactivity (section 1).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method for determining the chemical structure of lignite as disclosed by Li with the use of that data to construct and optimize lignite’s molecular model as disclosed by Feng because understanding and construction of the macromolecular structure of lignite is essential for understanding its physiochemical properties and reactivity, and the stability of macromolecular structure configuration, the mechanism of macromolecular structural changing during coalification, the intermolecular interactions and etc. can be gained through molecular mechanics, molecular dynamics and quantum chemistry calculations studies, providing key insight into coal structure and reactivity, as disclosed by Feng. There would be a reasonable expectation of success because creating a molecular structure model of lignite would not impede the analysis of Li.
With respect to claim 2, Li discloses performing Solid-state 13C NMR, XPS, FTIR, and TG analyses of the lignite (section 2.2)
With respect to claim 3, Li discloses determining chemical shift values and molar content of different carbon types in ZL determined by solid-state 13C NMR, including aromatic carbon, carbonyl carbon with a chemical shift of >l65 ppm, aromatic ring carbon, unprotonated carbon, protonated carbon, phenol or aromatic ether carbon, alkylated aromatic carbon, bridging aromatic carbon, aliphatic carbon, aliphatic methyl, aromatic methyl, quaternary carbon, methylene, and aliphatic carbon bonded to oxygen section 3.1; tables 2-3).
With respect to claim 4, Li discloses molar fraction of aromatic bridgehead carbon (χb) is an important parameter that can be used to calculate the aromatic cluster rings (section 3.1; table 2)
With respect to claim 5, Li discloses the assignments of different carbon types were referred to previous studies (section 3.1; table 2-3). The prior art to Feng also discloses the calculated FTIR spectrum was compared with experimental FTIR spectrum of real lignite sample, and the molecular model was further optimized and revised again until the calculated structure FTIR was in relatively high accordance with the experimental spectrum (section 3.4)
With respect to claim 6, Li discloses obtaining structural parameters according to the molar content of different carbon types, which could be used to determine the number of aromatic carbon atoms, number of peripheral carbon atoms, number of bridging carbon atoms, number of alkylated aromatic carbon atoms, number of aliphatic carbon atoms, number of CH and =CH2 carbon atoms on aliphatic chain, number of unprotonated carbon and -CH3 carbon atoms on aliphatic chain, and total number of carbon atoms in aromatic clusters (section 3.1; table 2-3).
Therefore, the invention is prima facie obvious.
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
Inquiries
/N.D./Examiner, Art Unit 1686
/Karlheinz R. Skowronek/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1687