DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This is a Non-Final Office Action on the merits in response to Application No. 18/460,702 filed on 09/05/2023. Claims 1 – 10 are currently pending and are addressed below.
Examiner notes that the fundamentals of the rejection are based on the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language. Any reference to specific figures, column, line and paragraphs should not be considered limiting in any way, the entire cited reference, as well as any secondary teaching reference(s), are considered to provide relevant disclosure relating to the claimed invention. Applicant is kindly invited to consider the reference as a whole. References are to be interpreted as by one of ordinary skill in the art rather than as by a novice. See MPEP 2141. Therefore, the relevant inquiry when interpreting a reference is not what the reference expressly discloses on its face but what the reference would teach or suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d) for Application No. CN 2023103056440, filed on 03/27/2023.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“BIM modeling tool is used to construct…” in claim 8;
“the information acquisition module is used to obtain…”, “the BIM parametric geometric model building module is used to build…”, “the building module [] is used to build…”, and, “the dynamic evolution module is used to adjust…”, in claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claims 8 and 10, claim limitations “BIM modeling tool is used to construct…” in claim 8; and, “the information acquisition module is used to obtain…”, “the BIM parametric geometric model building module is used to build…”, “the building module [] is used to build…”, and, “the dynamic evolution module is used to adjust…”, in claim 10 invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed functions and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Therefore, the claims fail to comply with the written description requirement and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1 – 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1 – 10, these claims are indefinite in their entireties for reciting no actions or acts/active steps, with the methods being framed in passive voice (e.g. “the entity elements [] and the optical attribute information [] are obtained”, “the information acquisition module is used”), rendering the metes and bounds of any method claimed not reasonably certain and unclear.
In claim 1, “The modeling and evolution method”, and “the BIM parameterized geometric model” have no apparent antecedent basis and are unclear. Similarly, “The modeling and evolution method”, and “the BIM parameterized geometric model” are unclear throughout the claims 2 – 10 where they are introduced.
Regarding Claims 8 and 10, claim limitations “BIM modeling tool is used to construct…” in claim 8; and, “the information acquisition module is used to obtain…”, “the BIM parametric geometric model building module is used to build…”, “the building module [] is used to build…”, and, “the dynamic evolution module is used to adjust…”, in claim 10 invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Therefore, the claims are indefinite and rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1 thru 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
101 Analysis – Step 1
Claim 1 is directed to a modeling and evolution method (i.e., a process). Claim 10 is directed to a modeling and evolution device (i.e., a machine). Therefore, claims 1 and 10 are within at least one of the four statutory categories.
101 Analysis – Step 2A, Prong I
Regarding Prong I of the Step 2A analysis in the 2019 PEG, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether they recite subject matter that falls within one of the follow groups of abstract ideas: a) mathematical concepts, b) certain methods of organizing human activity, and/or c) mental processes.
Independent claim 1 includes limitations that recite at least an abstract idea (emphasized below) and will be used as a representative claim for the remainder of the 101 rejection. The other analogous claim 10 is rejected for the same reasons as the representative claim 1 as discussed here.
Claim 1 recites: The modeling and evolution method of tunnel vision guidance systems based on optical attributes is characterized by:
the entity elements of tunnel visual guidance systems and the optical attribute information of each type of entity elements are obtained, where the types of the entity elements include light source and the indication sign; and
the optical attribute information contains the type of light source, the brightness of light source, the color of light source, the display content of light source and the display degree of light source;
according to the geometric parameters of entity elements, the BIM parameterized geometric model of entity elements is constructed; and
the geometric parameter covers the contour information of entity elements;
based on the BIM parameterized geometric model and the optical attribute information of each type of entity elements, a target BIM parameterized geometric model library with optical attributes is established;
model parameters are adjusted according to the target BIM parametric geometric model library to realize the dynamic evolution of tunnel vision guidance systems; and
the model parameters are determined based on geometric parameters and optical attribute information of each type of entity elements.
The examiner submits that the foregoing bolded limitations constitute “mathematical concepts” because under its broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim covers fundamental mathematical relationships and calculations. Accordingly, the claim recites at least one abstract idea.
Claim 10 is directed to a device to perform the method of Claim 1, and recites substantially the same limitations as claim 1 above. Accordingly, both claims recite at least one abstract idea.
101 Analysis – Step 2A, Prong II
Regarding Prong II of the Step 2A analysis in the 2019 PEG, the claims are to be analyzed to deter-mine whether the claim, as a whole, integrates the abstract into a practical application. As noted in the 2019 PEG, it must be determined whether any additional elements in the claim beyond the abstract idea integrate the exception into a practical application in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. The courts have indicated that additional elements merely using a computer to implement an abstract idea, adding insignificant extra solution activity, or generally linking use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use do not integrate a judicial exception into a “practical application.”
In the present case, Claims 1 and 10 include “the entity elements of tunnel visual guidance systems and the optical attribute information of each type of entity elements are obtained, where the types of the entity elements include light source and the indication sign; and
the optical attribute information contains the type of light source, the brightness of light source, the color of light source, the display content of light source and the display degree of light source;” and “the geometric parameter covers the contour information of entity elements;” which are recited at a high level of generality (See Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank Int'l, 573 U.S. at 223), and add insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, e.g., data gathering, data outputting, and do not meaningfully limit the at least one abstract idea (see MPEP § 2106.05) or recite any further limitations that cause the claims to be patent eligible.
Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Further, looking at the additional limitation(s) as an ordered combination or as a whole, the limitation(s) add nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. For in-stance, there is no indication that the additional elements, when considered as a whole, reflect an improvement in the functioning of a computer or an improvement to another technology or technical field, apply or use the above-noted judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition, implement/use the above-noted judicial exception with a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim, effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, or apply or use the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is not more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception (MPEP § 2106.05). Accordingly, the additional limitation(s) do/does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
101 Analysis – Step 2B
Regarding Step 2B of the 2019 PEG, as discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, claims 1 and 10 do not include additional elements, considered both individually and as an ordered combination, that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for reasons the same as those discussed above with respect to determining that the claim does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The additional elements of “the entity elements of tunnel visual guidance systems and the optical attribute information of each type of entity elements are obtained, where the types of the entity elements include light source and the indication sign; and
the optical attribute information contains the type of light source, the brightness of light source, the color of light source, the display content of light source and the display degree of light source;” and “the geometric parameter covers the contour information of entity elements;” have been reevaluated, and it has been determined that such limitations are not unconventional as they merely consist of data gathering, data outputting, or using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. These limitations merely add insignificant extra-solution activity to the at least one abstract idea in a manner that does not meaningfully limit the at least one abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(f). Hence, the claims are not patent eligible.
Dependent claims 2 – 9 do not recite any further limitations that cause the claims to be patent eligible. Claims 2 and 5 are directed towards defining the types of entity elements and the values assigned to each type of entity elements. Claims 3 and 4 are directed towards defining the types of model parameters and optical attributes. Claims 6 – 8 are directed towards the target BIM parametric geometric model library and the three-dimensional tunnel model. Claim 9 is directed towards rendering the virtual tunnel scene in the graphics development engine based on the optical properties information in the target BIM parametric geometric model.
These limitations recite additional abstract ideas, are extra-solution activity, e.g., data gathering or outputting, using computers or machinery as mere tools, or are part of the abstract idea. They do not constitute a practical application of the abstract idea and do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Therefore, dependent claims 2 – 9 are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over English Translation of NPL - Zhao, Qu. "Research on the Fine Regulation of Tunnel Entrance and Exit Lighting Based on BIM Technology." Master's thesis, Wuhan University of Technology, 2022. Wanfang Data, 23 Dec. 2022, (Zhao hereafter).
Regarding Claim 1, Zhao discloses The modeling and evolution method of tunnel vision guidance systems based on optical attributes is characterized by:
the entity elements of tunnel visual guidance systems and the optical attribute information of each type of entity elements are obtained, where the types of the entity elements include light source and the indication sign ; and
the optical attribute information contains the type of light source, the brightness of light source, the color of light source, the display content of light source and the display degree of light source (see at least Zhao [p59, ln 6ff], “(2) Sunlight analysis
Using Revit 's daylight analysis function, the tunnel's entry and exit points in the field were simulated under different seasons and times of sunlight projection at the tunnel entrance was analyzed to determine the variation of the length of sunlight projection at different times over time. The study investigates the patterns of light distribution and analyzes the layout of the lighting fixtures.”);
according to the geometric parameters of entity elements, the BIM parameterized geometric model of entity elements is constructed; and
the geometric parameter covers the contour information of entity elements (see at least Zhao [p58ff, ln 1ff], “(1) Establishing a 3D Model
Collect lighting data including tunnel location, entrance orientation, portal type, traffic volume, and vehicle speed. This parameter is used to construct a three-dimensional model of the tunnel with parameters such as portal type, orientation, and location ( latitude and longitude ) designed and updated based on actual engineering needs.”);
based on the BIM parameterized geometric model and the optical attribute information of each type of entity elements, a target BIM parameterized geometric model library with optical attributes is established (see at least Zhao [p80ff, ln 1ff], “4.6 Application of BIM Simulation Technology and Lighting Fixture Control Calculation Model
(2) The formula for Le Ltmm , 匕吽, Lemm And Le.max can be designed from the beginning. Revit 's daylight studies were obtained; and through simulating tunnels — sunlight throughout the four seasons. The lighting conditions are considered to determine the arrangement and density of tunnel lighting fixtures , such as whether to use two sides. The layout can be either along the centerline or o-center.
(3) After the layout of the lighting fixtures is determined, the tunnel entrance lights will be determined according to the required level of control precision. of the fixtures and the spacing of the lighting fixtures at the tunnel exit are also values, and then the BIM is used. Simulated data substitution the lighting control calculation model, Dtsy , Desy , Dthmin , Dtbmax , Dexmin , and Dexm are calculated respectively. The values of t and var are used to determine the starting and ending points and the number of lamps to be installed , based on the calculated values . Determine the number of devices, the number of circuits, the location of cable conduits, and LEDs. The light fixture illuminates both inside and outside the opening. Degree detector (if LED) Installation location of stepless dimming lamps, etc.”);
model parameters are adjusted according to the target BIM parametric geometric model library to realize the dynamic evolution of tunnel vision guidance systems (see at least Zhao [p77ff, ln 1ff], “4.5.1 Dynamic Adaptation Section
The concept provides a theoretical basis for the dynamic and refined control of lighting at tunnel entrances and exits. Definition of dynamically adaptable segment : Sunlight shining on the tunnel entrance or exit , causing sun-exposed sections and It extends into the tunnel into a region of considerable brightness, and this distance varies with the amount of sunlight projected. This article refers to the change in sunlight projection within the tunnel and its extended distance as dynamic adaptation.”); and
the model parameters are determined based on geometric parameters and optical attribute information of each type of entity elements (see at least Zhao [p80ff, ln 1ff], “4.6 Application of BIM Simulation Technology and Lighting Fixture Control Calculation Model
(2) The formula for Le Ltmm , 匕吽, Lemm And Le.max can be designed from the beginning. Revit 's daylight studies were obtained; and through simulating tunnels — sunlight throughout the four seasons. The lighting conditions are considered to determine the arrangement and density of tunnel lighting fixtures , such as whether to use two sides. The layout can be either along the centerline or o-center.
(3) After the layout of the lighting fixtures is determined, the tunnel entrance lights will be determined according to the required level of control precision. of the fixtures and the spacing of the lighting fixtures at the tunnel exit are also values, and then the BIM is used. Simulated data substitution the lighting control calculation model, Dtsy , Desy , Dthmin , Dtbmax , Dexmin , and Dexm are calculated respectively. The values of t and var are used to determine the starting and ending points and the number of lamps to be installed , based on the calculated values . Determine the number of devices, the number of circuits, the location of cable conduits, and LEDs. The light fixture illuminates both inside and outside the opening. Degree detector (if LED) Installation location of stepless dimming lamps, etc.”).
Claim 1 does not explicitly disclose a light source display content and a light source display degree; contour information of the solid elements; also, dynamic evolutionary tuning of optical properties (such as display content, dimming coefficient) for various types of visual guidance elements, as well as correlating retro-reflection coefficients of reflective signs with BRDF (bidirectional reflectance distribution function) parameters to enable realistic rendering.
However, light source display content and light source display degree are conventional optical information, added with reasonable choice according to actual model display effect; embodying contour in formation of solid elements in BIM parameterized geometric models, according to actual model evolution effect requirements, belongs to conventional technical means.
Zhao discloses "tunnel access lighting refinement" through BIM model and VR technology. Further, in order to achieve a more realistic, finer visual experience, a further development from "modulating the luminaire physical location" to "modulating the optical performance attributes of luminaires and signs" is a continuation in the art's technological development. Once the underlying luminaire layout model is established, one skilled in the art will necessarily control the core optical parameters such as brightness (i.e., dimming coefficient) of light sources, color and display content of traffic lights and variable information signs in the model. This is a rational refinement and functional extension on the same technical path to achieve a common goal.
Furthermore, in the field of BIM modeling and its associated real-time graphics rendering engines (e.g. Unity, Unreal Engine), binding the geometric properties of model objects to their optical properties (color, brightness, texture, display state) and driving these properties dynamically by parameters, is a very well-established and fundamental technique. In particular, the "dimming coefficient" is essentially one floating point parameter that controls light source object brightness intensity and is the underlying operation in graphics programming; "Display content/color change" corresponds to changing model material map or shader parameters, which is the implementation basis for all dynamic information displays (like variable information plate, traffic lights); a "pass state" is a logical state that drives the switching of different displayed content (e.g., red crosses/green arrows) in the program, belonging to a simple conditional judgment and state machine application. Thus, combining the BIM model (containing luminaires, signs, etc.) already built in Zhao with the well-known, conventional graphic control techniques described above to enable dynamic regulation of its optical properties, as would be apparent to a person skilled in the art, without inventive effort. BRDF (bidirectional reflectance distribution function) is a standard model in computer graphics describing the reflective properties of surfaces, and in modern physics-based rendering (PBR) procedures, BRDF is used to simulate the true optical effects of various materials, including metals, plastics, coatings, retroreflective films, and is an integral, well-known core technology; meanwhile, "retroreflection coefficient" is a standardization of optical performance of reticles and reflective signs in the field of road engineering and traffic engineering, and a conventional measurement indicates that those skilled in the art are motivated to acquire and utilize these published, standard engineering parameters when constructing high-precision tunnel models for simulation; a common engineering simulation problem is solved by combining well-known data in a field such as retro-reflection coefficient in traffic engineering with conventional techniques such as BRDF in computer graphics.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine conventional technical means in the field of endeavor in order to obtain the technical solution disclosed in claim 1.
Regarding Claim 10, Zhao discloses The tunnel vision guidance system modeling and evolution device based on optical attributes is characterized by:
the information acquisition module is used to obtain the entity elements of tunnel visual guidance systems and the optical attribute information of each type of entity elements (see at least Zhao [p59, ln 6ff], “(2) Sunlight analysis
Using Revit 's daylight analysis function, the tunnel's entry and exit points in the field were simulated under different seasons and times of sunlight projection at the tunnel entrance was analyzed to determine the variation of the length of sunlight projection at different times over time. The study investigates the patterns of light distribution and analyzes the layout of the lighting fixtures.”); and
the types of the entity elements cover light source and indication signs; and the optical property information includes the type, brightness, color, display content and display degree of light source (see at least Zhao [p59, ln 6ff]);
the BIM parametric geometric model building module is used to build the BIM parametric geometric model of the entity elements according to the geometric parameters of the entity elements; and the geometric parameter includes the contour information of the entity element (see at least Zhao [p58ff, ln 1ff], “(1) Establishing a 3D Model
Collect lighting data including tunnel location, entrance orientation, portal type, traffic volume, and vehicle speed. This parameter is used to construct a three-dimensional model of the tunnel with parameters such as portal type, orientation, and location ( latitude and longitude ) designed and updated based on actual engineering needs.”);
the building module of the target BIM parameterized geometric model library is used to build the target BIM parameterized geometric model library with optical properties based on the BIM parameterized geometric model and combined with the optical property information of each type of entity element (see at least Zhao [p80ff, ln 1ff], “4.6 Application of BIM Simulation Technology and Lighting Fixture Control Calculation Model
(2) The formula for Le Ltmm , 匕吽, Lemm And Le.max can be designed from the beginning. Revit 's daylight studies were obtained; and through simulating tunnels — sunlight throughout the four seasons. The lighting conditions are considered to determine the arrangement and density of tunnel lighting fixtures , such as whether to use two sides. The layout can be either along the centerline or o-center.
(3) After the layout of the lighting fixtures is determined, the tunnel entrance lights will be determined according to the required level of control precision. of the fixtures and the spacing of the lighting fixtures at the tunnel exit are also values, and then the BIM is used. Simulated data substitution the lighting control calculation model, Dtsy , Desy , Dthmin , Dtbmax , Dexmin , and Dexm are calculated respectively. The values of t and var are used to determine the starting and ending points and the number of lamps to be installed , based on the calculated values . Determine the number of devices, the number of circuits, the location of cable conduits, and LEDs. The light fixture illuminates both inside and outside the opening. Degree detector (if LED) Installation location of stepless dimming lamps, etc.”);
the dynamic evolution module is used to adjust the model parameters based on the target BIM parametric geometric model library, so as to realize the dynamic evolution of the tunnel vision guidance system (see at least Zhao [p77ff, ln 1ff], “4.5.1 Dynamic Adaptation Section
The concept provides a theoretical basis for the dynamic and refined control of lighting at tunnel entrances and exits. Definition of dynamically adaptable segment : Sunlight shining on the tunnel entrance or exit , causing sun-exposed sections and It extends into the tunnel into a region of considerable brightness, and this distance varies with the amount of sunlight projected. This article refers to the change in sunlight projection within the tunnel and its extended distance as dynamic adaptation.”); and
the model parameters are determined based on the geometric parameters and optical property information of each type of entity element (see at least Zhao [p80ff, ln 1ff], “4.6 Application of BIM Simulation Technology and Lighting Fixture Control Calculation Model
(2) The formula for Le Ltmm , 匕吽, Lemm And Le.max can be designed from the beginning. Revit 's daylight studies were obtained; and through simulating tunnels — sunlight throughout the four seasons. The lighting conditions are considered to determine the arrangement and density of tunnel lighting fixtures , such as whether to use two sides. The layout can be either along the centerline or o-center.
(3) After the layout of the lighting fixtures is determined, the tunnel entrance lights will be determined according to the required level of control precision. of the fixtures and the spacing of the lighting fixtures at the tunnel exit are also values, and then the BIM is used. Simulated data substitution the lighting control calculation model, Dtsy , Desy , Dthmin , Dtbmax , Dexmin , and Dexm are calculated respectively. The values of t and var are used to determine the starting and ending points and the number of lamps to be installed , based on the calculated values . Determine the number of devices, the number of circuits, the location of cable conduits, and LEDs. The light fixture illuminates both inside and outside the opening. Degree detector (if LED) Installation location of stepless dimming lamps, etc.”).
Claim 10 discloses a device to perform the method of Claim 1 and recites substantially the same limitations as Claim 1 above. Zhao doesn’t explicitly disclose a light source display content and a light source display degree; contour information of the solid elements; also, dynamic evolutionary tuning of optical properties (such as display content, dimming coefficient) for various types of visual guidance elements, as well as correlating retro-reflection coefficients of reflective signs with BRDF (bidirectional reflectance distribution function) parameters to enable realistic rendering.
However, light source display content and light source display degree are conventional optical information, added with reasonable choice according to actual model display effect; embodying contour in formation of solid elements in BIM parameterized geometric models, according to actual model evolution effect requirements, belongs to conventional technical means.
Zhao discloses "tunnel access lighting refinement" through BIM model and VR technology. Further, in order to achieve a more realistic, finer visual experience, a further development from "modulating the luminaire physical location" to "modulating the optical performance attributes of luminaires and signs" is a continuation in the art's technological development. Once the underlying luminaire layout model is established, one skilled in the art will necessarily control the core optical parameters such as brightness (i.e., dimming coefficient) of light sources, color and display content of traffic lights and variable information signs in the model. This is a rational refinement and functional extension on the same technical path to achieve a common goal.
Furthermore, in the field of BIM modeling and its associated real-time graphics rendering engines (e.g. Unity, Unreal Engine), binding the geometric properties of model objects to their optical properties (color, brightness, texture, display state) and driving these properties dynamically by parameters, is a very well-established and fundamental technique. In particular, the "dimming coefficient" is essentially one floating point parameter that controls light source object brightness intensity and is the underlying operation in graphics programming; "Display content/color change" corresponds to changing model material map or shader parameters, which is the implementation basis for all dynamic information displays (like variable information plate, traffic lights); a "pass state" is a logical state that drives the switching of different displayed content (e.g., red crosses/green arrows) in the program, belonging to a simple conditional judgment and state machine application. Thus, combining the BIM model (containing luminaires, signs, etc.) already built in Zhao with the well-known, conventional graphic control techniques described above to enable dynamic regulation of its optical properties, as would be apparent to a person skilled in the art, without inventive effort. BRDF (bidirectional reflectance distribution function) is a standard model in computer graphics describing the reflective properties of surfaces, and in modern physics-based rendering (PBR) procedures, BRDF is used to simulate the true optical effects of various materials, including metals, plastics, coatings, retroreflective films, and is an integral, well-known core technology; meanwhile, "retroreflection coefficient" is a standardization of optical performance of reticles and reflective signs in the field of road engineering and traffic engineering, and a conventional measurement indicates that those skilled in the art are motivated to acquire and utilize these published, standard engineering parameters when constructing high-precision tunnel models for simulation; a common engineering simulation problem is solved by combining well-known data in a field such as retro-reflection coefficient in traffic engineering with conventional techniques such as BRDF in computer graphics.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine conventional technical means in the field of endeavor in order to obtain the technical solution disclosed in claim 10.
Regarding Claim 2, Zhao discloses The modeling evolutionary method of tunnel vision guidance systems based on optical attributes mentioned in Claim 1, is characterized by that the BIM parameterized geometric model of entity elements is constructed according to the geometric parameters of entity elements, including:
taking the type of entity elements as a dimension, the geometric parameters of each entity element are obtained (see at least Zhao [p58ff, ln 1ff], “(1) Establishing a 3D Model
Collect lighting data including tunnel location, entrance orientation, portal type, traffic volume, and vehicle speed. This parameter is used to construct a three-dimensional model of the tunnel with parameters such as portal type, orientation, and location ( latitude and longitude ) designed and updated based on actual engineering needs.”);
the light source in the type of the entity elements includes lighting lamps and traffic lights;
the indication sign consists of road marking, reflective signs, electro-optical signs, variable information signs, variable speed limit signs and lane indicators among the type of entity elements (see at least Zhao [p52ff], “3.1.3 Design Advantages of BIM
(1) Lifecycle Management
Through BIM Technical analysis simulates the tunnel lighting environment, and digitally controls artificial lighting of the types , quantities, and operational stages of lighting fixtures, and their impact on management, maintenance, and cost.”);
according to the type of entity elements and the geometric parameters of entity elements, a BIM parametric geometric model corresponding to each type of entity elements is created (see at least Zhao [p58ff, ln 1ff], “(1) Establishing a 3D Model
Collect lighting data including tunnel location, entrance orientation, portal type, traffic volume, and vehicle speed. This parameter is used to construct a three-dimensional model of the tunnel with parameters such as portal type, orientation, and location ( latitude and longitude ) designed and updated based on actual engineering needs.”).
Zhao discloses the type of entity elements; for other entity elements than those disclosed in Zhao, be both a conventional illumination source and an indicator identification type, are added with reasonable choice according to actual modelled effect requirements.
Regarding Claim 3, Zhao discloses The optical attribution-based modeling and evolution method of tunnel vision guidance systems described in Claim 1, is characterized by that the model parameters are determined based on the geometric parameters and optical attribute information of various types of entity elements, to be specific:
the first model parameter of the light source in the type of entity elements is determined, which comprises the model parameters of light lamps and the model parameters of traffic lights (see at least Zhao [p52ff], “3.1.3 Design Advantages of BIM
(1) Lifecycle Management
Through BIM Technical analysis simulates the tunnel lighting environment, and digitally controls artificial lighting of the types , quantities, and operational stages of lighting fixtures, and their impact on management, maintenance, and cost.”);
the second model parameter of the indication sign in the type of entity elements is determined, which includes the model parameters of the road marking, the model parameters of the reflective sign, the model parameter of the electro-optical sign, the model parameter of the variable information sign, the model parameter of the variable speed limit sign and the model parameter of the lane indicator (see at least Zhao [p15ff], “analyzed the effects of light source parameters such as color rendering and color temperature on the visual perception at tunnel entrances and exits.
The impact of these factors led to the establishment of evaluation indicators based on parameters such as light source characteristics, vehicle speed, and visual recognition threshold.
The system was applied to the entrance and exit of a tunnel on a certain expressway, and engineering data showed that the indicator system can effectively solve the problem of drastic changes in illuminance at tunnel entrances and exits , thus protecting the tunnel entrances and exits.”);
the model parameters of the light lamps involve the shape, contour size, type, luminous flux, luminous efficiency, color rendering index, color temperature interval, theoretical life and dimming parameter (see at least Zhao [p59, ln 6ff], “(2) Sunlight analysis
Using Revit 's daylight analysis function, the tunnel's entry and exit points in the field were simulated under different seasons and times of sunlight projection at the tunnel entrance was analyzed to determine the variation of the length of sunlight projection at different times over time. The study investigates the patterns of light distribution and analyzes the layout of the lighting fixtures.”);
the model parameters of the traffic lights include the radius, luminous flux, display color, dimming coefficient and display content of traffic lights (see at least Zhao [p80ff, ln 1ff], “4.6 Application of BIM Simulation Technology and Lighting Fixture Control Calculation Model
(2) The formula for Le Ltmm , 匕吽, Lemm And Le.max can be designed from the beginning. Revit 's daylight studies were obtained; and through simulating tunnels — sunlight throughout the four seasons. The lighting conditions are considered to determine the arrangement and density of tunnel lighting fixtures , such as whether to use two sides. The layout can be either along the centerline or o-center.
(3) After the layout of the lighting fixtures is determined, the tunnel entrance lights will be determined according to the required level of control precision. of the fixtures and the spacing of the lighting fixtures at the tunnel exit are also values, and then the BIM is used. Simulated data substitution the lighting control calculation model, Dtsy , Desy , Dthmin , Dtbmax , Dexmin , and Dexm are calculated respectively. The values of t and var are used to determine the starting and ending points and the number of lamps to be installed , based on the calculated values . Determine the number of devices, the number of circuits, the location of cable conduits, and LEDs. The light fixture illuminates both inside and outside the opening. Degree detector (if LED) Installation location of stepless dimming lamps, etc.”);
the model parameters of the road marking include the shape, contour size, type, color, reflective film type, minimum reverse reflection coefficient, daytime color and night color (see at least Zhao [p80ff, ln 1ff], “4.6 Application of BIM Simulation Technology and Lighting Fixture Control Calculation Model”);
the model parameters of the reflective sign include the shape, contour size, type, color, reflective film type, minimum reverse reflection coefficient, daytime color, night color and typical texture (see at least Zhao [p80ff, ln 1ff], “4.6 Application of BIM Simulation Technology and Lighting Fixture Control Calculation Model”);
the model parameters of the electro-optical sign include the shape, contour size, type, illumination type, luminous flux, color rendering index, color temperature interval, dimming parameter and typical texture (see at least Zhao [p80ff, ln 1ff], “4.6 Application of BIM Simulation Technology and Lighting Fixture Control Calculation Model”);
the model parameters of the variable information sign include the shape, contour size, luminous flux, color rendering index, color temperature interval, dimming parameter and text content (see at least Zhao [p80ff, ln 1ff], “4.6 Application of BIM Simulation Technology and Lighting Fixture Control Calculation Model”);
the model parameters of the variable speed limit sign include the shape, contour size, luminous flux, color rendering index, color temperature interval, dimming parameter and speed limit value (see at least Zhao [p80ff, ln 1ff], “4.6 Application of BIM Simulation Technology and Lighting Fixture Control Calculation Model”);
the model parameters of the lane indicator include the rectangular side length, LED luminous flux, number of LEDs on each side, traffic state and dimming coefficient (see at least Zhao [p80ff, ln 1ff], “4.6 Application of BIM Simulation Technology and Lighting Fixture Control Calculation Model”). The additional technical features defined in claim 3, wherein the optical property information and geometrical parameters of each type of entity element are regular element information, are judiciously chosen according to actual visual effect requirements.
Regarding Claim 4, Zhao discloses The modeling and evolution method of tunnel vision guidance systems based on optical attributes mentioned in Claim 2, is characterized by that based on the BIM parameterized geometric model and combined with the optical attribute information of each type of entity elements, a target BIM parameterized geometric model library with optical attributes is built (see at least Zhao [p58ff, ln 1ff], “(1) Establishing a 3D Model
Collect lighting data including tunnel location, entrance orientation, p