DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 5 appears to have at typo and should read, “…a water guide coating layer…”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
An exhaust device in claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kellam et al. US 2016/0031721.
Claim 1, Kellam teaches an automatic water filtering purifying bottle comprising: a bottle body (122) and a filter device (110) wherein the bottle body comprises a raw water cavity (112) and a purified water cavity (162), the raw water cavity and purified water cavity sequentially disposed along an axis direction, the bottle body defines a raw water opening (at 392) and a purified water opening (366), the raw water opening is capable of being opened and closed (by cap 332), the raw water opening is configured to communicate with the raw water cavity, the purified water opening is capable of being opened and closed (par 48), the purified water opening is configured to communicate with the purified water cavity, the filter device is configured to filter water in the raw water cavity and is communicated with the raw water cavity and the purified water cavity (fig. 1-6).
Claims 2-4, 6 and 9, Kellam further teaches the raw water cavity and purified water cavity in the bottle body are separated by a partition plate (at 372), the partition plate defines a filter mounting hole, the filter device is fixed in the mounting hole of the partition plate (fig. 1-6, par 47); the bottle further comprises an exhaust device (382, 385), the exhaust device configured to maintain an air pressure balance in the raw water cavity and the purified water cavity (par 44-45); the exhaust device comprises an exhaust pipe (382), the exhaust pipe comprises a pipe cavity, an air inlet and an air outlet, the air inlet is in communication with the air outlet through the pipe cavity, the air inlet is configured to communicate with the purified water cavity, the air outlet is configured to communicate with the raw water cavity (fig. 3-4, par 44-45); the exhaust device further comprises a check valve (385), the check valve is configured to discharge air in the purified water cavity from the air outlet of the exhaust pipe to the raw water cavity, the check valve is further configured to limit the water in the raw water cavity to enter the purified water cavity from the air outlet of the exhaust pipe (fig. 3-4, par 44-45); and the bottle further comprises a purified water opening lid (332), the purified water opening lid is detachably connected to the bottle body to open and close the purified water opening (fig. 1-6, par 46).
Claim(s) 1-4, 6 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Harris GB 2 360 954.
Claim 1, Harris teaches an automatic water filtering purifying bottle comprising: a bottle body (1) and a filter device (7) wherein the bottle body comprises a raw water cavity (2) and a purified water cavity (3), the raw water cavity and purified water cavity sequentially disposed along an axis direction, the bottle body defines a raw water opening (at 5) and a purified water opening (at 6), the raw water opening is capable of being opened and closed (by cap 5), the raw water opening is configured to communicate with the raw water cavity, the purified water opening is capable of being opened and closed (by cap 6), the purified water opening is configured to communicate with the purified water cavity, the filter device is configured to filter water in the raw water cavity and is communicated with the raw water cavity and the purified water cavity (fig. 1-2).
Claims 2-4, 6 and 9, Harris further teaches the raw water cavity and purified water cavity in the bottle body are separated by a partition plate (at 7), the partition plate defines a filter mounting hole, the filter device is fixed in the mounting hole of the partition plate (fig. 1-2); the bottle further comprises an exhaust device (4), the exhaust device configured to maintain an air pressure balance in the raw water cavity and the purified water cavity (fig 1-2, abstract); the exhaust device comprises an exhaust pipe, the exhaust pipe comprises a pipe cavity, an air inlet (at the bottom) and an air outlet (at the top), the air inlet is in communication with the air outlet through the pipe cavity, the air inlet is configured to communicate with the purified water cavity, the air outlet is configured to communicate with the raw water cavity (fig. 1-2); the exhaust device further comprises a check valve (valve 4), the check valve is configured to discharge air in the purified water cavity from the air outlet of the exhaust pipe to the raw water cavity, the check valve is further configured to limit the water in the raw water cavity to enter the purified water cavity from the air outlet of the exhaust pipe (fig. 1-2); and the bottle further comprises a purified water opening lid (6), the purified water opening lid is detachably connected to the bottle body to open and close the purified water opening (fig. 1-2).
Claim(s) 1-4, 6 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yaseen et al. WO 01/09040.
Claim 1, Yaseen teaches an automatic water filtering purifying bottle comprising: a bottle body (110) and a filter device (151) wherein the bottle body comprises a raw water cavity (147) and a purified water cavity (below 142), the raw water cavity and purified water cavity sequentially disposed along an axis direction, the bottle body defines a raw water opening (88) and a purified water opening (84), the raw water opening is capable of being opened and closed (by cap 113), the raw water opening is configured to communicate with the raw water cavity, the purified water opening is capable of being opened and closed (by cap 85), the purified water opening is configured to communicate with the purified water cavity, the filter device is configured to filter water in the raw water cavity and is communicated with the raw water cavity and the purified water cavity (fig. 6-9).
Claims 2 and 9-10, Yaseen further teaches the raw water cavity and purified water cavity in the bottle body are separated by a partition plate (142), the partition plate defines a filter mounting hole, the filter device is fixed in the mounting hole of the partition plate (fig. 6-9); the bottle further comprises a purified water opening lid (113), the purified water opening lid is detachably connected to the bottle body to open and close the purified water opening (fig. 6-9); and the lid comprises a connecting cover (69), a flipping cover (87), and a screwing cover (85), the connecting cover is detachable mounted on the purified water opening of the bottle body, a movable through hole is defined on the flipping cover, a connecting hole (82) is defined on the connecting cover, the connecting hole is communicated with the purified water cavity through the purified water opening, the screwing cap is rotatably in the movable through hole to be connected to or separated from the connecting cover, so the connecting hole is controlled to open or close (fig. 6-9).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 7-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 5, the closest prior art to Kellam and Harris teaches the bottle of claim 4 but do not teach a polishing layer or water guide coating layer on an inner wall of the exhaust pipe nor would it have been obvious to modify the prior art to arrive at the claimed invention.
Claim 7, the closest prior art to Kellam and Harris teaches the bottle of claim 6 but do not teach the exhaust device further comprises a valve covering assembly configured to fix the check valve to the exhaust pipe and cover the check valve to limit water from entering the pipe cavity from the air outlet, an exhaust gap defined between the valve covering assembly and the check valve configured to communicate with the air outlet of the exhaust pipe nor would it have been obvious to modify the prior art to arrive at the claimed invention.
Claim 8 is allowable as depending from claim 7.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kaschko et al. WO 2016/187230
/BENJAMIN M KURTZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1779