Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-9, and 11-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Honea (US 2006/0181055 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Honea (Fig 1-4) teaches a bicycle spinner peg device (100) comprising:
a shaft (106);
a wheel (102) comprised of a bearing (302+306+102, Para [0039] and [0044] and Fig 3), the bearing comprised of an opening (302);
a fender (104) comprised of a body (115) and a support post (117); and
a peg thread (202).
Regarding claim 2, Honea teaches that the support post attaches to the shaft (Fig 4).
Regarding claim 3, Hones teaches that the support post attaches to the shaft in a non-rotational manner (Para [0042]).
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Honea teaches that the wheel/bearing can rotate 360 degrees around the shaft (Para [0040]).
Regarding claim 6, Honea (Fig 1-9) teaches that the wheel can rotate 360 degrees around the bearing (since the bearing 306 is seated in groove 302 and the wheel 102 rotates around the shaft 106, it rotates around the bearing).
Regarding claim 8, Honea teaches a bicycle spinner peg device (100) comprising:
a shaft (106);
a wheel (102) comprised of a bearing (102+302+306), the bearing comprised of an opening (302);
a fender (104) comprised of a body (115) and a support post (117) comprised of a first fastener (202);
a second fastener (801); and
a peg thread (210).
Regarding claim 9, Hones teaches that the second fastener is comprised of a nut (Para [0051] and Fig 8A).
Regarding claim 11, Honea teaches that the first fastener is comprised of a nut (Para [0040] and Fig 2).
Regarding claim 12, Honea teaches that the shaft is comprised of a threaded shaft (see threaded portion, Fig 1).
Regarding claim 13, Honea teaches that the shaft is comprised of a head (Fig 1).
Regarding claim 14, Honea teaches that the bearing is positioned around the shaft (Fig 3-4).
Regarding claim 15, Honea teaches that the body of the fender is comprised of a knurling (Para [0046] and Fig 5).
Regarding claim 16, Honea teaches that the body of the fender is comprised of a convex body (Fig 1).
Regarding claim 17, Honea (Fig 8A) teaches that the peg thread is comprised of a threaded interior surface (801).
Regarding claim 18, Honea (Fig 8A) teaches that the peg thread is comprised of a threaded exterior surface (800).
Regarding claim 19, Hones teaches a method of using a bicycle spinner peg device (100), the method comprising the following steps:
providing a bicycle spinner peg device comprised of a shaft (106), a wheel (102) with a bearing (102+302+306), and a fender (104) attached to the shaft in a non-rotational manner (Para [0041]- [0042] and Fig 1-3);
attaching a peg thread (202 of the option of being bolt, Para [0040]) of the bicycle spinner peg device to a female peg receiving area (to match the external thread of the bolt 106) of a bicycle;
riding a bicycle while standing on the fender and rolling the wheel over to perform a trick (Para [0006]).
Regarding claim 20, Honea teaches that the surface is comprised of a wall, a ledge (curb, Para [0046]), or a rail.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Honea (US 2006/0181055 A1) in view of Paasch et al. (US 6,863,292 B1) hereinafter, Paasch.
Honea teaches the device of claim 1. However, Honea does not teach that the wheel is comprised of a polyurethane material.
Paasch teaches that the wheel is comprised of a polyurethane material (claim 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the invention, to modify Honea’s device, in view of Paasch, with a polyurethane wheel for higher load bearing capacity and noise reduction.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Honea (US 2006/0181055 A1).
Honea teaches the device of claim 8. However, Honea does not teach that the second fastener is comprised of a spacer.
Honea (Fig 1) teaches a fastener (106) is comprised of a spacer (118).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the invention, to modify Honea’s device, in view of fastener 106, with a spacer for better load distribution and durability.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The references noted on the attached PTO-892 form teach bicycle spinner devices of interest.
/H.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3611 /VALENTIN NEACSU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3611