DEATAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The examiner has taken notice that claims 1-20 are currently pending in the present application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/08/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Yu fails to disclose the conditional logic of Feature A, that a terminal’s PDCCH monitoring strategy (monitoring G-RNTI only vs. monitoring both G-RNTI) is selected based on whether the network supports C-RNTI based (unicast-manner) retransmission of the multicast service, and this conditional determination provides the terminal with “a clear basis for determining which RNTI should be used.”
The examiner respectfully disagrees, because Yu discloses this same conditional branching mechanism through its “first indication information.”
Paragraphs [0033]-[0034] describes first indication information is the mechanism by which the terminal determines whether the network supports C-RNTI based (unicast-manner) retransmission, and the terminal’s monitoring behavior is conditioned on that determination. Paragraphs [0017]-[0018]; [0033]-[0034]; [0142] describes when unicast manner retransmission is supported per the first indication information of the terminal monitors both G-RNTI and C-RNTI 1 during the retransmission timer window.
Paragraphs [0013]; [0156] describes that in the absence of the first indication information where C-RNTI based retransmission is not supported/enabled the terminal’s monitoring return to the single RNTI (G-RNTI) path.
Applicant argues feature A “avoids uncertainty in the communication process and improves overall system efficiency” by aligning monitoring strategy with actual network side capability.
The examiner respectfully disagrees because Paragraphs [0034]; [0039] describes the exact same problem solution logic applicant attributes to feature A aligning the terminal’s monitoring behavior (which RNTI(s) to monitor) with the network’s actual configuration/capability to avoid missed scheduling and unnecessary monitoring to remove uncertainty and improve efficiency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shrivastava et al. (US 2022/0132277) in view of Chin (US 2022/0232661) in further view of Yu et al. (US 2023/0262836).
Regarding claim 1, Shrivastava teaches a multicast service receiving method, performed by a terminal, wherein the terminal receives at least one target multicast service or is interested in at least one target multicast service, and the method comprises (Paragraph [0058] describes methods for handling multicast services involving UEs, establishing a multicast service receiving method performed by terminals. Paragraph [0070] shows the terminal/UE receiving the configured multicast service from the network entity):
receiving discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration parameters (Paragraph [0019] describes the network entity sending DRX configuration parameters as part of the PTM bearer configuration. The terminal receives these DRX configuration parameters. Paragraph [0071] describes that DRX configuration is included in the bearer configuration that the UE receives),
wherein the DRX configuration parameters comprise parameters of a unicast unicast DRX pattern (Paragraphs [0023]; [0025]; [0084] describes the distinct “unicast DRX configuration” with its own set of DRX parameters and timers, differentiating it from multicast DRX configurations)
and/or parameters of a DRX pattern corresponding to a temporary mobile group identity (TMGI) service (Paragraphs [0019]; [0071] shows DRX configuration parameters that are specifically associated with TMGI services. The PTM bearer configuration contains DRX configuration comprises a DRX MBS-On-duration timer);
and performing discontinuous reception of the target multicast service according to the DRX configuration parameters (Paragraphs [0022]; [0025]; [0074] describes the UE actively performing DRX operations for multicast services according to DRX configuration parameters),
Shrivastava doesn’t teach wherein the discontinuous reception comprises at least one of the following: monitoring, within an active time of the unicast DRX pattern ,a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) scrambled by a cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI); or monitoring, within an active time of the DRX pattern corresponding to the TMGI service, a PDCCH scrambled by a group radio network temporary identifier (G-RNTI) corresponding to the TMGI service.
However, in analogous art Chin teaches wherein the discontinuous reception comprises at least one of the following: monitoring, within an active time of the unicast DRX pattern ,a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) scrambled by a cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI) (Paragraphs [0051]; [0064] teaches active time of unicast DRX pattern and monitoring PDCCH with C-RNTI); or monitoring, within an active time of the DRX pattern corresponding to the TMGI service, a PDCCH scrambled by a group radio network temporary identifier (G-RNTI) corresponding to the TMGI service.
Shrivastava and Chin don’t teach wherein the method further comprises: if C-RNTI-based retransmission is supported, after the terminal feeds back a HARQ NACK, starting a HARQ RTT timer, and after the HARQ RTT timer expires, starting a retransmission timer, wherein before the retransmission timer expires, the terminal monitors a PDCCH scrambled by a G-RNTI 1 and a PDCCH scrambled by a C-RNTI; or if C-RNTI-based retransmission is not supported, after the terminal feeds back a HARQ NACK, starting a HARQ RTT timer, and after the HARQ RTT timer expires, starting a retransmission timer, wherein before the retransmission timer expires, the terminal monitors a PDCCH scrambled by a G-RNTI 1.
However, in analogous art Yu teaches wherein the method further comprises: if C-RNTI-based retransmission is supported, after the terminal feeds back a HARQ NACK, starting a HARQ RTT timer, and after the HARQ RTT timer expires, starting a retransmission timer, wherein before the retransmission timer expires, the terminal monitors a PDCCH scrambled by a G-RNTI 1 and a PDCCH scrambled by a C-RNTI;
or if C-RNTI-based retransmission is not supported, after the terminal feeds back a HARQ NACK, starting a HARQ RTT timer, and after the HARQ RTT timer expires, starting a retransmission timer, wherein before the retransmission timer expires, the terminal monitors a PDCCH scrambled by a G-RNTI 1 (Paragraphs [0013]; [0030]; [0023]; [0156] describes where the network does not send the first indication information C-RNTI based retransmission is not supported/enabled, the reference discloses the single RNTI monitoring path of monitoring only the first RNTI (G-RNTI) during the retransmission timer. NACK-HARQRTT timer- retransmission timer sequence).
Shrivastava Chin, and Yu are all considered analogous to the claimed invention, as they pertain to the same field of 5G wireless communication systems for multicast and broadcast services with discontinuous reception (DRX) power management.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Shrivastava’s method of monitoring G-RNTI during DRX active periods and Chin’s to incorporate the teachings of Yu’s method of PDCCH scrambling by RNTIs to configure a DRX setting and user equipment (UE).
Regarding claim 2, Shrivastava in view of Chin and Yu, Chin teaches wherein if the terminal is interested in at least one TMGI service, the DRX configuration parameters comprise parameters of at least one set of DRX patterns, and each set of DRX patterns corresponds to one TMGI service or G-RNTI (Paragraphs [0015]; [0066] teaches that DRX configurations are provided per specific MBS service, with each configuration corresponding to a particular TMGI/MBS service).
Regarding claim 3, Shrivastava in view of Chin and Yu, Chin teaches further comprising: monitoring, within an active time of each set of DRX patterns, a PDCCH scrambled by the corresponding G-RNTI (Paragraphs [0014]; [0051]; [0064] describes monitoring PDCCH for G-RNTI during active times of MBS-specific DRX configurations).
Regarding claim 4, Shrivastava in view of Chin and Yu, Chin teaches wherein the DRX configuration parameters comprise at least a period and an offset of a long DRX cycle, and duration of a DRX onDuration timer (Paragraphs [0051]; [0061] describes DRX configuration parameters including “drx-LongCycle, drx-ShortCycle, drx-ShortCycleTimer, drx-StartOffset, drx-SlotOffset, drx-onDurationTimer,” specifically for MBS services).
Regarding claim 5, Shrivastava in view of Chin and Yu, Chin teaches wherein if the TMGI service supports HARQ feedback and retransmission, or if a multicast radio bearer (MRB) in the TMGI service supports HARQ feedback and retransmission, the DRX configuration parameters comprise at least one of the following: a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) round-trip RTT timer; or a retransmission timer (Paragraphs [0052]; [0057]; [0058] describes that multicast services (identified by TMGI) include both HARQ RTT timers and retransmission timers as part of their DRX configuration parameters).
Regarding claim 6, Shrivastava in view of Chin and Yu, Shrivastava teaches after a negative acknowledgement (NACK) is fed back to a network side, starting the HARQ RTT timer, and after the HARQ RTT timer expires, starting the retransmission timer; or, the method further comprises: when a HARQ feedback function is enabled, starting and maintaining the HARQ RTT timer and the retransmission timer; or when a HARQ feedback function is disabled, not starting or maintaining the HARQ RTT timer and the retransmission timer (Paragraphs [0020]; [0022] describes starting the HARQ RTT timer after HARQ feedback (which includes NCAK) then starting the retransmission timer after the HARQ RTT timer expires, specifically when data was not successfully decoded (indicating NACK)).
Regarding claim 7, Shrivastava in view of Chin and Yu, Shrivastava teaches wherein the terminal is a terminal in a connected state, and the DRX configuration parameters comprise the parameters of the unicast DRX pattern and the parameters of the DRX pattern corresponding to the TMGI service (Paragraph [0023]-[0024]; [0051]; [0074] describes UEs in RRC_CONNECTED state being configured with both unicast DRX parameters (for PTP/C-RNTI) and TMGI specific DRX parameters (for PTM/G-RNTI)); or, the terminal is a terminal in a connected state, the DRX configuration parameters comprise the parameters of the unicast DRX pattern, and the terminal monitors, within the active time of the unicast DRX pattern, the PDCCH scrambled by the C-RNTI, and a PDCCH scrambled by a G-RNTI corresponding to a TMGI service of interest.
Regarding claim 8, Shrivastava in view of Chin and Yu, Chin teaches wherein the DRX configuration parameters comprise parameters of one set of unicast DRX patterns, and the terminal monitors, within an active time of the set of unicast DRX patterns, PDCCHs scrambled by all C-RNTIs and PDCCHs scrambled by G-RNTIs corresponding to TMGI services of interest; or the DRX configuration parameters comprise parameters of one set of DRX patterns, and the terminal monitors, within an active time of the set of DRX patterns, PDCCHs scrambled by all C-RNTIs and PDCCHs scrambled by G-RNTIs corresponding to TMGI services of interest (Paragraphs [0015]; [0056]; [0094]; [0100] describes centralized DRX approaches where a single set of DRX parameters controls PDCCH monitoring for multiple RNTI types (both C-RNTIs for unicast and G-RNTIs for multicast/TMGI services) during the same active time periods).
Regarding claim 9, Shrivastava in view of Chin and Yu, Shrivastava teaches wherein the DRX configuration parameters comprise parameters of one set of unicast DRX patterns and parameters of N sets of DRX patterns corresponding to TMGI services or G-RNTIs, wherein N is greater than or equal to 1 and less than or equal to m, and m is the number of TMGI services of interest to the terminal (Paragraph [0023] teaches one set of unicast DRX patterns for PTP (point-to-point) transmission. Paragraphs [0019]; [0075] teaches N sets of DRX patterns, where each PTM bearer (TMGI service) has its own DRX configuration corresponding to a G-RNTI. This inherently establishes that N (active configurations) can’t exceed m, and if receiving multicast services N>=1).
Regarding claim 10, Shrivastava in view of Chin and Yu, Chin teaches wherein the DRX configuration parameters comprise any one of the following: configuration information about whether a short DRX cycle is started for each of the N+1 sets of DRX patterns (Paragraphs [0051]; [0061] describes the UE receives two sets of: “drx-LongCycle, drx-ShortCycle, drx-ShortCycle, drx-shortCycleTimer…” where one set of the two sets is for an MRB, another set of the two sets is for non-MRB, demonstrating individual short DRX cycle configuration for each DRX parameter set. The “each of the N+1 sets” aspect is DRX approach where separate parameter sets exist for unicast (non-MRB) and multicast (MRB) services, with each set containing its own short DRX cycle configuration);
Chin teaches configuration information about whether a short DRX cycle is started for the unicast DRX pattern and configuration information about whether a short DRX cycle is started for the N sets of DRX patterns (Paragraph [0061] teaches separate short DRX cycle configuration for unicast patterns (non-MRB set) and multicast patterns (MRB set corresponding to the N sets). Teaches that each set contains its own “drx-ShortCycle, drx-ShortCycleTimer…” parameters which is the configuration information about whether short DRX cycles are started for each respective pattern type. This distributed DRX architecture with distinct parameter sets for unicast and multicast services );
Chin teaches configuration information about whether a short DRX cycle is started for the N+1 sets of DRX patterns (Paragraph [0061] describes configuration of these short cycle parameters inherently constitutes “configuration information about whether a short DRX cycle is started” since the presence and values of drx-ShortCycle and drx-ShortCycleTimer determine the operation of short DRX cycles. The “N+1 sets” concept is anticipated by the distributed DRX approach covering both unicast (non-MRB) and multicast (MRB) services, with each set containing its own complete DRX parameter configuration including short cycle settings);
Chin teaches and configuration information about whether a short DRX cycle is started for each group of DRX patterns in the N+1 sets of DRX patterns (Paragraph [0061] teaches distributed DRX with natural groupings ” One set of the two sets is for an MRB”, another set of the two sets is for non-MRB” with each group having its own “drx-ShortCycle” and “drx-ShortCycleTimer” parameters),
Chin teaches wherein the N+1 sets of DRX patterns are divided into at least two groups of DRX patterns (Paragraph [0061] this creates exactly “at least two groups” the MRB group (multicast services) and the non-MRB group (unicast services). The distributed DRX architecture inherently divides the N+1 sets into these functional groupings).
Regarding claim 11, Shrivastava in view of Chin and Yu, Chin teaches further comprising: monitoring, within an active time of a unicast DRX pattern, a PDCCH scrambled by a C-RNTI (Paragraphs [0051]; [0064] teaches active time of unicast DRX pattern and monitoring PDCCH with C-RNTI);
Chin teaches and separately monitoring, within active times of N sets of DRX patterns corresponding to TMGI services, PDCCHs scrambled by corresponding G-RNTIs (Paragraphs [0019]; [0064]; [0082] teaches separate monitoring of G-RNTIs during their respective DRX active times, with each TMGI service having its own DRX pattern and corresponding G-RNTI).
Regarding claim 12, Shrivastava in view of Chin and Yu, Shrivastava teaches wherein N is less than m and greater than 1, the m TMGI services of interest to the terminal are divided into N groups, and each group corresponds to one DRX pattern (Paragraph [0082] describes UE interested in multiple services, but indicates services can share timing parameters (“MBS-Inactivity timer guides the UE”). Paragraph [0084] shows multiple services sharing common DRX configuration (“common for all unicast services)).
Regarding claim 13, Shrivastava in view of Chin and Yu, Yu teaches wherein the DRX configuration parameters explicitly indicate or implicitly indicate whether the N sets of DRX patterns support C-RNTI-based retransmission (Paragraphs [0033]-[0035]; [0158]-[0162]; [0156]; [0189]-[0192] describes when only group PUCCH is configured (a DRX/configuration parameter), this implicitly signals that C-RNTI based (unicast) retransmission is not supported. The terminal derives the retransmission support status from the parameter configuration itself).
Regarding claim 14, Shrivastava in view of Chin and Yu, Yu teaches further comprising: if a point-to-multipoint (PTM) path corresponding to a G-RNTI is activated for the terminal, monitoring, by the terminal within an active time of a DRX pattern corresponding to the G-RNTI, a PDCCH scrambled by the G-RNTI, and no longer monitoring the G-RNTI if the PTM path is deactivated; or if a point-to-point (PTP) path corresponding to a G-RNTI is activated for the terminal, monitoring, by the terminal within an active time of a DRX pattern corresponding to the G-RNTI, a PDCCH scrambled by a C-RNTI; or, the method further comprises: if both a PTM path and a PTP path are activated for the terminal, monitoring, by the terminal within an active time of a unicast DRX pattern, a PDCCH scrambled by a C-RNTI, and monitoring, within an active time of a DRX pattern corresponding to a G-RNTI, a PDCCH scrambled by the G-RNTI; or
Chin teaches monitoring, by the terminal within an active time of a unicast DRX pattern, a PDCCH scrambled by a C-RNTI, and simultaneously monitoring, within an active time of a DRX pattern corresponding to a G-RNTI, a PDCCH scrambled by the G-RNTI and the PDCCH scrambled by the C-RNTI (Paragraphs [0013]; [0127]; [0200]; [0209]; [0244]; [0171] teaches UE monitoring PDCCH for multiple RNTIs during DRX-controlled periods and PDCCH scrambled by G-RNTI and C-RNTI); or, the method further comprises: if both a PTM path and a PTP path are deactivated for the terminal, monitoring, by the terminal within an active time of a unicast DRX pattern, a PDCCH scrambled by a C-RNTI, and no longer monitoring a PDCCH scrambled by a G-RNTI.
Regarding claim 15, Shrivastava in view of Chin, Chin teaches wherein the DRX configuration parameters comprise parameters of two sets of unicast DRX patterns, wherein when a PTP path is activated, parameters of one set of unicast DRX patterns are used, and when the PTP path is deactivated, parameters of the other set of unicast DRX patterns are used (Paragraphs [0066]-[0067] teaches maintaining two sets of DRX timers/parameters and DRX parameter changes triggered by PTP path activation/deactivation. Paragraph [0086] shows different DRX timers sets used depending on whether PTP transmission active).
Regarding claim 16, Shrivastava in view of Chin and Yu, Chin teaches wherein the DRX configuration parameters comprise parameters of at least two sets of DRX patterns, and usage rules corresponding to parameters of each set of DRX patterns (Paragraph [0061] teaches “two sets” of DRX parameters with clear assignments rules (“one set…for an MRB, another set…for non-MRB”). Paragraph [0067] defines specific usage rules. when certain conditions occur, specific DRX parameter sets are activated).
Regarding claim 18, the independent claim is substantially identical to the limitation set previously analyzed in claim 1, with the distinguishing feature being an electronic device, comprising a processor, a memory, and a program or instructions stored in the memory and capable of running on the processor (Chin Paragraph [0041] describes the implementation of the disclosed methods using processors and memory with executable instructions).
However, these changes do not add any new technical details. The core meaning of the claims remains the same. Because of this, these claims can be rejected for the same reasons as the earlier claims.
Regarding claim 20, Shrivastava in view of Chin and Yu, Chin teaches a chip, comprising a processor and a communications interface, wherein the communications interface is coupled to the processor, and the processor is configured to run a program or instructions to implement the steps of the method according to claim 1 (Paragraphs [0113]-[0114] describes hardware architecture with processor and communications interface (communicator), and shows processor configured to implement multicast service reception).
Claim 19 is rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 18 respectively.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shrivastava in view of Chin in further view of Yu and Chin et al. (US 20220286818).
Regarding claim 17, Shrivastava in view of Chin and Yu don’t teach wherein the terminal is a terminal in a connected state, the DRX configuration parameters comprise parameters of one set of DRX patterns, and the terminal monitors, within an active time of the set of DRX patterns, PDCCHs scrambled by C-RNTIs, and PDCCHs scrambled by G-RNTIs corresponding to all TMGI services of interest; or the DRX configuration parameters comprise parameters of at least two sets of DRX patterns, and the terminal monitors, within an active time of any one of the at least two sets of DRX patterns, PDCCHs scrambled by C-RNTIs and PDCCHs scrambled by G-RNTIs corresponding to all TMGI services of interest.
In analogous art Chin (US 20220286818) teaches wherein the terminal is a terminal in a connected state, the DRX configuration parameters comprise parameters of one set of DRX patterns, and the terminal monitors, within an active time of the set of DRX patterns, PDCCHs scrambled by C-RNTIs, and PDCCHs scrambled by G-RNTIs corresponding to all TMGI services of interest; or the DRX configuration parameters comprise parameters of at least two sets of DRX patterns, and the terminal monitors, within an active time of any one of the at least two sets of DRX patterns, PDCCHs scrambled by C-RNTIs and PDCCHs scrambled by G-RNTIs corresponding to all TMGI services of interest (Paragraphs [0080]; [0104];[0177];[0191]; [0193]; [0208]; [0266]; [0270]-[0271] describes a UE operating in RRC_CONNECTED state while receiving multicast/broadcast services. Discloses a set of one or more DRX configurations. The UE is in the DRX Active Time while the retransmission timer runs and the UE monitors/decodes PDCCHs scrambled by C-RNTI during the same window. G-RNTIs map to TMGIs (specific MBS services) and that a UE maintains multiple G-RNTI’s for multiple services. Multiple DRX configurations (each per-MBS, operating independently). A second DRX configuration of a different type (non-MBS/unicast), and monitoring of all C-RNTI and G-RNTI PDCCHs occurs within the active time of any one of those patterns during the active time of either the MBS DRX timer or the unicast DRX timer).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Shrivastava in view of Chin and Yu into the combination of Chin’s (US 20220286818) method PDCCHs scrambled by C-RNTIs and PDCCHs scrambled by G-RNTIs corresponding to all TMGI services of interest to improve MBS data reception reliability in 5G NR by solving the problem that after a failed multicast (G-RNTI/PTM) reception, the UE had no standardized way to also monitor for a unicast (C-RNTI/PTP) retransmission of the same MBS data. By enabling simultaneous C_RNTI and G_RNTI PDCCH monitoring within the DRX active time triggered by a failed reception, it gives the UE two parallel recovery paths for missed MBS data, significantly improving reliability especially for high priority MBS services like emergency broadcast).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.W.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2464
/KAN YUEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464