DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 10, 16 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu, et al. (US Pre Grant Publication No. 2017/0027004) in view of Vanderveen, et al. (US Pre Grant Publication No. 2014/0198719) and Park, et al. (US Pre Grant Publication No. 2005/0201330 A1)
Regarding claim 1 and 16, Lu discloses an apparatus comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory including computer program code, the at least one memory and the computer program code configured to, with the at least one processor, (paragraph 0121) cause the apparatus at least to and a computer-implemented method, the computer-implemented method comprising:
Generate/generating a base station message associated with a current configuration of the apparatus, wherein the base station message is configured based at least in part on one or more base station message parameters associated with one or more portions of data related to the current configuration of the apparatus; (The system of Lu discloses that a base station/access point cluster head generates a beacon message/base station message comprising a code version associated with the code data that configures the current base station [paragraphs 0008, 0100, 0103].)
Generate/generating a location message associated with a current location of the apparatus, and (Lu further discloses that the base station further sends the location of the cluster/master apparatus [paragraphs 0017, 0112].)
Cause/causing transmission of at least one of the base station message or the location message based at least in part on a respective transmission, wherein the communication synchronization frame is broadcast across a communication cluster of base stations (CCBS), and wherein the communication synchronization frame is configured to synchronize one or more communications of one or more base stations associated with the CCBS. (The beacon includes at least the base station message/code version information [paragraphs 0008, 0100, 0103] and is broadcast to all devices in the communication cluster of base stations [paragraphs 0006-0007 – cluster is a single broadcast domain to which the beacon would be transmitted; paragraphs 0060-0061 – wireless connection between base station/APs also contemplated as the broadcast domain]. The broadcast synchronizes one of more communications of the one or more base station by ensuring that all base stations joined to the cluster share the same synchronized code version and protocol used for transmitting the communications [paragraphs 0103, 0106]. [Broadest reasonable interpretation note: The term “synchronize” usually connotes some form of time synchronization in the transmissions. However, looking to Applicant’s specification, it can be seen the synchronization instead relates to the synchronization of state of the various base stations [paragraphs 0123-0126 of Applicant’s PGPUB 2025/0081133 – “clock value” in the transmitted beacons is not for time synchronization but is rather more of a “hop count” of the transmitted information that is incremented each time it is updated at a base station and transmitted in a new beacon. Therefore, the clock value/synchronization relates to synchronizing the reflected state of the base stations rather than any sort of time synchronization]. Therefore, the term “synchronization” is being construed broadly but within the BRI in the present rejection and is construed to cover the beacon of Lu which serves to synchronize the version state for the master base station of the cluster and one or more APs/base stations looking to join the cluster such that the communications are synchronized as to the protocol and or cluster version that is to be used.)
Lu fails to disclose the almanac message is configured based at least in part on one or more almanac message parameters associated with one or more portions of data related to the current location of the apparatus. In the same field of endeavor, Vanderveen discloses the almanac message is configured based at least in part on one or more almanac message parameters associated with one or more portions of data related to the current location of the apparatus. (Vanderveen discloses the use of an almanac for location information including truncated latitude and longiture, location accuracy, velocity, altitude, etc. [paragraphs 0044-0046, table 1, paragraph 0078].)
Therefore, since Vanderveen discloses location almanacs, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the location almanacs of Vanderveen with the system of Lu by reporting the location information of the base station/access point using an almanac. The motive to combine is to allow truncation to save bandwidth while also allowing inclusion of other relevant information such as height, etc to improve location accuracy.
Lu as modified by Vanderveen fails to disclose a respective transmission time slot of a plurality of transmission time slots associated with a communication synchronization frame. In the same filed of endeavor, Park discloses a respective transmission time slot of a plurality of transmission time slots associated with a communication synchronization frame. (Park discloses an 802.11 beacon frame including a number of transmission slots, such as a capability information slot [fig. 4, element 4073; paragraph 0076] and a base station ID/base station slot [fig. 4, element 405].)
Therefore, since Park discloses a beacon frame with a number of slots including one for capability/configuration of the base station, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the capability slot of Park with the system of Lu as modified by Vanderveen by placing capability/configuration information of the base station in a designated capability information transmission slot and further including a base station slot containing the ID of the base station. The motive to combine is to subdivide the transmitted beacon to make parsing and processing easier by using separated slots and to further identify the transmitting base station to allow other devices to determine if the transmission pertains to a relevant base station for improved processing speed.
Regarding claims 2 and 17, Lu as modified by Vanderveen and Park dislcoses the communication synchronization frame is configured based at least in part on the plurality of transmission time slots, and wherein the plurality of transmission time slots comprises at least one of one or more base station slots [see combination with Park in the parent claim, supra at least a capability transmission slot and a base station/BSSID slot are present].)
Regarding claim 10, Lu discloses an apparatus comprising at least one processor; and at least one memory including computer program code, the at least one memory and the computer program code configured to, with the at least one processor, (paragraph 0121) cause the apparatus at least to:
receive one or more communications from one or more base stations associated with a CCBS, wherein the one or more communications are associated with a communication synchronization frame, (The system of Lu discloses that a base station generates, and an apparatus/another base station receives, a beacon message/one or more communications associates with a communication synchronization frame comprising a code version associated with the code data that configures the current base station [paragraphs 0008, 0100, 0103].The beacon includes at least the base station message/code version information [paragraphs 0008, 0100, 0103] and is broadcast to all devices in the communication cluster of base stations [paragraphs 0006-0007 – cluster is a single broadcast domain to which the beacon would be transmitted; paragraphs 0060-0061 – wireless connection between base station/APs also contemplated as the broadcast domain]. The broadcast synchronizes one of more communications of the one or more base station by ensuring that all base stations joined to the cluster share the same synchronized code version and protocol used for transmitting the communications [paragraphs 0103, 0106]. [Broadest reasonable interpretation note: The term “synchronize” usually connotes some form of time synchronization in the transmissions. However, looking to Applicant’s specification, it can be seen the synchronization instead relates to the synchronization of state of the various base stations [paragraphs 0123-0126 of Applicant’s PGPUB 2025/0081133 – “clock value” in the transmitted beacons is not for time synchronization but is rather more of a “hop count” of the transmitted information that is incremented each time it is updated at a base station and transmitted in a new beacon. Therefore, the clock value/synchronization relates to synchronizing the reflected state of the base stations rather than any sort of time synchronization]. Therefore, the term “synchronization” is being construed broadly but within the BRI in the present rejection and is construed to cover the beacon of Lu which serves to synchronize the version state for the master base station of the cluster and one or more APs/base stations looking to join the cluster such that the communications are synchronized as to the protocol and or cluster version that is to be used. Lu further discloses that the base station further sends the location of the cluster/master apparatus [paragraphs 0017, 0112].)
wherein the one or more communications comprise at least one of one or more base station messages associated with a current configuration of the one or more respective base stations or one or more location messages associated with a current location of the one or more respective base stations; and (as discussed in (a), supra, the communications include the current version/configuration of the base station cluster and also may contain location messages [0100, 0103, 0017, 0112].)
determine, based at least in part on the one or more communications, a location of the apparatus. (Lu discloses that based on/in response to receiving a location of the master base station the apparatus/receiving base station determines its own location to determine how far it is from the master base station and or/ if it is in the same location as the master base station [paragraph 0112].)
Lu fails to disclose the almanac message is configured based at least in part on one or more almanac message parameters associated with one or more portions of data related to the current location of the apparatus. In the same field of endeavor, Vanderveen discloses the almanac message is configured based at least in part on one or more almanac message parameters associated with one or more portions of data related to the current location of the apparatus. (Vanderveen discloses the use of an almanac for location information including truncated latitude and longiture, location accuracy, velocity, altitude, etc. [paragraphs 0044-0046, table 1, paragraph 0078].)
Therefore, since Vanderveen discloses location almanacs, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the location almanacs of Vanderveen with the system of Lu by reporting the location information of the base station/access point using an almanac. The motive to combine is to allow truncation to save bandwidth while also allowing inclusion of other relevant information such as height, etc to improve location accuracy.
Lu as modified by Vanderveen fails to disclose one or more respective transmission time slots associated with a CCBS. In the same filed of endeavor, Park discloses one or more respective transmission time slots associated with a CCBS. (Park discloses an 802.11 beacon frame including a number of transmission slots, such as a capability information slot [fig. 4, element 4073; paragraph 0076] and a base station ID/base station slot [fig. 4, element 405].)
Therefore, since Park discloses a beacon frame with a number of slots including one for capability/configuration of the base station, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the capability slot of Park with the system of Lu as modified by Vanderveen by placing capability/configuration information of the base station in a designated capability information transmission slot and further including a base station slot containing the ID of the base station. The motive to combine is to subdivide the transmitted beacon to make parsing and processing easier by using separated slots and to further identify the transmitting base station to allow other devices to determine if the transmission pertains to a relevant base station for improved processing speed.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-9, 11-15 and 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Before addressing specific claims, a general overview of the difference between the actual present invention and the closest prior art of Lu is helpful to explain the allowability of the dependent claims. Looking to Lu the system of Lu is actually significantly different than that of the present invention, especially with respect to the element of the communication synchronization frame. In the system of Lu, the communication synchronization frame is only transmitted from the master base station and is not sent by all base stations in the cluster. This key difference gives rise to extreme difficulties in the use of the system of Lu in rejecting may of the dependent claims.
Regarding claims 3 and 18, the prior art fails to teach, suggest or disclose the computer program code is further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to determine that the apparatus is associated with an initiator role, wherein the initiator role indicates that the apparatus is configured to set a timing synchronization associated with the communication synchronization frame for the one or more base stations associated with the CCBS and in response to determining that the apparatus is associated with the initiator role set a clock level value associated with the apparatus to a predefined initial clock level value; and cause initiation of the broadcast of the communication synchronization frame in the CCBS. That is, as discussed, supra, the closest prior art of Lu does not disclose that any device other than the master base station transmits the synchronization frame. As the master base station has already been determined to be the master, there is no need for it to enter into an initiator role that is a process of forming a new cluster. Furthermore, no other art teaching the initiator role or the use of the claimed predefined initial clock level value in a way that could be combined with the prior art of Lu or separately used to tech this element could be located. Therefore, the prior art fails to teach, suggest or disclose all elements of the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 4 and 19, the prior art fails to teach, suggest or disclose prior to generating and causing the transmission of the at least one of the base station message or the almanac message determine whether the apparatus has an assigned base station slot associated with the communication synchronization frame and in response to determining the apparatus does not have an assigned base station slot join the communication synchronization frame by at least generating a join message, wherein the join message is a request to cause the apparatus to join the communication synchronization frame at a requested base station slot; and causing transmission of the join message during a command slot associated with the communication synchronization frame. That is, although Lu discloses joining the cluster (see, for example, paragraphs 005, 0007) it does not teach an assigned base station slot in the communication synchronization frame, as there is no need to assign a slot as the synchronization frame is only transmitted by the master base station. Furthermore, the master base station of claim 1 has no need to join the cluster a recited herein as it is already a de-facto cluster member as the cluster head. Furthermore, no other art teaching these limitations could be located. Therefore, the prior art fails to teach, suggest or disclose all elements of the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 5-8 and 20, the claims depends, directly or indirectly, from claims 4 and 19 and are allowable for at least the reasons stated with respect to claims 4 and 19, supra.
Regarding claim 9, the prior art fails to teach, suggest or disclose detecting a base station transmission collision, wherein the base station transmission collision is an instance in which two or more base stations of the one or more base stations associated with the CCBS have transmitted respective base station messages via a common base station slot associated with the communication synchronization frame in response to detecting the base station transmission collision generate a collision message, wherein the collision message comprises a collision message identifier and a base station slot number associated with the common base station slot associated with the base station transmission collision; reserve a collision message slot in a forthcoming base station message associated with the apparatus; and cause transmission of the collision message via the reserved collision message slot during transmission of the forthcoming base station message. That is, as discussed, supra, only a single master base station will ever send a transmission in the communication synchronization frame in the system of Lu. Therefore, it is impossible for the claimed collision to occur. Furthermore, no other art teaching the claimed elements could be located. Therefore, the prior art fails to teach, suggest or disclose all elements of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 11, the prior art fails to teach, suggest or disclose d determine a value of a smallest received clock level from one or more base station messages associated with the one or more respective communications increment the value of the smallest received clock level by a predefined amount and set a clock level value associated with the apparatus based on the incremented value, wherein the clock level value will be indicated in one or more subsequent base station messages transmitted by the apparatus. That is, as discussed, supra, only a single master base station will ever send a transmission in the communication synchronization frame in the system of Lu. Therefore, there is no reason for the apparatus to receive a clock value and increment it in a later transmission of a base station message sent by the apparatus. Furthermore, no other art teaching the increments in a way that could be combined with Lu could be located. Therefore, the prior art fails to teach, suggest or disclose all elements of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 12, the claim depends from claim 11 and is allowable for at least the reasons stated with respect to claim 11, supra.
Regarding claim 13, the prior art fails to teach, suggest or disclose receiving a join message from a requesting base station of the one or more base stations associated with the CCBS, wherein the join message is a request to cause the requesting base station to join the communication synchronization frame at a requested base station slot in response to receiving the join message from the requesting base station determine, based at least in part on the join message, whether the requesting base station is able to join the communication synchronization frame generation, based on determining whether the requesting base station is able to join the communication synchronization frame, a join response message; and cause transmission of the join response message to the requesting base station. That is, as discussed, supra, only a single master base station exists, therefore the apparatus (which is not the master) will not receive a join message from another base station as the master base station in the system of Lu (rather, in fact, the apparatus is the transmitted of the join message in Lu). Furthermore the requesting base station cannot join the communication synchronization frame generation, as only the master base station performs the communication synchronization frame generation and no other devices may join it in the system of Lu. Furthermore, no other art teaching the claimed elements could be located. Therefore, the prior art fails to teach, suggest or disclose all elements of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 14, the claim depends from claim 11 and is allowable for at least the reasons stated with respect to claim 13, supra.
Regarding claim 15, the prior art fails to teach, suggest or disclose receiving a collision message; in response to receiving the collision message: determine if the apparatus is an initiator of the communication synchronization frame; and in response to determining that the apparatus is not the initiator of the communication synchronization frame: join the communication synchronization frame by at least: generating a join message, wherein the join message is a request to cause the apparatus to join the communication synchronization frame at a requested base station slot; and causing transmission of the join message during a command slot associated with the communication synchronization frame; receiving, from a target base station, a join response message in response to transmitting the join message during the command slot; determining, based on the join response message, whether the apparatus is able to join the communication synchronization frame at the requested base station slot; and in response to determining that the apparatus is able to join the communication synchronization frame join the communication synchronization frame at the requested base station slot. That is, as discussed, supra, only a single master base station will ever send a transmission in the communication synchronization frame in the system of Lu. Therefore, it is impossible for the claimed collision to occur. Furthermore, no other art teaching the claimed elements could be located. Therefore, the prior art fails to teach, suggest or disclose all elements of the claimed invention.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Nikumani Choudhury, Rakesh Matam, Member, Mithun Mukherjee and Lei Shu, Beacon Synchronization and Duty-Cycling in IEEE 802.15.4 Cluster-Tree Networks: A Review, IEEE Intenet of Things Journal, pages 1765-1788, 2018 – disclosing using beacons for time synchronization for energy savings in IoT networks
Hanqing Lou, Xiaofei Wang, Joseph Levy, Zinan Lin, Mahmoud Kamel and Rui Yang, Enhanced rTWT and Multiple AP Operations, pages 1-10, March 2023 – disclosing grouping multiple base station and performing synchronization for restricted wake-up timing.
Montumurro, et al. (US Pre Grant Publication No. 2025/0254706) – disclosing self organizing groups of access points forming meshes
Li, et al. (US Pre Grant Publication No. 2016/0198393) – disclosing beacon frames with cluster information
Zuinga, et al. (US Pre Grant Publication No. 2025/0119819) – disclosing corming multi-AP coordinating point groups
/CHRISTOPHER M CRUTCHFIELD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466