DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-3, 5-13, 15-19 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He et al. (US 2021/0294105) in view of Wong et al. (US 2021/0294012); further in view of Lee et al. (US 2019/0324271).
Regarding claim 1, He et al. (figure 4) discloses a zoomable curved optical device comprising:
a curved polarization reflection film (30);
a waveplate (28) having a first surface and a second surface opposite to each other;
a half-mirror film (22) arranged on the first surface of the waveplate; and
a zoomable module (26; portion of ray can be refracted (partially focused) by the shape of aspheric convex surface of lens element 26; see at least paragraph 0048) arranged on the second surface of the waveplate (28),
wherein the curved polarization reflection film is arranged on the zoomable module (30 and 26).
He et al. discloses the limitations as shown in the rejection of claim 1 above. However, He et al. is silent regarding an optical adhesive and wherein the polarization dependent lens is configured to change its refractive index and focal length according to a polarization state of incident light.
Wong et al. (figure 2) teaches
a zoomable module (lens system 90 and 160) arranged on the second surface of the waveplate (50) through an optical adhesive (80);
wherein the zoomable module comprises:
at least one polarization dependent lens (retarder 40);
at least one first solid lens (90 and 30) and at least one second solid lens respectively arranged on two opposite sides of the at least one polarization dependent lens;
a first polarization controller (70) arranged on the second surface of the waveplate (50) through the optical adhesive (80) and arranged between the at least one first solid lens and the waveplate (90 and 50); and
a second polarization controller (120) arranged between the at least one second solid lens (30) and the polarizer film.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the adhesive layer as taught by Wong et al. in order to secure the connections between the layers and avoid or minimize cross-talk between adjacent pixels. Therefore, He et al. as modified by Wong et al. teaches a second polarization controller arranged between the at least one second solid lens (30) and the curved polarization reflection film.
In addition, Lee et al. teaches wherein the polarization dependent lens is configured to change its refractive index and focal length according to a polarization state of incident light (the birefringent lens 257 has different refractive indexes according to the polarization of incident light thereon, the birefringent lens 257 has different focal lengths with respect to light of different polarizations; see at least paragraph 0098). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the polarization dependent lens as taught by Lee et al. in order to achieve a see-through type display apparatus having a multi-focal characteristic.
Regarding claim 2, He et al. (figure 4) discloses wherein the waveplate is a quarter waveplate (28; see at least paragraph 0051).
Regarding claim 3, He et al. (figure 4) discloses wherein the half-mirror film is a curved half-mirror film (22; see at least paragraph 0089).
Regarding claim 4, Wong et al. (figure 2) teaches wherein the zoomable module comprises:
Regarding claim 5, He et al. (figure 4) discloses optical system having aspheric convex surfaces (see at least paragraph 0061). However, He et al. is silent regarding wherein the at least one first solid lens and the at least one second solid lens are aspherical lenses. Wong et al. (figure 2) teaches a zoomable module having first and second solid lenses (90 and 30). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the lenses as taught by Wong et al. in order to secure the connections between the layers and avoid or minimize cross-talk between adjacent pixels.
Regarding claim 6, Wong et al. (figure 2) teaches wherein the at least one first solid lens and the at least one second solid lens are non-polarization dependent lenses (optical lenses; see at least paragraph 0024).
Regarding claim 7, He et al. (figure 4) discloses optical system having aspheric convex surfaces (see at least paragraph 0061). However, He et al. is silent regarding wherein the at least one polarization dependent lens is an aspherical lens. Wong et al. (figure 2) teaches a zoomable module one polarization dependent lens (40). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the lenses as taught by Wong et al. in order to secure the connections between the layers and avoid or minimize cross-talk between adjacent pixels.
Regarding claim 10, He et al. (figure 4) discloses wherein the zoomable module is configured to control a diopter of incident light (reflection from the curved shape of surface S1 provides optical system 20 with additional optical power; see at least paragraph 0052; figure 3) and maintain or change a polarization state of an incident polarized image according to the polarization state of the incident polarized image (Light that is polarized parallel to the reflection axis of reflective polarizer 30 will be reflected by reflective polarizer 30. Light that is polarized perpendicular to the reflection axis and therefore parallel to the pass axis of reflective polarizer 30 will pass through reflective polarizer 30; see at least paragraph 0044).
Claims 8-9, 11-13, 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He et al. in view of Wong et al. and Lee et al.; further in view of Yu (CN 106444046).
Regarding claim 8, He et al. (figure 4) discloses and the display module is configured to transmit circularly-polarized images to the half-mirror film (the display system includes a wave plate such as quarter wave plate 18 to provide circularly polarized image light; see at least paragraph 0038), wherein the first surface of the waveplate faces toward a display surface of a display module through the half-mirror film (28, 22, and 40). However, He et al. is silent regarding concave surfaces of the curved polarization reflection film and the half-mirror film face toward the display surface of the display module. Yu (figure 2) teaches concave surfaces of the layers face toward the display surface of the display module (3 and 11). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the curved surfaces of the optical device as taught by Yu in order to achieve a lightweight optical system with a short working distance, a compact structure, a large viewing angle and a large exit pupil diameter. Therefore, He et al. as modified by Wong et al., Lee et al., and Yu teaches wherein the first surface of the waveplate faces toward a display surface of a display module through the half-mirror film, and concave surfaces of the curved polarization reflection film and the half-mirror film face toward the display surface of the display module.
Regarding claim 9, He et al. (figure 4) discloses wherein the display module is a liquid-crystal display, a micro-organic light-emitting diode (μ-OLED) module, a liquid-crystal-on-silicon display module, a digital light-processing module, or micro light-emitting diode display module (see at least paragraph 0031).
Regarding claim 11, He et al. (figure 4) discloses a zoomable curved optical device comprising:
a curved polarization reflection film (30);
a waveplate (28) having a first surface and a second surface opposite to each other;
a half-mirror film (22) arranged on the first surface of the waveplate; and
a zoomable module (26; portion of ray can be refracted (partially focused) by the shape of aspheric convex surface of lens element 26; see at least paragraph 0048) arranged on the second surface of the waveplate (28), wherein the curved polarization reflection film is arranged on the zoomable module (30 and 26), and
a display module whose display surface faces toward the first surface of the waveplate through the half-mirror film (28, 22, and 40), wherein the display module is configured to transmit circularly-polarized images to the half-mirror film (the display system includes a wave plate such as quarter wave plate 18 to provide circularly polarized image light; see at least paragraph 0038).
He et al. discloses the limitations as shown in the rejection of claim 11 above. However, He et al. is silent regarding an optical adhesive, the display module is configured to transmit circularly-polarized images to the half-mirror film, and wherein the polarization dependent lens is configured to change its refractive index and focal length according to a polarization state of incident light.
Wong et al. (figure 2) teaches
a zoomable module (lens system 90 and 160) arranged on the second surface of the waveplate (50) through an optical adhesive (80);
wherein the zoomable module comprises:
at least one polarization dependent lens (retarder 40);
at least one first solid lens (90 and 30) and at least one second solid lens respectively arranged on two opposite sides of the at least one polarization dependent lens;
a first polarization controller (70) arranged on the second surface of the waveplate (50) through the optical adhesive (80) and arranged between the at least one first solid lens and the waveplate (90 and 50); and
a second polarization controller (120) arranged between the at least one second solid lens (30) and the polarizer film.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the adhesive layer as taught by Wong et al. in order to secure the connections between the layers and avoid or minimize cross-talk between adjacent pixels. Therefore, He et al. as modified by Wong et al. teaches a second polarization controller arranged between the at least one second solid lens (30) and the curved polarization reflection film.
In addition, Lee et al. teaches wherein the polarization dependent lens is configured to change its refractive index and focal length according to a polarization state of incident light (the birefringent lens 257 has different refractive indexes according to the polarization of incident light thereon, the birefringent lens 257 has different focal lengths with respect to light of different polarizations; see at least paragraph 0098). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the polarization dependent lens as taught by Lee et al. in order to achieve a see-through type display apparatus having a multi-focal characteristic.
He et al. (figure 4) discloses the display module is configured to transmit circularly-polarized images to the half-mirror film (the display system includes a wave plate such as quarter wave plate 18 to provide circularly polarized image light; see at least paragraph 0038), wherein the first surface of the waveplate faces toward a display surface of a display module through the half-mirror film (28, 22, and 40). However, He et al. is silent regarding concave surfaces of the curved polarization reflection film and the half-mirror film face toward the display surface of the display module. Yu (figure 2) teaches concave surfaces of the layers face toward the display surface of the display module (3 and 11). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the curved surfaces of the optical device as taught by Yu in order to achieve a lightweight optical system with a short working distance, a compact structure, a large viewing angle and a large exit pupil diameter. Therefore, He et al. as modified by Wong et al. and Yu teaches wherein the first surface of the waveplate faces toward a display surface of a display module through the half-mirror film, and concave surfaces of the curved polarization reflection film and the half-mirror film face toward the display surface of the display module.
Regarding claim 12, He et al. (figure 4) discloses wherein the waveplate is a quarter waveplate (28; see at least paragraph 0051).
Regarding claim 13, He et al. (figure 4) discloses wherein the half-mirror film is a curved half-mirror film (22; see at least paragraph 0089).
Regarding claim 15, He et al. (figure 4) discloses optical system having aspheric convex surfaces (see at least paragraph 0061). However, He et al. is silent regarding wherein the at least one first solid lens and the at least one second solid lens are aspherical lenses. Wong et al. (figure 2) teaches a zoomable module having first and second solid lenses (90 and 30). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the lenses as taught by Wong et al. in order to secure the connections between the layers and avoid or minimize cross-talk between adjacent pixels.
Regarding claim 16, Wong et al. (figure 2) teaches wherein the at least one first solid lens and the at least one second solid lens are non-polarization dependent lenses (optical lenses; see at least paragraph 0024).
Regarding claim 17, He et al. (figure 4) discloses optical system having aspheric convex surfaces (see at least paragraph 0061). However, He et al. is silent regarding wherein the at least one polarization dependent lens is an aspherical lens. Wong et al. (figure 2) teaches a zoomable module one polarization dependent lens (40). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the lenses as taught by Wong et al. in order to secure the connections between the layers and avoid or minimize cross-talk between adjacent pixels.
Regarding claim 18, He et al. (figure 4) discloses wherein the display module is a liquid-crystal display, a micro-organic light-emitting diode (μ-OLED) module, a liquid-crystal-on-silicon display module, a digital light-processing module, or micro light-emitting diode display module (see at least paragraph 0031).
Regarding claim 19, He et al. (figure 4) discloses wherein the zoomable module is configured to control a diopter of incident light (reflection from the curved shape of surface S1 provides optical system 20 with additional optical power; see at least paragraph 0052; figure 3) and maintain or change a polarization state of an incident polarized image according to the polarization state of the incident polarized image (Light that is polarized parallel to the reflection axis of reflective polarizer 30 will be reflected by reflective polarizer 30. Light that is polarized perpendicular to the reflection axis and therefore parallel to the pass axis of reflective polarizer 30 will pass through reflective polarizer 30; see at least paragraph 0044).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAUREN NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871