DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
2. Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (i.e.: Claims 1-15) in the reply filed on 09 June 2026 is acknowledged. The claims directed toward Group II (i.e.: Claims 16-20) have been withdrawn due to the election. Currently, Claims 1-15 are pending and under examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
4. Claims 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites the limitation “a conductive plate” in line 3 and line 4 recites the limitation “the plate.” It is unclear if the second instance of the “plate” is the referring to the “conductive plate” of line 3 or is an attempt to introduce a new limitation.
Claim 12 recites the limitation “the carbon layer” which is a singular reference whereas Claim 11 recites “one or more carbon layers” which is a plural reference. It is unclear if the singular carbon layer and the plural carbon layers are referring to the same limitation.
Claims 12-15 are rejected since the claim from which they depend (i.e.: Claim 11) currently stands rejected under 112(b)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 8, 9, 11,12, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al. in view of Cao et al.
Lim et al. (US Pub. No. 2009/0017361 A1) is directed toward a separator for fuel cells and method for the surface treatment of the same (title). Cao (CN 115275245 A – EPO translation) is directed toward a polymer composite material for hydrogen-oxygen fuel cell bipolar plates and the preparation thereof (title).
Regarding Claim 1, Lim et al. discloses an assembly for an electrochemical device in FIG. 1 by the separator 10 as part of a membrane electrode assembly (abstract, ¶9, and ¶12). Lim further discloses a conductive metallic plate with the depiction of the substrate 110 in FIG. 1 (¶56-60, ¶68-80) and the substrate 500 in FIG. 8 (¶125-130). Lim et al. also discloses at least one carbon layer extending along the metallic plate and the at least one carbon layer including a plurality of carbon fibers that establish a porous construct as supported by the carbon nanotube layer 120 in FIG. 1 (¶57-60, ¶65, ¶67, ¶76, ¶79, and ¶84) which is formed on the substrate with the example of carbon (nano) fiber (¶59). The interlocking/overlapping of a CNF layer would inherently form an overlapping physical matrix resulting in a porous construct as required by Claim 1.
Also, Lim et al. describes a composite layer 130 comprising a polymer and an electrically conductive additive according to ¶60. The polymer resin is selected from thermoplastic or thermosetting resins (¶62-63 of Lim et al.) and the electrically conductive additive is selected from carbon black, graphite, carbon fiber, or carbon nanotubes (¶66 of Lim et al.). As described in Lim et al., the deposition of a polymer composite layer 130 is directly on top of the carbon layer 120 and also above the metallic plate 110 (¶57, ¶60 and FIG. 1 of Lim et al.). The polymer composite layer 130 is designed to reduce the corrosion of the conductive metal plate 110 as explained in ¶61 of Lim et al.
Lim et al. further indicates that the composite layer and the porous carbon network are heavily compressed (¶77-82) using a mold which applies force in both the upward and downward direction which inherently force the carbon fibers into the interstitial pores or structural voids within the porous matrix making at least a portion (i.e.: one of the carbon layers) substantially impermeable to fluid as additionally by Claim 1.
Additionally,, Lim et al. discloses that at least some of the carbon fibers extend through the protective film to establish a conductive pathway between the at least one carbon layer and the metallic plate as required by Claim 1. Lim et al. further explains in ¶65 that some of the electrically conductive additive (e.g.: carbon fiber and carbon nanotubes) are mixed with the polymer to form the composite layer which reduced the contact resistance within the separator 10. As Lim et al. teaches that compression molding is used to form the coating stack, this high pressure will ensure that electricity/current will flow from the metallic plate though the protective layer (i.e.: the composite layer 130) since the elongated strands of the fiber will pierce the softer polymer. This piercing of the carbon fiber (i.e.: the conductive additive) will form an electrical bridge through the polymer layer electrically connecting the substrate 110 and the carbon layer 120.
However, Lim et el. does not expressly teach where in the protective film extending between the metallic plate and the at least one carbon layer. Cao et al. is directed toward the formation of a polymer composite bipolar plate for use in fuel cells (¶n0001-n0002 in Cao et al.). Since Cao et al. is directed toward fuel cells, it is analogous art to Lim et al. The bipolar plate of Cao et al. comprises a sandwich structure comprised of graphite top and bottom layers with a composite conductive filler and polymer in the center (¶n0007 in Cao et al.) which are analogous to the carbon fiber layers of Lim et al. This construction in Cao et al. ensures excellent mechanical properties and a three-dimensional conductive path ensuring low electrical resistivity (¶n0008 in Cao et al.). Additionally, a top layer comprised of a graphite or other conductive carbon layer reduces the effects of higher polymer concentration found at the top portion of the intermediate layer meaning improved electrical conductivity.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the assembly of Lim et al. by using a sandwich structure having a top and bottom carbon fiber layer with a polymeric composite as the intermediate layer (or protective layer) as suggest by Cao et al. with the reasonable expectation of forming an assembly with enhanced electrical conductivity through the entire thickness of the coating stack. Therefore, the combination of Li et al. view of Cao et al. teaches the limitation of a protective film extending between the metallic plate and the at least one carbon layer as the combination results in a structure where the conductive plate is on the bottom, the carbon nanofiber layer is the second layer, the third layer is the polymer composite (i.e.: the protective layer) and the top layer is the carbon nanofiber layer. This arrangement puts a protective layer between the conductive plate and a carbon layer.
Regarding Claim 2, Lim et al. in view of Cao et al. discloses the assembly as recited in Claim 1, wherein the carbon fibers are randomly distributed as the carbon layer is formed using a chemical vapor deposition process in Lim et al. which results in the random growth of carbon nanostructures onto the conductive metallic plate (¶32 of Lim et al.).
Regarding Claim 4, Lim et al. in view of Cao et al. disclose the assembly of Claim 1, wherein the protective film is a solid plastic layer as supported by the composite layer 130 which includes a polymer material formed by compression molding (¶60 of Lim et al.). When applied by compression molding, the polymer material sets into a solid plastic layer that covers the substrate to prevent corrosion or enhance corrosion resistance (¶61 of Lim et el.).
Regarding Claim 5, Lim et al. in view of Cao et al. discloses the assembly recited in Claim 4, where the plastic/protective layer comprises a thermoplastic as exemplified the following resins in ¶63 of Lim et al.: polypropylene, polyvinylidene fluoride, polyethylene, polyphenylene sulfide, polyphenylene oxide.
Regarding Claim 8, Lim et al. in view of Cao et al. discloses the assembly recited in Claim 1, wherein at least one carbon layer is bonded directly to the metallic plate as evidenced by the carbon nanotube/nanofiber layer 120 being expressly formed on the surface of the substrate 110 via direct growth or chemical vapor deposition as per ¶57-60 of Lim et al.
Regarding Claim 9, Lim et al. in view of Cao et al. discloses the assembly as recited in Claim 1, which has at least one carbon layer including a first carbon layer and a second carbon layer, and the protective film is sandwiched between the first and second carbon layers such that the fibers of the first carbon layer and the fibers of the second carbon layer contact each other in the protective film to establish a portion of the conductive path as explained above. The combination of Li et al. view of Cao et al. teaches the sandwich structure of Claim 9: the conductive plate is the bottom layer, the carbon nanofiber layer is the second layer, the third layer is the polymer composite (i.e.: the protective layer) and the top layer is the carbon nanofiber layer.
Regarding Claim 11, Lim et al. discloses an electrochemical device (e.g.: fuel cells in ¶11) comprising: a proton exchange membrane (¶11) between an anode (¶6) and a cathode (¶7); a conductive metallic plate (¶9) adjacent to a fluid stream (i.e. hydrogen ions and oxygen in ¶7) of the cathode in ¶4-13. Lim et al. further discloses a conductive metallic plate with the depiction of the substrate 110 in FIG. 1 (¶56-60, ¶68-80) and the substrate 500 in FIG. 8 (¶125-130). Lim et al. also discloses at least one carbon layer extending along the metallic plate and the at least one carbon layer including a plurality of carbon fibers that establish a porous construct as supported by the carbon nanotube layer 120 in FIG. 1 (¶57-60, ¶65, ¶67, ¶76, ¶79, and ¶84) which is formed on the substrate with the example of carbon (nano) fiber (¶59). The interlocking/overlapping of a CNF layer would inherently form an overlapping physical matrix resulting in a porous construct as required by Claim 11.
Additionally, Lim et al. describes a composite layer 130 comprising a polymer and an electrically conductive additive according to ¶60. The polymer resin is selected from thermoplastic or thermosetting resins (¶62-63 of Lim et al.) and the electrically conductive additive is selected from carbon black, graphite, carbon fiber, or carbon nanotubes (¶66 of Lim et al.). As described in Lim et al., the deposition of a polymer composite layer 130 is directly on top of the carbon layer 120 and also above the metallic plate 110 (¶57, ¶60 and FIG. 1 in Lim et al.). The polymer composite layer 130 is designed to reduce the corrosion of the conductive metal plate 110 as explained in ¶61 of Lim et al.
Lim et al. further indicates that the composite layer and the porous carbon network are heavily compressed (¶77-82) using a mold which applies force in both the upward and downward direction which inherently force the carbon fibers into the interstitial pores or structural voids within the porous matrix making at least a portion (i.e.: one of the carbon layers) substantially impermeable to fluid as additionally by Claim 11.
Moreover, Lim et al. discloses: that at least some of the carbon fibers extend through the protective film to establish a conductive pathway between the at least one carbon layer and the metallic plate as required by Claim 11. Lim et al. further explains in ¶65 that some of the electrically conductive additive (e.g.: carbon fiber and carbon nanotubes) are mixed with the polymer to form the composite layer which reduced the contact resistance within the separator 10. As Lim et al. teaches that compression molding is used to form the coating stack, this high pressure will ensure that electricity/current will flow from the metallic plate though the protective layer (i.e.: the composite layer 130) since the elongated strands of the fiber will pierce the softer polymer. This piercing of the carbon fiber (i.e.: the conductive additive) will form an electrical bridge through the polymer layer electrically connecting the substrate 110 and the carbon layer 120.
However, Lim et el. does not expressly teach where in the protective film extending between the metallic plate and the at least one carbon layer. Cao et al. is directed toward the formation of a polymer composite bipolar plate for use in fuel cells (¶n0001-n0002 in Cao et al.). Since Cao et al. is directed toward fuel cells, it is analogous art to Lim et al. The bipolar plate of Cao et al. comprises a sandwich structure comprised of graphite top and bottom layers with a composite conductive filler and polymer in the center (¶n0007 in Cao et al.) which are analogous to the carbon fiber layers of Lim et al. This construction in Cao et al. ensures excellent mechanical properties and a three-dimensional conductive path ensuring low electrical resistivity (¶n0008 in Cao et al.). Additionally, a top layer comprised of a graphite or other conductive carbon layer reduces the effects of higher polymer concentration found at the top portion of the intermediate layer meaning improved electrical conductivity.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the assembly of Lim et al. by using a sandwich structure having a top and bottom carbon fiber layer with a polymeric composite as the intermediate layer (or protective layer) as suggest by Cao et al. with the reasonable expectation of forming an assembly with enhanced electrical conductivity through the entire thickness of the coating stack. Therefore, the combination of Li et al. view of Cao et al. teaches the limitation of a protective film extending between the metallic plate and the at least one carbon layer as the combination results in a structure where the conductive plate is on the bottom, the carbon nanofiber layer is the second layer, the third layer is the polymer composite (i.e.: the protective layer) and the top layer is the carbon nanofiber layer. This arrangement puts a protective layer between the conductive plate and a carbon layer.
Regarding Claim 12, Lim et al. in view of Cao et al. discloses the electrochemical device recited in Claim 11, wherein the carbon layer establishes a boundary for the fluid stream as evidenced by ¶20, ¶29, ¶118-119 and Claim 2 of Lim et al. where the structure of the metal plate has alternating concave and convex channels for the accommodating air, hydrogen, or cooling water. Since the protective layer and the carbon fiber layers are coated directly on top of the underlying patterned plate, the channels will be across the entire surface of and telegraphing through the entirety of the coating stack meaning the carbon layer explicitly forms and establishes the structural boundary of the fluid streams.
Regarding Claim 13, Lim et al. in view of Cao et al. discloses the electrochemical device as recited in Claim 11, where in one or more carbon layers include a first carbon layer and a second carbon layer, and the protective film is sandwiched between them as explained above by the combination of Li et al. view of Cao et al. resulting in a structure where the conductive plate is on the bottom, the carbon nanofiber layer is the second layer, the third layer is the polymer composite (i.e.: the protective layer) and the top layer is the carbon nanofiber layer. This arrangement puts a protective layer between the conductive plate and a carbon layer.
Regarding Claim 14, Lim et al. in view of Cao et al. discloses the electrochemical device as recited in Claim 13, wherein the protective film comprises a non-conductive material, and the carbon fibers of the first carbon layer and the carbon fibers of the second carbon layer contact each other in the protective film to establish the conductive path as supported by the use of thermoplastic resins in ¶63 of Lim et al. The exemplified non-conductive resins are polypropylene, polyvinylidene fluoride, polyethylene, polyphenylene sulfide, polyphenylene oxide.
8. Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al. and Cao et al. as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Bohackova et al.
Lim et al. (US Pub. No. 2009/0017361 A1) is directed toward a separator for fuel cells and method for the surface treatment of the same (title). Cao (CN 115275245 A – EPO translation) is directed toward a polymer composite material for hydrogen-oxygen fuel cell bipolar plates and the preparation thereof (title). Bohackova et al. (“Metallic Material Selection and Prospective Surface Treatments for Proton Exchange Membrane Fuel Cell Bipolar Plates – a Review,” Materials, 2021,14(10), article 2682, pg. 1-41) is directed toward PEM Fuel Cell Bipolar Plates (pg. 1: title).
Regarding Claim 3, Lim et al. in view of Cao et al. disclose the assembly as recited in Claim 1, wherein the metallic plate is a material selected from stainless steel, aluminum (Al), or copper (Cu) (¶58 of Lim et al.) but does not disclose the use of titanium. Bohackova et al. is a review article directed toward bipolar plates/separators for fuel cells, so it is related art to Lim et al. and Cao et al. Bohackova et al. discusses the use of multiple substrates including titanium (pg. 22: 5.3. Titanium), stainless steel (pg. 22: 5.3 Titanium), aluminum (pg. 22-3: 5.4. Aluminum), and other metals (Ni, Cu, and Mg on pg. 24-25 in section 5.5. Other Metals). Bohackova et al. indicates that titanium has the advantages of low density and corrosion resistance in highly acidic and humid environments. Additionally, it is preferred over stainless steel substrates since titanium ions are less toxic to the catalyst and membrane than ions released from stainless steels (e.g.: Cr3+ or Cr6+). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the stainless steel conductive plate in the electrochemical device of Lim et al. and Cao et al. by using a titanium conductive plate as taught by Bohackova et al. with the reasonable expectation of forming an assembly with enhanced resistance to corrosion from the aggressive electrolyte and damage caused by high humidity.
9. Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al. in view of Cao et al. as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Sealxpert Products
Lim et al. (US Pub. No. 2009/0017361 A1) is directed toward a separator for fuel cells and method for the surface treatment of the same (title). Cao (CN 115275245 A – EPO translation) is directed toward a polymer composite material for hydrogen-oxygen fuel cell bipolar plates and the preparation thereof (title). Sealxpert Products (“Application Techniques for Anti-corrosion Coatings,” Blog Post from 3 July 2017. Accessed 02 September 2026. https://www.sealxpert.com/application-techniques-for-anti-corrosion-coatings) is a blogpost about application of corrosion resistant coatings.
Regarding Claim 6, Lim et al. in view of Cao et al. disclose the assembly as recited in Claim 1, where the protective layer (i.e.: the composite layer 130 of Lim et al.) is deposited using techniques such as painting, screen coating, dipping, and tape casting (abstract, ¶18, ¶37, and Claim 20 in Lim et al.), but does not expressly describe spray application of the protective layer. The use of spray application (of the protective layer) is an equivalent technique to painting, screen printing, and dipping (as per Lim et al.) which are all directed toward the depositing of a liquid-based material containing polymers, fillers conductive materials, and other additives. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the application of the composite layer of Lim et al. and Cao et al. by substituting a spray application (for painting, screen printing, and dipping). This simple substitution of one known technique for another would yield the predictable results of depositing an effective protective film over the conductive plate to improve corrosion resistance. See MPEP 2143.I.B - Simple Substitution of One Known Element for Another to Obtain Predictable Results.
Support for this simple substitution can be found from the Blog Post from Sealxpert Products which discusses common techniques used to apply anti-corrosive coatings such as painting using a brush or roller as well as spray application (i.e.: air or airless). One particular advantage of spray coating is the ability to control the film thickness over (brush) painting.
10. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al. in view of Cao et al. as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Maheshwari et al.
Lim et al. (US Pub. No. 2009/0017361 A1) is directed toward a separator for fuel cells and method for the surface treatment of the same (title). Cao (CN 115275245 A – EPO translation) is directed toward a polymer composite material for hydrogen-oxygen fuel cell bipolar plates and the preparation thereof (title). Maheshwari et al. (“Improved performance of PEM fuel cell using carbon paper electrode prepared with CNT coated carbon fiber,” Electrochimica Acta, 2009, 54, 7476-7482) is directed toward improve PEM fuel cell performance (pg. 7476: title).
Regarding Claim 7, Lim et al. in view of Cao et al. disclose the assembly as recited in Claim 1, but the carbon layer is not comprised of carbon paper sheets. Maheshwari et al. is directed toward PEM fuel cells (pg. 7476: title) so it is analogous art to Lim et al.
Maheshwari et al. explicitly discloses the use of a carbon paper material/electrode coated with MWCNT as per the abstract on pg. 7476. Maheshwari et al. discloses a continuous process for the production of the coated carbon fiber paper (Fig. 1 on pg. 7477) prepared from different types of carbon fiber. Maheshwari et al. characterized the resultant carbon paper by electrical resistivity measurements and probed the porosity of the resultant material (pg. 7477: 2.2. Characterization of the carbon paper). In the conclusion on pg. 7481-82, Maheshwari et al. found an improvement in the fuel cell performance when using the coated carbon paper resulting from the high electrical conductivity and uniform pore size distribution of the as prepared carbon paper. The uniform pore size likely reduces the diffusion polarization in the fuel cell thus increasing its performance even at high current densities.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the carbon (nano) layer of Lim et al. and Cao et al. by using the CNT coated carbon fiber paper of Maheshwari et al. with the reasonable expectation of improving the electrochemical performance due to the increased electrical conductivity and uniform pore distribution.
11. Claims 10 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al. in view of Cao et al. as applied to Claim 1 and Claim 11 above, and further in view of Wang et al.
Lim et al. (US Pub. No. 2009/0017361 A1) is directed toward a separator for fuel cells and method for the surface treatment of the same (title). Cao (CN 115275245 A – EPO translation) is directed toward a polymer composite material for hydrogen-oxygen fuel cell bipolar plates and the preparation thereof (title). Wang et al. (“PEM Fuel cell and electrolysis cell technologies and hydrogen infrastructure development– a review,” Ener. Environ. Sci. 2022, 15, 2288-2328) is directed toward PEM fuel cells and electrolyzers (pg. 2288: title).
Regarding Claim 10, Lim et al. in view of Cao et al. discloses the assembly as recited in Claim 1, wherein the metallic plate is a separator plate or bipolar plate and indicates the separator is used in various types of fuel cells as explained in ¶9-11. However, Lim et al. in view of Cao et al. does not explicitly indicate the use of the assembly as per Claim 1 for use in an electrolyzer.
Electrolyzer and fuel cells are related electrochemical devices that have substantially similar structure with the primary differences being the formation of the reactants and the products. The former apparatus splits water into hydrogen and oxygen for use in other applications, whereas the latter device is directed toward the release of energy as a result of the reaction between oxygen and hydrogen to form water. Thus, two apparatus function by reversing the flow of electricity/current. The previous discussion is supported by introduction section of Wang (pg. 2288-2290) and the abstract which indicates that: “polymer electrolyte membrane (PEM) fuel cells or PEMFCs and PEM electrolysis cells or PEMECs are two closely related electrochemical devices having a similar structure: a PEM with catalyst layers (CLs) coated on its surfaces, flow fields, and bipolar plates (BPs). Both systems work at low temperatures (e.g. ~60 to 80 degrees C) and can operate free of CO2 emissions.” Fig. 1 of Wang et al. depicts the similarities in the structures and shows the flow of materials for both fuel cells and electrolyzers (pg. 2290).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the assembly for fuel cells of Lim et al. and Cao et al. in a water electrolyzer as suggested by Wang et al. with the reasonable expectation of yielding an efficiently functioning electrolyzer as both fuel cells and electrolyzers have substantially the same structure.
Regarding Claim 15, Lim et al. in view of Cao et al. disclose the electrochemical device as recited in Claim 11, wherein the metallic plate is a separator plate or bipolar plate and indicates the separator is used in various types of fuel cells as explained in ¶9-11. However, Lim et al. in view of Cao et al. does not explicitly indicate the use of the assembly as per Claim 1 for use in an electrolyzer.
Electrolyzer and fuel cells are related electrochemical devices that have substantially similar structure with the primary differences being the formation of the reactants and the products. The former apparatus splits water into hydrogen and oxygen for use in other applications, whereas the latter device is directed toward the release of energy as a result of the reaction between oxygen and hydrogen to form water. Thus, two apparatus function by reversing the flow of electricity/current. The previous discussion is supported by introduction section of Wang (pg. 2288-2290) and the abstract which indicates that: “polymer electrolyte membrane (PEM) fuel cells or PEMFCs and PEM electrolysis cells or PEMECs are two closely related electrochemical devices having a similar structure: a PEM with catalyst layers (CLs) coated on its surfaces, flow fields, and bipolar plates (BPs). Both systems work at low temperatures (e.g. ~60 to 80 degrees C) and can operate free of CO2 emissions.” Fig. 1 of Wang et al. depicts the similarities in the structures and shows the flow of materials for both fuel cells and electrolyzers (pg. 2290).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the assembly for fuel cells of Lim et al. and Cao et al. in a water electrolyzer as suggested by Wang et al. with the reasonable expectation of yielding an efficiently functioning electrolyzer (i.e.: electrochemical device) as both fuel cells and electrolyzers have substantially the same structure.
Conclusion
12. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Escobar-Yonoff et al. (“Performance assessment and economic perspectives of integrated PEM fuel cell and PEM electrolyzer for electric power generation,” Heliyon 2021, 7(3), e06506, pg. 1-18) is directed toward PEM fuel cells and electrolyzers modeling (pg. 1: title and abstract).
/KEVIN SYLVESTER/Examiner, Art Unit 1794
/CIEL P CONTRERAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1794