DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 29 and 33 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 29 should be changed to “the motor, the first encapsulation portion, [[the]] a control PCBA, the second encapsulation portion, and/or the power PCBA, since claim 1 does not recite “control PCBA”.
Claim 33 should be changed to ”The electric motor arrangement according to claim 9, wherein the at least one PCBA is [[a]] the control PCBA, and the thermal pad is provided between the control PCBA and the first .
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5-8, 10-13, 16-20, 22-25, 27-28, 31-32 and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Frasch et al. (DE102005037488, “Frasch”, using machine translation).
Re claim 1, Frasch discloses an electric motor arrangement comprising an electric motor ([0025] & [0029]), an encapsulation containing a motor drive (figs 1-4, [0031-0032], [0042], [0044] & [0047], encapsulation includes 1, 3 & 6-8; drive includes 4, 41 & 11), for driving the motor with a low impedance electrical conducting path comprising a stacked power module 11 (figs 3-4, [0041] & [0043], 11 stacked on 4), a power PCBA 4 (figs 3-4, [0043]) and a power connector 30 (figs 3 & 4, [0012], [0023] & [0047], since electrical conductors of drive/connector have low impedance),
wherein a first and second encapsulation portion contain components of the motor drive (figs 1, 3-4 & below, [0036], [0038] & [0040], 1st encapsulation port formed by portions of 3 & 6 around zone 1; 2nd encapsulation formed by 1, portions of 3 & 6 around zone 3 & 7-8 around zone 5), and the first encapsulation portion, the second encapsulation portion and the motor are thermally separated from each other by thermal isolating material 2, 5 (figs 3-4 & below, [0041-0042] & [0044-0045], part of 2 between zones 1 & 3 and part of 5 between zone 3 and motor; at least portion of 2nd encap. Port. w/ zone 3 has thermal isolating material between it & the motor).
Re claim 16, Frasch discloses an electric motor arrangement comprising an electric motor ([0025] & [0029]) and first and second encapsulation portions containing a motor drive for driving the motor (figs 1, 3-4 & above for claim 1, [0036], [0038] & [0040], 1st encapsulation port formed by portions of 3 & 6 around zone 1; 2nd encapsulation formed by 1, portions of 3 & 6 around zone 3 & 7-8 around zone 5), wherein the first encapsulation portion, the second encapsulation portion and the motor are thermally separated from each other by thermal isolating material 2, 5 (figs 3-4 & above for claim 1, [0041-0042] & [0044-0045], part of 2 between zones 1 & 3 and part of 5 between zone 3 and motor; at least portion of 2nd encap. Port. w/ zone 3 has thermal isolating material between it & the motor).
Re claim 3, Frasch discloses claim 1 as discussed above and further discloses a motor cable is electrically connected to the power PCBA 4 via a PCB cable connector (fig 2, [0023], says cables connect to 4 from 7 & fig 2 shows a connector) and/or that the stacked power module 11 comprises an inverter for driving the motor ([0043]).
Re claims 5 and 17, Frasch discloses claims 1 and 16, respectively, as discussed above and further discloses the first encapsulation portion is connected to the motor via the second encapsulation portion (figs 1, 3-4 & above for claim 1 [0017], [0047] & [0051]).
Re claims 6 and 18, Frasch discloses claims 1 and 16, respectively, as discussed above and further discloses the second encapsulation portion is connected to an axial end of the motor (figs 4, 7 & 8 are connected to the motor which includes the axial end).
Re claims 7 and 19, Frasch discloses claims 1 and 16, respectively, as discussed above and further discloses the first encapsulation portion is spaced apart from the motor at least partially in a radial direction of the motor (figs 1 & 4).
Re claims 8 and 20, Frasch discloses claims 1 and 16, respectively, as discussed above and further discloses a gap is provided between the first encapsulation portion and the motor (figs 1, above for claim 1 & below).
Re claims 10 and 22, Frasch discloses claims 1 and 16, respectively, as discussed above and further discloses the first and second encapsulation portions fully enclose their respective interiors (figs 1, 3-4 & above for claim 1).
Re claims 11 and 23, Frasch discloses claims 1 and 16, respectively, as discussed above and further discloses the first encapsulation portion, the second encapsulation portion and/or a motor casing of the motor are made of a metal material and/or have plane exterior faces (figs 4 & below, [0046-0047], 1, 3, 6 & 7 have plane exterior faces & 1, 3 & 6 made of metal).
Re claims 12 and 24, Frasch discloses claims 1 and 16, respectively, as discussed above and further discloses the thermal isolating material 5, 2 comprise a plastic material and/or a gasket sealing (fig 4, [0042] & [0044]).
Re claims 13 and 25, Frasch discloses claims 1 and 16, respectively, as discussed above and further discloses a non-circulating air pocket the only thermal conductor provided between the motor drive and the first and/or second encapsulation portions ([0041-0042] & [0047-0048]).
Re claim 28, Frasch discloses claim 1 as discussed above and further discloses the motor drive complies with WEEE 2012/19/EU, EN 50419, ESG and/or IEC 60529-IP65 standards (since Frasch discloses the claimed structured, the motor drive would be capable of complying with the above standards).
Re claim 29, Frasch discloses claim 1 as discussed above and further discloses the motor, the first encapsulation portion, the control PCBA, the second encapsulation portion, and/or the power PCBA are removable from the electric motor drive arrangement (fig 4, since they are all put together to form the parts they can be removed).
Re claim 31, Frasch discloses claim 1 as discussed above and further discloses the electric motor is a servo integrated motor (Frasch discloses all the claimed electric motor structure so would be capable of being employed as a servo integrated motor).
Re claim 32, Frasch discloses claim 1 as discussed above and further discloses the motor drive is a servo drive (Frasch discloses all the claimed structure of the motor drive so would be capable of being employed as a servo drive).
Re claim 36, Frasch discloses claim 1 as discussed above and further discloses the motor drive is a servo-drive that complies with WEEE 2012/19/EU, EN 50419, ESG and/or IEC 60529 - IP65 standards (Frasch discloses all the claimed structure of the motor drive so would be capable of being employed as a servo drive that complies with WEEE 2012/19/EU, EN 50419, ESG and/or IEC 60529 - IP65 standards).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 9, 16, 21 and 31-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haugaard et al. (US20230299646, “Haugaard”) in view of Fischer et al. (DE102007053840, “Fischer”, using machine translation).
Re claim 1, Haugaard discloses an electric motor arrangement comprising an electric motor 5 (figs 1-4, [0052]), an encapsulation containing a motor drive (figs 1-5, [0054-0056], encapsulation includes 45 & 47; drive includes 1st pcb & 51) for driving the motor with a low impedance electrical conducting path comprising a stacked power module (figs 2-3, [0054], includes 1st pcb with 27 stacked on the 1st pcb), a power PCBA 51 (figs 4-5, [0055]) and a power connector 49 (figs 3-4, [0054] & [0056], since electrical conductors of drive/connector have low impedance),
wherein a first and second encapsulation portion 45, 47 contain components of the drive (figs 4-5, [0054] & [0056]), and the first encapsulation portion 45 and the second encapsulation portion 47 are thermally separated from each other by thermal isolating material 46 (figs 1-4, [0054]).
Haugaard discloses claim 1 except for the second encapsulation portion and the motor are thermally separated from each other by thermal isolating material.
Fischer discloses the electronics housing 7 and the motor 2 are thermally separated from each other by thermal isolating material 8, 11 (fig 1, [0020-0023]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the second encapsulation portion of Haugaard so the second encapsulation portion and the motor are thermally separated from each other by thermal isolating material, as disclosed by Fischer for an electronics housing, in order to prevent the transfer of heat loss between the second encapsulation portion and the motor, as taught by Fischer ([0023]).
Re claim 16, Haugaard discloses an electric motor arrangement comprising an electric motor 5 (figs 1-4, [0052]) and first and second encapsulation portions 45, 47 containing a motor drive for driving the motor (figs 4-5, [0054-0056]), wherein the first encapsulation portion 45 and the second encapsulation portion 47 are thermally separated from each other by at least one thermal isolating layer 46 (figs 1-4, [0054]).
Haugaard discloses claim 16 except for the second encapsulation portion and the motor are thermally separated from each other by thermal isolating material.
Fischer discloses the electronics housing 7 and the motor 2 are thermally separated from each other by thermal isolating material 8, 11 (fig 1, [0020-0023]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the second encapsulation portion of Haugaard so the second encapsulation portion and the motor are thermally separated from each other by thermal isolating material, as disclosed by Fischer for an electronics housing, in order to prevent the transfer of heat loss between the second encapsulation portion and the motor, as taught by Fischer ([0023]).
Re claims 9 and 21, Haugaard in view of Fischer disclose claims 2 and 16, respectively, as discussed above. Haugaard further discloses the power PCBA 51 is provided in the second encapsulation portion 47 (figs 4-5, [0056]) and/or that a control PCBA is provided in the first encapsulation portion 45 (figs 2-4, [0054], 1st pcb), wherein a thermal pad 27 is provided between at least one PCBA of the control PCBA and the power PCBA (figs 2-4, [0054]), and the first and/or second encapsulation portion 45 (figs 1-4), and wherein the power PCBA 51 and the control PCBA are connected to each other via a multi-pin connector 54 (figs 3-5, [0056]).
Re claim 33, Haugaard in view of Fischer disclose claim 9 as discussed above. Haugaard further discloses the at least one PCBA is a control PCBA (figs 2-4, [0054]), and the thermal pad 27 is provided between the control PCBA and the first and/or second encapsulation portion 45 (figs 1-4, 1st encapsulation port.).
Re claim 34, Haugaard in view of Fischer disclose claim 33 as discussed above. Haugaard further discloses the power PCBA 51 and the control PCBA are connected to each other via the multi-pin connector at a 90° angle (figs 3-5, [0056], 54 at 90 degrees since 1st pcb perpendicular to 51).
Re claim 35, Haugaard in view of Fischer disclose claim 1 as discussed above. Haugaard further discloses the non-circulating air pocket is the only thermal conductor provided between the power PCBA 51 and the second encapsulation portion 47 (figs 2 & 4-5, [0055], 51 enclosed by 47 & has cooling path on outside of 47).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frasch in view of Wiest (WO2011000456, “Wiest”, using machine translation).
Re claim 4, Frasch disclose claim 1 as discussed above but is silent with respect to the power connector comprises a female connector and a male connector.
Wiest discloses the power connector 1 comprises a female connector and a male connector (figs 1-4, [0013] & [0051-0055]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the power connector of Frasch to comprise a female connector and a male connector, as disclosed by Wiest, in order to serially connect other motor while having electronics in the first motor, as taught by Wiest ([0051] & [0055]).
Claims 14 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frasch in view of Hofmann et al. (US20060006094, “Hofmann”).
Re claims 14 and 26, Frasch discloses claims 1 and 16, respectively, as discussed above but is silent with respect to the first and/or second encapsulation portion comprises a breather membrane between the inside and the outside of the first and/or second encapsulation portion.
Hofmann discloses the first and/or second encapsulation portion 6a comprises a breather membrane 16 between the inside and the outside of the first and/or second encapsulation portion 6a (figs 1, 6 & 9, [0041]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the first and/or second encapsulation of Frasch to comprise a breather membrane between the inside and the outside of the first and/or second encapsulation portion, as disclosed by Hofmann, in order to compensate for pressure without letting liquid in, as taught by Hofmann ([0041]).
Claims 15 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frasch in view of Kalt et al. (DE10036234, “Kalt”, using machine translation).
Re claims 15 and 27, Frasch discloses claims 1 and 16, respectively, as discussed above but is silent with respect to the motor, the first and/or the second encapsulation portion are screwed to each other with screws or fasteners and/or that the thermal isolating material is secured with screws within the first and/or second encapsulation portion.
Kalt discloses the motor, the first and/or the second encapsulation portion 3, 4 are screwed to each other with screws or fasteners (figs 1-2, [0012-0014]) and/or that the thermal isolating material 14 is secured with screws 15 within the first and/or second encapsulation portion 3, 4 (figs 1-2, [0012]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the motor, the first and/or the second encapsulation portion of Frasch to be screwed to each other with screws or fasteners and/or that the thermal isolating material is secured with screws within the first and/or second encapsulation portion, in order to fix the parts together in a known manner in the art, as demonstrated by Kalt.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 3,5-8, 10-13, 16-20, 22-25, 27-28, 31-32 and 36 to Frasch have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Specifically examiner is now interpreting the first and second encapsulation portions as discussed above in claims 1 and 16.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 9, 16, 21, 34 and 35 to Haugaard have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Specifically Fischer et al. (DE102007053840) is being employed to disclose thermal isolating material between the second encapsulation portion and the motor.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
DE9415935 discloses thermal isolating material 20 between the control housing 10 and motor 4 (figs 1-2).
Karns (DE102017001929) can be combined with Fischer et al. (DE102007053840) or DE9415935 do disclose at least claims 1 and 16.
/ERIC JOHNSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834