DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-2, 4-11 and 13-17 are pending:
Claims 1-2, 4-11 and 13-17 are rejected.
Response to Amendments
Amendments filed 03/31/2026 have been entered. Amendments to the claims overcome previous §102 and §103 rejections as previously set forth in non-final Office Action mailed 01/06/2026.
Amendments have necessitated new grounds of rejection.
Response to Arguments
Arguments filed 03/31/2026 have been entered. Arguments were fully considered.
On pgs. 8-14 of Applicant’s arguments, Applicant argues that:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Neef (WO 2019/207024).
The applicant respectfully traverses the rejection of claims 1-9 under U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Neef (WO 2019/207024), for the following reasons.
Regarding claims 1-5
Independent claim 1 is amended. The an amended portion of the claim language of amended claim 1 requires, inter-alia: ... wherein an outer end face (162) of first end plate (160) includes, at least one engagement means (110) embodied as at least one recess formed in the outer end face (162) of the first end plate (160), spaced radially inwardly away from a rim (164) of the first end plate (160) and extending in the axial direction parallel to the longitudinal axis (50), wherein the at least one engagement means (110) is configured to contact a further filter element (200) to be arranged adjacent to the first end plate (160) in the axial direction. See, paragraphs [0056] and [0066]; Figs. 2-5.
Additional support is found directly in the originally filed application at paragraphs [0020] and [0021] teaching: "[0020] According to a beneficial embodiment, the engagement means can be formed as a recess. In particular, the engagement means can be embodied as a recess in a rim region of the end plate. This region is particularly stable."
"[0021] A recess can be designed as an opening or depression surrounded by a material or as a type of groove, for example, in U-shape or V-shape, in a material with an open side facing outwardly in radial direction."
Additional support can be found in other places in the originally filed specification, claims and drawings.
Respectfully, in our reading, Neef (WO 2019/207024) fails to teach, disclose or fairly suggest: at least one engagement means (110) embodied as at least one recess formed in the outer end face (162) of the first end plate (160), spaced radially inwardly away from a rim (164) of the first end plate (160) and extending in an
axial direction parallel to the longitudinal axis (50), wherein the at least one engagement means (110) is configured to contact a further filter element (200) to be arranged adjacent to the first end plate (160) in the axial direction as required by the claim language of amended claim 1.
Regardinq claims 4 and 5:
The claim language of claims 4 and 5 require, in summary:
The filter element according to claim 1, wherein the recess is arranged in a rim region (164) of the first end plate (160). The filter medium body (102) is embedded in the rim region (164) of the first end plate (160).
The at least one engagement means (110) is arranged in the rim region (164) of the first end plate (160).
Respectfully, in our reading, Neef (WO 2019/207024) fails to teach, disclose or fairly suggest the above additional limitations required by the language of claims 4 and 5.
Regardinq claims 6-9
Independent claim 6 is amended to require, inter-alia: a filter medium body (200); a seal device (218) connected to the filter medium body and configured to radially seal the filter element in relation to a filter housing; wherein the seal device comprises at least one pin-shaped engagement means (210) having an endarranged on the seal device and proiectinq outwardly in an axial direction perpendicularly to the plane spanned by the seal device;_and wherein the at least one pin-shaped engagement means (210) is configured to engage an adiacent filter element (100), positioning the adiacent filter element (100) spaced away from the filter medium body (202) in the axial direction at a clearance (paragraph (00631, 302, Fig 5).
Support for the amendment is found directly in paragraphs [0063], [0066] and Fig. 5 as well as in other places in the originally filed specification, claims and drawings.
Respectfully, in our reading, Neef (WO 2019/207024) fails to teach, disclose or fairly suggest a filter element having at least one pin-shaped engagement means configured to engage an adjacent filter element, positioning the adjacent filter element spaced away from the filter medium body in the axial direction at a (free space) clearance.
Claims 7 and 8 depend from amended and discussed claim 6.
Regarding claim 9
The claim language of amended claim 9 requires, inter-alia: (with drawing reference labels for easy cross-reference to support) wherein the at least one pin-shaped engagement means (210) is a pin (210) having a first end arranged on the plate of the seal device and projecting perpendicularly to the plane spanned by the seal device, wherein the pin projects in the axial direction away from the plate beyond the filter medium body by at least the clearance (302), and wherein the at least one pin-shaped second engagement means (210) is configured to contact and engage the adjacent filter element (100) to position the adjacent filter element at the clearance (302 Fig. 5) away from the filter medium body (202).
Support is found directly in paragraph [0005], in Figs, 3 and 5, as well as in other places in the of the originally filed specification, claims and drawings.
Respectfully, in our reading, Neef (WO 2019/207024) fails to teach, disclose or fairly suggest a filter element having at least the above limitations of amended claim 9.
In view of the above discussion and in view of the claim dependencies, the applicant respectfully believes and kindly asserts that claims 1-9 are novel over Neef (WO 2019/207024). Thus, applicant respectfully requests the reconsideration and the withdrawal of the rejection of claims 1-9 under U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Neef (WO 2019/207024).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 stands rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Neef (WO 2019/207024) in view of Scott (USPN 8,216,335).
The applicant respectfully traverses the rejection of claim 10 as being unpatentable over Neef (WO 2019/207024) in view of Scott (USPN 8,216,335), for the following reasons.
The Office Action asserts that Scott teaches an air cleaner (see ABS) comprising a demounting aid of "wire latches" (Scott: 506), the Office equating this with the applicant's demounting aid.
First, we note that claim 10 is amended herein to require, inter-alia: (with drawing reference labels added for easy cross reference to support); ... wherein the at least one engagement means comprises a demounting aid (220, Fig 3) embodied as a cutout (220) formed into the pin-shaped engagement means (210), the demounting aid configured to receive a demounting force for demounting the filter element from the filter housing.
Respectfully, Neef (WO 2019/207024) in view of Scott (USPN 8,216,335) teaches a "demounting aid" (Scott 506), as wire latches 506 of an air cleaner housing. Scott's wire latches 506 (Scott's Fig 19) removably mounting Scott's housing cover 503 onto the sidewall 506 of Scott's air cleaner housing.
Neef (WO 2019/207024) in view of Scott (USPN 8,216,335) fails to teach, disclose or fairly suggest the applicant's demounting aid "embodied as a cutout (220) formed into the pin-shaped engagement means (210), the demounting aid configured to receive a demounting force for demounting the filter element from the filter housing".
Respectfully, and very different from Scott, the applicant's demounting aid is taught and disclosed as a cutout 220 formed in the sidewall of the pin-shaped engagement means 210 (Fig 3). A cutout, not Scott's air cleaner housing wire latches.
To more distinctly claim the originally disclosed invention, the claim language of amended claim 10 is amended to recite, among other things: ... wherein the at least one engagement means comprises a demounting aid (220, Fig 3) embodied as a cutout (220) formed into the pin-shaped engagement means (210), the demounting aid configured to receive a demounting force for demounting the filter element from the filter housing.
Support for the amendment is found directly in paragraph [0030] and Fig. 3, as well as at other places in the originally filed specification, claims and drawings.
In view of the above, the applicant respectfully requests the reconsideration and the withdrawal of the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claim 10 as being unpatentable over Neef (WO 2019/207024) in view of Scott (USPN 8,216,335).
Claims 11-17 stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Neef (WO 2019/207024) in view of Gillenberg (US 2010/0096315).
The applicant respectfully traverses the rejection of claims 11-17 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Neef (WO 2019/207024) in view of Gillenberg (US 2010/0096315), for the following reasons.
Regardinq claim 11:
Respectfully, in our reading, the combined teaching of Neef (WO 2019/207024) in view of Gillenberg (US 2010/0096315) fail to teach, disclose or fairly suggest:
A first filter element and a second filter element. The second filter element having a seal device comprising at least one pin- shaped second engagement means projecting outwardly in the axial direction towards the first filter element at a radial outer side of the second filter medium body and beyond the second filter medium body by at least a clearance to engage with the at least one first engagement means of the first filter element, such that, when the at least one first engagement means and the at least one second engagement means engage each other, the first filter element is held spaced apart from the second filter medium body at the clearance. (emphasis added). as required by the claim language of amended claim 11. Claim 12 is canceled without prejudice.
Regardinq claims 13-17
Claims 13-17 depend from and require all of the claim limitations of the filter element arrangement according to claim 11.
Respectfully the patentability of amended claim 11 over Neef (WO 2019/207024) in view of Gillenberg (US 2010/0096315) was discussed and shown to be patentable above.
In view of the above, the applicant respectfully requests the reconsideration and the withdrawal of the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claims 11-17 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Neef (WO 2019/207024) in view of Gillenberg (US 2010/0096315).
Accordingly, the applicant believes all claims are allowable and the application is now in condition for immediate allowance.
The argument are considered moot because amendments have necessitated new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Neef (WO 2019/207024; US 2021/0039031, which is a national stage application of the PCT/EP2019/060565 (WO 2019/207024) has been used as an English equivalent document for Neef) in view of Scott (US 2004/0134171).
Regarding claim 1, Neef teaches a filter element (see ABS) comprising:
a filter medium body(filter medium body 6) comprising a wall configured to be flowed through by a fluid to be purified in a radial direction in relation to a longitudinal axis of the filter medium body (the fluid flows through the wall of the filter medium body 6 radially from the inside to the outside, see ¶38), wherein the filter medium body comprises oppositely positioned end faces (see Figs. 4-5) spaced apart in an axial direction along the longitudinal axis, wherein the axial direction is a direction of the longitudinal axis (see Fig. 6);
a first end plate (end plate 10) and a second end plate (end plate 9) arranged at the oppositely positioned end faces of the filter medium body (see Figs. 4-5);
wherein an outer end face of first end plate includes at least one engagement means (opening 28),
wherein the at least one engagement means is configured to contact a further filter element to be arranged adjacent to the first end plate in the axial direction (the fluid after flowing through the round filter element 5 is forced to flow through the secondary filter element 31 in the axial direction from top to bottom, see ¶51).
Neef does not teach that the at least one engagement means is embodied as at least one recess formed in the outer end face of the first end plate, spaced radially inwardly away from a rim of the first end plate and extending in the axial direction parallel to the longitudinal axis.
In a related field of endeavor, Scott teaches an air cleaner (see ABS) comprising at least one engagement means is embodied as at least one recess (receiver 185) formed in the outer end face of the first end (see Fig. 3), spaced radially inwardly away from a rim of the first end (see Fig. 3) and extending in the axial direction parallel to the longitudinal axis (see Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of invention to modify the engagement means of Neef by configuring said engagement means as at least one recess formed in the outer end face of the first end plate, spaced radially inwardly away from a rim of the first end plate and extending in the axial direction parallel to the longitudinal axis as disclosed by Scott because it facilitates alignment and support between components (Scott, see ¶165); thereby, improving positioning and assembly.
Regarding claim 2, Neef and Scott teach the filter element according to claim 1, wherein the first end plate (Neef, i.e. end plate 10) is a closed end plate (Neef, see Figs. 6-7).
Regarding claim 4, Neef and Scott teach the filter element according to claim 1, wherein the recess is arranged in a rim region of the first end plate (Neef, a further support element 29 a in the form of a blade is provided at the support body 33 in the rim region and projects into the rim-side recess 30 which is formed as one piece together with the shaped body 25, see ¶53; Neef shows in Fig. 7 that the recess 30 receives support element 29a of secondary filter element 31, thereby contacting and engaging a further filter element arranged axially adjacent to the first filter element). The recess of claim 4 is interpreted to be a recess of the at least one engagement means recited in claim 1.
Regarding claim 5, Neef and Scott teach the filter element according to claim 1, wherein the filter medium body is embedded in a region of the first end plate (Neef, see Figs. 6-7).
Claims 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Neef (WO 2019/207024; US 2021/0039031, which is a national stage application of the PCT/EP2019/060565 (WO 2019/207024) has been used as an English equivalent document for Neef) in view of Gillenberg (US 2010/0096315).
Regarding claim 6, Neef teaches a filter element (see ABS) comprising:
a filter medium body (filter medium body 6);
a seal device (sealing disk 26) connected to the filter medium body (see Fig. 5) and configured to radially seal the filter element in relation to a filter housing (see Fig. 7);
wherein a flow direction of a fluid to be filtered through the filter medium body is arranged perpendicularly to a plane spanned by the seal device (see Fig. 6);
wherein the seal device comprises: at least one pin-shaped engagement means (support pin 29) having an end arranged on the seal device and projecting outwardly in an axial direction perpendicularly to the plane spanned by the seal device (see Fig. 7).
Neef does not teach that the at least one pin-shaped engagement means is configured to engage an adjacent filter element, positioning the adjacent filter element spaced away from the filter medium body in the axial direction at a clearance.
In a related field of endeavor, Gillenberg teaches fluid filter with a filter element (see ABS) teaches at least one engagement means (mounting aids 11, 12, see ¶28 and Fig. 5) is configured to engage an adjacent filter element (filter element 10), positioning the adjacent filter element spaced away from the filter medium body in the axial direction at a clearance (see Fig. 1 of mounting aid 11 positioning filter element 10 spaced away from filter element 6) (socket 11 is positioned at a minimal radial spacing relative to the radially father outwardly positioned inner wall of the filter housing 2, see ¶27).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of invention to modify the pin-shaped engagement means of Neef by configuring to engage an adjacent filter element, positioning the adjacent filter element spaced away from the filter medium body in the axial direction at a clearance as disclosed by Gillenberg because it ensures that incorrect mounting of components in a filter is prevented (Gillenberg, see ¶4).
Regarding claim 7, Neef and Gillenberg teach the filter element according to claim 6, wherein the seal device (Neef, sealing disk 26) comprises a region radially outside of the filter medium body (Neef, see Fig. 6),wherein the at least one pin-shaped engagement (Neef, support member 29) means is arranged in said region of the seal device radially outside of the filter medium body (Neef, see Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 8, Neef and Gillenberg teach the filter element according to claim 6, wherein the seal device comprises a plate with a circumferentially extending seal (the outer circumference, a circumferentially extending sealing element 34, see ¶51) having a seal extending circumferentially about a rim of the plate and configured to radially seal the filter element with the filter housing (see Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 9, Neef and Gillenberg teach the filter element according to claim [[6]] 8, wherein the at least one pin-shaped engagement means is a pin (Neef, i.e. support pin 29) having a first end arranged on the plate of the seal device (Neef, sealing disk 26) and projecting perpendicularly to the plane spanned by the seal device (Neef, see Fig. 7), wherein the pin projects in the axial direction away from the plate beyond the filter element body to project outwardly from the filter element body by at least the clearance (Gillenberg, mounting aids 11, 12 means projects radially and axially, see ¶28 for maintaining spacing/clearance), and wherein the at least one pin-shaped second engagement means is configured to contact and engage the adjacent filter element to position the adjacent filter element at the clearance away from the filter medium body (Gillenberg, see Fig. 1 of mounting aid 11 positioning filter element 10 spaced away from filter element 6) (the combination of Neef as modified by Gillenberg teaches the claimed configuration).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Neef (WO 2019/207024; US 2021/0039031, which is a national stage application of the PCT/EP2019/060565 (WO 2019/207024) has been used as an English equivalent document for Neef) in view of Gillenberg (US 2010/0096315) and further in view of Rundzaitis (USPN 4,504,389).
Regarding claim 10, Neef and Gillenberg teach the filter element according to claim 6.
The combination does not teach that the at least one engagement means comprises a demounting aid embodied as a cutout formed into the pin-shaped engagement means, the demounting aid configured to receive a demounting force for demounting the filter element from the filter housing.
In a related field of endeavor, Rundzaitis teaches a water filter (see ABS) comprising at least one engagement means (plunger 118) comprises a demounting aid embodied as a cutout (pin slot 124) formed into the pin-shaped engagement means (see Fig. 5), the demounting aid configured to receive a demounting force for demounting an element from a housing (the connector pin 116 slidably penetrates the pin slot 124 to provide sliding interconnection between the lever 30 and the plunger 120, see C5/L5-12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of invention to modify the engagement means of Neef by incorporating a demounting aid as disclosed by Rundzaitis because it provides slidable interconnection and movement (Rundzaitis, see C5/L4-12) thereby providing easy and convenient removal of components from a filter assembly.
Claims 11-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Neef (WO 2019/207024) in view of Scott (US 2004/0134171) and further in view of Gillenberg (US 2010/0096315).
Regarding claim 11, Neef teaches a filter element arrangement (see ABS) comprising: a first filter element (see Fig. 7) comprising: a first filter medium body (filter medium body 6) comprising a wall configured to be flowed through by a fluid to be purified in a radial direction in relation to a longitudinal axis of the first filter medium body (the fluid flows through the wall of the filter medium body 6 radially from the inside to the outside, see ¶38); wherein the first filter medium body comprises oppositely positioned end faces (see Figs. 4-5) spaced apart in an axial direction along the longitudinal axis, wherein the axial direction is a direction of the longitudinal axis (see Fig. 6); a first end plate (end plate 10) and a second end plate (end plate 9) arranged at the oppositely positioned end faces of the filter medium body (see Figs. 4-5); wherein an outer end face of first end plate includes, at least one first engagement means (opening 28)…
Neef further discloses a seal device comprises at least one pin-shaped engagement means (support pin 29) projecting outwardly in the axial direction towards the first filter element (see Fig. 7).
Neef does not teach (1) that the at least one first engagement means (opening 28) embodied as at least one recess formed in the outer end face of the first end plate, spaced radially inwardly away from a rim of the first end plate and extending in the axial direction parallel to the longitudinal axis into the first end face of the first end plate; and (2) that the second filter element comprising: a second filter medium body; a seal device connected to the second filter medium body configured to radially seal the second filter element in relation to a filter housing; wherein a flow direction of a fluid to be filtered through the second filter medium body is arranged perpendicularly to a plane spanned by the seal device; wherein the seal device comprises at least one pin-shaped second engagement means projecting outwardly in the axial direction towards the first filter element at a radial outer side of the second filter medium body and beyond the second filter medium body by at least a clearance to engage with the at least one first engagement means of the first filter element, such that, when the at least one first engagement means and the at least one second engagement means engage each other, the first filter element is held spaced apart from the second filter medium body at the clearance.
In a related field of endeavor, Scott teaches an air cleaner (see ABS) comprising at least one engagement means is embodied as at least one recess (receiver 185) formed in the outer end face of the first end (see Fig. 3), spaced radially inwardly away from a rim of the first end (see Fig. 3) and extending in the axial direction parallel to the longitudinal axis (see Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of invention to modify the engagement means of Neef by configuring said engagement means as at least one recess formed in the outer end face of the first end plate, spaced radially inwardly away from a rim of the first end plate and extending in the axial direction parallel to the longitudinal axis as disclosed by Scott because it facilitates alignment and support between components (Scott, see ¶165); thereby, improving positioning and assembly.
In a related field of endeavor, Gillenberg teaches fluid filter with a filter element (see ABS) teaches at least one second engagement means (mounting aid 12, see ¶28 and Fig. 5) projecting outwardly in the axial direction towards the first filter element at a radial outer side of the second filter medium body and beyond the second filter medium body by at least a clearance (see Fig. 1 of mounting aid 12 projecting outwards in an axial direction towards filter element 6 at a radial outer side of filter element 10 and the filter element 10 has a space/clearance from filter element 6) to engage with the at least one first engagement means (mounting aid 11) of the first filter element, such that, when the at least one first engagement means and the at least one second engagement means engage each other (see Fig. 1), the first filter element is held spaced apart from the second filter medium body at the clearance (see Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of invention to modify the pin-shaped engagement means of Neef by configuring to engage an adjacent filter element, positioning the adjacent filter element spaced away from the filter medium body in the axial direction at a clearance as disclosed by Gillenberg because it ensures that incorrect mounting of components in a filter is prevented (Gillenberg, see ¶4).
Regarding claim 13, Neef and Gillenberg teach the filter system comprising: a housing (filter base housing 3); a filter element arrangement according to claim 11 exchangeably arranged in the housing (Neef as modified by Gillenberg teaches the claimed filter element arrangement device).
Regarding claim 14, Neef and Gillenberg teach the filter system according to claim 13, wherein the housing comprises a housing part (Gillenberg, filler housing 2) comprising at least one housing engagement means (Gillenberg, i.e. mounting elements 11, 12), wherein the second filter element is configured to be mounted on the at least one housing engagement means (Gillenberg, see Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 15, Neef and Gillenberg teach the filter system according to claim 14, wherein the second filter element is configured to be pushed on the at least one housing engagement means or inserted into the at least one housing engagement means (Gillenberg, secondary filter element 10 inserted into the housing engagement means, see Figs. 5-6).
Regarding claim 16, Neef and Gillenberg teach the filter system according to claim 14, wherein the at least one second engagement means of the seal device of the second filter element and the at least one housing engagement means engage each other (Gillenberg, see Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 17, Neef and Gillenberg teach the filter system according to claim 16, wherein the at least one housing engagement means is a pin (Gillenberg, mounting aid element 11 is in the shape of a pin) extending in the axial direction (Gillenberg, see Fig. 6) and engaging an opening of the at least one second engagement means of the seal device of the second filter element (Gillenberg, see Fig. 6).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EKANDRA S. MILLER-CRUZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773