DETAILED ACTION
This FINAL action is in response to Application No. 18/461,108 originally filed 09/05/2023. The amendment presented on 06/12/2026 which provides amendments to claims 1, 10, and 12 is hereby acknowledged.
Currently Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-7, 10, 12, 14, 16-18, and 21-22 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 6-7, 10, 12, 14, 17-18, and 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0364881 A1 hereinafter Lee and further in view of Chen et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0389873 A1 hereinafter Chen.
Consider Claim 1:
Lee discloses a display control method comprising: (Lee, See Abstract.)
determining a first display object and a second display object contained in current display content, the current display content being displayed on a current display screen of an electronic device, (Lee, [0181-0198], [0035], “In the illustrated example of FIG. 1, with an image 710 including an image area 712 displayed on the mobile terminal 600, mirroring is performed between the mobile terminal 600 and the image display apparatus 100, and a mirrored image 720 is displayed in a first area Ar1 of the image display apparatus 100.”)
wherein the determining the first display object and the second display object comprises: receiving operation information associated with the current display content from a user, (Lee, [0181-0198], [0161], “Referring to FIG. 6, the controller 170 of the image display apparatus 100 determines whether a mirroring input has been received (S605).”)
the first display object and the second display object being determined in response to the receiving of the operation information from the user, the current display content comprising a video displayed in a target window whose area is smaller than an area of a current display interface corresponding to the current display content; (Lee, [0181-0198], [0182], “If the mirrored image 720 includes the image area 725 and the text area 727 as illustrated in FIG. 7D or 7E, the controller 170 of the image display apparatus 100 may control to display the indicator IND for area selection in the image area 725, and control to display a zoomed-in image of the image area 725 on the display 180.”)
determining the video displayed in the target window as the first display object; recognizing, based on an image of the current display content, an image area having text content in the current display content; and extracting display content corresponding to the image area having the text content as the second display object; (Lee, [0181-0198], [0183], “The controller 170 of the image display apparatus 100 may distinguish the image area 725 from the text area 727 in the mirrored image 720 by area detection, and may control to display the indicator IND in the image area 725 by default.”)
determining, based on display configuration information of the electronic device, a first display screen for displaying the first display object and a second display screen for displaying the second display object; and (Lee, [0181-0198], [0182], “If the mirrored image 720 includes the image area 725 and the text area 727 as illustrated in FIG. 7D or 7E, the controller 170 of the image display apparatus 100 may control to display the indicator IND for area selection in the image area 725, and control to display a zoomed-in image of the image area 725 on the display 180.”)
in response to the first display object being directed to be displayed on the first display screen, controlling a first display content corresponding to the first display object to be displayed on the first display screen and a second display content corresponding to the second display object to be displayed on the second display screen. (Lee, [0181-0198], [0187], “For example, if the indicator for selecting the first area is displayed in the image area of the mirrored image, the zoomed-in image 730 displayed in the area Ar2 of the image display apparatus 100 may be transmit a zoomed-in image transmission request for the image area of the mirrored image to the mobile terminal 600, and control to display a zoomed-in image received from the mobile terminal 600 on the display 180.”)
Although Lee teaches a plurality of display screens and the determining the first display screen and the second display screen. (Lee, [0181-0198]) Lee however does not however appear to expressly state obtaining a first display mode of the first display object and a second display mode of the second display object; and determining the first display screen and the second display screen from the plurality of display screens of the electronic device based on the first display mode and the second display mode, a display configuration parameter of the first display screen matching the first display mode, and a display configuration parameter of the second display screen matching the second display mode.
Chen however teaches that it was a known technique by those having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to determining the first display screen and the second display screen comprises: obtaining a first display mode of the first display object and a second display mode of the second display object; and (Chen, [1069-0180], [0170], “FIG. 12A is a schematic diagram of display on the primary screen and the sub screen that are viewed from an unfolded angle of the electronic device in the folded state. When the electronic device enters a collaborative mode, an application A is displayed on the primary screen, and an application B is displayed on the sub screen. In this case, an available area of a screen is a size of the screen that is unfolded. The electronic device needs to adjust a location of the application A to a location on a right side of the screen in an unfolded state, and the newly started application B is displayed at a location on a screen other than the primary screen and a side screen.”)
determining the first display screen and the second display screen from the plurality of display screens of the electronic device based on the first display mode and the second display mode, a display configuration parameter of the first display screen matching the first display mode, and (Chen, [0169-0180], [0171], “It should be understood that when the electronic device is in an unfolded form or a half-folded form, the display service management module may notify the LCD module of an area that needs to be turned on, and an actual display area of the touchscreen is the entire touchscreen.”)
a display configuration parameter of the second display screen matching the second display mode. (Chen, [0169-0180], [0172], “When the electronic device is in the folded form, the display management module may notify the LCD module of the area that needs to be turned on, and the LCD module adjusts the actual display area of the touchscreen to a size of the primary screen.”)
It therefore would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide first and second modes associated with a first and second display screen according to their mode as this was a known technique in view of Chen and would have been utilized for the art recognized purpose of it helps improve screen utilization in the folded form and also improves user experience. (Chen, [0011])
Consider Claim 3:
Lee in view Chen discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein determining the first display object and the second display object based on the operation information includes: in response to the operation information including full-screen operation information for a second video, determining the second video corresponding to the full-screen operation information as the first display object; and determining display information outside the second video of the current display content as the second display object. (Lee, [0181-0198], [0187], “For example, if the indicator for selecting the first area is displayed in the image area of the mirrored image, the zoomed-in image 730 displayed in the area Ar2 of the image display apparatus 100 may be transmit a zoomed-in image transmission request for the image area of the mirrored image to the mobile terminal 600, and control to display a zoomed-in image received from the mobile terminal 600 on the display 180.”)
Consider Claim 6:
Lee in view Chen discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein controlling the first display content corresponding to the first display object to be displayed on the first display screen and the second display content corresponding to the second display object to be displayed on the second display screen includes: in response to adjusting the first display object to a display format corresponding to the first display screen, controlling the first display content corresponding to the first display object with the adjusted display format to be displayed on the first display screen; and in response to adjusting the second display object to a display format corresponding to the second display screen, controlling the second display content corresponding to the second display object with the adjusted display format to be displayed on the second display screen. (Lee, [0096-0101], [0169], “Subsequently, in response to the mirroring input, the mobile terminal 600 may transmit, as a mirrored image, an image displayed on the display 680 of the mobile terminal 600 to the image display apparatus 100 (S610).”, [0170], “Therefore, the controller 170 of the image display apparatus 100 may receive the mirrored image through the interface 135 (S611), and may control to display the received mirrored image on the display 180 (S620).”)
Consider Claim 7:
Lee in view Chen discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein determining, based on the display configuration information of the electronic device, the first display screen for displaying the first display object and the second display screen for displaying the second display object further includes: obtaining display screen connection configuration information of the electronic device on which the current display content is displayed; determining the first display screen and the second display screen of the electronic device based on the display screen connection configuration information. (Lee, [0137-0144], [0104], “The data processor (not shown) of the controller 170 may process the data signal obtained by demultiplexing the input stream signal. For example, if the demultiplexed data signal is a coded data signal, the data processor may decode the coded data signal. The coded data signal may be an EPG which includes broadcasting information specifying the start time, end time, and the like of a scheduled broadcast program of each channel.”)
Consider Claim 21:
Lee in view Chen discloses the display control method according to claim 1, wherein the first display object is a display object with a user operation frequency that exceeds a threshold. (Lee, [0096], “The FRC 350 may change the frame rate of the input video signal or simply output the video signal without frame rate conversion.” [0098], “The formatter 360 may change the format of an input video signal to a video signal to be displayed on the display.”)
Consider Claim 10:
Lee discloses a display control device comprising: (Lee, See Abstract.)
a first determination unit configured to determine a first display object and a second display object contained in current display content, the current display content being displayed on a current display screen of an electronic device, (Lee, [0181-0198], [0035], “In the illustrated example of FIG. 1, with an image 710 including an image area 712 displayed on the mobile terminal 600, mirroring is performed between the mobile terminal 600 and the image display apparatus 100, and a mirrored image 720 is displayed in a first area Ar1 of the image display apparatus 100.”)
wherein the determining the first display object and the second display object comprises: receiving operation information associated with the current display content from a user, (Lee, [0181-0198], [0161], “Referring to FIG. 6, the controller 170 of the image display apparatus 100 determines whether a mirroring input has been received (S605).”)
the first display object and the second display object being determined in response to the receiving of the operation information from the user, the current display content comprising a video displayed in a target window whose area is smaller than an area of a current display interface corresponding to the current display content; (Lee, [0181-0198], [0182], “If the mirrored image 720 includes the image area 725 and the text area 727 as illustrated in FIG. 7D or 7E, the controller 170 of the image display apparatus 100 may control to display the indicator IND for area selection in the image area 725, and control to display a zoomed-in image of the image area 725 on the display 180.”)
determining the video displayed in the target window as the first display object; recognizing, based on an image of the current display content, an image area having text content in the current display content; and extracting display content corresponding to the image area having the text content as the second display object; (Lee, [0181-0198], [0183], “The controller 170 of the image display apparatus 100 may distinguish the image area 725 from the text area 727 in the mirrored image 720 by area detection, and may control to display the indicator IND in the image area 725 by default.”)
a second determination unit configured to determine, based on display configuration information of the electronic device, a first display screen for displaying the first display object and a second display screen for displaying the second display object; and (Lee, [0181-0198], [0182], “If the mirrored image 720 includes the image area 725 and the text area 727 as illustrated in FIG. 7D or 7E, the controller 170 of the image display apparatus 100 may control to display the indicator IND for area selection in the image area 725, and control to display a zoomed-in image of the image area 725 on the display 180.”)
in response to the first display object being directed to be displayed on the first display screen, a control unit configured to control a first display content corresponding to the first display object to be displayed on the first display screen and a second display content corresponding to the second display object to be displayed on the second display screen, wherein the first display screen and second display screen are visible simultaneously. (Lee, [0181-0198], [0187], “For example, if the indicator for selecting the first area is displayed in the image area of the mirrored image, the zoomed-in image 730 displayed in the area Ar2 of the image display apparatus 100 may be transmit a zoomed-in image transmission request for the image area of the mirrored image to the mobile terminal 600, and control to display a zoomed-in image received from the mobile terminal 600 on the display 180.”)
Although Lee teaches a plurality of display screens and the determining the first display screen and the second display screen. (Lee, [0181-0198]) Lee however does not however appear to expressly state obtaining a first display mode of the first display object and a second display mode of the second display object; and determining the first display screen and the second display screen from the plurality of display screens of the electronic device based on the first display mode and the second display mode, a display configuration parameter of the first display screen matching the first display mode, and a display configuration parameter of the second display screen matching the second display mode.
Chen however teaches that it was a known technique by those having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention obtaining a first display mode of the first display object and a second display mode of the second display object; and (Chen, [1069-0180], [0170], “FIG. 12A is a schematic diagram of display on the primary screen and the sub screen that are viewed from an unfolded angle of the electronic device in the folded state. When the electronic device enters a collaborative mode, an application A is displayed on the primary screen, and an application B is displayed on the sub screen. In this case, an available area of a screen is a size of the screen that is unfolded. The electronic device needs to adjust a location of the application A to a location on a right side of the screen in an unfolded state, and the newly started application B is displayed at a location on a screen other than the primary screen and a side screen.”)
determining the first display screen and the second display screen from the plurality of display screens of the electronic device based on the first display mode and the second display mode, a display configuration parameter of the first display screen matching the first display mode, and (Chen, [0169-0180], [0171], “It should be understood that when the electronic device is in an unfolded form or a half-folded form, the display service management module may notify the LCD module of an area that needs to be turned on, and an actual display area of the touchscreen is the entire touchscreen.”)
a display configuration parameter of the second display screen matching the second display mode. (Chen, [0169-0180], [0172], “When the electronic device is in the folded form, the display management module may notify the LCD module of the area that needs to be turned on, and the LCD module adjusts the actual display area of the touchscreen to a size of the primary screen.”)
It therefore would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide first and second modes associated with a first and second display screen according to their mode as this was a known technique in view of Chen and would have been utilized for the art recognized purpose of it helps improve screen utilization in the folded form and also improves user experience. (Chen, [0011])
Consider Claim 12:
Lee discloses an electronic device comprising: one or more processors; and (Lee, See Abstract.)
a plurality of screens; one or more memories storing a computer program that, when executed by the one or more processors, causes the one or more processors to: (Lee, [0280], “The method for operating an image display apparatus or a mobile terminal according to the present disclosure may be implemented as code that can be written on a computer-readable recording medium and thus read by a processor in the image display apparatus or the mobile terminal.”)
determine a first display object and a second display object contained in current display content, the current display content being displayed on a current display screen of the electric device; (Lee, [0181-0198], [0161], “Referring to FIG. 6, the controller 170 of the image display apparatus 100 determines whether a mirroring input has been received (S605).”)
wherein the determining the first display object and the second display object comprises: receiving operation information associated with the current display content from a user, the first display object and the second display object being determined in response to the receiving of the operation information from the user, the current display content comprising a video displayed in a target window whose area is smaller than an area of a current display interface corresponding to the current display content; (Lee, [0181-0198], [0182], “If the mirrored image 720 includes the image area 725 and the text area 727 as illustrated in FIG. 7D or 7E, the controller 170 of the image display apparatus 100 may control to display the indicator IND for area selection in the image area 725, and control to display a zoomed-in image of the image area 725 on the display 180.”)
determining the video displayed in the target window as the first display object; recognizing, based on an image of the current display content, an image area having text content in the current display content; and extracting display content corresponding to the image area having the text content as the second display object; (Lee, [0181-0198], [0183], “The controller 170 of the image display apparatus 100 may distinguish the image area 725 from the text area 727 in the mirrored image 720 by area detection, and may control to display the indicator IND in the image area 725 by default.”)
determine, based on display configuration information of the electronic device, a first display screen for displaying the first display object and a second display screen for displaying the second display object, (Lee, [0181-0198], [0182], “If the mirrored image 720 includes the image area 725 and the text area 727 as illustrated in FIG. 7D or 7E, the controller 170 of the image display apparatus 100 may control to display the indicator IND for area selection in the image area 725, and control to display a zoomed-in image of the image area 725 on the display 180.”)
wherein the determining the first display screen and the second display screen comprises: obtaining a first display mode of the first display object and a second display mode of the second display object; and determining the first display screen and the second display screen from the plurality of display screens of the electronic device based on the first display mode and the second display mode, a display configuration parameter of the first display screen matching the first display mode, and a display configuration parameter of the second display screen matching the second display mode; and (Lee, [0181-0198], [0182], “If the mirrored image 720 includes the image area 725 and the text area 727 as illustrated in FIG. 7D or 7E, the controller 170 of the image display apparatus 100 may control to display the indicator IND for area selection in the image area 725, and control to display a zoomed-in image of the image area 725 on the display 180.”) (Lee, [0181-0198], [0183], “The controller 170 of the image display apparatus 100 may distinguish the image area 725 from the text area 727 in the mirrored image 720 by area detection, and may control to display the indicator IND in the image area 725 by default.”)
in response to the first display object being directed to be displayed on the first display screen, control a first display content corresponding to the first display object to be displayed on the first display screen and a second display content corresponding to the second display object to be displayed on the second display screen. (Lee, [0181-0198], [0187], “For example, if the indicator for selecting the first area is displayed in the image area of the mirrored image, the zoomed-in image 730 displayed in the area Ar2 of the image display apparatus 100 may be transmit a zoomed-in image transmission request for the image area of the mirrored image to the mobile terminal 600, and control to display a zoomed-in image received from the mobile terminal 600 on the display 180.”)
Although Lee teaches a plurality of display screens and the determining the first display screen and the second display screen. (Lee, [0181-0198]) Lee however does not however appear to expressly state obtaining a first display mode of the first display object and a second display mode of the second display object; and determining the first display screen and the second display screen from the plurality of display screens of the electronic device based on the first display mode and the second display mode, a display configuration parameter of the first display screen matching the first display mode, and a display configuration parameter of the second display screen matching the second display mode.
Chen however teaches that it was a known technique by those having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to determining the first display screen and the second display screen comprises: obtaining a first display mode of the first display object and a second display mode of the second display object; and (Chen, [1069-0180], [0170], “FIG. 12A is a schematic diagram of display on the primary screen and the sub screen that are viewed from an unfolded angle of the electronic device in the folded state. When the electronic device enters a collaborative mode, an application A is displayed on the primary screen, and an application B is displayed on the sub screen. In this case, an available area of a screen is a size of the screen that is unfolded. The electronic device needs to adjust a location of the application A to a location on a right side of the screen in an unfolded state, and the newly started application B is displayed at a location on a screen other than the primary screen and a side screen.”)
determining the first display screen and the second display screen from the plurality of display screens of the electronic device based on the first display mode and the second display mode, a display configuration parameter of the first display screen matching the first display mode, and (Chen, [0169-0180], [0171], “It should be understood that when the electronic device is in an unfolded form or a half-folded form, the display service management module may notify the LCD module of an area that needs to be turned on, and an actual display area of the touchscreen is the entire touchscreen.”)
a display configuration parameter of the second display screen matching the second display mode. (Chen, [0169-0180], [0172], “When the electronic device is in the folded form, the display management module may notify the LCD module of the area that needs to be turned on, and the LCD module adjusts the actual display area of the touchscreen to a size of the primary screen.”)
It therefore would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide first and second modes associated with a first and second display screen according to their mode as this was a known technique in view of Chen and would have been utilized for the art recognized purpose of it helps improve screen utilization in the folded form and also improves user experience. (Chen, [0011])
Consider Claim 14:
Lee in view Chen discloses the electronic device according to claim 12 wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: in response to the operation information including full-screen operation information for a second video, determine the second video corresponding to the full-screen operation information as the first display object; and determine display information outside the second video of the current display content as the second display object. (Lee, [0181-0198], [0187], “For example, if the indicator for selecting the first area is displayed in the image area of the mirrored image, the zoomed-in image 730 displayed in the area Ar2 of the image display apparatus 100 may be transmit a zoomed-in image transmission request for the image area of the mirrored image to the mobile terminal 600, and control to display a zoomed-in image received from the mobile terminal 600 on the display 180.”)
Consider Claim 17:
Lee in view Chen discloses the electronic device according to claim 12, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: in response to adjusting the first display object to a display format corresponding to the first display screen, control the first display content corresponding to the first display object with the adjusted display format to be displayed on the first display screen; and in response to adjusting the second display object to a display format corresponding to the second display screen, control the second display content corresponding to the second display object with the adjusted display format to be displayed on the second display screen. (Lee, [0096-0101], [0169], “Subsequently, in response to the mirroring input, the mobile terminal 600 may transmit, as a mirrored image, an image displayed on the display 680 of the mobile terminal 600 to the image display apparatus 100 (S610).”, [0170], “Therefore, the controller 170 of the image display apparatus 100 may receive the mirrored image through the interface 135 (S611), and may control to display the received mirrored image on the display 180 (S620).”)
Consider Claim 18:
Lee in view Chen discloses the electronic device according to claim 12, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: obtain display screen connection configuration information of the electronic device on which the current display content is displayed; determine the first display screen and the second display screen of the electronic device based on the display screen connection configuration information. (Lee, [0137-0144], [0104], “The data processor (not shown) of the controller 170 may process the data signal obtained by demultiplexing the input stream signal. For example, if the demultiplexed data signal is a coded data signal, the data processor may decode the coded data signal. The coded data signal may be an EPG which includes broadcasting information specifying the start time, end time, and the like of a scheduled broadcast program of each channel.”)
Consider Claim 22:
Lee in view Chen discloses the display control device according to claim 10, wherein the display configuration information of the electronic device includes one or more of connection configuration information, split-screen control information, and screen display parameter configuration information. (Lee, [0085-0106], [0104], “The data processor (not shown) of the controller 170 may process the data signal obtained by demultiplexing the input stream signal. For example, if the demultiplexed data signal is a coded data signal, the data processor may decode the coded data signal. The coded data signal may be an EPG which includes broadcasting information specifying the start time, end time, and the like of a scheduled broadcast program of each channel.”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0364881 A1 in view of Chen et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0389873 A1 as applied to claims 1 and 12, respectively, above, and further in view of Drake et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0254045 A1 hereinafter Drake.
Consider Claim 5:
Lee in view Chen discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein controlling the first display content corresponding to the first display object to be displayed on the first display screen includes: determining a quantity of target windows; and determining a quantity of first display screens corresponding to the quantity of the target windows to cause the first display content corresponding to each target window to be displayed on the first display screen corresponding to the target window.
Drake however teaches that it was a known technique to those of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide wherein controlling the first display content corresponding to the first display object to be displayed on the first display screen includes: determining a quantity of target windows; and determining a quantity of first display screens corresponding to the quantity of the target windows to cause the first display content corresponding to each target window to be displayed on the first display screen corresponding to the target window. (Drake, [0009], [0067-0068], [0082], [0062], “Each display device 102, 104, 702, and 704 would display a portion based upon the relative screen size in the multi-display configuration. For example, the display devices 102 and 104 may each have a screen size that is one eighth of the overall screen size of the multi-display configuration whereas the display devices 702 and 704 may each have a screen size that is three eighths of the overall screen size of the multi-display configuration. Accordingly, the display devices 102 and 104 each display one eighth of the image whereas the display devices 702 and 704 each display three eighths of the image. In one aspect, the display screen dimensions of other display devices 102, 104, 702, and/or 704 are received as part of the configuration parameter so that a particular display device 102, 104, 702, and/or 704 may determine the respective portion of the image to be displayed based upon the dimensions of the overall multi-display configuration. In another aspect, the server 402 illustrated in FIG. 4 determines the size of the overall multi-display configuration and provides the portions to each of the display devices 102, 104, 702, and 704 for display or informs each of the display devices 102, 104, 702, and 704 which portions to display.”)
It therefore would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to divide portions of an original display screen to be displayed on differing screens as this was a known technique in view of Drake and would have been utilized for the art recognized purpose of devices that are often limited by the size constraints of their corresponding display screens can improve the limited viewing experience of video or image content. (Drake, [0006])
Consider Claim 16:
Lee discloses the electronic device according to claim 12 however does not appear to specify wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: determine a quantity of target windows; and determine a quantity of first display screens corresponding to the quantity of the target windows to cause the first display content corresponding to each target window to be displayed on the first display screen corresponding to the target window.
Drake however teaches that it was a known technique to those of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: determine a quantity of target windows; and determine a quantity of first display screens corresponding to the quantity of the target windows to cause the first display content corresponding to each target window to be displayed on the first display screen corresponding to the target window. (Drake, [0009], [0067-0068], [0082], [0062], “Each display device 102, 104, 702, and 704 would display a portion based upon the relative screen size in the multi-display configuration. For example, the display devices 102 and 104 may each have a screen size that is one eighth of the overall screen size of the multi-display configuration whereas the display devices 702 and 704 may each have a screen size that is three eighths of the overall screen size of the multi-display configuration. Accordingly, the display devices 102 and 104 each display one eighth of the image whereas the display devices 702 and 704 each display three eighths of the image. In one aspect, the display screen dimensions of other display devices 102, 104, 702, and/or 704 are received as part of the configuration parameter so that a particular display device 102, 104, 702, and/or 704 may determine the respective portion of the image to be displayed based upon the dimensions of the overall multi-display configuration. In another aspect, the server 402 illustrated in FIG. 4 determines the size of the overall multi-display configuration and provides the portions to each of the display devices 102, 104, 702, and 704 for display or informs each of the display devices 102, 104, 702, and 704 which portions to display.”)
It therefore would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to divide portions of an original display screen to be displayed on differing screens as this was a known technique in view of Drake and would have been utilized for the art recognized purpose of devices that are often limited by the size constraints of their corresponding display screens can improve the limited viewing experience of video or image content. (Drake, [0006])
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Prior art made of record and not relied upon which is still considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is cited in a current or previous PTO-892. The prior art cited in a current or previous PTO-892 reads upon the applicants claims in part, in whole and/or gives a general reference to the knowledge and skill of persons having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention. Applicant, when responding to this Office action, should consider not only the cited references applied in the rejection but also any additional references made of record.
In the response to this office action, the Examiner respectfully requests support be shown for any new or amended claims. More precisely, indicate support for any newly added language or amendments by specifying page, line numbers, and/or figure(s). This will assist The Office in compact prosecution of this application. The Office has cited particular columns, paragraphs, and/or line numbers in the applied rejection of the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within each claim, however other passages and figures may apply. Applicant, in preparing a response, should fully consider the cited reference(s) in its entirety and not only the cited portions as other sections of the reference may expand on the teachings of the cited portion(s).
Applicant Representatives are reminded of CFR 1.4(d)(2)(ii) which states “A patent practitioner (§ 1.32(a)(1) ), signing pursuant to §§ 1.33(b)(1) or 1.33(b)(2), must supply his/her registration number either as part of the S-signature, or immediately below or adjacent to the S-signature. The number (#) character may be used only as part of the S-signature when appearing before a practitioner’s registration number; otherwise the number character may not be used in an S-signature.” When an unsigned or improperly signed amendment is received the amendment will be listed in the contents of the application file, but not entered. The examiner will notify applicant of the status of the application, advising him or her to furnish a duplicate amendment properly signed or to ratify the amendment already filed. In an application not under final rejection, applicant should be given a two month time period in which to ratify the previously filed amendment (37 CFR 1.135(c) ).
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. Granting of After Final Interviews: “Interviews merely to restate arguments of record or to discuss new limitations which would require more than nominal reconsideration or new search should be denied.” See MPEP § 713.09.
/Michael J Jansen II/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2626