DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-8 in the reply filed on 12/08/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“memory devices” in claim 1
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kobayashi et al. (US Pat No. 4,730,662), hereinafter referred to as Kobayashi.
Re claim 1, Kobayashi teaches fuel efficient automatic temperature control system for a vehicle, the system comprising:
a climate control system (e.g. 76) configured to heat or cool air delivered to a cab (e.g. 20) of the vehicle, the climate control system including:
a condenser (implicit; since an evaporator 78 is used),
a variable-speed fan (e.g. 72; see variable speed in Fig 6) operable at a fan speed (Vmax to Vmin);
a first sensor (48U) configured to provide a vent-air information (e.g. C11-lns 6-8, “vent air temperature calculation circuit 222”) indicative of a condition (e.g. temperature) of the air delivered to the cab;
an automatic temperature controller (e.g. 56), the automatic temperature controller comprising one or more processors (e.g. 204) including one or more memory devices (e.g. 208) coupled to the one or more processors, the one or more memory devices configured to store instructions thereon that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to:
receive an indication of a desired temperature (e.g. C10-lns 55-65 “the temperature setting unit 60”),
receive the vent-air information (see Fig 11),
determine whether the variable-speed fan is required to operate at a maximum fan speed based on at least the desired temperature and the vent-air information (e.g. C11-lns 35-65, “A blower speed calculation circuit 228 is connected to the temperature difference calculation circuit 224 to receive the temperature difference-indicative signal” … “temperature difference calculation circuit 224 also derives the temperature difference between the target temperature indicated by the target temperature-indicative signal from the target temperature calculation circuit 220 and the average room temperature and produces a temperature difference-indicative signal” … “The temperature difference calculation circuit derives an average room temperature based on the upper and lower room temperature-indicative signals from the upper and lower room temperature sensors 48U and 48L”),
determine whether a dehumidifying operation is requested (step 2008),
in response to determining that the variable-speed fan is required to operate at the maximum fan speed (Vmax), operate the variable-speed fan at the maximum fan speed (Vmax), and
in response to determining that the variable-speed fan is not required to operate at the maximum fan speed and that the dehumidifying operation is not requested, operate the variable-speed fan below the maximum fan speed (see Vmin during t1; e.g. C8-lns 35-50, “the demist switch has benn of and passenger compartment temperature has been brought to a desired temperature, so that the blower speed has been adjusted to the lowest level, corresponding to blower motor supply voltage Vmin”).
Re claim 2, Kobayashi teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are in feedback communication with the climate control system and continuously operate the climate control system (the examiner notes that is implied by at least Fig 6 since there is a time element).
Re claim 3, Kobayashi teaches the system of claim 1, further comprising: a second sensor (e.g. 48L) configured to provide climate control system information (temperature), wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive the climate control system information (see Fig 11); and determine a minimum fan speed necessary to heat or cool the air delivered to the cab at the desired temperature based on at least the vent-air information and the climate control system information (see Fig 11 and C11-lns 35-65).
Re claim 4, Kobayashi teaches the system of claim 3, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: in response to determining that the variable-speed fan is not required to operate at the maximum fan speed and that the dehumidifying operation is not requested, operate the variable-speed fan at the minimum fan speed (see Vmin during t1; e.g. C8-lns 35-50, “the demist switch has benn of and passenger compartment temperature has been brought to a desired temperature, so that the blower speed has been adjusted to the lowest level, corresponding to blower motor supply voltage Vmin”).
Re claim 5, Kobayashi teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the indication of the desired temperature comprises a temperature value selected via an operator interface (see e.g. C4-lns 45-55, “A temperature setting switch 60 manually operable to set the desired room temperature is also connected to the controller 56 ”).
Re claim 7, Kobayashi teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the dehumidifying operation comprises a demist operation (see e.g. “demist switch”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi.
Re claim 6, Kobayashi teaches system of claim 1. Kobayashi further teaches the limitation of wherein the first sensor includes a temperature sensor, and the vent-air information includes a temperature of the air to be delivered to the cab (the examiner notes that 48U is a temperature sensor). Kobayashi does not explicitly teach the limitation of also including a humidity sensor. However, the examiner takes Official Notice of the fact that using a humidity sensor to better control humidity falls within the realm of common knowledge as obvious mechanical expedient. Therefore, at the time the invention was filed it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Kobayashi and integrated a humidity sensor to the first sensor, in order to better control the humidity.
Re claim 8, Kobayashi teaches system of claim 1. Kobayashi does not explicitly teach the limitation of wherein the climate control system information comprises at least one of: a temperature at the inlet and outlet of a compressor, the condenser, or an evaporator. However, the examiner takes Official Notice of the fact that using a temperature at the inlet and outlet of a compressor, the condenser, or an evaporator to fine tune the control system of the blower speed control falls within the realm of common knowledge as obvious mechanical expedient. Therefore, at the time the invention was filed it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Kobayashi and integrated wherein the climate control system information comprises at least one of: a temperature at the inlet and outlet of a compressor, the condenser, or an evaporator, in order to fine tune the control system.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. (see PTO-892).
/NELSON J NIEVES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763 2/6/2026
/FRANTZ F JULES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763