DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s election without traverse in the reply filed on 4/17/20206 is acknowledged:
Claims 138-142 and 160-174 read on the elected species and are treated on the merits, below:
Specification
REQUIREMENTS FOR PATENT APPLICATIONS CONTAINING NUCLEOTIDE AND/OR AMINO ACID SEQUENCE DISCLOSURES
Items 1) and 2) provide general guidance related to requirements for sequence disclosures.
37 CFR 1.821(c) requires that patent applications which contain disclosures of nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences that fall within the definitions of 37 CFR 1.821(a) must contain a "Sequence Listing," as a separate part of the disclosure, which presents the nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences and associated information using the symbols and format in accordance with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.821 - 1.825. This "Sequence Listing" part of the disclosure may be submitted:
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(1) via the USPTO patent electronic filing system (see Section I.1 of the Legal Framework for Patent Electronic System (https://www.uspto.gov/PatentLegalFramework), hereinafter "Legal Framework") as an ASCII text file, together with an incorporation-by-reference of the material in the ASCII text file in a separate paragraph of the specification as required by 37 CFR 1.823(b)(1) identifying:
the name of the ASCII text file;
ii) the date of creation; and
iii) the size of the ASCII text file in bytes;
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(1) on read-only optical disc(s) as permitted by 37 CFR 1.52(e)(1)(ii), labeled according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(5), with an incorporation-by-reference of the material in the ASCII text file according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(8) and 37 CFR 1.823(b)(1) in a separate paragraph of the specification identifying:
the name of the ASCII text file;
the date of creation; and
the size of the ASCII text file in bytes;
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(2) via the USPTO patent electronic filing system as a PDF file (not recommended); or
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(3) on physical sheets of paper (not recommended).
When a “Sequence Listing” has been submitted as a PDF file as in 1(c) above (37 CFR 1.821(c)(2)) or on physical sheets of paper as in 1(d) above (37 CFR 1.821(c)(3)), 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1) requires a computer readable form (CRF) of the “Sequence Listing” in accordance with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.824.
If the "Sequence Listing" required by 37 CFR 1.821(c) is filed via the USPTO patent electronic filing system as a PDF, then 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1)(ii) or 1.821(e)(2)(ii) requires submission of a statement that the "Sequence Listing" content of the PDF copy and the CRF copy (the ASCII text file copy) are identical.
If the "Sequence Listing" required by 37 CFR 1.821(c) is filed on paper or read-only optical disc, then 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1)(ii) or 1.821(e)(2)(ii) requires submission of a statement that the "Sequence Listing" content of the paper or read-only optical disc copy and the CRF are identical.
This application contains polynucleotide and/or polypeptide sequence information. Applicant is required to review the specification for compliance with the above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 138-142 and 160-174 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The rejected claims cover a single chain variable fragments (scFv’s).
To satisfy the written-description requirement, the specification must describe every element of the claimed invention in sufficient detail so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the inventor possessed the claimed invention at the time of filing. Vas-Cath, 935 F.3d at 1563; see also Lockwood v. American Airlines, Inc., 107 F.3d 1565, 1572 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (patent specification must describe an invention and do so in sufficient detail that one skilled in the art can clearly conclude that “the inventor invented the claimed invention”); In re Gosteli, 872 F.2d 1008, 1012 (Fed. Cir. 1989) (“the description must clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that [the inventor] invented what is claimed”).
With regard to the recited genus of scFv’, the following applies:
Ariad Pharmaceuticals Inc. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 94 USPQ2d 1161 (Fed. Cir. 2010) states that “...a generic claim may define the boundaries of a vast genus of chemical compounds...the question may still remain whether the specification, including the original claim language, demonstrates that the applicant invented species sufficient to support a claim to a genus”. See page 1171.
The written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice, reduction to drawings, or by disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics, i.e., structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the applicant was in possession of the claimed genus. See Eli Lilly, 119 F.3d at 1568, 43 USPQ2d at 1406.
See also Fujikawa v. Wattanasin, 93 F.3d 1559, 1571, 39 USPQ2d 1895, 1905 (Fed. Cir. 1996) (a “laundry list” disclosure of every possible moiety does not constitute a written description of every species in a genus because it would not “reasonably lead” those skilled in the art to any particular species.
Amgen, Inc. v. Chugai Pharmaceutical Co., Ltd., 927 F.2d 1200, 1206, 18 USPQ2d 1016, 1021 (Fed. Cir. 1991) states that “it is well established in our law that conception of a chemical compound requires that the inventor be able to define it so as to distinguish it from other materials, and to describe how to obtain it”.
A description of a genus may be achieved by means of a recitation of a representative number of species falling within the scope of the genus or structural features common to the members of the genus, which features constitute a substantial portion of the genus, so that one of skill in the art can “visualize or recognize” the members of the genus (Emphasis added). Regents of the University of California v. Eli Lilly & Co., 119 F3d 1559, 1569, 43 USPQ2d 1398, 1406 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
A “representative number of species” means that the species which are adequately described are representative of the entire genus. Thus, when there is substantial variation within the genus, one must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within the genus. The disclosure of only one species encompassed within a genus adequately describes a claim directed to that genus only if the disclosure “indicates that the patentee has invented species sufficient to constitute the gen[us].” See Enzo Biochem, 323 F.3d at 966, 63 USPQ2d at 1615; Noelle v. Lederman, 355 F.3d 1343, 1350, 69 USPQ2d 1508, 1514 (Fed. Cir. 2004) (Fed. Cir. 2004)(“[A] patentee of a biotechnological invention cannot necessarily claim a genus after only describing a limited number of species because there may be unpredictability in the results obtained from species other than those specifically enumerated.”). “A patentee will not be deemed to have invented species sufficient to constitute the genus by virtue of having disclosed a single species when ... the evidence indicates ordinary artisans could not predict the operability in the invention of any species other than the one disclosed.” In re Curtis, 354 F.3d 1347, 1358, 69 USPQ2d 1274, 1282 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
In Regents of the University of California v. Eli Lilly (43 USPQ2d 1398-1412), the court held that a generic statement which defines a genus of nucleic acids by only their functional activity does not provide an adequate written description of the genus. The court indicated that, while applicants are not required to disclose every species encompassed by a genus, the description of the genus is achieved by the recitation of a representative number of species falling within the scope of the claimed genus. At section B(i), the court states, "An adequate written description of a DNA ... requires a precise definition, such as by structure, formula, chemical name, or physical properties, not a mere wish or plan for obtaining the claimed chemical invention."
Courts have stated that “[i]n claims involving [non-genetic] chemical materials, generic formulae usually indicate with specificity what the generic claims encompass. One skilled in the art can distinguish such a formula from others and can identify many of the species that the claims encompass. Accordingly, such a formula is normally an adequate description of the claimed genus.” Regents of the University of California v. Eli Lilly & Co., 119 F.3d 1559, 1568 (Fed. Cir. 1997), cert. denied, 523 U.S. 1089 (1998). (emphasis added).
There is no such specificity here, nor could one skilled in the art identify any particular scFv’s encompassed by the claims. Applicant desires patent protection for scFv’s. However, in view of the above, the specification does not provide adequate written description of the claimed genus of scFv’s. Specifically, Applicant fails to disclose any other scFv’s, besides those covered by the SEQ ID NO’s in the specification, and in relation to the above, these disclosed species do not represent the substantial variety covered by the genus of scFv’s covered by the rejected claims.
With regard to the functional definition of the VH, VL, and structurally conserved regions, the specification does not clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that he or she invented what is claimed (see Vas-Cath at page 1116) because the specification contains almost no information by which a person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the inventors possessed the all of the recited compounds. At best, it simply indicates that one should test an inordinate number of peptides to see if the peptides can perform the required function. In this connection, the specification contains no generic structural characteristics of those peptides which function in the context of the instant scFv’s, besides those peptides instantly disclosed, see In re ’318 Patent Infringement Litigation, 583 F.3d 1317, 1327 (Fed. Cir. 2009) (“[A]t the end of the day, the specification, even read in light of the knowledge of those skilled in the art, does no more than state a hypothesis and propose testing to determine the accuracy of that hypothesis. That is not sufficient.”).
The Examiner acknowledges that a working example or exemplified embodiment is not necessarily a requirement for description. However, where a generic claim term is present in a claim, as in the present application, and defined only by functional characteristics, the specification must convey enough information, e.g., via sufficient representative examples, to indicate invention of species sufficient to constitute the genus. Enzo Biochem, Inc. v. Gen-Probe Inc., 323 F.3d 956, 967 2 (Fed. Cir. 2002). The written description requirement “requires a description of an invention, not an indication of a result that one might achieve if one made that invention.” Regents of the University of California v. Eli Lilly & Co., 119 F.3d 1559, 1568 (Fed. Cir. 1997); see also Novozymes A/S v. DuPont Nutrition Biosciences APS, 723 F.3d 1336, 1350 (Fed. Cir. 2013) (“A patent...‘is not a reward for the search, but compensation for its successful conclusion.’ ... For that reason, the written description requirement prohibits a patentee from ‘leaving it to the ... industry to complete an unfinished invention.’” (citations omitted)).
Accordingly, the specification lacks adequate written description for the recited scFv’s.
Claims 138-142 and 160-174 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
It is unclear what Applicant is claiming. Specifically, it is unclear how a polynucleotide can encode a disulfide bond required by the claims.
The structural and sequences requirements of the structurally conserved surface exposed regions are unclear.
It is unclear if the linker is a peptide or a disulfide from a VH Cys and a VL Cys.
The structural criteria of a sequences derived from a hinge region are undefined in claim 162.
It is unclear how a polynucleotide can encode a cytotoxic agent, such as small molecule, e.g., MMAE, see claim 167.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 138-142 and 160-174 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boucher et al., MAbs. 2023 Jan-Dec;15(1):2195517 (Boucher) or Zhao et al., Int. J. Mol. Sci. 2011, 12, 1-11 (Zhao) or U.S. Publication No. 20140206847 based on an application by Takashi et al. (Takashi) or JP 2011526145 (JP 245); all in view of Chen et al., Adv Drug Deliv Rev. 2013 October 15; 65(10): 1357–1369 (Chen).
The prior art teaches that disulfide-linked linkers in single-chain variable fragments (scFvs) are engineered modifications where cysteine residues are incorporated into the polypeptide linker connecting the variable heavy (VH) and variable light (VL) domains. This approach addresses the inherent instability of traditional scFvs by creating a covalent bond that restricts domain separation and reduces aggregation.
Boucher teaches designs (such as "stapled scFvs" or spFvs) that introduce disulfide bonds between a modified linker sequence and the adjacent variable domains. This creates a rigid cage around the variable regions, significantly improving thermal stability and reducing the risk of aggregation (“Single-chain fragment variable (scFv) domains play an important role in antibody-based therapeutic modalities, such as bispecifics, multispecifics and chimeric antigen receptor T cells or natural killer cells. However, scFv domains exhibit lower stability and increased risk of aggregation due to transient dissociation (“breathing”) and inter-molecular reassociation of the two domains (VL and VH). We designed a novel strategy, referred to as stapling, that introduces two disulfide bonds between the scFv linker and the two variable domains to minimize scFv breathing. We named the resulting molecules stapled scFv (spFv). Stapling increased thermal stability (Tm) by an average of 10°C. In multiple scFv/spFv multispecifics, the spFv molecules display significantly improved stability, minimal aggregation and superior product quality. These spFv multispecifics retain binding affinity and functionality. Our stapling design was compatible with all antibody variable regions we evaluated and may be widely applicable to stabilize scFv molecules for designing biotherapeutics with superior biophysical properties [see Abstract]”.).
See Figure 1:
Zhao teaches cysteines that are engineered directly into the framework regions of the VH/VL domains (most notably at positions VH44 and VL100 to covalently lock the core structures together (“The interdomain instability of single-chain fragment variable (scFv) might result in intermolecular aggregation and loss of function. In the present study, we stabilized H4—an anti-aflatoxin B1 (AFB1) scFv—with an interdomain disulfide bond and studied the effect of the disulfide bond on antibody affinity. With homology modeling and molecular docking, we designed a scFv containing an interdomain disulfide bond between the residues H44 and L100. The stability of scFv (H4) increased from a GdnHCl50 of 2.4 M to 4.2 M after addition of the H44-L100 disulfide bond. Size exclusion chromatography revealed that the scFv (H44-L100) mutant existed primarily as a monomer, and no aggregates were detected. An affinity assay indicated that scFv (H4) and the scFv (H44-L100) mutant had similar IC50 values and affinity to AFB1. Our results indicate that interdomain disulfide bonds could stabilize scFv without affecting affinity.”).
Engineering disulfide bonds between scFv domains and likers was known. See Takashi:
Wherein the linker 53 is bound to the C-terminal of the first heavy chain variable region 51H through a disulfide bond; and the linker 53 is bound to the C-terminal of the second heavy chain variable region 52H through a disulfide bond, see paragraphs 0019+. Linking the the VH and VL in this manner would be an obvious design choice.
See Figure 1:
See also JP 245:
The difference between the scFv’s of the prior art and those covered in the rejected claims is that the applied references do not teach the invention with particularity so as to amount to anticipation (See M.P.E.P. § 2131: "[t]he identical invention must be shown in as complete detail as is contained in the ... claim." Richardson v. Suzuki Motor Co., 868 F.2d 1226, 1236, 9 USPQ2d 1913, 1920 (Fed. Cir. 1989). The elements must be arranged as required by the claim, but this is not an ipsissimis verbis test, i.e., identity of terminology is not required. In re Bond, 910 F.2d 831, 15 USPQ2d 1566 (Fed. Cir. 1990).).
However, based on the above, the applied references teach the structural elements of the instant scFv’s with sufficient guidance, particularity, and with a reasonable expectation of success, that the invention would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill (the prior art reference teaches or suggests all the claim limitations with a reasonable expectation of success. See M.P.E.P. § 2143). For example, the applied references may not specifically, teach the recited SEQ ID’s of the linkers. However, the choice of linker sequence dictates the structure, stability, and binding function of the scFv. The most common sequences used in antibody engineering and design fall into specific categories based on their function. For example, Chen teaches that “as an indispensable component of recombinant fusion proteins, linkers have shown increasing importance in the construction of stable, bioactive fusion proteins. This review covers the current knowledge of fusion protein linkers and summarizes examples for their design and application. The general properties of linkers derived from naturally-occurring multi-domain proteins can be considered as the foundation in linker design. Empirical linkers designed by researchers are generally classified into 3 categories according to their structures: flexible linkers, rigid linkers, and in vivo cleavable linkers. Besides the basic role in linking the functional domains together (as in flexible and rigid linkers) or releasing free functional domain in vivo (as in in vivo cleavable linkers), linkers may offer many other advantages for the production of fusion proteins, such as improving biological activity, increasing expression yield, and achieving desirable pharmacokinetic profiles.
Chen Also teaches thattThe most commonly used flexible linkers have sequences consisting primarily of stretches of Gly and Ser residues (“GS” linker). An example of the most widely used flexible linker has the sequence of (Gly-Gly-Gly-Gly-Ser)n. By adjusting the copy number “n”, the length of this GS linker can be optimized to achieve appropriate separation of the functional domains, or to maintain necessary inter-domain interactions. Besides the GS linkers, many other flexible linkers have been designed for recombinant fusion proteins. As suggested by Argos [23], these flexible linkers are also rich in small or polar amino acids such as Gly and Ser, but can contain additional amino acids such as Thr and Ala to maintain flexibility, as well as polar amino acids such as Lys and Glu to improve solubility.
Chen teaches that several other types of flexible linkers, including KESGSVSSEQLAQFRSLD and EGKSSGSGSESKST, have been applied for the construction of a bioactive scFv [29]. The Gly and Ser residues in the linker were designed to provide flexibility, whereas Glu and Lys were added to improve the solubility. These linkers were designed by computation methods and computational graphics. Specific amino acids, one near the carboxyl terminus of the antibody light-chain variable region (VL) and one near the amino terminus of the heavy-chain variable region (VH) domain, were first selected. Computation methods were then performed to search for suitable peptides from libraries of three-dimensional peptide structures derived from the Brookhaven Protein Data Bank (PDB) to span the distance in space between the selected amino acids. Alternatively, the linker peptide was built using computational design by adding single amino acids or short peptides extending from the carboxyl terminus of the VL domain to the amino terminus of the VH domain, see page 4.
In this way, those of ordinary skill could have applied the nanofiltration of the linkers of Chen, which satisfy the instant linkers in the manner required and in a predictable fashion for the purposes of obtaining the recited scFv’s. As outlined above, the primary references teach ScFv’s with the recited disulfides between the VH/VL and linker. Chen is added for the proposition that the recited linkers are applicable to these linkers. Specifically, Chen teaches the particular known technique of using the recited linkers in scFv’s was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art. In this manner, those of ordinary skill would have recognized that applying the known technique to linkers that also form cysteine bonds, such as those taught by the primary references, would have yielded predictable results. Accordingly, using ther recited linkers for the purposes of providing the instant scFv’s would have been prima facie obvious.
The rejected claims recite polynucleotides. However, polynucleotides, as well as expression systems, encoding the scFv’s taught by the references are well within the purview of those of ordinary skill. Moreover, the use of targeting agents, such as scFv’s in antibody-drug conjugates is well within the purview of those of ordinary skill give the specificity incorporated into scFv’s against target antigens, such as those on the surface of cancer cells.
Applicant has not characterized the instant structurally conserved surface exposed regions in a manner distinguishing the instant scFv’s from those in the applied references.
The examiner notes that Applicant has not established support of the instant invention in the plurality of the instant priority documents for purposes of disqualifying any of the applied references as prior art against the instant application.
Double Patenting
Claim 138 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 23 of copending Application No. 18/711312. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other
Specifically, the conflicting claims recite a polynucleotide that anticipates that covered by claim 138. Alternatively, the difference between the polynucleotide covered by the conflicting claim and that coveted by the rejected claims is that the conflicting claim may not recite the instant scFv with particularity so as to amount to anticipation (See M.P.E.P. § 2131: "[t]he identical invention must be shown in as complete detail as is contained in the ... claim." Richardson v. Suzuki Motor Co., 868 F.2d 1226, 1236, 9 USPQ2d 1913, 1920 (Fed. Cir. 1989). The elements must be arranged as required by the claim, but this is not an ipsissimis verbis test, i.e., identity of terminology is not required. In re Bond, 910 F.2d 831, 15 USPQ2d 1566 (Fed. Cir. 1990).). However, the claims of the conflicting application recite the structural elements of the instant scFv’s with sufficient guidance, particularity, and with a reasonable expectation of success, that the instant polynucleotides would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill (the prior art reference teaches or suggests all the claim limitations with a reasonable expectation of success. See M.P.E.P. § 2143).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 7/29/2024 and 3/3/2026 fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered. The references without provided copies have been lined-through.
Conclusion
/KARL J PUTTLITZ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1646