DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 depends on itself. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner examines Claim 12 as if it depends on Claim 11.
Claim 13 depends on itself. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner examines Claim 13 as if it depends on Claim 11.
Claims 14-16 directly depend on Claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 10-11 and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bard (US Patent No. 5,580,523).
Regarding Claim 1, Bard reference discloses a unit operation module for use in a modular kit system for manufacturing a chemical composition, the unit operation module comprising:
a. a chassis (Figure 3, numeral 80 and Figure 4);
b. a unit operation module controller affixed in the chassis, wherein the unit operation module controller is operable to control a unit operation performed by the unit operation module in a process of manufacturing a chemical composition and wherein the unit operation controller is operable to receive sensor data and communicate with one or more controllers (Figure 4 and Column 4, Lines 21-30);
c. a unit operation component affixed in the chassis, wherein the unit operation component is selected from the group consisting of reactors, separators, filter washer dryers, crystallizers, sterilizers, formulators, evaporators, and any combination thereof (Figures 3 and 4, numerals 60, 70, 100- units, Column 4, Lines 42-45);
d. one or more fluidic connections operable to fluidically connect two or more unit operation modules (Figure 3, numerals 81, 82 83 and 84); and
e. one or more ancillary component selected from vessels, temperature control devices, mixers, valves, sensors, pumps, power supplies, and any combination thereof wherein the unit operation module is operable to be configured to perform the unit operation in the process of manufacturing the chemical composition (Column 4, Lines 35-40).
Regarding Claim 2, Bard reference discloses the unit operation module of claim 1, wherein the unit operation component is a reactor (Abstract).
Regarding Claim 3, Bard reference discloses the unit operation module of claim 2, wherein the reactor is a plug flow reactor (PFR), a stirred tank reactor (STR), or a continuously stirred tank reactor (CSTR) (Abstract – continuous flow reactor and Column 6, Lines 1-25).
Regarding Claim 4, Bard reference discloses the unit operation module of claim 2, wherein the plug flow reactor module comprises a PFR and further comprises a power supply, a temperature control device, one or more diverter valves fluidically connected to the one or more fluidic connections, one or more pumps, a backpressure regulator, two or more vessels, and one or more mixers (Abstract – pumps, Column 2, Lines 33-67- temperature control units, detectors and Column 3, Lines 56-59 – regulating extreme conditions (e.g., supercritical temperatures and pressures) is provided and providing a means for avoiding potential explosions and provides a reliable method for heat dissipation (i.e. back pressure regulator)).
Regarding Claim 10, Bard reference discloses the unit operation module of claim 1, wherein the unit operation module controller acts as input/output boards relaying instructions out to the unit operation component and ancillary components and receiving information from the unit operation component and ancillary components (Figure 4 and Column 7, Lines 1-20 and Claim 5 – computer interface for communicating a signal from an analyzer to a control system).
Regarding Claim 11, Bard reference discloses a modular kit system for use in manufacturing chemical compositions (Claim 5 – a modular chemical reaction kit), the modular kit system comprising:
a. two or more fluidically connected unit operation modules each configured to perform a unit operation in chemical synthesis processes (Claim 5, (b)), wherein each unit operation module comprises:
a. a chassis (Figure 3, numeral 80 and Figure 4);
b. a unit operation module controller affixed in the chassis, wherein the unit operation module controller is operable to control a unit operation performed by the unit operation module in a process of manufacturing a chemical composition and wherein the unit operation controller is operable to receive sensor data and communicate with one or more controllers (Figure 4 and Column 4, Lines 21-30);
c. a unit operation component affixed in the chassis, wherein the unit operation component is selected from the group consisting of reactors, separators, filter washer dryers, crystallizers, sterilizers, formulators, evaporators, and any combination thereof (Figures 3 and 4, numerals 60, 70, 100- units, Column 4, Lines 42-45);
d. one or more fluidic connections operable to fluidically connect two or more unit operation modules (Figure 3, numerals 81, 82 83 and 84); and
e. one or more ancillary component selected from vessels, temperature control devices, mixers, valves, sensors, pumps, power supplies, and any combination thereof wherein the unit operation module is operable to be configured to perform the unit operation in the process of manufacturing the chemical composition (Column 4, Lines 35-40); and
b. a kit system master controller in electronic communication with each unit operation module controller, wherein the master system controller is operable to be programmed to execute a chemical synthesis process for manufacturing a chemical composition of interest; wherein providing the modular kit system with precursors and reagents and activation of the modular kit system synthesizes the chemical composition of interest (Claim 5).
Regarding Claim 17, Bard reference discloses a programmed kit system (pharmacy on demand; “PoD”) unit to produce and provide pharmaceutical precursor molecules, and/or active pharmaceutical ingredients (API) and/or finished pharmaceuticals directly to one or more subjects in need thereof, within minutes to weeks of manufacturing (intended use), the PoD unit comprising:
a. two or more fluidically connected unit operation modules each configured to perform a unit operation in chemical synthesis processes of the PoD (Claim 5 – a modular chemical reaction kit), wherein each unit operation module comprises:
a. a chassis (Figure 3, numeral 80 and Figure 4);
b. a unit operation module controller affixed in the chassis, wherein the unit operation module controller is operable to control a unit operation performed by the unit operation module in a process of manufacturing a chemical composition and wherein the unit operation controller is operable to receive sensor data and communicate with one or more controllers (Figure 4 and Column 4, Lines 21-30);
c. a unit operation component affixed in the chassis, wherein the unit operation component is selected from the group consisting of reactors, separators, filter washer dryers, crystallizers, sterilizers, formulators, evaporators, and any combination thereof (Figures 3 and 4, numerals 60, 70, 100- units, Column 4, Lines 42-45);
d. one or more fluidic connections operable to fluidically connect two or more unit operation modules (Figure 3, numerals 81, 82 83 and 84); and
e. one or more ancillary component selected from vessels, temperature control devices, mixers, valves, sensors, pumps, power supplies, and any combination thereof wherein the unit operation module is operable to be configured to perform the unit operation in the process of manufacturing the chemical composition (Column 4, Lines 35-40); and
b. a kit system master controller in electronic communication with each unit operation module controller, wherein the master system controller is programmed to execute a chemical synthesis process for manufacturing a chemical composition of interest (Claim 5);
wherein providing the PoD with precursors and reagents and activation of the modular kit system synthesizes the chemical composition of interest (Column 3, Lines 4-20).
Regarding Claim 18, Bard reference discloses a method for making a chemical composition using the system of any one of the preceding claims, the method comprising:
a. determining the number and type of unit operation modules necessary to synthesize a chemical composition of interest (Column 2, Lines 33-38);
b. fluidically and electronically connecting the unit operation modules of a) to each other in a predetermined sequence identified in a) (Column 5, Lines 1-7);
c. programming the kit system master controller to execute the chemical synthesis process of the chemical composition of interest using the one or more of the unit operation module kits of a) (Figure 3 and Column 6, Lines 34-40);
d. adding all of the reagents and precursors to the vessels of the unit operation module kit as determined in step a) (Figure 4 and Column 7, Lines 10-20); and
e. activating the system to prepare the chemical composition of interest (Figure 4 and Column 7, Lines 10-20).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bard (US Patent No. 5,580,523) in view of Bergh et al. (US Patent No. 7,118,917 B2).
Regarding Claim 5, Bard reference discloses the unit operation module of claim 2 except for the unit operation module is a stirred tank reactor module and the stirred tank reactor module comprises a STR and/or a CSTR and further comprises a power supply, a temperature control device, one or more diverter valves fluidically connected to the one or more fluidic connections, one or more pumps, a backpressure regulator, two or more vessels, and one or more mixers. Bergh et al. reference discloses distribution systems comprise one or more subsystems, including for example, a flow-partitioning subsystem for providing a different flow rate to each of the four or more reactors, a pressure-partitioning subsystem for providing a different reaction pressure in the reaction cavity of each of the four or more reactors, and a feed-composition subsystem for providing a different feed composition to each of the four or more reactors (Abstract) wherein the four or more reactors can be of any suitable design, including for example designs modeling or substantially modeling continuous-stirred-tank reactors (CSTR's), fixed bed reactors, fluidized bed reactors, plug-flow reactors, channel-type reactors, etc. (Column 40, Lines 49-56). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a STR or CSTR as a unit operation module as taught by Bergh, since Bergh states at column 40, lines 49-51 that such the chemical reaction system can be of any suitable design.
Claim(s) 6-9 and 12-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bard (US Patent No. 5,580,523).
Regarding Claims 6-9, Bard reference discloses the unit operation module of claim 1 except for the unit operation module is a separator module and the separator module comprises a gravity separator, a filter washer dryer (FWD), a column, or any combination thereof, a membrane separator, a filter washer dryer (FWD), or an evaporator and further comprises a power supply, one or more diverter valves fluidically connected to the one or more fluidic connections, one or more pumps, a separator, two or more vessels, and one or more mixers. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the unit operation module with any suitable modules, since Bard reference states at column 9, lines 18-26 that many alternatives and variations will be apparent to those skilled in the art in light of the foregoing description to embrace all of the alternatives and variations that fall within the spirit and scope of the appended claims.
Regarding Claims 12-16, Bard reference discloses the claimed system, except for the modular kit system comprises a reactor module, a separator module, a crystallizer module, and a filter washer dryer module, wherein the reactor module comprises a reactor selected from the group consisting of a plug flow reactor (PFR), a stirred tank reactor (STR), and a continuously stirred tank reactor (CSTR), wherein the reactor module comprises a PFR and the reactor module further comprises a power supply, a temperature controller, one or more diverter valves fluidically connected to the one or more fluidic connections, a heating element, one or more pumps, a backpressure regulator, two or more vessels, and one or more mixers, wherein the reactor module comprises a STR or a CSTR and the reactor module further comprises a power supply, a temperature controller, one or more diverter valves fluidically connected to the one or more fluidic connections, a heating element, one or more pumps, a backpressure regulator, two or more vessels, and one or more mixers and/or wherein the separator module comprises a membrane separator and further comprises a power supply, one or more diverter valves fluidically connected to the one or more fluidic connections, one or more pumps, a membrane separator, two or more vessels, and one or more mixers. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the unit operation module with any suitable modules, since Bard reference states at column 9, lines 18-26 that many alternatives and variations will be apparent to those skilled in the art in light of the foregoing description to embrace all of the alternatives and variations that fall within the spirit and scope of the appended claims.
Conclusion
/HUY TRAM NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1774