DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “through both ends”. This is indefinite because the statement lacks antecedent basis. The insulating sleeve was never previously identified as having two ends.
Claims 2-11 are rejected for depending from claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AN (US 2020/0221773) in view of YAMADA et al. (US 2024/0081408) having the earliest effective filing date of 7/21/2021.
With respect to claim 1¸ AN discloses an aerosol generating device (abstract; title) that generates a vapor (Paragraphs [0001]) comprising a plurality of segments, 410, that together form a column in a longitudinal direction (e.g., axial direction, figure 5B ) (Paragraphs [0075]-[0089]; Figures 4-7). Each segment comprises a conductive track, 420, (e.g., electrode) (Paragraphs [0087]-[0088]). The segments are assembled into a cylinder (e.g., column) (Paragraph [0076]) and held in place by an elastic member, 430, (Paragraphs [0075], [0091], [0092]). Thus, the segments with their respective electrodes implicitly represent an electrode column. As seen in Figures 6A, 6B and 7 of AN, the elastic member comprises a side opening provided in a side wall of the elastic member, the side opening through an inner side and an outer side of the side wall and through a top end and bottom end of the elastic member. Moreover, as seen in figures 6A and 7, the elastic member fits around the electrode column and therefore implicitly represents the claimed sleeve.
AN further discloses a base, 720 and 725, in which the electrode column is inserted (Figures 9A, 9B and 7; Paragraphs [0100]-[0110]). When assembled (See figure 7), the sleeve is between the electrode column and a portion (e.g., 725) of the base.
AN does not explicitly disclose that the sleeve is electrically insulating.
YAMADA et al. discloses an aerosol generating system (Abstract; Title). Comprising a heater having parts that are assembled and held together by an elastic member, 41, 42 and 43 (Figure 4; Paragraphs [0066], [0073]). The elastic sleeve is formed of electrically insulating material (Paragraph [0073]) in order to prevent short circuiting.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to form the sleeve of AN of an insulating material, as taught by YAMADA et al. so that the heater can be prevented from short circuiting.
With respect to claim 2, as seen in figures 6B of AN, the side opening of 430 and the electrode column extend in the same plane and in figure 7 are concentrically aligned and thus implicitly have the same axis. Thus, the extension of the opening is implicitly parallel to the extension direction of the sleeve.
With respect to claim 11, AN discloses an electronic vaporization device comprising the vaporizer as outlined in the rejection of claim 1 (Paragraphs [0042], [0047]; figure 6A).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, as well as addressing the indefinite issues of claim 1.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With respect to claim 3, the elastic sleeves of the cited art is not taught to have vent passage(s) therein, in addition to the side opening.
With respect to claim 7, the electrode column of the cited art does not have the claimed flange, per se.
With respect to claim 8, the heater assembly disclosed by AN and YAMADA et al. represent the heater cores of their respective devices. Thus, there isn’t an additional heater core, as would be required by claim 8. Moreover, given that the device of AN and YAMADA et al. are the heater cores, they would not be placed into a lower end of a shell so that one pole thereof is electrically connected to the electrode column, per se.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
LIU (US 2016/0044965) discloses an insulation ring, 2062, (Paragraph [0048]) that fits around an electrode column , 2063 (Paragraph [0049]) and both are fit into a base, 2061 (Paragraph [0054]) such that the insulation ring is between the base and column (Figure 4). This structure is then placed into a bottom end of a shell, 200, (Paragraphs [0033]-[0035]) having a vent tube, 201, 501 and 502 (Paragraph [0035] and [0073]-[0078]; Figure 2) having a vaporization core therein, 207 (Paragraph [0077]). One electrode of the heater 2072 (Paragraph [0080]) is electrically connected to the electrode column (Figure 4).
The overall structure of the claimed invention is generally known, as taught by LIU. However, structural details on the insulation ring, like those of LIU, are generally lacking. As such, the claimed side opening in the insulating ring isn’t disclosed, per se when considering the sleeve in context of a structure disclosed by LIU and others of similar design.
/ALEX B EFTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745