DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the communication filed on July 1, 2026. Claims 1, 4-18, 21 and 23-30 remain pending and claim 3 has been cancelled in this application. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to amended claims 1, 17, and 21 in the Remarks section (pages 8-10) have been fully considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the current combination of references being used in the current rejection.
U.S. Patent Publication 2020/0228788 A1 by Selan in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2022/0035171 A1 by Yamamoto et al. (“Yamamoto,”) and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2020/0132919 A1 by Cakmakci address the limitations set forth in the amended claims as the new grounds for rejection.
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered with respect to 4-16, 18, 21, 23-30 and in the Remarks section (page 10) but they are not persuasive as the claims depend upon the features recited in the amended independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-15, 17-18, 21, and 23-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2020/0228788 A1 by Selan in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2022/0035171 A1 by Yamamoto, and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2020/0132919 A1 by Cakmakci.
Regarding claim 1, Selan teaches an eye tracking system for a head-mounted display (HMD) device (Fig. 1; [0020], FIG. 1 is a diagram illustrating an example head-mounted display (HMD) 100, while being worn by a user 102), comprising:
a lens assembly (Fig. 1, lens 108, 108(1), 108(2); [0020], including a first and second lens assembly); an optical tube assembly (Fig. 1, lens tube 106, 106(1), 106(2)) mechanically coupled to the lens assembly to support the lens assembly and to provide optical alignment between the lens assembly and a display panel of the HMD device (Fig. 1, display panel 104; [0020], Each a display panel 104, a lens tube 106, and a lens 108 make up a lens-and-display assembly),
the lens assembly being positioned proximate to a front end of the optical tube assembly that is relatively proximate a user’s eye during use of the HMD device (Fig. 1, lens 108, 108(1), 108(2) located in front of lens tubes 106, 106(1), 106(2) that was located in front of the user’s eyes when wearing a HMD 104 as in [0021]), ; and
an optical light guide operative to transport light, the optical light guide being mechanically coupled to the optical tube assembly ([0079], The HMD 100 may further include optical subsystem 916 that directs light from the display panels 104 to a user's eyes using one or more optical elements passing through to the eyes of the user using the lens tubes 106). However, Selan does teach in paragraph [0084], The HMI 100 may further include an eye tracking module 922. A camera or other optical sensor inside 100 may capture image information of a user's eyes. Infrared light is emitted within HMD 100 and reflected from each eye. The reflected light is received or detected by a camera of the HMD and analyzed to extract eye rotation from changes in the infrared light reflected by each eye). Selan does not teach where inside the HMD the camera or optical sensor was located.
Selan does not teach the optical light guide comprising: a light input feature that is positioned rearward of the front end of the optical tube assembly, the light input feature configured to receive light from one or more light sources; and a plurality of light output features spaced apart from each other and positioned proximate to the front end of the optical tube assembly.
However, in the analogous art of head mounted display optical systems, Yamamoto teaches a head mounted display had first lens tube 10 and second lens tube 20 directly light into a first and second display panel 13. The lens tubes 10, 20 had a light input feature 12 that was configured to receive light from on the rearward side from the panels 13 as a light source. Also, there was a light output feature 14 toward the eye proximate to the front of lens tubes 10,20 (Yamamoto Fig. 1; [0080]-[0081]). The lens tubes also included a light source 200 and photoreceptor 199 for detecting the point of gaze of user 99. The photoreceptor was an additional light output feature spaced apart from the output 14 in the front of the lens optical tubes. It would have been obvious to have had the eye tracking module to have been configured as taught by Yamamoto. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have a detection of the eye gaze to provide for the correction of the levels of luminance based on mode is performed incrementally in accordance with distance from the point of gaze, as illustrated in FIG. 39A-B (Yamamoto Fig. 39A-39B; [0251]-[0253]).
However, Selan in view of Yamamoto does not teach each of the plurality of light output features comprising the same material as a remainder of the optical light guide and including a physical geometry that allows light inside the optical light guide to exit the optical light guide toward the user’s eye during use of the HMD device, optical light guide comprising a solid light-transmissive material that is operative to transport illumination light via total internal reflection (TIR) through the optical light guide from one or more light sources to the user’s for eye tracking.
In the analogous art of head-mountable displays, Cakmakci teaches the frame 110 supports display housings 106 for the respective micro-displays 105. Each display housing 106 encloses a portion of its micro-display 105. Display light 103 leaves each microdisplay 105 and enters a respective lightguide 101 from the top side 114 of the frame 110 such that the lightguides 101 are positioned in front of user eyes. The display light 103 is reflected inside and between the surfaces of the lightguide 101 one time at a first surface and one time at a second surface of the lightguide 101 by total internal reflection (TIR) and, subsequently, the display light 103 (Cakmakci Fig. 2; [0019]). Lightguide was made of glass and the lightguide 301 also includes one or more features such as one or more passages 347 into or through the lightguide 101 such as for receiving fasteners to hold a display housing (Cakmakci Fig. 3; [0027] and [0022]). It would have been obvious before the effective date that the optical system of Selan in view of Yamamoto to have used lightguide type implementation to direct light to the user’s eyes with passages. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have provide less constraints on particular geometry and physical design that had curved lightguides previously and preventing positioning to low field of view (FOV) displays that are on the order of 10 degrees diagonal within user sight and providing the placement of the microdisplay at the top of the lightguide (Cakmakci Fig. 3; [0004] and [0016]).
Regarding claim 4, Selan in view of Yamamoto do not teach the eye tracking system of claim 1, wherein the optical light guide is formed from at least one of polycarbonate, polymethyl methacrylate, or glass.
In the analogous art of head-mountable displays, Cakmakci teaches the frame 110 supports display housings 106 for the respective micro-displays 105. Each display housing 106 encloses a portion of its micro-display 105. Display light 103 leaves each microdisplay 105 and enters a respective lightguide 101 from the top side 114 of the frame 110 such that the lightguides 101 are positioned in front of user eyes. The display light 103 is reflected inside and between the surfaces of the lightguide 101 one time at a first surface and one time at a second surface of the lightguide 101 by total internal reflection (TIR) and, subsequently, the display light 103 (Cakmakci Fig. 2; [0019]). Lightguide was made of glass and the lightguide 301 also includes one or more features such as one or more passages 347 into or through the lightguide 101 such as for receiving fasteners to hold a display housing (Cakmakci Fig. 3; [0027] and [0022]). It would have been obvious before the effective date that the optical system of Selan in view of Yamamoto to have used lightguide type implementation to direct light to the user’s eyes with passages. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have provide less constraints on particular geometry and physical design that had curved lightguides previously and preventing positioning to low field of view (FOV) displays that are on the order of 10 degrees diagonal within user sight and providing the placement of the microdisplay at the top of the lightguide (Cakmakci Fig. 3; [0004] and [0016]).
Regarding claim 5, Selan does not teach the eye tracking system of claim 1, wherein the optical tube assembly comprises capturing light reflected from the user’s eye during operation of the HMD device ([0084], The HMI 100 may further include an eye tracking module 922. A camera or other optical sensor inside 100 may capture image information of a user's eyes. Infrared light is emitted within HMD 100 and reflected from each eye. The reflected light is received or detected by a camera of the HMD and analyzed to extract eye rotation from changes in the infrared light reflected by each eye).
However, Selan does not teach an optical window that permits an optical sensor positioned outside the optical tube assembly to capture the light. However, in the analogous art of head mounted display optical systems, Yamamoto teaches a head mounted display had first lens tube 10 and second lens tube 20 directly light into a first and second display panel 13. The lens tubes 10, 20 had a light input feature 12 that was configured to receive light from on the rearward side from the panels 13 as a light source. Also, there was a light output feature 14/ eyecup window toward the eye proximate to the front of lens tubes 10,20 (Yamamoto Fig. 1; [0080]-[0081]). The lens tubes also included a light source 200 and photoreceptor 199 for detecting the point of gaze of user 99. The photoreceptor was an additional light output feature spaced apart from the output 14 in the front of the lens optical tubes outside of the lens tubes (Yamamoto Fig. 1 and 39; [0082]). . It would have been obvious to have had the infrared eye tracking module to have been configured as taught by Yamamoto. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have a detection of the eye gaze to provide for the correction of the levels of luminance based on mode is performed incrementally in accordance with distance from the point of gaze, as illustrated in FIG. 39A-B (Yamamoto Fig. 39A-39B; [0251]-[0253]).
Regarding claim 6, Selan does not teach the eye tracking system of claim 5, wherein the optical window is transparent to infrared light and is opaque to visible light.
However, in the analogous art of head mounted display optical systems, Yamamoto teaches a head mounted display had first lens tube 10 and second lens tube 20 directly light into a first and second display panel 13. The lens tubes 10, 20 had a light input feature 12 that was configured to receive light from on the rearward side from the panels 13 as a light source. Also, there was a light output feature 14 toward the eye proximate to the front of lens tubes 10,20 (Yamamoto Fig. 1; [0080]-[0081]). The lens tubes also included a light source 200 and photoreceptor 199 for detecting the point of gaze of user 99. The photoreceptor was an additional light output feature spaced apart from the output 14 in the front of the lens optical tubes outside of the lens tubes (Yamamoto Fig. 1 and 39; [0082]). . It would have been obvious to have had the infrared eye tracking module to have been configured as taught by Yamamoto. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have a detection of the eye gaze to provide for the correction of the levels of luminance based on mode is performed incrementally in accordance with distance from the point of gaze, as illustrated in FIG. 39A-B (Yamamoto Fig. 39A-39B; [0251]-[0253]).
Regarding claim 7, Selan does not teach the eye tracking system of claim 1, wherein the optical light guide comprises a plurality of light input features, each of the light input features configured to receive light from one or more light sources.
However, in the analogous art of head mounted display optical systems, Yamamoto teaches a head mounted display had first lens tube 10 and second lens tube 20 directly light into a first and second display panel 13. The lens tubes 10, 20 had a light input feature 12 that was configured to receive light from on the rearward side from the panels 13 as a light source. Also, there was a light output feature 14 toward the eye proximate to the front of lens tubes 10,20 (Yamamoto Fig. 1; [0080]-[0081]). The lens tubes also included a light source 200 and photoreceptor 199 for detecting the point of gaze of user 99. The photoreceptor was an additional light output feature spaced apart from the output 14 in the front of the lens optical tubes outside of the lens tubes (Yamamoto Fig. 1 and 39; [0082]). . It would have been obvious to have had the infrared eye tracking module to have been configured as taught by Yamamoto. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have a detection of the eye gaze to provide for the correction of the levels of luminance based on mode is performed incrementally in accordance with distance from the point of gaze, as illustrated in FIG. 39A-B (Yamamoto Fig. 39A-39B; [0251]-[0253]).
Regarding claim 8, Selan does not teach the eye tracking system of claim 1, further comprising a light source positioned adjacent the light input feature of the optical light guide.
However, in the analogous art of head mounted display optical systems, Yamamoto teaches a head mounted display had first lens tube 10 and second lens tube 20 directly light into a first and second display panel 13. The lens tubes 10, 20 had a light input feature 12 that was configured to receive light from on the rearward side from the panels 13 as a light source. Also, there was a light output feature 14 toward the eye proximate to the front of lens tubes 10,20 (Yamamoto Fig. 1; [0080]-[0081]). The lens tubes also included a light source 200 adjacent to light input feature 12 and photoreceptor 199 for detecting the point of gaze of user 99. The photoreceptor was an additional light output feature spaced apart from the output 14 in the front of the lens optical tubes outside of the lens tubes (Yamamoto Fig. 1 and 39; [0082]). . It would have been obvious to have had the infrared eye tracking module to have been configured as taught by Yamamoto. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have a detection of the eye gaze to provide for the correction of the levels of luminance based on mode is performed incrementally in accordance with distance from the point of gaze, as illustrated in FIG. 39A-B (Yamamoto Fig. 39A-39B; [0251]-[0253]).
Regarding claim 9, Selan does not teach the eye tracking system of claim 8, wherein the light source is mechanically coupled to an outer sidewall of the optical tube assembly.
However, in the analogous art of head mounted display optical systems, Yamamoto teaches a head mounted display had first lens tube 10 and second lens tube 20 directly light into a first and second display panel 13. The lens tubes 10, 20 had a light input feature 12 that was configured to receive light from on the rearward side from the panels 13 as a light source. Also, there was a light output feature 14 toward the eye proximate to the front of lens tubes 10,20 (Yamamoto Fig. 1; [0080]-[0081]). The lens tubes also included a light source 200 and photoreceptor 199 for detecting the point of gaze of user 99. The photoreceptor was an additional light output feature spaced apart from the output 14 in the front of the lens optical tubes outside of the lens tubes coupled mechanically on a sidewall (Yamamoto Fig. 1 and 39; [0082]). . It would have been obvious to have had the infrared eye tracking module to have been configured as taught by Yamamoto. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have a detection of the eye gaze to provide for the correction of the levels of luminance based on mode is performed incrementally in accordance with distance from the point of gaze, as illustrated in FIG. 39A-B (Yamamoto Fig. 39A-39B; [0251]-[0253]).
Regarding claim 10, Selan of the combination of references further teaches the eye tracking system of claim 1 wherein the optical tube assembly comprises a front end portion and a rear end portion, wherein the front end portion and the rear end portion are coupled together to form the optical tube assembly (Fig. 1, lens tube 106 has a front end toward displays 104 and a back end towards the lens 108).
Regarding claim 11, Selan of the combination of references further teaches the eye eye tracking system of claim 1, further comprising: an optical sensor configured to capture images of the user’s eye ([0084], The HMI 100 may further include an eye tracking module 922. A camera or other optical sensor inside 100 may capture image information of a user's eyes).
However, Selan does not teach wherein the optical sensor is positioned outside of the optical tube assembly.
However, in the analogous art of head mounted display optical systems, Yamamoto teaches a head mounted display had first lens tube 10 and second lens tube 20 directly light into a first and second display panel 13. The lens tubes 10, 20 had a light input feature 12 that was configured to receive light from on the rearward side from the panels 13 as a light source. Also, there was a light output feature 14 toward the eye proximate to the front of lens tubes 10,20 constituting another branch (Yamamoto Fig. 1; [0080]-[0081]). The lens tubes also included a light source 200 and photoreceptor 199 for detecting the point of gaze of user 99. The photoreceptor was an additional light output feature spaced apart from the output 14 in the front of the lens optical tubes outside of the lens tubes coupled mechanically on a sidewall (Yamamoto Fig. 1 and 39; [0082]). . It would have been obvious to have had the infrared eye tracking module to have been configured as taught by Yamamoto. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have a detection of the eye gaze to provide for the correction of the levels of luminance based on mode is performed incrementally in accordance with distance from the point of gaze, as illustrated in FIG. 39A-B (Yamamoto Fig. 39A-39B; [0251]-[0253]).
Regarding claim 12, Selan of the combination of references further teaches they eye tracking system of claim 11, wherein the optical sensor is positioned so that the user’s view of a display panel of the HMD device is not obstructed ([0080], The HMD 100 may further include one or more sensors 918, such as sensors used to generate motion, position, and orientation data. For example, a VR headset may include, on its exterior, multiple markers, such as reflectors or lights (e.g., infrared or visible light) that, when viewed by an external camera/positioned to capture exterior light, or illuminated by a light (e.g., infrared or visible light), may provide one or more points of reference for interpretation by software in order to generate motion, position, and orientation data.)
Regarding claim 13, Selan of the combination of references further teaches the eye tracking system of claim 1, further comprising: a display panel positioned at a rear end of the optical tube assembly opposite the front end (Fig. 1, display 104 at rear of lens tube 106; [0020], Each lens-and-display assembly is aligned on its own primary optical axis, labeled as the Z-axes in FIG. 1. Each Z-axis (associated with each lens-and-display assembly) is orthogonal to a frontal plane of the display panel 104).
Regarding claim 14, Selan of the combination of references further teaches the eye tracking system of claim 1, further comprising: a processor configured to receive the captured images from an optical sensor and to analyze the position and orientation of glints to determine the user’s gaze direction ([0084], The HMI) 100 may further include an eye tracking module 922. A camera or other optical sensor inside MID 100 may capture image information of a user's eyes, and eye tracking module 922 may use the captured information to determine interpupillary distance, interocular distance, a three-dimensional (3D) position of each eye relative to HMD 100 (e.g., for distortion adjustment purposes), including a magnitude of torsion and rotation (i.e., roll, pitch, and yaw) and gaze directions for each eye. Infrared light is emitted within HMD 100 and reflected from each eye. The reflected light is received or detected by a camera of the HMD 100 and analyzed to extract eye rotation from changes in the infrared light reflected/glints by each eye).
Regarding claim 15, Selan does not teach the eye tracking system of claim 1, wherein the optical light guide includes a plurality of branches, each of the branches terminating with one of the plurality of light output features.
However, in the analogous art of head mounted display optical systems, Yamamoto teaches a head mounted display had first lens tube 10 and second lens tube 20 directly light into a first and second display panel 13. The lens tubes 10, 20 had a light input feature 12 that was configured to receive light from on the rearward side from the panels 13 as a light source. Also, there was a light output feature 14 toward the eye proximate to the front of lens tubes 10,20 constituting another branch (Yamamoto Fig. 1; [0080]-[0081]). The lens tubes also included a light source 200 and photoreceptor 199 for detecting the point of gaze of user 99. The photoreceptor was an additional light output feature spaced apart from the output 14 in the front of the lens optical tubes outside of the lens tubes coupled mechanically on a sidewall (Yamamoto Fig. 1 and 39; [0082]). . It would have been obvious to have had the infrared eye tracking module to have been configured as taught by Yamamoto. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have a detection of the eye gaze to provide for the correction of the levels of luminance based on mode is performed incrementally in accordance with distance from the point of gaze, as illustrated in FIG. 39A-B (Yamamoto Fig. 39A-39B; [0251]-[0253]).
Regarding claim 17, Selan teaches a head-mounted display (HMD) system, comprising: a support structure wearable on the head of a user (Fig. 1; [0020], FIG. 1 is a diagram illustrating an example head-mounted display (HMD) 100, while being worn by a user 102), first and second eye tracking subsystems coupled to the support structure ([0084], The HMI 100 may further include an eye tracking module 922. A camera or other optical sensor inside 100 may capture image information of a user's eyes. Infrared light is emitted within HMD 100 and reflected from each eye, comprising a first and second eye tracking module. The reflected light is received or detected by a camera of the HMD and analyzed to extract eye rotation from changes in the infrared light reflected by each eye),
a lens assembly (Fig. 1, lens 108, 108(1), 108(2); [0020], including a first and second lens assembly); an optical tube assembly (Fig. 1, lens tube 106, 106(1), 106(2)) mechanically coupled to the lens assembly to support the lens assembly and to provide optical alignment between the lens assembly and a display panel of the HMD device (Fig. 1, display panel 104; [0020], Each a display panel 104, a lens tube 106, and a lens 108 make up a lens-and-display assembly),
the lens assembly being positioned proximate to a front end of the optical tube assembly that is relatively proximate a user’s eye during use of the HMD device (Fig. 1, lens 108, 108(1), 108(2) located in front of lens tubes 106, 106(1), 106(2) that was located in front of the user’s eyes when wearing a HMD 104 as in [0021]), ; and
an optical light guide operative to transport light, the optical light guide being mechanically coupled to the optical tube assembly ([0079], The HMD 100 may further include optical subsystem 916 that directs light from the display panels 104 to a user's eyes using one or more optical elements passing through to the eyes of the user using the lens tubes 106).
Selan does not teach the optical light guide comprising: a light input feature that is positioned rearward of the front end of the optical tube assembly, the light input feature configured to receive light from one or more light sources; and a plurality of light output features spaced apart from each other and positioned proximate to the front end of the optical tube assembly, each of the light output features configured to allow light inside the optical light guide to exit the optical light guide toward the user’s eye during use of the HMD system.
However, in the analogous art of head mounted display optical systems, Yamamoto teaches a head mounted display had first lens tube 10 and second lens tube 20 directly light into a first and second display panel 13. The lens tubes 10, 20 had a light input feature 12 that was configured to receive light from on the rearward side from the panels 13 as a light source. Also, there was a light output feature 14 toward the eye proximate to the front of lens tubes 10,20 (Yamamoto Fig. 1; [0080]-[0081]). The lens tubes also included a light source 200 and photoreceptor 199 for detecting the point of gaze of user 99. The photoreceptor was an additional light output feature spaced apart from the output 14 in the front of the lens optical tubes. It would have been obvious to have had the eye tracking module to have been configured as taught by Yamamoto. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have a detection of the eye gaze to provide for the correction of the levels of luminance based on mode is performed incrementally in accordance with distance from the point of gaze, as illustrated in FIG. 39A-B (Yamamoto Fig. 39A-39B; [0251]-[0253]).
However, Selan in view of Yamamoto does not teach each of the plurality of light output features comprising the same material as a remainder of the optical light guide and including a physical geometry that allows light inside the optical light guide to exit the optical light guide toward the user’s eye during use of the HMD device, optical light guide comprising a solid light-transmissive material that is operative to transport illumination light via total internal reflection (TIR) through the optical light guide from one or more light sources to the user’s for eye tracking, the optical light guide including a plurality of branches, each of the branches terminating with one of plurality of light output features.
In the analogous art of head-mountable displays, Cakmakci teaches the frame 110 supports display housings 106 for the respective micro-displays 105. Each display housing 106 encloses a portion of its micro-display 105. Display light 103 leaves each microdisplay 105 and enters a respective lightguide 101 from the top side 114 of the frame 110 such that the lightguides 101 are positioned in front of user eyes. The display light 103 is reflected inside and between the surfaces of the lightguide 101 one time at a first surface and one time at a second surface of the lightguide 101 by total internal reflection (TIR) and, subsequently, the display light 103 (Cakmakci Fig. 2; [0019]). Lightguide was made of glass and the lightguide 301 also includes one or more features such as one or more passages 347 into or through the lightguide 101 such as for receiving fasteners to hold a display housing (Cakmakci Fig. 3; [0027] and [0022]). It would have been obvious before the effective date that the optical system of Selan in view of Yamamoto to have used lightguide type implementation to direct light to the user’s eyes with passages. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have provide less constraints on particular geometry and physical design that had curved lightguides previously and preventing positioning to low field of view (FOV) displays that are on the order of 10 degrees diagonal within user sight and providing the placement of the microdisplay at the top of the lightguide (Cakmakci Fig. 3; [0004] and [0016]).
Regarding claim 18, Selan in view of Yamamoto and Cakmakci renders obvious the claim limitations in consideration of the grounds of rejection of claim 5 above.
Regarding claim 21, Selan teaches an eye tracking system for a head-mounted display (HMD) device (Fig. 1; [0020], FIG. 1 is a diagram illustrating an example head-mounted display (HMD) 100, while being worn by a user 102), comprising:
a lens assembly (Fig. 1, lens 108, 108(1), 108(2); [0020], including a first and second lens assembly); an optical tube assembly (Fig. 1, lens tube 106, 106(1), 106(2)) mechanically coupled to the lens assembly to support the lens assembly and to provide optical alignment between the lens assembly and a display panel of the HMD device (Fig. 1, display panel 104; [0020], Each a display panel 104, a lens tube 106, and a lens 108 make up a lens-and-display assembly),
the lens assembly being positioned proximate to a front end of the optical tube assembly that is relatively proximate a user’s eye during use of the HMD device (Fig. 1, lens 108, 108(1), 108(2) located in front of lens tubes 106, 106(1), 106(2) that was located in front of the user’s eyes when wearing a HMD 104 as in [0021]), ; and
an optical light guide operative to transport light, the optical light guide being mechanically coupled the optical tube assembly ([0079], The HMD 100 may further include optical subsystem 916 that directs light from the display panels 104 to a user's eyes using one or more optical elements passing through to the eyes of the user using the lens tubes 106). However, Selan does teach in paragraph [0084], The HMI 100 may further include an eye tracking module 922. A camera or other optical sensor inside 100 may capture image information of a user's eyes. Infrared light is emitted within HMD 100 and reflected from each eye. The reflected light is received or detected by a camera of the HMD and analyzed to extract eye rotation from changes in the infrared light reflected by each eye). Selan does not teach where inside the HMD were located.
Selan does not teach the optical light guide coupled to the sidewall of the optical tube assembly comprising: a light input feature that is positioned rearward of the front end of the optical tube assembly, the light input feature configured to receive light from one or more light sources; and a plurality of light output features spaced apart from each other and positioned proximate to the front end of the optical tube assembly, each of the light output features configured to allow light inside the optical light guide to exit the optical light guide toward the user’s eye during use of the HMD device.
However, in the analogous art of head mounted display optical systems, Yamamoto teaches a head mounted display had first lens tube 10 and second lens tube 20 directly light into a first and second display panel 13. The lens tubes 10, 20 had a light input feature 12 that was configured to receive light from on the rearward side from the panels 13 as a light source. Also, there was a light output feature 14 toward the eye proximate to the front of lens tubes 10,20 (Yamamoto Fig. 1; [0080]-[0081]). The lens tubes also included a light source 200 and photoreceptor 199 for detecting the point of gaze of user 99. The photoreceptor was an additional light output feature spaced apart from the output 14 in the front of the lens optical tubes at a sidewall. It would have been obvious to have had the eye tracking module to have been configured as taught by Yamamoto. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have a detection of the eye gaze to provide for the correction of the levels of luminance based on mode is performed incrementally in accordance with distance from the point of gaze, as illustrated in FIG. 39A-B (Yamamoto Fig. 39A-39B; [0251]-[0253]).
However, Selan in view of Yamamoto does not teach each of the plurality of light output features comprising the same material as a remainder of the optical light guide and including a physical geometry that allows light inside the optical light guide to exit the optical light guide toward the user’s eye during use of the HMD device, optical light guide comprising a solid light-transmissive material that is operative to transport illumination light via total internal reflection (TIR) through the optical light guide from one or more light sources to the user’s for eye tracking.
In the analogous art of head-mountable displays, Cakmakci teaches the frame 110 supports display housings 106 for the respective micro-displays 105. Each display housing 106 encloses a portion of its micro-display 105. Display light 103 leaves each microdisplay 105 and enters a respective lightguide 101 from the top side 114 of the frame 110 such that the lightguides 101 are positioned in front of user eyes. The display light 103 is reflected inside and between the surfaces of the lightguide 101 one time at a first surface and one time at a second surface of the lightguide 101 by total internal reflection (TIR) and, subsequently, the display light 103 (Cakmakci Fig. 2; [0019]). Lightguide was made of glass and the lightguide 301 also includes one or more features such as one or more passages 347 into or through the lightguide 101 such as for receiving fasteners to hold a display housing (Cakmakci Fig. 3; [0027] and [0022]). It would have been obvious before the effective date that the optical system of Selan in view of Yamamoto to have used lightguide type implementation to direct light to the user’s eyes with passages. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have provide less constraints on particular geometry and physical design that had curved lightguides previously and preventing positioning to low field of view (FOV) displays that are on the order of 10 degrees diagonal within user sight and providing the placement of the microdisplay at the top of the lightguide (Cakmakci Fig. 3; [0004] and [0016]).
Regarding claim 23, Selan in view of Yamamoto do not teach the eye tracking system of claim 21, wherein the optical light guide is formed from at least one of polycarbonate, polymethyl methacrylate, or glass.
In the analogous art of head-mountable displays, Cakmakci teaches the frame 110 supports display housings 106 for the respective micro-displays 105. Each display housing 106 encloses a portion of its micro-display 105. Display light 103 leaves each microdisplay 105 and enters a respective lightguide 101 from the top side 114 of the frame 110 such that the lightguides 101 are positioned in front of user eyes. The display light 103 is reflected inside and between the surfaces of the lightguide 101 one time at a first surface and one time at a second surface of the lightguide 101 by total internal reflection (TIR) and, subsequently, the display light 103 (Cakmakci Fig. 2; [0019]). Lightguide was made of glass and the lightguide 301 also includes one or more features such as one or more passages 347 into or through the lightguide 101 such as for receiving fasteners to hold a display housing (Cakmakci Fig. 3; [0027] and [0022]). It would have been obvious before the effective date that the optical system of Selan in view of Yamamoto to have used lightguide type implementation to direct light to the user’s eyes with passages. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have provide less constraints on particular geometry and physical design that had curved lightguides previously and preventing positioning to low field of view (FOV) displays that are on the order of 10 degrees diagonal within user sight and providing the placement of the microdisplay at the top of the lightguide (Cakmakci Fig. 3; [0004] and [0016]).
Regarding claim 24, Selan does not teach the eye tracking system of claim 21, wherein the optical light guide is selectively removable from a main body of the optical tube assembly.
However, in the analogous art of head mounted display optical systems, Yamamoto teaches a head mounted display had first lens tube 10 and second lens tube 20 directly light into a first and second display panel 13. The lens tubes 10, 20 had a light input feature 12 that was configured to receive light from on the rearward side from the panels 13 as a light source. Also, there was a light output feature 14 toward the eye proximate to the front of lens tubes 10,20 (Yamamoto Fig. 1; [0080]-[0081 A first eye cup 14 is configured to fill in the space between user 99 and first lens tube 10 and is removeable. First eye cup 14 is made using a material that is capable of elastically deforming, such as silicon rubber, and has a light blocking characteristic. First eye cup 14 may be made using a sponge-like resin material. As a result of first eye cup 14 having a light blocking characteristic and being configured to fill in the space between user 99 and first lens tube 10, HMD 100 inhibits a reduction in visibility resulting from light emitted for the purpose of showing user 99 an image and external light mixing/exclusively internal. (Yamamoto Fig. 1; [0186] and [0199]). It would have been obvious to have had the eye tracking module to have been configured as taught by Yamamoto. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have a detection of the eye gaze to provide for the correction of the levels of luminance based on mode is performed incrementally in accordance with distance from the point of gaze, as illustrated in FIG. 39A-B (Yamamoto Fig. 39A-39B; [0251]-[0253]).
Regarding claim 25, Selan in view of Yamamoto and Cakmakci renders obvious the claim limitations in consideration of the grounds of rejection of claim 5 above
Regarding claim 26, Selan does not teach the eye tracking system of claim 25, wherein the optical sensor is positionable between a main body of the optical tube assembly and the optical light guide.
However, in the analogous art of head mounted display optical systems, Yamamoto teaches a head mounted display had first lens tube 10 and second lens tube 20 directly light into a first and second display panel 13. The lens tubes 10, 20 had a light input feature 12 that was configured to receive light from on the rearward side from the panels 13 as a light source. Also, there was a light output feature 14 toward the eye proximate to the front of lens tubes 10,20 (Yamamoto Fig. 1; [0080]-[0081]). The lens tubes also included a light source 200 and photoreceptor 199 for detecting the point of gaze of user 99. The photoreceptor was an additional light output feature spaced apart from the output 14 in the front of the lens optical tubes and eyecup 14. It would have been obvious to have had the eye tracking module to have been configured as taught by Yamamoto. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have a detection of the eye gaze to provide for the correction of the levels of luminance based on mode is performed incrementally in accordance with distance from the point of gaze, as illustrated in FIG. 39A-B (Yamamoto Fig. 39A-39B; [0251]-[0253]).
Regarding claim 27, Selan in view of Yamamoto and Cakmakci renders obvious the claim limitations in consideration of the grounds of rejection of claim 6 above
Regarding claim 28, Selan in view of Yamamoto and Cakmakci renders obvious the claim limitations in consideration of the grounds of rejection of claim 7 above
Regarding claim 29, Selan in view of Yamamoto and Cakmakci renders obvious the claim limitations in consideration of the grounds of rejection of claim 11 above
Claims 16 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2020/0228788 A1 by Selan in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2022/0035171 A1 by Yamamoto and U.S. Patent Publication 2020/0132919 A1 by Cakmakci, and further in view of U.S. Patent 11,815,692 B1 by Pickett et al. (“Pickett.”)
Regarding claim 16, Selan in view of Yamamoto and Carmakci do not teach the eye tracking system of claim 1, wherein the optical tube assembly and the optical light guide are formed via dual-shot injection molding process.
However, in the analogous art of head mounted displays with a light-blocker apparatus, Pickett teaches that a light-blocker apparatus interfacing with a user’s face around the eye area that blocked out light that leaked into the eyecup (Pickett Col. 2, lines 7-36). The light-blocker apparatus was formed from a double-shot molding using multiple materials, such as a combination of polycarbonate and injection (Pickett Figs. 5 and 7; Col. 4, lines 46-55). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to have . One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have a known method of manufacture for a light-blocker apparatus interfacing with a user’s face around the eye area that blocked out light that leaked with a flexible material that provided an improved fit that could have been attached or removed as needed and accounted for differences between users (Pickett Col. 2, lines 7-36 and Col. 4, lines 46-55).
Regarding claim 30, Selan in view of Yamamoto and Carmakci do not teach the eye tracking system of claim 21, wherein the optical tube assembly and the optical light guide are formed via dual-shot injection molding process.
However, in the analogous art of head mounted displays with a light-blocker apparatus, Pickett teaches that a light-blocker apparatus interfacing with a user’s face around the eye area that blocked out light that leaked into the eyecup (Pickett Col. 2, lines 7-36). The light-blocker apparatus was formed from a double-shot molding using multiple materials, such as a combination of polycarbonate and injection (Pickett Figs. 5 and 7; Col. 4, lines 46-55). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to have . One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have a known method of manufacture for a light-blocker apparatus interfacing with a user’s face around the eye area that blocked out light that leaked with a flexible material that provided an improved fit that could have been attached or removed as needed and accounted for differences between users (Pickett Col. 2, lines 7-36 and Col. 4, lines 46-55).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent Publication 2024/0045202 A1 by Woodgate et al. teaches the light is guided into illumination optical windows 25 in output directions distributed in the lateral direction 195 to the normal to the first guide surface 8 in dependence on the input positions as indicated by arrows 510. The first guide surface also comprises intermediate regions 10 between the facets 12 that are arranged to guide light through the waveguide 1.
U.S. Patent Publication 2023/0100029 A1 by Tsutsui teaches the first surface 324 parallel to the second surface 325, the light flux entered through the optical entrance 320 propagates forward while undergoing the total reflection on the pair of the first surface 324 and the second surface 325. This configuration facilitates designing of a thinner first light guide portion 32.
U.S. Patent Publication 2023/0100029 A1 by Kelly teaches the conventional optical system placed in front of a flat panel of image-display pixels to project collimated light from those pixels as a virtual image through the exit pupil of that optical system, which light is thereafter directed or “coupled” into an optical waveguide where the light travels through multiple internal reflections until interacting with features within the waveguide which redirect or “decouple” the collimated light out of the waveguide into an expanded exit pupil 158.
U.S. Patent Publication 2021/0294106 A1 by Meitav et al. teaches two cameras imaiging an eye in HMD display device, the two cameras 802 a, 802 b provide a larger field of view in the aggregate as compared to use of just one of the cameras.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MAHEEN I JAVED/Examiner, Art Unit 2621
/AMR A AWAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2621