DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Seiss et al (US 2019/0046702, hereinafter “Siess”).
Regarding claim 1, Seiss discloses an inlet device for use in a mechanical circulatory support system, the inlet device (pars 0004-0006) comprising: an inlet portion for admitting a body fluid of a patient into the inlet device (see figure 1, element 11; par 0036); and a transfer portion connected to and in fluid communication with the inlet portion and having a support structure, wherein the transfer portion is deformably formed (see figure 1, element 3 and distal end portion EP; par 0036-0037).
Regarding claim 2, Seiss discloses that the transfer portion comprises a transition portion adjacent to and in fluid communication with the inlet portion (par 0036-0037).
Regarding claim 3, Seiss discloses the transition portion comprises
a variable cross-sectional area and/or variable diameter (see figures 1-6 for various cross sections of the distal end; par 0036-0037).
Regarding claim 4, Seiss discloses the variable cross-sectional area
and/or variable diameter of the transition portion increases away from the inlet portion (see figures 1-6 for various cross sections of the distal end which include increases in diameter towards the distal portion and away from the inlet portion 11; par 0036-0037).
Regarding claim 5, Seiss discloses a cross-sectional area and/or diameter of the transfer portion is greater than a cross-sectional area and/or diameter of the inlet portion (see figures 1-6 for various cross sections of the distal end which include increases in diameter towards the distal portion and away from the inlet portion 11 such that a cross-sectional area and/or diameter of the transfer portion is greater than a cross-sectional area and/or diameter of the inlet portion; par 0036-0037).
Regarding claim 6, Seiss discloses the cross-sectional area and/or the diameter of the transfer portion is 25% to 35% greater than the cross-sectional area and/or diameter of the inlet portion (see figures 1-6 for various cross sections of the distal end which include increases in diameter towards the distal portion and away from the inlet portion 11 such that a cross-sectional area and/or diameter of the transfer portion is greater than a cross-sectional area and/or diameter of the inlet portion, wherein the cross-sectional area and/or the diameter of the transfer portion is 25% to 35% greater than the cross-sectional area and/or diameter of the inlet portion; par 0036-0037).
Regarding claim 7, Seiss discloses an inner and/or an outer surface of the transfer portion comprises a polymer coating and/or a polymeric sleeve (pars 0038-0043).
Regarding claim 8, Seiss discloses the support structure of the transfer portion is formed from a plurality of serrated and/or zig-zagged structural elements (pars 0020, 0044).
Regarding claim 9, Seiss discloses the serrated and/or zig-zagged structural elements are arranged substantially obliquely to a longitudinal axis of the transfer portion and comprise finger elements (pars 0020, 0044; see figures 6-7).
Regarding claim 10, Seiss discloses the support structure of the transfer portion is formed from a plurality of structural elements arranged substantially obliquely to a longitudinal axis of the transfer portion (pars 0020, 0044; see figures 6-7).
Regarding claim 11, Seiss discloses the support structure of the transfer portion is at least partially wound (pars 0020, 0044; see figures 6-7).
Regarding claim 12, Seiss discloses the inlet device is at least partially wound (pars 0020, 0044; see figures 6-7).
Regarding claim 13, Seiss discloses the support structure comprises a super-elastic material (pars 0020, 0044; see figures 6-7).
Regarding claim 14, Seiss discloses an inlet device according to Claim 13, wherein the super-elastic material comprises Nitinol (pars 0020, 0044; see figures 6-7).
Regarding claim 15, Seiss discloses the inlet device comprises a super-elastic material (pars 0020, 0044; see figures 6-7).
Regarding claim 16, Seiss discloses the super-elastic material comprises Nitinol (pars 0020, 0044; see figures 6-7).
Regarding claim 17, Seiss discloses the support structure prevents collapse of the transfer section while a body fluid of a patient is transferred through the inlet device (pars 0007-0008, 0019).
Regarding claim 18, Seiss discloses the body fluid is blood (par 0036).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seiss in view of Mitze et al (US 2022/0161021, hereinafter “Mitze”).
Regarding claims 19 and 20, Seiss discloses the claimed invention (see rejection of claim 1 above), but does not explicitly disclose the transfer portion comprises a plurality of cuts configured to increase flexibility of the transfer portion, nor a width between adjacent cuts decreases from a proximal section of the inlet device to a distal section of the inlet device. Mitze is analogous art in regard to known structures for blood pumps (see figures 1, 9A-B). Mitze discloses it was known in the art to provide a plurality of cuts configured to increase flexibility of an elongated portion, where it was further known to modify the shape to affect a ratio of flexibility and rigidity (par 0065, 0139), where a width between adjacent cuts can decrease from a proximal section of the inlet device to a distal section of the inlet device (see figures 9A-B, par 0075). Applied to the invention of Seiss, the features of Mitze would provide a plurality of cuts configured to increase flexibility of the transfer portion, further including a width between adjacent cuts decreases from a proximal section of the inlet device to a distal section of the inlet device as known in the art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the features of Mitze in the invention of Seiss, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of a conventionally known flexible body that promotes for minimally invasive implantation.
Conclusion
Lindsey G Wehrheim
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3799
/LINDSEY G WEHRHEIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799