Status of Claims
2. This is a final action on the merits in response to the reply received 7/22/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are persuasive.
Applicant argues that Gokhale fails to disclose "determining, for at least each of two or more prediction units associated with a coding unit partitioned from a frame, and based on information indicating characteristics of a human visual system, a coding mode" (emphasis added) as claimed, Gokhale does not appear to teach "information indicating characteristics of a human visual system..., wherein the characteristics are indicative of perceptual data associated with the coding unit" (emphasis added) as claimed. The examiner respectfully disagrees. The examiner notes that the Applicant fails to look at the combination of the references as a whole. Kim discloses in [0049], determining, for at least each of two or more prediction units associated with a coding unit partitioned from a frame. Kim further discloses in [0021], coding unit hierarchy is interpreted as an amount and density of details (information indicating characteristics of human visual system) within the coding unit. However, Kim fails to disclose determining a coding mode based on information indicating characteristics of a human visual system, wherein the characteristics are indicative of perceptual data associated with coding unit. Gok discloses determining, for at least each of two or more prediction units associated with a coding unit partitioned from a frame in [0055], wherein Input video frames are partitioned recursively from coded tree blocks (CTBs) (e.g., largest coding units (LCUs)) to CUs and then nonrecursively into prediction units (PUs). Gok discloses determining coding modes for a block.is based on rate distortion in [0255]. In addition, [0258], discloses that rate distortion depends on psychovisual and persistence sensitivity value (S.sub.ppm) for the block. Therefore, determining a coding mode is dependent on psychovisual and persistence sensitivity value (S.sub.ppm) for the block, which is information indicating characteristics of a human visual system. Gok discloses in [0069], Human visual system based perceptual coding may be based on luminance sensitivity, contrast masking, contrast frequency sensitivity, contrast frequency masking, and motion masking. For example, weights may be assigned to blocks within video frames based on visibility thresholds computed from HVS modeling and the weights may be converted to Qp, which is interpreted as characteristics are indicative of perceptual data associated with coding unit. Rejection is maintained.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 8, and 15 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 10, 18 and 24, 20 and 27 of U.S. Patent No.11363306 (16836271), in view of US 20180376153 A1-Gokhale et al (Hereinafter referred to as “Gok”).
Referring to claims 1, 8, and 15, taking claim 1 as exemplary, although Conflicting Patent Application 11363306 (16836271), does not explicitly disclose what’s claimed in Instant Application-18461386, determining a coding mode based on information indicating characteristics of a human visual system, wherein the characteristics are indicative of perceptual data associated with coding unit.
However, Gok discloses determining a coding mode based on information indicating characteristics of a human visual system ([0255], discloses determining coding modes for a block.is based on rate distortion; [0258], discloses that rate distortion depends on psychovisual and persistence sensitivity value (S.sub.ppm) for the block. Therefore, determining a coding mode is dependent on psychovisual and persistence sensitivity value (S.sub.ppm) for the bloc, which is information indicating characteristics of a human visual system), wherein the characteristics are indicative of perceptual data associated with coding unit ([0068], [0344])
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant's invention would have clearly recognized that it is quite advantageous for the Instant Application-18461386 to combine the teachings of Gok. It is for this reason one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to implement determining a coding mode based on information indicating characteristics of a human visual system, wherein the characteristics are indicative of perceptual data associated with coding unit. to provide improved coding results ([0344], Gok).
All dependent claims are rejected based on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting based on the dependent claims of Conflicting Patent Application 11363306 (16836271).
Claims 1, 8, and 15 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 8 and 15 of U.S. Patent No. 11800156 (17663477), in view of US 20180376153 A1-Gokhale et al (Hereinafter referred to as “Gok”).
Referring to claims 1, 8, and 15, taking claim 1 as exemplary, although Conflicting Patent Application 11800156 (17663477), does not explicitly disclose what’s claimed in Instant Application-18461386, determining a coding mode based on information indicating characteristics of a human visual system, wherein the characteristics are indicative of perceptual data associated with coding unit.
However, Gok discloses determining a coding mode based on information indicating characteristics of a human visual system ([0255], discloses determin coding modes for a block.is based on rate distortion; [0258], discloses that rate distortion depends on psychovisual and persistence sensitivity value (S.sub.ppm) for the block. Therefore, determining a coding mode is dependent on psychovisual and persistence sensitivity value (S.sub.ppm) for the bloc, which is information indicating characteristics of a human visual system), wherein the characteristics are indicative of perceptual data associated with coding unit ([0068], [0344])
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant's invention would have clearly recognized that it is quite advantageous for the Instant Application-18461386 to combine the teachings of Gok. It is for this reason one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to implement determining a coding mode based on information indicating characteristics of a human visual system, wherein the characteristics are indicative of perceptual data associated with coding unit. to provide improved coding results ([0344], Gok).
All dependent claims are rejected based on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting based on the dependent claims of Conflicting Patent Application 11800156 (17663477).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-12, 14-18, 20-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20140050263 A1-Kim, in view of US 20180376153 A1-Gokhale et al (Hereinafter referred to as “Gok”).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a method (Fig. 5) comprising:
determining, for at least each of two or more prediction units associated with a coding unit partitioned from a frame ([0049], wherein splitting CUs into 4 Pus), and based on information indicating characteristics of a human visual system ([0021], coding unit hierarchy is interpreted as an amount and density of details (information indicating characteristics of human visual system) within the coding unit), a coding mode that minimizes distortion in an encoded bitstream associated with the coding unit ([0021], minimizes distortion; [0037-0039]) ;
determining, based on the determined coding mode, a residual signal comprising a difference between at least each of the two or more prediction units and at least each of one or more corresponding prediction areas in the frame ([0042], wherein each residual PU is determined by the difference of a predicted PU and original PU; and
causing output of the encoded bitstream comprising the residual signal ([0046], output estimated residual information).
Kim fails to disclose determining a coding mode based on information indicating characteristics of a human visual system, wherein the characteristics are indicative of perceptual data associated with coding unit
However, in the same field of endeavor, Gok discloses determining a coding mode based on information indicating characteristics of a human visual system ([0255], discloses determining coding modes for a block.is based on rate distortion; [0258], discloses that rate distortion depends on psychovisual and persistence sensitivity value (S.sub.ppm) for the block. Therefore, determining a coding mode is dependent on psychovisual and persistence sensitivity value (S.sub.ppm) for the bloc, which is information indicating characteristics of a human visual system), wherein the characteristics are indicative of perceptual data associated with coding unit ([0068], [0344])
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant's invention would have clearly recognized that it is quite advantageous for the Instant Application-18461386 to combine the teachings of Gok. It is for this reason one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to implement determining a coding mode based on information indicating characteristics of a human visual system, wherein the characteristics are indicative of perceptual data associated with coding unit. to provide improved coding results ([0344], Gok).
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the determining the coding mode comprises minimizing a cost function based on the two or more prediction units ([0021], minimizes distortion; [0037-0039]; ([0049], wherein splitting CUs into 4 Pus).
Regarding claim 3, Gok discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the cost function comprises a Lagrangian multiplier determined based on the information indicating characteristics of the human visual system ([0252], lagrange multiplier; 0258], discloses that rate distortion that includes the langrage multiplier depends on psychovisual and persistence sensitivity value (S.sub.ppm) for the block).
Regarding claim 4, Gok discloses the method of claim 3, wherein the Lagrangian multiplier varies for each of the two or more prediction units ([0081], wherein adaptive means varies)
Regarding claim 5, Kim discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the generating comprises generating a distortion decoder picture buffer comprising information indicating a map of pixel differences between encoded frames in the encoded bitstream ([0047).
Regarding claim 7, Kim in view of Gok discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the characteristics of the human visual system comprise at least one of: a contrast sensitivity function for a content type, a viewing condition, a spatial resolution of the video data, an amount and density of details within the coding unit, or a speed of motion or optical flow (([0021], coding unit hierarchy is interpreted as an amount and density of details within the coding unit; GOK, [0383]).
Regarding claim 8, analyses are analogous to those presented for claim 1 and are applicable for claim 8.
Regarding claim 9, analyses are analogous to those presented for claim 2 and are applicable for claim 9.
Regarding claim 10, analyses are analogous to those presented for claim 3 and are applicable for claim 10.
Regarding claim 11, analyses are analogous to those presented for claim 4 and are applicable for claim 11.
Regarding claim 12, analyses are analogous to those presented for claim 5 and are applicable for claim 12.
Regarding claim 14, analyses are analogous to those presented for claim 7 and are applicable for claim 14.
Regarding claim 15, analyses are analogous to those presented for claim 1 and are applicable for claim 15, wherein a device ([0058]) and processor ([058])
Regarding claim 16, Kim in view of GOK discloses the device of claim 15, wherein the determining the coding mode comprises minimizing a cost function based on the two or more prediction units ([0021], minimizes distortion; [0037-0039]; ([0049], wherein splitting CUs into 4 Pus), wherein the cost function comprises a Lagrangian multiplier determined based on the information indicating characteristics of the human visual system (GOK, [0252], lagrange multiplier; Gok 0258], discloses that rate distortion that includes the langrage multiplier depends on psychovisual and persistence sensitivity value (S.sub.ppm) for the block).
Regarding claim 17, analyses are analogous to those presented for claim 4 and are applicable for claim 17.
Regarding claim 18, analyses are analogous to those presented for claim 5 and are applicable for claim 18.
Regarding claim 20, analyses are analogous to those presented for claim 7 and are applicable for claim 20.
Regarding claim 21, Kim discloses the device of claim 15, wherein determining the coding mode comprises determining a respective coding mode for each of the two or more prediction units (wherein each of the intra prediction modes (coding modes) of the prediction units are tested).
Regarding claim 22, analyses are analogous to those presented for claim 21 and are applicable for claim 22.
Regarding claim 23, analyses are analogous to those presented for claim 21 and are applicable for claim 23.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
LERON . BECK
Examiner
Art Unit 2487
/LERON BECK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487