CTNF 18/461,387 CTNF 95842 DETAILED ACTION This office action is in response to the communication received on March 6, 2026 concerning application No. 18/461,387 filed on September 5, 2023. Claims 1-6 and 8-21 are currently pending. Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Response to Arguments 07-37 AIA Applicant's arguments filed 0 3/06/2026 regarding the prior art rejection h ave been fully considered but they are not persuasive. I n response to the applicant’s arguments that the prior art fails to teach “one or more light guides configured to receive light emitted by the light-emitting system and to convey the light emitted by the light-emitting system in a parallel direction that is within 20 degrees of being parallel to the outer surface of the platen” and “a plurality of light-extracting elements residing within the one or more light guides”, examiner respectfully disagrees. The amendments to the claims have been entered and change the interpretation of the claim limitations. Therefore the rejection has been adjusted to now rely on the apparatus shown in figure 5A-5B of Kitchens as the primary reference and no longer relies on the apparatus shown in figure 6 of Kitchens. As shown in figure 5A of Kitchens the beamsplitter 201 (light guide) receives the light from the LED 204 and conveys the light within 20 degrees of being parallel to the outer surface of the platen (side in contact with the finger). Therefore Kitchens teaches the first argued limitation recited above. Further, as set forth in the previous office action [0032] and fig. 1 of Shahzad disclose beamsplitters 32a-d (light-extracting elements) that reside within the light guide. Therefore, Shahzad teaches the second argued limitation recited above. Applicant further argues that the beamsplitting assembly 30 of Shahzad is not a “light guide” because it does not guide light. However, figs. 1-4 of Shahzad show that the light emitted from light source 20 is guided through beamsplitting assembly 30, thereby making the assembly a light guide. I n response to applicant’s arguments on pg. 9-10 that the prior art fails to teach “wherein the first light-emitting device and the second light-emitting device are positioned at one or more edges of the one or more light guides and are configured to emit light along an axis that is within 20 degrees of being parallel to the outer surface of the platen”, examiner respectfully disagrees. Fig. 5A and [0088]-[0089] of Kitchens discloses the light source system 204 which comprises the first and second light emitting devices, is positioned at an edge (side 502) of the light guide (beamsplitter 501) and emits light along an axis that is within 20 degrees of being parallel to the outer surface of the platen (side in contact with the finger). Therefore, Kitchens teaches the argued limitation recited above. For at least these reasons Kitchens in view of Shahzad teaches amended claim 1. In response to applicant’s arguments on pgs. 10-14 that the prior art of record fails to teach the limitations of claim 2, examiner respectfully disagrees. As set forth in the previous office action [0081] and [0083] of Kitchens teaches discriminating between vein heart rate waveforms and artery heart rate waveforms using depth discriminated signals. [0081] further discloses the process of receiving the signals includes receiving photoacoustic emissions. Therefore the received ultrasonic signals correspond to photoacoustic responses. Additionally, see [0174]-[0184] which disclose receiving the signals corresponding to photoacoustic emissions. Additionally, in response to applicant's argument on pgs. 10-14 that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “a wavelength-based differentiation technique—differentiating signals based on comparing photoacoustic responses to light of different wavelengths”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns , 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). For at least these reasons Kitchens teaches the limitations of claim 2. In response to applicant’s arguments on pgs. 14-17 regarding claims 12-14. Applicant’s arguments overcome the prior art rejection of claims 12-14 previously set forth. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of a new prior art reference . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claims 1-6 and 8-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 1 recites the limitation "the one or more light guides" in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The claim does not previously recite one or more light guides. Claims dependent upon the rejected claims above, but not directly addressed, are also rejected because they inherit the indefiniteness of the claim(s) they respectively depend upon. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. Claim(s) 1-6 and 8-11, 15-17 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Kitchens et al. (US 20220175258, hereinafter Kitchens) in view of Shahzad et al. (US 20100229650, hereinafter Shahzad). Regarding claim 1, Kitchens teaches an apparatus (apparatus 200 in fig. 2) , comprising: a platen ([0067] “the apparatus 200 may include a platen”) ; a light source system ([0067] the light source system 204 in fig. 5A-B) configured for providing light to a target object on an outer surface of the platen (fig. 5A shows the light source is configured for providing light to a target finger on an outer surface of the platen) , the light source system comprising: a light-emitting system including a first light-emitting device configured to emit first light of a first wavelength and a second light-emitting device configured to emit second light of a second wavelength ([0070] “the light source system 204 may be configured for emitting various wavelengths of light”, where the wavelengths are in the range of 750nm to 850 nm and 495nm to 570nm. The part of the light system 204 that emits the light in the first wavelength is considered the first light emitting device and the part of the light system 204 that emits the light in the second wavelength is considered the second light emitting device) , wherein the first light-emitting device and the second light-emitting device are positioned at one or more edges of the one or more light guides and are configured to emit light along an axis that is within 20 degrees of being parallel to the outer surface of the platen (fig. 5A and [0088]-[0089] discloses the light source system 204 which comprises the first and second light emitting devices, is positioned at an edge (side 502) of the light guide (beamsplitter 501) and emits light along an axis that is within 20 degrees of being parallel to the outer surface of the platen (side in contact with the finger)) ; and a light guide system ([0088] beamsplitter 501) including: one or more light guides configured to receive light emitted by the light- emitting system and to convey the light emitted by the light-emitting system in a parallel direction that is within 20 degrees of being parallel to the outer surface of the platen (fig. 5A shows the beamsplitter receives the light from the LED 204 and conveys the light within 20 degrees of being parallel to the outer surface of the platen (side in contact with the finger)) ; and a light-extracting element residing within the one or more light guides, being configured to change a direction of light conveyed within the light guide from the parallel direction to a direction towards the platen, thereby directing light out of the light guide towards the platen (fig. 5A shows the beamsplitter includes a light-extracting element that resides within the light guide and changes the direction of light conveyed within the light guide from parallel to a direction towards the platen) ; an ultrasonic receiver system (ultrasonic receiver 202 in fig. 2) configured to receive ultrasonic waves generated by the target object responsive to the light from the light source system ([0070] “an infrared (IR) light-emitting diode LED may be selected and a short pulse of IR light emitted to illuminate a portion of a target object and generate acoustic wave emissions that are then detected by the ultrasonic receiver 202”) ; and a control system (control system 206 in fig. 2) configured to: cause the light source system to provide the first light to the target object at a first time ([0174]-[0184] “control system configured for: controlling the light source system to emit a plurality of light pulses into biological tissue”, the first pulse is considered the first light being provided to the target) ; receive first ultrasonic receiver signals from the ultrasonic receiver system corresponding to photoacoustic responses of the target object to the first light ([0174]-[0184] “receiving first signals from the first piezoelectric receiver…the first acoustic waves corresponding to first photoacoustic emissions…causes by at least a first subset of light pulses of the plurality of light pulses”) ; cause the light source system to provide the second light to the target object at a second time ([0174]-[0184] “control system configured for: controlling the light source system to emit a plurality of light pulses into biological tissue”, the second set of pulses is considered the second light being provided to the target) ; receive second ultrasonic receiver signals from the ultrasonic receiver system corresponding to photoacoustic responses of the target object to the second light ([0174]-[0184] “receiving second signals from the second sensor…the second sensor comprises a second piezoelectric receiver…wherein the second signals correspond to second acoustic waves…the second acoustic waves corresponding to second photoacoustic emissions…caused by at least a second subset of light pulses”) ; and estimate one or more blood vessel features based on at least one of the first ultrasonic receiver signals or the second ultrasonic receiver signals ([0174]-[0184] “determining pulse transit time data based, at least in part, on the first signals and the second signals; and making a blood pressure estimation based, at least in part, on the pulse transit time data”, the pulse transit time data and blood pressure estimation are considered the blood vessel features) . Kitchens does not specifically teach a plurality of light-extracting elements residing within the one or more light guides, each of the light-extracting elements being configured to change a direction of light conveyed within the light guide from the parallel direction to a direction towards the platen, thereby directing light out of the light guide towards the platen. However, Shahzad in a similar field of directing light teaches a light guide system ([0032] illumination apparatus 10 in fig. 1 and 56 in fig. 7) that includes a plurality of light-extracting elements residing within one or more light guides ([0032] and fig. 1 disclose beamsplitters 32a-d (light-extracting elements) that reside within the light guide) , each of the light-extracting elements being configured to change a direction of light conveyed within the light guide from the parallel direction to a direction towards the platen, thereby direction light out of the light guide towards the platen (fig. 1 shows each of the beamsplitters is configured to change a direction of the light from parallel to a direction towards the platen. As discussed above [0038] discloses the light from emanating from the illumination apparatus is concentrated on the target sample. Therefore the light is directed towards the target and the platen using the beamsplitters) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the light guide system of Kitchens for the light guide system of Shahzad because it amounts to simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain the predictable results of directing light towards the target subject. Regarding claim 2, Kitchens in view of Shahzad teaches the apparatus of claim 1, as set forth above. Kitchens further teaches the control system is further configured to differentiate a desired signal from one or more background signals based, at least in part, on the first ultrasonic receiver signals and the second ultrasonic receiver signals ([0081] “the control system may be configured for discriminating between vein heart rate waveforms and artery heart rate waveforms by obtaining depth-discriminated signals”. [0083] further discloses receiving signals by the piezoelectric receiver includes receiving the depth-discriminated signals. By discriminating between signals the control system is configured to differentiate a desired signal from a background signal) . Regarding claim 3, Kitchens in view of Shahzad teaches the apparatus of claim 2, as set forth above. Kitchens further teaches the desired signal corresponds to a blood vessel within the target object ([0081] discloses the discriminating (differentiating) the signals includes identifying signals corresponding to veins/arteries which is considered a blood vessel within the target object) . Regarding claim 4, Kitchens in view of Shahzad teaches the apparatus of claim 1, as set forth above. Kitchens further teaches the one or more blood vessel features include blood vessel diameter ([0126] discloses determining artery and vein diameter data) , blood vessel area, blood vessel profile, blood vessel distention, volumetric flow ([0064] discloses using the signals to detect volumetric changes in the blood) , pulse wave velocity ([0158] discloses measuring pulse wave velocity) , blood vessel wall thickness ([0159] discloses measuring arterial wall thickness) , or combinations thereof. Regarding claim 5, Kitchens in view of Shahzad teaches the apparatus of claim 1, as set forth above. Kitchens further teaches the control system is further configured to estimate blood pressure based, at least in part, on the one or more blood vessel features ([0174]-[0184] “determining pulse transit time data based, at least in part, on the first signals and the second signals; and making a blood pressure estimation based, at least in part, on the pulse transit time data”, the pulse transit time data and blood pressure estimation are considered the blood vessel features) . Regarding claim 6, Kitchens in view of Shahzad teaches the apparatus of claim 1, as set forth above. Kitchens further teaches the first light-emitting device comprises a first laser configured to emit the first light and the second light-emitting device comprises a second laser configured to emit the second light ([0092] discloses “a light source system 204, which may include an array of light-emitting diodes and/or an array of laser diodes”, each of the laser diodes in the array is considered its own light-emitting device, therefore each light-emitting device comprises a laser configured to emit light) . Regarding claim 8, Kitchens in view of Shahzad teaches the apparatus of claim 1, as set forth above. Shahzad further teaches the light-extracting elements include one or more indentations in, protuberances of, or structures formed on, a light guide surface (fig. 1 shows the light extracting elements include beamsplitters 32 (structures) formed on a connection (light guide surface)) . Regarding claim 9, Kitchens in view of Shahzad teaches the apparatus of claim 8, as set forth above. Shahzad further teaches the light-extracting elements include one or more three-dimensional shapes formed from the indentations in, protuberances of, or structures formed on, the light guide surface ([0032] and fig. 1 discloses the structures are beamsplitters which are considered 3D shapes) . Regarding claim 10, Kitchens in view of Shahzad teaches the apparatus of claim 1, as set forth above. Shahzad further teaches the light-extracting elements include one or more beam splitters ([0032] and fig. 1 disclose the elements are beamsplitters 32a-d) . Regarding claim 11, Kitchens in view of Shahzad teaches the apparatus of claim 1, as set forth above. Shahzad further teaches the light-extracting elements include one or more mirrors or other reflective structures ([0032]-[0033] disclose beamsplitters 32a-d which are considered the reflective structures) . Regarding claim 15, Kitchens in view of Shahzad teaches the apparatus of claim 1, as set forth above. Kitchens further teaches the ultrasonic receiver system includes a linear array of ultrasonic receiver elements, a two-dimensional array of ultrasonic receiver elements, or both ([0068] discloses the ultrasonic receiver 202 include an array of ultrasonic transducer elements such as a single layer array of PMUTs or CMUTs) . Regarding claim 16, Kitchens in view of Shahzad teaches the apparatus of claim 1, as set forth above. Kitchens further teaches the ultrasonic receiver system includes an array of transparent ultrasonic receiver elements, a transparent piezoelectric layer, a transparent electrode layer, or combinations thereof ([0093] discloses the layers of the sack are transparent, meaning the piezoelectric receiver layer is transparent. [0094] further discloses “sensor pixels 602 of the ultrasonic receiver 202 may be transparent”, which corresponds to an array of transparent ultrasound receiver elements) . Regarding claim 17, Kitchens in view of Shahzad teaches the apparatus of claim 1, as set forth above. Kitchens further teaches a transparent backing layer residing between the one or more light guides and the array of transparent ultrasonic receiver elements, the transparent piezoelectric layer, the transparent electrode layer, or combinations thereof ([0093] discloses the layers of the sensor stack 605 are made of glass or other material that is transparent, meaning the substrate layer 610 (backing layer) between the light guides and the array of transparent ultrasound receiver elements is transparent) . Regarding claim 21, in view of Shahzad teaches the apparatus of claim 1, as set forth above. Kitchens further teaches the first light-emitting device and the second light-emitting device reside on a first side of the platen (fig. 6 shows the light emitting devices (light sources 604) all reside on the same side of the platen) . 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kitchens in view of Shahzad as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 20120300497, hereinafter Kim) . Regarding claim 12, Kitchens in view of Shahzad teaches the apparatus of claim 1, as set forth above. Shahzad further teaches the light-extracting elements are configured to provide substantially uniform light to an illuminated area of the outer surface of the platen. Kitchens in view of Shahzad does not specifically teach the light extracting elements are a two-dimensional array of light-extracting elements . However, Kim in a similar field of endeavor teaches a two-dimensional array of light-extracting elements ([0022] and fig. 1 teach that the light-extracting elements 130 are arranged in a two-dimensional array) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the light-extracting elements of Kitchens in view of Shahzad to be a two-dimensional array of light-extracting elements in order to improve light emission uniformity and reduce visual artifacts, as recognized by Kim (abstract). Regarding claim 13, Kitchens in view of Shahzad teaches the apparatus of claim 1, as set forth above. Kitchens in view of Shahzad does not specifically teach at least some light-extracting elements are arranged with unequal spacing between the light-extracting elements within the one or more light guides. However, Kim in a similar field of endeavor teaches some light extracting elements are arranged with unequal spacing between the light-extracting elements within the one or more light guides (fig. 1 shows that the light-extracting elements 130 within the light guide 125 are arranged with unequal spacing) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the light-extracting elements of Kitchens in view of Shahzad to have some light extracting elements be arranged with unequal spacing between the light-extracting elements within the one or more light guides in order to improve light emission uniformity and reduce visual artifacts, as recognized by Kim (abstract). Regarding claim 14, Kitchens in view of Shahzad and Kim teaches the apparatus of claim 13, as set forth above. Kim further teaches light-extracting elements located farther from the first light-emitting device are spaced closer together than light-extracting elements located closer to the first light-emitting device (fig. 1 shows the light extracting elements 130 located farther from the light emitting device 122 are spaced closer together than the elements located closer to the light emitting device) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the light-extracting elements of Kitchens in view of Shahzad to have light-extracting elements located farther from the first light-emitting device are spaced closer together than light-extracting elements located closer to the first light-emitting device in order to improve light emission uniformity and reduce visual artifacts, as recognized by Kim (abstract) . 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kitchens in view of Shahzad as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Dangi et al. (US 20220133273, hereinafter Dangi) . Regarding claim 18, Kitchens in view of Shahzad teaches the apparatus of claim 1, as set forth above. Kitchens in view of Shahzad does not specifically teach one or more ultrasonic receiver elements of the ultrasonic receiver system resides on a first side of the one or more light guides and receiver system circuitry resides on a second and opposing side of the one or more light guides. However, Dangi in a similar field of photoacoustic imaging discloses one or more ultrasonic receiver elements of the ultrasonic receiver system resides on a first side of the one or more light guides (fig. 16 shows the ultrasound transducer (receiver element) resides on a first side of the light guide (light source)) and receiver system circuitry resides on a second and opposing side of the one or more light guides (fig. 16 shows the smartphone base (receiver system circuitry) resides on a second and opposing side of the light guide (light source) than the ultrasound transducer (receiver element)) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the known technique of having one or more ultrasonic receiver elements of the ultrasonic receiver system reside on a first side of the one or more light guides and receiver system circuitry reside on a second and opposing side of the one or more light guides of Dangi to the apparatus of Kitchens in view of Shahzad to allow for the predictable results of reducing interference from the circuitry interfering with the signals received by the ultrasonic receiver elements, thereby making the results more accurate . 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kitchens in view of Shahzad as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Saccomanno (US 7015983 B2) . Regarding claim 19, Kitchens in view of Shahzad teaches the apparatus of claim 1, as set forth above. Kitchens in view of Shahzad does not specifically teach the first light-emitting device resides on a first side of the platen and the second light-emitting device resides on a second side of the platen. However, Saccomanno in a similar field of optical projection discloses a first light-emitting device resides on a first side of the platen and a second light-emitting device resides on a second side of the platen (figs. 9-9A show a first light emitting device 730a resides on a first side of the platen (top of box 732) and a second light emitting device 730b residing on a second side of the platen) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the known technique of the first light-emitting device resides on a first side of the platen and the second light-emitting device resides on a second side of the platen of Saccomanno to the apparatus of Kitchens in view of Shahzad in order to allow for the predictable results of emitting light from different angles on to the target, thereby ensuring the entire subject is radiated with light which would result in a more thorough examination of the subject. Regarding claim 20, Kitchens in view of Shahzad and Saccomanno teaches the apparatus of claim 19, as set forth above. Saccomanno further teaches the first side is adjacent to the second side (fig. 9 shows the first side where 730a is located is adjacent to the second side where 730b is located) . Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ANDREW BEGEMAN whose telephone number is (571)272-4744. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Thursday 8:30-5:00. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Keith Raymond can be reached at 5712701790. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ANDREW W BEGEMAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3798 Application/Control Number: 18/461,387 Page 2 Art Unit: 3798 Application/Control Number: 18/461,387 Page 3 Art Unit: 3798 Application/Control Number: 18/461,387 Page 4 Art Unit: 3798 Application/Control Number: 18/461,387 Page 5 Art Unit: 3798 Application/Control Number: 18/461,387 Page 6 Art Unit: 3798 Application/Control Number: 18/461,387 Page 7 Art Unit: 3798 Application/Control Number: 18/461,387 Page 8 Art Unit: 3798 Application/Control Number: 18/461,387 Page 9 Art Unit: 3798 Application/Control Number: 18/461,387 Page 10 Art Unit: 3798 Application/Control Number: 18/461,387 Page 11 Art Unit: 3798 Application/Control Number: 18/461,387 Page 12 Art Unit: 3798 Application/Control Number: 18/461,387 Page 13 Art Unit: 3798 Application/Control Number: 18/461,387 Page 14 Art Unit: 3798 Application/Control Number: 18/461,387 Page 15 Art Unit: 3798 Application/Control Number: 18/461,387 Page 16 Art Unit: 3798 Application/Control Number: 18/461,387 Page 17 Art Unit: 3798