Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-9, and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 20190339359 A1) in view of Godbaz (US 20200326426 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wang teaches [Note: what Wang fails to clearly teach is strike-through]
A measurement apparatus comprising: (a frequency modulation continuous wave (FMCW)-based system suitable for range and/or speed estimation (paragraph 0023)) a light source that emits frequency-modulated light; (a frequency modulation continuous wave (FMCW)-based system 100 suitable for range and/or speed estimation according to some embodiments. The system 100 includes at least one emitter 110 to transmit at least one wave of radiation 115 to a scene. (paragraph 0060)) an interference optical system that separates the light emitted from the light source into reference light and output light and generates interfering light resulting from interference between reflected light produced by the output light being reflected off a physical object and the reference light; (The light is generated from a frequency-swept laser source 221 with a time-frequency pattern, such as the pattern 231, is split by a beam splitter 203 to both a reference mirror 222 and a sample of interest 224. (paragraph 0080)) a photodetector that receives the interfering light and outputs a detection signal corresponding to an intensity of the interfering light; (The system 100 also includes a mixer 130 operatively connected to the emitter 110 and the receiver 120 to interfere a copy of the wave 115 outputted by the emitter with the reflection of the transmitted wave 125 received by the receiver to produce a beat signal 135. (paragraph 0061)) (The FMCW-based electromagnetic sensing system includes an FMCW source 211 that sweeps the frequency over a short period of time (paragraph 0079)) corrects the detection signal on the basis of one or more pieces of correcting data selected from among the plurality of pieces of correcting data according to the operating state of the light source, (For example, the embodiment selects 180 values of the coefficients of the basis function 181 and values of the distances to the locations in the scene 182 such that a beat signal reconstructed with the selected values of the coefficients of the basis function and frequency components with frequencies corresponding to the selected values of the distances to the locations in the scene approximates the distorted beat signal. (paragraph 0068)) generates measurement data on a distance to and/or a velocity of the physical object on the basis of the detection signal thus corrected, and outputs the measurement data. (When the results of comparison 195 shows that the reconstructed 191 and distorted 135 beat signals are matching to each other, e.g., their difference is less than a threshold, the selected values of the distances to the locations in the scene 182 are outputted as the final distances 145. (paragraph 0068))
Godbaz teaches,
a storage device that stores a plurality of pieces of correcting data for use in correction of the detection signal, each of the plurality of pieces of correcting data being associated with a corresponding one of a plurality of different operating states of the light source; (a storage device comprising instructions executable by the processor to modulate light emitted from the light source to illuminate an environment with modulated light, and for each of one or more modulation frequencies (paragraph 0003))
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Godbaz into the invention of Wang. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose using correction data in LIDAR systems. The combination of Godbaz and Wang would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success to store a plurality of correction data.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Wang and Godbaz, as shown in the rejection above discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Wang further teaches and the processing circuit corrects the detection signal on the basis of one or more pieces of first correcting data selected from among the two or more pieces of first correcting data according to the temperature of the light source as measured by the temperature sensor. (Unfortunately, the non-linearity of the modulation can be caused by various factors including aging of the hardware and/or surrounding temperature that varies over time and are difficult to predict in advance. (paragraph 0011)). Wang fails to teach further comprising a temperature sensor that measures a temperature of the light source, wherein the plurality of pieces of correcting data includes two or more pieces of first correcting data each of which is associated with a corresponding one of two or more operating states differing in temperature of the light source,
In the same field of endeavor, Godbaz teaches further comprising a temperature sensor that measures a temperature of the light source, (one or more temperature sensors configured to sense a temperature of the light source (paragraph 0003)) wherein the plurality of pieces of correcting data includes two or more pieces of first correcting data each of which is associated with a corresponding one of two or more operating states differing in temperature of the light source, (It will be understood that there may be other mathematically similar or equivalent approaches that are within the scope of this disclosure, including where the calibration temperature is stored and the corpus temperature model is used to estimate the change in effective phase and amplitude versus the effective phase and amplitude at calibration without creating a modified temperature calibration model for each camera. (paragraph 0048))
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Godbaz into the invention of Wang. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose using correction data in LIDAR systems. The combination of Godbaz and Wang would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success to increase accuracy of the returned signal.
Regarding claim 3, Wang further teaches
wherein the control signal is a signal that inputs a periodically fluctuating voltage or current to the light source, (the emitter can include a source component generating the FMCW waveforms (paragraph 0060)) the plurality of pieces of correcting data includes two or more pieces of second correcting data each of which is associated with a corresponding one of two or more operating states differing in amplitude of the voltage or the current of the control signal, (Specifically, if the source nonlinearity function can be approximated by a third-order polynomial function with unknown coefficients (β.sub.0, β.sub.1, β.sub.2, β.sub.3), the beat signal s.sub.b(t) of multiple (K) reflectors with round-trip delays τ.sub.k can be mathematically described by Equation 1501, where A.sub.k is the reflected amplitude. The unknown delays (or, equivalently, distances) τ.sub.k and polynomial coefficients (β.sub.0, β.sub.1, β.sub.2, β.sub.3) appear in the phase of each component of the beat signal, along with the known sweeping rate α. (paragraph 0101)) and the processing circuit corrects the detection signal on the basis of one or more pieces of second correcting data selected from among the two or more pieces of second correcting data according to the amplitude of the present voltage or the present current. (Specifically, if the source nonlinearity function can be approximated by a third-order polynomial function with unknown coefficients (β.sub.0, β.sub.1, β.sub.2, β.sub.3), the beat signal s.sub.b(t) of multiple (K) reflectors with round-trip delays τ.sub.k can be mathematically described by Equation 1501, where A.sub.k is the reflected amplitude. The unknown delays (or, equivalently, distances) τ.sub.k and polynomial coefficients (β.sub.0, β.sub.1, β.sub.2, β.sub.3) appear in the phase of each component of the beat signal, along with the known sweeping rate α. (paragraph 0101))
Regarding claim 4, Wang further teaches
wherein the control signal is a signal that inputs, to the light source, a voltage that periodically fluctuates around a bias voltage or a current that periodically fluctuates around a bias current, (the emitter can include a source component generating the FMCW waveforms (paragraph 0060)) the plurality of pieces of correcting data includes two or more pieces of third correcting data each of which is associated with a corresponding one of two or more operating states differing in the bias voltage or the bias current of the control signal, (Specifically, if the source nonlinearity function can be approximated by a third-order polynomial function with unknown coefficients (β.sub.0, β.sub.1, β.sub.2, β.sub.3), the beat signal s.sub.b(t) of multiple (K) reflectors with round-trip delays τ.sub.k can be mathematically described by Equation 1501, where A.sub.k is the reflected amplitude. The unknown delays (or, equivalently, distances) τ.sub.k and polynomial coefficients (β.sub.0, β.sub.1, β.sub.2, β.sub.3) appear in the phase of each component of the beat signal, along with the known sweeping rate α. (paragraph 0101) and the processing circuit corrects the detection signal on the basis of one or more pieces of third correcting data selected from among the two or more pieces of third correcting data according to the present bias voltage or the present bias current. (Specifically, if the source nonlinearity function can be approximated by a third-order polynomial function with unknown coefficients (β.sub.0, β.sub.1, β.sub.2, β.sub.3), the beat signal s.sub.b(t) of multiple (K) reflectors with round-trip delays τ.sub.k can be mathematically described by Equation 1501, where A.sub.k is the reflected amplitude. The unknown delays (or, equivalently, distances) τ.sub.k and polynomial coefficients (β.sub.0, β.sub.1, β.sub.2, β.sub.3) appear in the phase of each component of the beat signal, along with the known sweeping rate α. (paragraph 0101))
Regarding claim 5, Wang further teaches
wherein in a case where no correcting data corresponding to the present operating state of the light source is stored in the storage device, the processing circuit generates, on the basis of at least one of the plurality of pieces of correcting data stored in the storage device, correcting data corresponding to the current operating state and corrects the detection signal on the basis of the correcting data thus generated. (FIG. 16 is a block diagram illustrating the reference-free nonlinearity correction used for range estimation by some embodiments. Compared with the reference-based approach in FIG. 8, which requires a reference beat signal 803, the reference-free nonlinearity correction only requires the digital beat signal 135 from multiple unknown reflectors. The ADC 401 samples the analog beat signal 135 into the digital signal 1600. Correction 1601 aims to simultaneously recover the delay (or distance) parameters of multiple reflectors and the parametric coefficients of the source nonlinearity function directly from the beat signal. (paragraph 0102))
Regarding claim 7, Wang further teaches
wherein each of the plurality of pieces of correcting data contains information on correction values corresponding separately to each of a plurality of voltage values or a plurality of current values of the control signal. (the processor jointly determines coefficients of a basis function approximating the non-linearity of the modulation and distances to the different locations at the scene having the objects causing the reflection resulting in the spectrum peaks in the distorted beat signal. (paragraph 0067))
Regarding claim 8, Wang further teaches
wherein each of the plurality of pieces of correcting data contains information on correction values corresponding separately to each of a plurality of phases or a plurality of timings of frequency modulation by the control signal. (the processor jointly determines coefficients of a basis function approximating the non-linearity of the modulation and distances to the different locations at the scene having the objects causing the reflection resulting in the spectrum peaks in the distorted beat signal. (paragraph 0067))
Regarding claim 9, Wang further teaches
wherein each of the plurality of pieces of correcting data contains information on a correction value for changing a sampling timing at which the processing circuit samples the detection signal. (a time-resampling based step to correct the beat signal with the estimated nonlinearity function, (paragraph 0092))
Regarding claim 12,
Claim 12 is a method claim that is substantially similar to apparatus claim 1, except for the following limitations, A method that is executed by a computer in a system including a measurement apparatus including, which are taught by Wang.
(the embodiments may be implemented using hardware, software or a combination thereof. When implemented in software, the software code can be executed on any suitable processor or collection of processors, whether provided in a single computer or distributed among multiple computers. (paragraph 0141)
The remaining limitations are taught using the same teachings provided for claim 1
Regarding claim 13,
Claim 13 is a method claim that is substantially similar to apparatus claim 1, except for the following limitations, A non-transitory computer-readable medium having a program executed by a computer, the computer being configured to control a measurement apparatus, which are taught by Wang.
(the embodiments may be implemented using hardware, software or a combination thereof. When implemented in software, the software code can be executed on any suitable processor or collection of processors, whether provided in a single computer or distributed among multiple computers. (paragraph 0141)
The remaining limitations are taught using the same teachings provided for claim 1
Claims 6, 10, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 20190339359 A1) in view of Godbaz (US 20200326426 A1) in further view of Goldstein et al. (US 20220057519).
Regarding claim 6 modified Wang teaches all of the elements of claim 1 as previously stated, however Wang fails to teach wherein in a case where no correcting data corresponding to the present operating state of the light source is stored in the storage device, the processing circuit selects, from among the plurality of pieces of correcting data stored in the storage device, two pieces of correcting data associated with two operating states that are closest to the present operating state, generates, through an interpolation process involving use of the two pieces of correcting data thus selected, correcting data corresponding to the current operating state, and corrects the detection signal on the basis of the correcting data thus generated.
In the same field of endeavor, Goldstein teaches wherein in a case where no correcting data corresponding to the present operating state of the light source is stored in the storage device, the processing circuit selects, from among the plurality of pieces of correcting data stored in the storage device, two pieces of correcting data associated with two operating states that are closest to the present operating state, generates, through an interpolation process involving use of the two pieces of correcting data thus selected, correcting data corresponding to the current operating state, and corrects the detection signal on the basis of the correcting data thus generated. (The above-described process may be repeated for every optical component and/or component that may affect a laser that can be manipulated for a minimum and/or maximum and stepped in between to a degree and accuracy needed to achieve error requirements for aiming the laser. Apparatus may then create a correction method such as a lookup table, and may interpolate corrections, for instance using a quadratic fit function, or the like, between values therefrom. (paragraph 0104))
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features disclosed in Goldstein into the modified invention of Wang. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed inventions as they both disclose using correction data in LIDAR systems. The combination of modified Wang and Goldstein increases accuracy of correction data.
Regarding claim 10 modified Wang teaches all of the elements of claim 1 as previously stated, however Wang fails to teach wherein each of the pieces of correcting data is data representing a correction table or a correction function for determining a correction value for use in correction of the detection signal.
In the same field of endeavor, Goldstein teaches wherein each of the pieces of correcting data is data representing a correction table or a correction function for determining a correction value for use in correction of the detection signal. (Apparatus may then create a correction method such as a lookup table, and may interpolate corrections, for instance using a quadratic fit function, or the like, between values therefrom. (paragraph 0104))
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features disclosed in Goldstein into the modified invention of Wang. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed inventions as they both disclose using correction data in LIDAR systems. The combination of modified Wang and Goldstein would allow for easy access to the correcting data.
Regarding claim 11 modified Wang teaches all of the elements of claim 1 as previously stated, however Wang fails to teach wherein the processing circuit creates the plurality of pieces of correcting data and stores each of the plurality of pieces of correcting data in the storage device in association with a corresponding operating state of the light source.
In the same field of endeavor, Goldstein teaches wherein the processing circuit creates the plurality of pieces of correcting data and stores each of the plurality of pieces of correcting data in the storage device in association with a corresponding operating state of the light source. (Apparatus may then create a correction method such as a lookup table, and may interpolate corrections, for instance using a quadratic fit function, or the like, between values therefrom. (paragraph 0104))
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features disclosed in Goldstein into the modified invention of Wang. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed inventions as they both disclose using correction data in LIDAR systems. The combination of modified Wang and Goldstein would allow for easy access to the correcting data.
Conclusion
/ETHAN JAKOB SLAUGHTER/Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/VLADIMIR MAGLOIRE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3648