DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on September 5, 2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims.
Therefore, the “sidewall” (as in claims 1 and 15) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Therefore, the “lifting actuator” (as in claim 1) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Therefore, the “four-bar linkage” (as in claim 4) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Therefore, the “stopping portion” (as in claim 8) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Therefore, the “hinge point” (as in claim 9) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Therefore, the “vertical axis” (as in claims 14 and 20) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The specification is Also objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: The Specification should include a Description and a Numeral directed to each of the following; “sidewall”, “lifting actuator”, “four-bar linkage”, “stopping portion”, “hinge point”, and “vertical axis”.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
As explained in MPEP 2181, subsection I, claim limitations that meet the following three-prong test will be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph:
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a plurality of control means configured to activate the lifting actuator for lifting or for lowering and to set the wheel-holder unit in rotation” in claims 11 and 17. However, claim limitations are read in view of the specification. In the instant case, the Specification in applicant’s PG-PUB describes “the plurality of control means” as being, “foot pedals” (see paragraph 214). Thus, in view of the specification, the limitation, “a plurality of control means”, is being interpreted as a plurality of foot pedals and/or equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Any remaining claims are rejected based on their dependency to a rejected base claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the sidewall" in Line 15. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. In order to expedite prosecution, the examiner has interpreted this limitation as actually disclosing “a sidewall”. However further clarification is respectfully requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5, 6 and 10-20 are rejected As Best Understood, under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dressler (2015/0273960).
In reference to claims 1 (As Best Understood) and 15, Dressler discloses a tyre changing machine (10) for mounting and demounting a tyre to and from a corresponding rim of a vehicle wheel (see Abstract), comprising:
- a wheel-holder unit (16) rotatable about a first vertical axis of rotation (see figure below) and configured to support the rim of the wheel from which or to which a respective tyre is to be demounted or mounted (see Abstract);
- a frame (12, Figure 1) having a front portion (see figure below) and a flank (11) and resting on a floor (Figure 1);
- a bead breaker unit (30), mounted on the flank of the frame and connected thereto and including an abutment surface (see figure below), a bead breaking arm (30) articulated to the frame to rotate about a second vertical axis (axis X in Figure 2), a paddle shaped bead breaker tool (32) mounted on the bead breaking arm, a bead breaker actuator (i.e. piston 40), connected to the bead breaking arm to move the bead breaker tool towards and away from the abutment surface (paragraphs 31 and 52), so as to detach the bead of the tyre from an annular edge of the rim of the wheel with the tyre tread resting on a supporting surface (i.e. surface 56, which has been formed as a platform, see paragraph 33.) at floor level and a sidewall (i.e. sidewall of the wheel) in contact with the abutment surface;
- a lifting device (formed from 52, 54 and 56, see paragraph 33), including a lifting arm (52) and a supporting platform (again at surface 56 that has been formed as a platform, see paragraph 33) defining a horizontal supporting surface on which to rest the wheel (Note; the definition of the term “platform” is defined according to www.merriam-webster.com as being; “a flat horizontal surface” thereby meeting the claimed limitation of the supporting platform), the supporting platform being connected to the lifting arm and movable between a lowered position, where it can receive the wheel to be lifted off the floor, and a raised position, where it is lifted to make it easier to place the wheel on the wheel-holder unit (paragraph 33), and a lifting actuator (formed from 40, 42, 44, 46, 48 and 50), connected to the lifting arm to move the supporting platform between the raised position and the lowered position (paragraph 33 and Figures 2 and 3);
- a box-shaped body (see figure below) operatively coupled to the flank of the frame (Figure 1), the box-shaped body having a lateral wall (see figure below) defining the abutment surface and internally defining a compartment (see internal space/compartment of the box-shaped body in Figure 3 that receives 46, 48 and 50 therein), wherein the lifting actuator is at least partly positioned (i.e. at 46, 48 and 50) in the compartment in the box-shaped body (Figure 3).
The examiner notes the method claim 15 merely discloses the normal operation of the device of claim 1 and therefore the same reasoning as previously discussed above for claim 1 applies mutatis mutandis to the subject matter of claim 15.
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (First vertical axis)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (Front portion)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Abutment surface/Lateral wall)]
[AltContent: textbox (Box-shaped body)]
In reference to claim 3, Dressler discloses that the lifting arm is movable in a plane (i.e. a vertical plane) parallel to the abutment surface (because the abutment surface is also vertical, Figure 1).
In reference to claim 5, Dressler discloses that the lifting device comprises an auxiliary platform (at 52 or as one of members 56) integral with the lifting arm and configured to define an additional supporting surface for the wheel (Figure 1).
In reference to claim 6, Dressler discloses that the lifting actuator is configured to position the lifting arm substantially parallel to the floor and the auxiliary platform juxtaposed with the supporting platform, with the supporting platform at the raised position (Figures 1-3).
In reference to claims 10 and 16, Dressler discloses that the bead breaker unit comprises a driving element (36), mounted on the bead breaking arm and configured to drive the bead breaker actuator (paragraphs 37-39), the driving element alternately adopting an advance position, where it drives the bead breaker actuator to move the bead breaker tool towards the abutment surface, and a return position, where it drives the bead breaker actuator to move the bead breaker tool away from the abutment surface (Figures 1-3 and paragraphs 38-41). The examiner notes the method claim 16 merely discloses the normal operation of the device of claim 10 and therefore the same reasoning as previously discussed above for claim 10 applies mutatis mutandis to the subject matter of claim 16.
In reference to claims 11 and 17, Dressler discloses that a plurality of control means (i.e. foot pedals 20, which meets the limitation of the control means, as previously interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), see section 9g above) configured to activate the lifting actuator for lifting or for lowering and to set the wheel-holder unit in rotation (paragraphs 55, 58 and 59). The examiner notes the method claim 17 merely discloses the normal operation of the device of claim 11 and therefore the same reasoning as previously discussed above for claim 11 applies mutatis mutandis to the subject matter of claim 17.
In reference to claims 12-14 and 18-20, Dressler discloses that the supporting platform (56) provides a flat surface facing upwards (paragraph 33), because as previously discussed above, supporting platform (56) is a “platform” which again is defined according to www.merriam-webster.com as being; “a flat horizontal surface” thereby meeting the structural limitations of the claim) and since all the structural limitations have been met it will also allow for a wheel resting thereupon to be pivoted about a vertical axis. The examiner notes the method claims 18-20 merely disclose the normal operation of the device of claims 12-14 and therefore the same reasoning as previously discussed above for claims 12-14 applies mutatis mutandis to the subject matter of claims 18-20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dressler (2015/0273960) in view of Cunningham (7882882).
In further reference to claim 5, assuming arguendo that Dressler lacks,
the lifting device comprising an auxiliary platform integral with the lifting arm and configured to define an additional supporting surface for the wheel.
However, Cunningham teaches that it is old and well known in the art at the time the invention was made to provide a lifting device (150, Figures 9 and 10) comprising an auxiliary platform (160/166, Figure 11) integral with a lifting arm (152) and configured to define an additional supporting surface for a wheel (Column 4, Lines 43-45).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the lifting device, of Dressler, with the known technique of providing the auxiliary platform, as taught by Cunningham, and the results would have been predictable. In this situation, one could provide a more advantageous and versatile device that can temporarily force a tire into an oval shape (Column 4, Lines 43-45).
In reference to claim 6, Cunningham discloses a lifting actuator (61, see Figures 3 and 14) that is configured to position the lifting arm substantially parallel to the floor (Figures 3 and 18) and the auxiliary platform juxtaposed with the supporting platform (i.e. of Dressler), with the supporting platform at the raised position (Figures 3 and 18).
In reference to claim 7, Cunningham discloses that the auxiliary platform comprises a guiding portion (at 168 in Figure 11 or at 158 in Figure 10) that defines a ramp (see Figure 11 showing that when moving from the upper part of 168 to element 166, a vertical ramp is provided) sloping towards the supporting platform (i.e. when combined with Dressler) and configured to make it easier to move the wheel towards the wheel-holder unit (Figures 3, 10 and 11).
In reference to claim 8, Cunningham discloses that the auxiliary platform comprises a stopping portion (formed from 166 and 168) oriented transversely to the lifting arm and configured to act as a mechanical stop for the wheel (Figure 11).
In reference to claim 9, Cunningham discloses that the lifting actuator is connected (at least through the connection of parts therebetween) to the lifting arm at a hinge point (42) interposed between a first end (formed as a lateral side of the arm, see Figure 3) and a second end (formed as another lateral side of the arm opposite to the first end, see Figure 3) of the lifting arm, the lifting arm being pivoted about the hinge point (Figure 3).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 4, is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Cunningham et al. (6044888) also shows that it is known to provide a tire changer with a lift and spin device (40).
/ROBERT J SCRUGGS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723