DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the communication filed 30 July 2026.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgment is made of Applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement(s) (IDS). The IDS(es) has/have been considered.
Claim Objections
The objection to claim 5 is withdrawn, responsive to Applicant’s amendment of the claim.
Drawings
The objections to the drawings are withdrawn, responsive to Applicant’s amendment of the claims.
Further objections to the drawings appear below.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the claimed features:
Of claim 4: wherein “an opening size for the first light emitting element in the light emitting element group is greater than an opening size for the first light emitting element in the second display area.”
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The rejections of the claims under § 112(b) are withdrawn, responsive to Applicant’s amendment of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 13-15, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0077276 (filed Nov. 3, 2020) (hereinafter “Wang”).
Regarding independent claim 1, Wang discloses: A display panel, comprising: a display area (FIG. 3, depicting a display area including a P area and an A area, [0110]),
wherein the display area comprises a first display area (FIG. 3, depicting wherein at least a portion of the P area forms a first display area, [0110]) and a second display area at least partially surrounding the first display area (FIG. 3, depicting wherein at least a portion of the A area at least partially surrounding the P area forms a second display area, [0110]), and the first display area has greater light transmittance than the second display area (FIG. 3, [0074]: “[S]ince the PMOLED structure does not need to be driven by a thin film transistor array, circuits of the first driving area 101 are simplified, occlusion to the light is reduced, so that the transmittance rate of the portion of the display substrate corresponding to the first driving area 101 is improved, and the working effect of the photosensitive element is improved.”; [0078]: “If the PMOLED structure is driven to emit light, the structure of the driving area mainly includes data lines, power lines, and the like, and may also include some TFT structures, or the like. As a whole, compared with the AMOLED driving area structure, the back plate structure is simpler, the light shielding pattern is less, to facilitate improving the transmittance rate of the area.”);
a substrate (FIG. 1, substrate 11, [0080]); and
a display array arranged on the substrate, wherein the display array comprises light emitting elements arranged in the display area (FIGS. 1-5, depicting a display array including a first electrode pattern 2, a light emitting layer 3, and electrodes 401/402 forming a plurality of light emitting elements, [0071]-[0073]), the light emitting elements arranged in the first display area are grouped into at least one light emitting element group (FIGS. 1-5, depicting wherein the light emitting elements arranged in a row in the first display area form a light emitting element group), the light emitting elements in the same light emitting element group share a single anode (FIGS. 1-5, depicting wherein the light emitting elements arranged in the row forming the light emitting element group in the first display area share a single first electrode 201), and
the number of anodes arranged in the first display area is less than the number of the light emitting elements arranged in the first display area (FIGS. 1-5, depicting wherein the number of light emitting elements arranged in the row forming the light emitting element group in the first display area is greater than the number of first electrodes 201).
Regarding claim 2, Wang further discloses wherein all the light emitting elements arranged in the first display area are grouped into one light emitting element group and share the single anode (FIGS. 1-5, depicting wherein when the first display area includes only the light emitting elements arranged in the row forming the light emitting element group, all of the light emitting elements in the first display area would be grouped into one light emitting element group and would share the same first electrode 201).
Regarding claim 3, Wang further discloses wherein the light emitting elements in the light emitting element group are configured to emit light in at least two different colors (FIGS. 1-5, depicting wherein the light emitting elements arranged in the row forming the light emitting element group emit red, blue, and green light, [0089]), wherein the light emitting elements configured to emit light in different colors are different in luminous efficiency (FIGS. 1-5, depicting wherein the light emitting elements arranged in the row forming the light emitting element group emit light of different colors, and thus possess different luminous efficiencies, [0089]).
Regarding claim 4, Wang further discloses wherein the light emitting elements in the light emitting element group and the light emitting elements arranged in the second display area both comprise a first light emitting element and a second light emitting element that are configured to emit light in different colors (FIGS. 1-5, depicting wherein the light emitting elements arranged in the row forming the light emitting element group emit red, blue, and green light, and the light emitting elements in the second display area emit red, blue, and green light), the first light emitting element (FIGS. 1-5, depicting, e.g., a light emitting element emitting red light) has greater luminous efficiency than the second light emitting element (FIGS. 1-5, depicting, e.g., a light emitting element emitting blue light ), and an opening size for the first light emitting element in the light emitting element group is greater than an opening size for the first light emitting element in the second display area (FIG. 5, depicting wherein the light emitting element emitting red light in the light emitting elements arranged in the row forming the light emitting element group has an opening size that is smaller than the opening size for the light emitting element emitting red light in the second display area).
Regarding claim 5, Wang further discloses wherein the first light emitting element is configured to emit green or red light (FIGS. 1-5, depicting, e.g., a light emitting element emitting red light) and the second light emitting element is configured to emit blue light (FIGS. 1-5, depicting, e.g., a light emitting element emitting blue light).
Regarding claim 13, Wang further discloses wherein the single anode is a transparent electrode (FIGS. 1-5; [0082]: “For example, the material of the first electrode 201 is transparent conductive material such as ITO (indium tin oxide) or IZO (indium zinc oxide) or the like.”).
Regarding claim 14, Wang further discloses wherein all the light emitting elements in the first display area share the single anode (FIGS. 1-5, depicting wherein when the first display area includes only the light emitting elements arranged in the row forming the light emitting element group, all of the light emitting elements in the first display area would be grouped into one light emitting element group and would share the same first electrode 201), the single anode comprises a hollow area and a non-hollow area, and the non-hollow area overlaps the light emitting elements (FIGS. 1-5, depicting wherein the electrode 201 comprises an area where the electrode 201 is not disposed, which may be a hollow area, and an area where the electrode 201 is disposed, which may be a non-hollow area, and the area in which the electrode 201 is disposed overlaps the light emitting elements).
Regarding claim 15, Wang further discloses wherein at least ten light emitting elements are grouped into the same light emitting element group (FIG. 5, depicting at least 10 light emitting elements in a row).
Regarding claim 17, Kim further discloses wherein the display panel is configured to regulate light to be emitted by the light emitting element in the first display area based on light to be emitted by the light emitting element adjacent to the first display area in the second display area. (FIGS. 1-5, [0074]: “When being used, the portion corresponding to the second driving area 102 always displays the image, the portion corresponding to the first driving area 101 can turn off when the photosensitive element is working and display the image when the full screen display is needed. Thereby, the full screen display can be implemented without affecting the operation of the photosensitive element.”; [0155]: “When the display substrate is in full-screen display, the photosensitive element 200 can be turned off. When shooting is required, the P area of the display substrate can be turned off by the first driving circuit 7, so that the photosensitive element 200 can receive light, while the A area can keep displaying images.”)
Regarding claim 18, Wang further discloses wherein the light emitting elements in the first display area configured to emit light in a same color share the single anode; or the light emitting elements in the first display area configured to emit light in at least two colors share the single anode (FIGS. 1-5, depicting wherein when the first display area includes only the light emitting elements arranged in the row forming the light emitting element group, all of the light emitting elements in the first display area would be grouped into one light emitting element group and would share the same first electrode 201, and wherein the light emitting elements arranged in the row forming the light emitting element group emit red, blue, and green light, [0089]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2023/0209892 (filed Oct. 12, 2022) (hereinafter “Kim”).
Regarding claim 9, Wang does not specifically disclose wherein the display panel further comprises: a marginal area surrounding the second display area, wherein the marginal area comprises a binding area, an anode signal cable is arranged between the substrate and the display array, the single anode is electrically connected to one end of the anode signal cable and the other end of the single anode signal cable is electrically connected to the binding area and the single anode has an absence of a connection to a pixel circuit.
In the same field of endeavor, Kim discloses a display panel including a marginal area surrounding a second display area (FIG. 3A/FIG. 6A, depicting that portion of the display area DA2 which surrounds the display area DA1), wherein the marginal area comprises a binding area (FIGS. 3A/6A, depicting that area in which the driving circuits G1_PD2/R_PD2/B_PD2 are disposed), an anode signal cable is arranged between a substrate and a display array (FIGS. 3A/6A/8A, routing line RL1/RL2_1/RL3 arranged between the base layer DP_BS and the light emitting element layer DP_EL, [0173], [0189]), an anode is electrically connected to one end of the anode signal cable and the other end of the single anode signal cable is electrically connected to the binding area and the anode has an absence of a connection to a pixel circuit (FIGS. 3A/6A/8A, depicting wherein the anodes of the light emitting elements R_ED, G_ED, and B_ED are connected to one end of the routing line RL1/RL2_1/RL3, and the other end of the routing line RL1/RL2_1/RL3 is connected to the area in which the driving circuits G1_PD2/R_PD2/B_PD2 are disposed; see also Wang FIGS. 1-5, depicting an absence of connection to the driving area 101). Regarding the configuration of the display area DA2 and the routing lines RL1/RL2_1/RL3, in [0083], Kim states: “As each of the first and second scan drivers GDC1 and GDC2 may be disposed in the second display area DA2, an increase in width of the non-display area in the display device DD due to the first and second scan drivers GDC1 and GDC2 may be prevented. Consequently, the area in which the first and second scan drivers GDC1 and GDC2 may be disposed may be implemented as the second display area DA2, and thus, the size of the non-display area, which may be perceived by the user, in the display device DD may be reduced.”
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the disclosed display panel of Wang by adding the configuration of the display area DA2 and the routing lines RL1/RL2_1/RL3 of Kim around the display area including a P area and an A area of Wang in order to reduce the size of the non-display area of the device and perception thereof by users. See Kim [0083].
Regarding claim 10, Wang in view of Kim further discloses wherein a ring part surrounding the first display area (FIGS. 2B/8A, depicting, e.g., voltage lines VL1 and VIL and VSS, which surround that portion of the display area DA2 shown in annotated FIG. 6A, which is a first display area), wherein the single anode is electrically connected to the ring part (FIGS. 2B/8A, depicting wherein the voltage lines VL1 and VIL and VSS are electrically connected to the routing line RL1/RL2_1/RL3); and a wiring part extending from the binding area to an edge of the first display area, wherein the wiring part is connected to the ring part (FIGS. 2B/8A, depicting wherein the routing line RL1/RL2_1/RL3 includes multiple portions extending out from the that area in which the driving circuits G1_PD2/R_PD2/B_PD2 are disposed, which are also electrically connected to the voltage lines VL1 and VIL and VSS).
Regarding claim 11, Wang in view of Kim further discloses wherein the light emitting element in the second display area is connected to a pixel circuit, and the pixel circuit is arranged between the display array and the substrate and is in the second display area (FIGS. 1-5, depicting wherein the light emitting elements in the second display area are connected to the driving area 102, [0078]: “[T]he second driving area 102 can be used to drive the AMOLED (Active-matrix organic light-emitting diode) structure to emit light, or it can be used to drive the PMOLED structure to emit light, which depends on that the light emitting structure consisted by the second electrode 202, the second light emitting portion 302 and the fourth electrode 402 is an AMOLED light emitting structure or a PMOLED light emitting structure. If the PMOLED structure is driven to emit light, the structure of the driving area mainly includes data lines, power lines, and the like, and may also include some TFT structures, or the like.”)
a gate electrode of a thin film transistor in the pixel circuit is arranged in a first metal layer (FIGS. 3A/6A/8A, depicting, exemplarily, a transistor TR1 including a control electrode GE in a first metal layer, [0184]), and
a source electrode and a drain electrode of the thin film transistor are arranged in a second metal layer (FIGS. 3A/6A/8A, depicting, exemplarily, a transistor TR1 including a source area SE and drain area DE including a connection electrode CN1 in a second metal layer, [0183], [0186]),
the first metal layer is arranged between the second metal layer and the substrate (FIGS. 3A/6A/8A, depicting, exemplarily, a transistor TR1 wherein the layer including the control electrode GE is arranged between the layer including the source and drain areas SE/DE and the base layer DP_BS),
a third metal layer is arranged between the second metal layer and a conductive layer where the single anode is arranged (FIGS. 3A/6A/8A, depicting, exemplarily, a third metal layer including the routing line RL1/RL2_1/RL3 arranged between the layer including the source and drain areas SE/DE and the layer in which the electrode 201 is arranged),
a fourth metal layer is arranged between the second metal layer and the first metal layer (FIGS. 3A/6A/8A, depicting, exemplarily, wherein the layer including the control electrode E1 is arranged between the layer including the source and drain areas SE/DE and the layer including the control electrode GE); and
the anode signal cable shares a layer with at least one of the first metal layer, the second metal layer, the third metal layer and the fourth metal layer (FIGS. 3A/6A/8A, depicting, exemplarily, a third metal layer including the routing line RL1/RL2_1/RL3).
Regarding claim 12, Wang in view of Kim further discloses wherein the anode signal cable extends from the marginal area closest to the first display area to the first display area and connects to the single anode (FIGS. 3A/6A/8A, depicting wherein the routing line RL1/RL2_1/RL3 extends from that portion of the display area DA2 excluding that portion of the display area DA2 shown in annotated FIG. 6A, which is a first display area, which surrounds the display area DA1, closest to the display area DA1, to be connected to the anode).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2024/0065044 (effectively filed Aug. 17, 2022) (hereinafter “Shin”).
Regarding claim 16, Wang does not specifically disclose wherein in the light emitting element group, a first part of the single anode overlapping the light emitting elements is lightproof, and a second part of the single anode between adjacent light emitting elements is transparent.
In the same field of endeavor, Shin discloses a display panel including an anode electrode, wherein the anode includes a multilayer including lightproof and transparent layers (FIG. 8, depicting pixel electrode 221a, wherein the pixel electrode 221a includes a first lower layer 221 a 1, a first intermediate layer 221 a 2, and a first upper layer 221 a 3, and the first intermediate layer 221 a 2 includes a metal including Ag, Mg, Al, Pt, Pd, Au, Ni, Nd, Ir, Cr, or a compound thereof, and the first upper and lower layers 221 a 1 and 221 a 3 include an indium tin oxide (ITO), an indium zinc oxide (IZO), a zinc oxide (ZnO), an indium oxide (In2O3), an indium gallium oxide (IGO), an aluminum zinc oxide (AZO), and the like, [0149]-[0152]). Regarding the multilayer anode configuration, in [0152], Shin states: “Accordingly, when the thickness t1 of the first intermediate layer 221 a 2 satisfies a range of about 100 Å or more and about 150 Å or less, the resistance is reduced as the auxiliary pixel electrode 221 a is connected to the auxiliary thin film transistor TFTa via the connection wiring TWL, thereby increasing the resolution of the auxiliary sub-pixel Pa. Alternatively, as the light transmittance of the auxiliary pixel electrode 221 a is improved, the light transmittance in the component area CA may be improved.”
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the disclosed display panel of Wang by substituting the multilayer anode configuration of Shin in order to improve transmittance and reduction in resistance. See Shin [0152].
Moreover, substitution of the multilayer anode configuration would result in a configuration wherein a first part of the electrode 201 overlapping the light emitting elements includes a material that is lightproof, and a second part of the electrode 201 between adjacent light emitting elements includes a material that is transparent.
Claims 20-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2021/0202588 (filed Dec. 17, 2020) (hereinafter “Cho”).
Regarding independent claim 20, Wang discloses: An electronic device, comprising: a display panel, wherein the display panel comprises: a display area (FIG. 3, depicting a display area including a P area and an A area, [0110]),
wherein the display area comprises a first display area (FIG. 3, depicting wherein at least a portion of the P area forms a first display area, [0110]) and a second display area at least partially surrounding the first display area (FIG. 3, depicting wherein at least a portion of the A area at least partially surrounding the P area forms a second display area, [0110]), and the first display area has greater light transmittance than the second display area (FIG. 3, [0074]: “[S]ince the PMOLED structure does not need to be driven by a thin film transistor array, circuits of the first driving area 101 are simplified, occlusion to the light is reduced, so that the transmittance rate of the portion of the display substrate corresponding to the first driving area 101 is improved, and the working effect of the photosensitive element is improved.”; [0078]: “If the PMOLED structure is driven to emit light, the structure of the driving area mainly includes data lines, power lines, and the like, and may also include some TFT structures, or the like. As a whole, compared with the AMOLED driving area structure, the back plate structure is simpler, the light shielding pattern is less, to facilitate improving the transmittance rate of the area.”);
a substrate (FIG. 1, substrate 11, [0080]); and
a display array arranged on the substrate, wherein the display array comprises light emitting elements arranged in the display area (FIGS. 1-5, depicting a display array including a first electrode pattern 2, a light emitting layer 3, and electrodes 401/402 forming a plurality of light emitting elements, [0071]-[0073]), the light emitting elements arranged in the first display area are grouped into at least one light emitting element group (FIGS. 1-5, depicting wherein the light emitting elements arranged in a row in the first display area form a light emitting element group), the light emitting elements in the same light emitting element group share a single anode (FIGS. 1-5, depicting wherein the light emitting elements arranged in the row forming the light emitting element group in the first display area share a single first electrode 201), and
the number of anodes arranged in the first display area is less than the number of the light emitting elements arranged in the first display area (FIGS. 1-5, depicting wherein the number of light emitting elements arranged in the row forming the light emitting element group in the first display area is greater than the number of first electrodes 201);
a photosensitive component arranged on a side of the first display area away from a display surface (FIG. 13, depicting photosensitive element 200 on a side of the first display area away from the display surface, [0155]).
Wang does not specifically disclose a control chip configured to at least control the light emitting element to emit light and the photosensitive component to operate.
In the same field of endeavor, Cho discloses an electronic device including a control chip, wherein the control chip is configured to at least control the light emitting element to emit light and the photosensitive component to operate (FIG. 2, circuit board 300 configured to control a display panel 100 and optical module 200; [0054]: “The second display area DA2 may be disposed to overlap an area CA where the optical module 200 is disposed, and whether to display an image may be determined depending on the operation of the optical module 200.”). Regarding the configuration of the circuit board 300, optical module 200, and display panel 100, in [0054], Cho states: “In detail, the second display area DA2 may display an image together with the first display area DA1 if the optical module 200 is not operated. On the other hand, the second display area DA2 may not display an image if the optical module 200 is operated.”
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the disclosed display panel of Wang by adding configuration of the circuit board 300, optical module 200, and display panel 100 of Cho in order to enable the display panel to display images in conjunction with operation of the photosensitive element. See Cho [0054].
Regarding claim 21, Wang in view of Cho further discloses wherein the photosensitive component is a camera module (FIG. 13, [0154]: “The photosensitive element 200 may be an electronic element that needs to receive light, such as a photoelectric sensor, a camera, and the like, which is not specifically limited herein.”), and wherein the control chip is configured to switch on the light emitting element in the first display area and the camera module alternately in a period (Cho FIG. 2, [0044]: “For example, the optical module 200 may be, but not limited to, a camera. The optical module 200 may be an illumination sensor, a fingerprint sensor, etc.”; [0054]: “The second display area DA2 may be disposed to overlap an area CA where the optical module 200 is disposed, and whether to display an image may be determined depending on the operation of the optical module 200. In detail, the second display area DA2 may display an image together with the first display area DA1 if the optical module 200 is not operated. On the other hand, the second display area DA2 may not display an image if the optical module 200 is operated.”).
Regarding claim 22: Claim 22 recites the limitation “wherein a duration in which one of the light emitting element and the camera module is on is an integral multiple of a duration in which the other is on, in the period.” “Apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does.” MPEP § 2114(II) (quoting Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469 (Fed. Cir. 1990)). “A claim containing a ‘recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus’ if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim.” Id. (quoting Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987)).
In the instant case, the limitation “wherein a duration in which one of the light emitting element and the camera module is on is an integral multiple of a duration in which the other is on, in the period” does not define any further structural or functional limitations of the electronic device, and instead is clearly an intended use of the electronic device. Because Wang in view of Cho discloses all the limitations of claim 21, from which claim 22 depends, and because claim 22 recites no further structural or functional limitations, Wang in view of Cho also renders obvious claim 22.
Regarding claim 23, Wang in view of Cho further discloses wherein the photosensitive component is a camera module (FIG. 13, [0154]: “The photosensitive element 200 may be an electronic element that needs to receive light, such as a photoelectric sensor, a camera, and the like, which is not specifically limited herein.”), and wherein the control chip is configured to control the camera module to be on and the first display area to not perform display throughout a period (FIG. 2, [0044]: “For example, the optical module 200 may be, but not limited to, a camera. The optical module 200 may be an illumination sensor, a fingerprint sensor, etc.”; [0054]: “The second display area DA2 may be disposed to overlap an area CA where the optical module 200 is disposed, and whether to display an image may be determined depending on the operation of the optical module 200. In detail, the second display area DA2 may display an image together with the first display area DA1 if the optical module 200 is not operated. On the other hand, the second display area DA2 may not display an image if the optical module 200 is operated.”).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ADAM D WEILAND/Examiner, Art Unit 2813
/STEVEN B GAUTHIER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2813