DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-8, 10, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gray (US 5097495 A) in view of Kuwata (US 20200077971 A1) and Mix (US 20140039351 A1).
With regards to claim 1, Gray discloses an X-ray imaging system comprising:
a table T including a table top on which a subject P is placed (Fig. 1);
an imaging unit 10 including an X-ray tube 16 which emits X-rays to the subject and an X-ray detector 14 which detects the X-rays;
a pressure sensor placed in a position where a contact may occur between the subject and at least one of the imaging unit and the table (column 1, lines 26-29; column 3, lines 7-8; Fig. 2); and
processing circuitry configured to:
detect the contact (column 4, line 47-column 5, line 21).
Gray further discloses wherein the pressure sensor produces two control signals when the pressure within the bladder exceeds first and second threshold levels (Abstract; thus disclosing threshold-based contact detection), but does not teach the processing circuitry as claimed.
However, Kuwata teaches an X-ray device and method comprising:
executing control to display output value information indicating a pressure value of the contact in a different display manner in accordance with the pressure value, the pressure value being detected by the pressure sensor [0442, 0446]; and
executing control to display contact position information relating to indicating a position in contact with the subject based on a detection result (Figs. 31A and 31B).
In addition, Mix teaches a control system coupled to a sensor array in order to correlate pressure data to specific parts of a patient’s body (Abstract).
Therefore, in view of ensuring proper subject and imaging unit positioning, it would have been well known, obvious, and predictably suitable to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Gray with the claimed configuration as taught by Kuwata and Mix.
With regards to claim 3, Kuwata teaches displaying the contact position information in accordance with the pressure sensor values [0442, 0446].
With regards to claim 4, Kuwata does not teach displaying output value information in a different color in accordance with a magnitude of the pressure value. However, Kuwata does teach wherein when a change in pressure value is detected, the user is notified via sound, light, display and the like [0446]. Modifying Kuwata with displaying a colored display would have been considered an obvious matter of design choice and/or obvious substitution in view of the different notifications taught by Kuwata.
With regards to claim 5, Kuwata teaches setting pressure values to detect changes in pressure [0446].
With regards to claim 6, Gray discloses wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to execute a retraction operation for retracting an instrument relating to the contact, in a case where the pressure value is equal to or greater than a threshold. (column 1, lines 33-39).
With regards to claim 7, Kuwata teaches wherein the user is notified only when the pressure value is greater than a threshold [0446], which suggests not notifying when the value is smaller than the threshold.
With regards to claim 8, although not specifically taught, controlling the display to display position information or not to display position information based on a threshold would have been known and considered an obvious matter of design choice to one skilled in the art. It would have been well known, obvious, and predictably suitable to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the combination of Gray and Kuwata with the claimed processing circuitry in order to provide a custom indicator of a collision.
With regards to claim 10, Gray discloses wherein the pressure sensor is placed on an outer periphery of a first surface of the X-ray detector that faces the subject (Fig. 1).
With regards to claim 11, Gray does not teach the claimed processing circuitry. However, Gray does teach it was known to assign different threshold levels based on desired conditions (column 4, line 59 – column 5, line 47). Therefore, it would have been well known, obvious, and predictably suitable to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Gray with the claimed processing circuitry in order to protect more sensitive regions.
Conclusion
/MARCUS H TANINGCO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884