DETAILED ACTION
This is response to Amendments/REMARKS, filed on 01/16/2026.
Claim 6 is cancelled; and claim 21 is new.
Claims 1-5 and 7-21 are pending
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “COLLINGE” et al. (US 2020/082395 A1) in view of “Pick” et al. (US 2025/0053979 A1).
COLLINGE discloses Claim 1/14. A user data terminal, A backend service system, and A method in a user data terminal comprising:
a user interface; at least one memory comprising computer program code; and at least one processor configured to cause, according to the computer program code, the user data terminal to store a mobile application [see Abstract and FIGS.1-3, where COLLINGE disclose user interface, terminal with mobile application]
COLLINGE does not; but, Pick, analogues art, disclose application that is cryptographically associated with a digital certificate [see FIG.5 with par.0101, where Pick disclose digital signature verification];
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of COLLINGE by incorporating the digital signing teaching of Pick for verifying that the enhanced security input data matches enhanced security record data associated with the customer account.
COLLINGE in view of Pick further disclose,
the at least one processor being further configured to cause, according to the computer program code, the user data terminal to automatically: sign the user into a personal user profile of a companion service with the mobile application or prompt the user to perform the signing into the personal user profile [COLLINGE discloses “card profile” in Abstract & 116, FIG.2 (par.0043), Provision Card Profile to Mobile Device 508, FIG.5 (par.0069-0070)];
monitor by the mobile application incoming messages from the companion service when signed into the personal user profile, and accordingly present the incoming messages to the user with the user interface [see FIG.10, where COLLINGE disclose monitoring incoming messages: steps [1002]-[1012] (par.0100-0103)]; and
acknowledge presented messages to the companion service with a receipt that is cryptographically bound to the digital certificate and the user profile [see Conduct Payment Transaction Using Mobile Payment Application 512, FIG.5 (0071); [1016] Validate Credentials, FIG.10 (par.0104) with FIG.11, 14 where COLLINGE discloses message receipt and validation are performed].
COLLINGE discloses Claim 8/19. A backend/method service system, comprising:
at least one memory comprising computer program code; and at least one processor configured to cause, according to the computer program code, the backend service system to automatically: enable a user to sign into a personal user profile of a companion service with a mobile application [see Abstract and FIGS.1-3, where COLLINGE disclose user interface, terminal with mobile application] that is cryptographically associated with a digital certificate [see FIG.5 with par.0101, where Pick disclose digital signature verification];
maintain a plurality of messages intended to be delivered to different users of the companion service [see FIG.10, where COLLINGE disclose monitoring incoming messages: steps [1002]-[1012] (par.0100-0103)];
identify a relevant subset of messages for the user, out of the plurality of messages, based on at least the personal user profile of the user [COLLINGE discloses Store… plurality of dynamic card validation code keys, and an application transaction counter associated with a mobile application program 1702, FIG.17 (par.0140)]; provide the mobile application with the subset of messages for presenting to the user [Provision, to the mobile device, … static payment credentials … 1704, FIG.17 (par.0104)];
receive a receipt from the mobile application indicative of presenting the subset of messages to the user [COLLINGE discloses Receive, by a receiving device… static payment credentials 1802, FIG.18 (par.0145)]; and
authenticate the receipt using the digital certificate and the user profile [see [1016] Validate Credentials, FIG.10 (par.0104) with FIG.11, 14 where COLLINGE discloses message receipt and validation are performed. See also Generate… a chip authentication program (CAP) token … 1806, FIG.18 (par.0145)].
The motivation to combine is the same as that of claim 1 above.
COLLINGE in view of Pick further disclose claim 2/15. The user data terminal/method of claim 1/14, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause, according to the computer program code, the user data terminal to automatically gather with the user interface user data into a user profile, the data comprising personal information of a user of the user data terminal and preference data of the user [COLLINGE discloses “card profile” in Abstract & 116, FIG.2 (par.0043), Provision Card Profile to Mobile Device 508, FIG.5 (par.0069-0070). See also Generate … a card profile associated with a payment account …1502, FIG.5 (par.0129)].
COLLINGE in view of Pick further disclose claim 3-4/16-17. The user data terminal/method of claim 1/14, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause, according to the computer program code, the user data terminal to automatically determine that the presented messages were presented according to one or more presentation criteria for the messages received from the companion service [COLLINGE disclose messages provisioned (Abstract; FIGS.1-3) with presentation criteria (such as payment credentials, etc.)];
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause, according to the computer program code, the user data terminal to automatically obtain the one or more presentation criteria for the messages received from the companion service [COLLINGE discloses “card profile” in Abstract & 116, FIG.2 (par.0043), Provision Card Profile to Mobile Device 508, FIG.5 (par.0069-0070). See also Generate … a card profile associated with a payment account …1502, FIG.5 (par.0129)].
COLLINGE in view of Pick further disclose claim 5, 7/18. The user data terminal/method of claim 3/16, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause, according to the computer program code, the user data terminal to automatically indicate by the receipt that the presented messages were presented according to one or more presentation criteria for the messages received from the companion service [COLLINGE disclose messages provisioned (Abstract; FIGS.1-3) with presentation criteria (such as payment credentials, etc.)];
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause, according to the computer program code, the user data terminal to automatically obtain authorization information from the companion service for enabling the user to gain a temporally constrained access to a further service after meeting the presentation criteria for a subset of messages; and enable the user to access the further service with the obtained authorization information [see [1016] Validate Credentials, FIG.10 (par.0104) with FIG.11, 14 where COLLINGE discloses message receipt and validation are performed. See also Generate… a chip authentication program (CAP) token … 1806, FIG.18 (par.0145)].
COLLINGE in view of Pick further disclose claim 9-10/20. The backend service system/method of claim 8, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause, according to the computer program code, the backend service system to automatically provide the mobile application with authorization information for enabling the user to gain a temporally constrained access to a further service [In COLLINGE system service is constrained unless authorized (for example, payment could be denied: par.0057, 0079, 0123)];
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause, according to the computer program code, the backend service system to automatically cryptographically verify with the receipt that the subset of messages has been presented to the user according to one or more presentation criteria [COLLINGE disclose messages provisioned (Abstract; FIGS.1-3) with presentation criteria (such as payment credentials, etc.)]; and
responsively provide the mobile application with access information for authorising the user to gain a temporally constrained access to a further service [see [1016] Validate Credentials, FIG.10 (par.0104) with FIG.11, 14 where COLLINGE discloses message receipt and validation are performed. See also Generate… a chip authentication program (CAP) token … 1806, FIG.18 (par.0145)].
COLLINGE in view of Pick further disclose claim 11. The backend service system of claim 8, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause, according to the computer program code, the backend service system to automatically obtain the plurality of messages from one or more message sources; to associate the messages with message specific attributes; and to map the message specific attributes with the user profile in the identifying of the relevant subset of messages [COLLINGE discloses (attributes such as counter, keys, etc.) Store… plurality of dynamic card validation code keys, and an application transaction counter associated with a mobile application program 1702, FIG.17 (par.0140)].
COLLINGE in view of Pick further disclose claim 12. The backend service system of claim 8, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause, according to the computer program code, the backend service system to automatically maintain the user profiles of a plurality of users linked with encryption keys of the users such that the backend service system and the user have access to read and verify data stored in each user profile [see FIGS.4-6, where COLLINGE discloses utilizing encryption key (par.0059-0077)].
COLLINGE in view of Pick further disclose claim 13. The backend service system of claim 12, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause, according to the computer program code, the backend service system to automatically enable third parties to have access to such parts of the user profile to which the user has allowed the access by the third parties [COLLINGE disclose access to/from Remote Systems, Cloud System, etc. (see FIG.1-3)], wherein the access is provided in a pseudonymized manner, or manner in which identifying information is replaced with pseudonyms.
COLLINGE in view of Pick further disclose claim 21. The user data terminal of claim 1, wherein the mobile application is cryptographically bound to a given combination of equipment and operating system so as to inhibit unauthorized modification or tampering of either or both the equipment and operating system [COLLINGE discloses, “The storage 304 may then store the shared mobile key, received payment credentials, and any additional information in the mobile device 104 to prevent unauthorized access” (par.0064)].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. It is argued that, any combination of Collings and Pick fails to suggest or fairly teach the limitation “acknowledging presented messages to the companion service with a receipt that is cryptographically bound to the digital certificate and the user profile” (REMARKS, p.7-8).
Examiner respectfully disagrees and notes that, the limitation is obvious over the cited arts. As best understood from the language of the claim, and the specification of the invention, the limitation is understood as acknowledgements of presented messages are bound to crypto/certificate for verification. COLLINGE teaches verifying/validating received messages. For example, “The cloud system 302 may then authenticate (e.g., validate) the CAP token, such as by using a CAP token validation system as will be apparent to persons having skill in the relevant art” (par.0055), “At stage 17, the authorization request may be forwarded to the payment network 124, which may forward the authorization request and/or information included in the authorization request to the issuer 108. At optional stage 18, the issuer may verify the translated PIN” (par.0089), “In step 1112, the receipt message may be received by the payment credentials management service 112 and may be decrypted using the mobile session key and validated” (par.0108).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/AMARE F TABOR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2434