DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim 3 is cancelled; and claim 22 is new.
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5 and 7-22 are pending
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/02/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. It is argued that, Collings (and Pick) fail to disclose present and acknowledge that comply with one or more presentation criteria.” (REMARKS, p.7-8).
Examiner respectfully disagrees and notes that, the limitation is obvious over the cited arts. In the specification of the invention, the claimed feature “presentation criteria” are described as: ranging from limiting minimum messages to be presented to manually acknowledging a message in set time. Continuously presenting is also another presentation criteria (par.0078). With broadest reasonable interpretation, the cited arts; specifically, COLLINGE discloses presentation criteria. For example, COLLINGE discloses provision Card Profile to Mobile Device 508 (FIG.5); such that, “mobile device 104 may receive a remote notification message to notify the user 102 that the mobile payment application 106 must connect with the remote-SE system 110 using mutual authentication 404” (par.0069).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 7-12 and 14-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “COLLINGE” et al. (US 2020/082395 A1) in view of “Pick” et al. (US 2025/0053979 A1).
COLLINGE discloses Claim 1/14. A user data terminal, A backend service system, and A method in a user data terminal comprising:
a user interface; at least one memory comprising computer program code; and at least one processor configured to cause, according to the computer program code, the user data terminal to store a mobile application [see Abstract and FIGS.1-3, where COLLINGE disclose user interface, terminal with mobile application]
COLLINGE does not; but, Pick, analogues art, disclose application that is cryptographically associated with a digital certificate [see FIG.5 with par.0101, where Pick disclose digital signature verification];
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of COLLINGE by incorporating the digital signing teaching of Pick for verifying that the enhanced security input data matches enhanced security record data associated with the customer account.
COLLINGE in view of Pick further disclose,
the at least one processor being further configured to cause, according to the computer program code, the user data terminal to automatically: sign the user into a personal user profile of a companion service with the mobile application or prompt the user to perform the signing into the personal user profile [COLLINGE discloses “card profile” in Abstract & 116, FIG.2 (par.0043), Provision Card Profile to Mobile Device 508, FIG.5 (par.0069-0070)];
monitor by the mobile application incoming messages from the companion service when signed into the personal user profile, and messages which comply with one or more presentation criteriasee FIG.10, where COLLINGE disclose monitoring incoming messages: steps [1002]-[1012] (par.0100-0103)]; and
acknowledge presentation of a message which complies with one or more presentation criteria COLLINGE disclose messages provisioned (Abstract; FIGS.1-3) with presentation criteria (such as payment credentials, etc.); COLLINGE further discloses provision Card Profile to Mobile Device 508 (FIG.5); such that, “mobile device 104 may receive a remote notification message to notify the user 102 that the mobile payment application 106 must connect with the remote-SE system 110 using mutual authentication 404” (par.0069)] to the companion service with a receipt that is cryptographically bound to the digital certificate and the user profile [see Conduct Payment Transaction Using Mobile Payment Application 512, FIG.5 (0071); [1016] Validate Credentials, FIG.10 (par.0104) with FIG.11, 14 where COLLINGE discloses message receipt and validation are performed].
COLLINGE discloses Claim 8/19. A backend/method service system, comprising:
at least one memory comprising computer program code; and at least one processor configured to cause, according to the computer program code, the backend service system to automatically: enable a user to sign into a personal user profile of a companion service with a mobile application [see Abstract and FIGS.1-3, where COLLINGE disclose user interface, terminal with mobile application] that is cryptographically associated with a digital certificate [see FIG.5 with par.0101, where Pick disclose digital signature verification];
maintain a plurality of messages intended to be delivered to different users of the companion service [see FIG.10, where COLLINGE disclose monitoring incoming messages: steps [1002]-[1012] (par.0100-0103)];
identify a relevant subset of messages for the user, out of the plurality of messages, based on at least the personal user profile of the user [COLLINGE discloses Store… plurality of dynamic card validation code keys, and an application transaction counter associated with a mobile application program 1702, FIG.17 (par.0140)];
provide the mobile application with the subset of messages for presenting to the user [Provision, to the mobile device, … static payment credentials … 1704, FIG.17 (par.0104)];
receive a receipt from the mobile application indicative of presenting the at least one message of the subset of messages to the user [COLLINGE discloses Receive, by a receiving device… static payment credentials 1802, FIG.18 (par.0145)] in compliance with one or more presentation criteria [COLLINGE disclose messages provisioned (Abstract; FIGS.1-3) with presentation criteria (such as payment credentials, etc.); COLLINGE further discloses provision Card Profile to Mobile Device 508 (FIG.5); such that, “mobile device 104 may receive a remote notification message to notify the user 102 that the mobile payment application 106 must connect with the remote-SE system 110 using mutual authentication 404” (par.0069)]; and
authenticate the receipt using the digital certificate and the user profile [see [1016] Validate Credentials, FIG.10 (par.0104) with FIG.11, 14 where COLLINGE discloses message receipt and validation are performed. See also Generate… a chip authentication program (CAP) token … 1806, FIG.18 (par.0145)].
The motivation to combine is the same as that of claim 1 above.
COLLINGE in view of Pick further disclose claim 2/15. The user data terminal/method of claim 1/14, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause, according to the computer program code, the user data terminal to automatically gather with the user interface user data into a user profile, the data comprising personal information of a user of the user data terminal and preference data of the user [COLLINGE discloses “card profile” in Abstract & 116, FIG.2 (par.0043), Provision Card Profile to Mobile Device 508, FIG.5 (par.0069-0070). See also Generate … a card profile associated with a payment account …1502, FIG.5 (par.0129)].
COLLINGE in view of Pick further disclose claim 4/16-17. The user data terminal/method of claim 1/14, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause, according to the computer program code, the user data terminal to automatically determine that the presented messages were presented according to one or more presentation criteria for the messages received from the companion service [COLLINGE disclose messages provisioned (Abstract; FIGS.1-3) with presentation criteria (such as payment credentials, etc.)];
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause, according to the computer program code, the user data terminal to automatically obtain the one or more presentation criteria for the messages received from the companion service [COLLINGE discloses “card profile” in Abstract & 116, FIG.2 (par.0043), Provision Card Profile to Mobile Device 508, FIG.5 (par.0069-0070). See also Generate … a card profile associated with a payment account …1502, FIG.5 (par.0129)].
COLLINGE in view of Pick further disclose claim 5, 7/18. The user data terminal/method of claim 3/16, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause, according to the computer program code, the user data terminal to automatically indicate by the receipt that the presented messages were presented according to one or more presentation criteria for the messages received from the companion service [COLLINGE disclose messages provisioned (Abstract; FIGS.1-3) with presentation criteria (such as payment credentials, etc.)];
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause, according to the computer program code, the user data terminal to automatically obtain authorization information from the companion service for enabling the user to gain a temporally constrained access to a further service after meeting the presentation criteria for a subset of messages; and enable the user to access the further service with the obtained authorization information [see [1016] Validate Credentials, FIG.10 (par.0104) with FIG.11, 14 where COLLINGE discloses message receipt and validation are performed. See also Generate… a chip authentication program (CAP) token … 1806, FIG.18 (par.0145)].
COLLINGE in view of Pick further disclose claim 9-10/20. The backend service system/method of claim 8, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause, according to the computer program code, the backend service system to automatically provide the mobile application with authorization information for enabling the user to gain a temporally constrained access to a further service [In COLLINGE system service is constrained unless authorized (for example, payment could be denied: par.0057, 0079, 0123)];
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause, according to the computer program code, the backend service system to automatically cryptographically verify with the receipt that the subset of messages has been presented to the user according to one or more presentation criteria [COLLINGE disclose messages provisioned (Abstract; FIGS.1-3) with presentation criteria (such as payment credentials, etc.)]; and
responsively provide the mobile application with access information for authorising the user to gain a temporally constrained access to a further service [see [1016] Validate Credentials, FIG.10 (par.0104) with FIG.11, 14 where COLLINGE discloses message receipt and validation are performed. See also Generate… a chip authentication program (CAP) token … 1806, FIG.18 (par.0145)].
COLLINGE in view of Pick further disclose claim 11. The backend service system of claim 8, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause, according to the computer program code, the backend service system to automatically obtain the plurality of messages from one or more message sources; to associate the messages with message specific attributes; and to map the message specific attributes with the user profile in the identifying of the relevant subset of messages [COLLINGE discloses (attributes such as counter, keys, etc.) Store… plurality of dynamic card validation code keys, and an application transaction counter associated with a mobile application program 1702, FIG.17 (par.0140)].
COLLINGE in view of Pick further disclose claim 12. The backend service system of claim 8, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause, according to the computer program code, the backend service system to automatically maintain the user profiles of a plurality of users linked with encryption keys of the users such that the backend service system and the user have access to read and verify data stored in each user profile [see FIGS.4-6, where COLLINGE discloses utilizing encryption key (par.0059-0077)].
COLLINGE in view of Pick further disclose claim 21. The user data terminal of claim 1, wherein the mobile application is cryptographically bound to a given combination of equipment and operating system so as to inhibit unauthorized modification or tampering of either or both the equipment and operating system [COLLINGE discloses, “The storage 304 may then store the shared mobile key, received payment credentials, and any additional information in the mobile device 104 to prevent unauthorized access” (par.0064)].
COLLINGE in view of Pick further disclose claim 22. The user data terminal of claim 1, wherein the presentation criteria comprises continuously presenting at least portion of the incoming message to the user [COLLINGE discloses continuously provisioning message to mobile device (see FIG.5)].
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “COLLINGE” et al. (US 2020/082395 A1) in view of “Pick” et al. (US 2025/0053979 A1), and further in view of “Atarius” et al. (US 12402003 B2).
COLLINGE in view of Pick further disclose The backend service system of claim 12, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause, according to the computer program code, the backend service system to automatically enable third parties to have access to such parts of the user profile to which the user has allowed the access by the third parties [COLLINGE disclose access to/from Remote Systems, Cloud System, etc. (see FIG.1-3)].
COLLINGE/Pick fail; but, Atarius, analogues art, disclose claim 13, wherein the access is provided in a pseudonymized manner, or manner in which identifying information is replaced with pseudonyms [see FIG.4B @step 11, where Atarius discloses replacing pseudonym for access].
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of COLLINGE/Pick by incorporating the teaching of Pick for obtaining a pseudonym to use for access authentication over non-3GPP access technology.
Contact Information
/AMARE F TABOR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2434