Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6, 10, 12, 13, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FUJISHIRO et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2022/0232593 A1) in view of FUJUSHIRO et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2024/0073736 A1) hereinafter Masato
1, FUJISHIRO teaches a processing device for a base station including a first layer and a second layer [abstract, relay apparatus comprising a base station function processor, and a user equipment function processor, receiving, by a MAC layer of the base station function processor, from the lower apparatus, a MAC layer of the user equipment function processor]
the processing device comprising: a first receiver by which first data from the first layer, the first data including data transmitted from a terminal connected to the base station [abstract, par 0037, 0075, UE 100-1 is wirelessly connected to the gNB 200-1, the communication control method including: receiving, by a MAC layer of the base station function processor, from the lower apparatus, a first buffer state report, notifying, by the MAC layer of the base station function processor, a MAC layer of the user equipment function processor. In general, the BSR transmitted by UE 100 (hereinafter referred to as “legacy BSR”) indicates the amount of untransmitted data (i.e., uplink buffer amount) in each of the layers of MAC, RLC, and PDCP for each logical channel group (LCG). Each LCG includes at least one logical channel, and the LCGs are groups configured for each priority. The legacy BSR format includes a short BSR and a long BSR];
a hardware processor configured to generate second data by changing the first data [par 0075 -0079, 0092 The gNB 200 determines, for each LCG, the amount of untransmitted data in the UE 100 based on the BSR from the UE 100, and performs scheduling such that uplink radio resources corresponding to the amount of untransmitted data are allocated to the UE 100. Thus, when only the amount of untransmitted data (Legacy buffer size) for the MT of the IAB node 300-1 is reported to the upper apparatus, the upper apparatus is prevented from perform scheduling taking into account the amount of potential untransmitted data. Thus, the pre-emptive BSR will reflect at least one of the amount of data queued in the DU of the IAB node 300-1 and the amount of untransmitted data in the IAB node 300-2 that connects to the DU. The pre-emptive BSR indicates each of the amount of untransmitted upstream data in the IAB node 300 itself and the amount of untransmitted upstream data in the lower apparatus connecting to the IAB node. The pre-emptive BSR second data];
and a transmitter by which the second data is transmitted to the second layer [par 0085-0088, The IAB node #2 transmits a pre-emptive BSR indicating the amount of untransmitted upstream data B in the IAB node itself and the amount of untransmitted upstream data A]
wherein the first data includes a communication resource allocation request indicating a size of untransmitted data among data to be transmitted to the base station [par 0012, 0075,the amount of upstream data notified to be a part of an amount of upstream data queued in a MAC layer of the relay apparatus to calculate an amount of untransmitted upstream data of the relay apparatus; and transmitting, by the MAC layer of the user equipment function processor, a buffer state report indicating the amount of untransmitted upstream data calculated. In general, the BSR transmitted by UE 100 (hereinafter referred to as “legacy BSR”) indicates the amount of untransmitted data (i.e., uplink buffer amount) in each of the layers of MAC, RLC, and PDCP for each logical channel group (LCG).];
FUJISHIRO fail to show a second receiver by which a data transmission interval of the terminal and a size of data to be generated by the terminal during the interval are received, the hardware processor is configured to calculate an estimation size of data to be generated by the terminal based on the transmission interval and a reception timing at which the hardware processor received the first data from the first layer, and to generate the second data by changing a size of the untransmitted data based on the estimated size.
Masato show a second receiver by which a data transmission interval of the terminal and a size of data to be generated by the terminal during the interval are received [fig 3, par 0079, 0289, Figure 3 shows the GNB containing receiver 211 and receiver 221. Generally, a BSR transmitted by the UE 100 (hereinafter referred to as the “legacy BSR” as appropriate) indicates, for each logical channel group (LCG), the amount of uplink data having yet to be transmitted by each of the MAC, RLC, and PDCP layers (that is, an uplink buffer amount). Each LCG is a group including at least one logical channel and configured by priority. Based on the legacy BSR received from the UE 100, the gNB 200 determines, for each LCG, the amount of uplink data untransmitted by the UE. may be to provide the IAB node with configuration of whether to trigger the pre-emptive BSR at the time of UL grant transmission or BSR reception. Configuration by the IAB donor is easy, but the pre-emptive BSR is actually used in the IAB-DU of the parent node, in other words, in the scheduler]
the hardware processor is configured to calculate an estimation size of data to be generated by the terminal based on the transmission interval [par 0280, 0282, 0289, Accordingly, according to the current specifications, an insufficient amount of data is available for transmission. For better scheduling of topology-wide fairness, a more accurate buffer size needs to be reported in the legacy BSR. According to Rel-16, calculation of the buffer size of the pre-emptive BSR is highly dependent on the implementation of the IAB-DU. However, as the specification points out that “a buffer size field specifies the total amount of data expected to reach the IAB-MT of the node for which the pre-emptive BSR is triggered, One simple solution may be to provide the IAB node with configuration of whether to trigger the pre-emptive BSR at the time of UL grant transmission or BSR reception],
and a reception timing at which the hardware processor received the first data from the first layer [par 0289, One simple solution may be to provide the IAB node with configuration of whether to trigger the pre-emptive BSR at the time of UL grant transmission or BSR reception]
and to generate the second data by changing a size of the untransmitted data based on the estimated size [par 0271, RAN2 “agreed to extend the LCG range of the IAB-MT. The size of the LCG and the extension of the BSR need further consideration.” According to current specifications, the current LCG space is 8 (in other words, the maxLCG ID is 7), When the same ratio is applied to the UE (in other words, LCG:LCH=1:4), 16,384 LCGs (14 bits) may be required for the IAB-MT. This is certainly feasible, but the size may need to be slightly increased for addition to the MAC CE. Some companies proposed extending the LCG space to at least 16 (4 bits) or 256 (8 bits). Therefore, RAN2 needs to study what is optimum for the extended LCG space].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary sill in the art to combine the teachings of FUJISHIRO and Masato because upstream direction and an uplink (UL) direction may be used without distinction, and downstream direction and a downlink (DL) direction may be used without distinction par 0076]
6. FUJISHIRO and Masato illustrate the processing device of claim 1, wherein the hardware processor is configured to generate third data including a second allocation request from the first data [FUJISHIRO, par 0078, 0080-0082 The amount of untransmitted upstream data indicated by the pre-emptive BSR includes variations A) to C), The paragraphs shows data C generated from the first data A, based upon a BSR request]
cause the transmitter to transmit the third data to the second layer; cause the first receiver to receive second allocation information indicating a communication resource determined, in response to the second allocation request, by the second layer [par 0075, the BSR transmitted by UE 100 (hereinafter referred to as “legacy BSR”) indicates the amount of untransmitted data (i.e., uplink buffer amount) in each of the layers of MAC, RLC, and PDCP for each logical channel group (LCG). Each LCG includes at least one logical channel, and the LCGs are groups configured for each priority. The legacy BSR format includes a short BSR and a long BSR. The short BSR includes a field in which an ID of the LCG is stored and a buffer size field in which information indicating the amount of untransmitted data is stored. The long BSR includes a field in which a bit sequence indicating the presence or absence of the buffer size field for each LCG is stored, and a plurality of the buffer size fields. The gNB 200 determines, for each LCG, the amount of untransmitted data in the UE 100 based on the BSR from the UE 100, and performs scheduling such that uplink radio resources corresponding to the amount of untransmitted data are allocated to the UE];
and cause the transmitter to transmit the second allocation information to the first layer [par 0067, The RLC layer transmits data to the RLC layer on the reception side by using the functions of the MAC layer and the PHY layer. Data and control information are transmitted between the RLC layers via a logical channel].
10. FUJISHIRO and Masato convey a base station comprising: the processing device of claim 1; a radio device configured to communicate with the processing unit; and a communication device configured to communicate with a network [FUJISHIRO, par 0044-0047, As illustrated in FIG. 2, the gNB 200 includes a wireless communicator 210, a network communicator 220, and a controller 230. The wireless communicator 210 is used for wireless communication with the UE 100 and wireless communication with the IAB node 300. The wireless communicator 210 includes a receiver 211 and a transmitter 212. The receiver 211 performs various types of reception while being controlled by the controller 230. The receiver 211 includes an antenna, and converts a radio signal received by the antenna into a baseband signal (received signal) and outputs the baseband signal to the controller 230. The network communicator 220 is used for wired communication (or wireless communication) with the 5GC 10 and wired communication (or wireless communication) with another neighboring gNB 200. The network communicator 220 includes a receiver 221 and a transmitter 222. The controller 230 performs various kinds of controls for the gNB 200. The controller 230 includes at least one memory and at least one processor electrically connected to the memory. The paragraphs shows the wireless communicator [radio device] communicating with a controller that comprises a processor, and a network communicator [communication device] that communicates with the network].
12, FUJISHIRO teaches a communication method for a base station including a first layer and a second layer[abstract, relay apparatus comprising a base station function processor, and a user equipment function processor, receiving, by a MAC layer of the base station function processor, from the lower apparatus, a MAC layer of the user equipment function processor],
the communication method comprising: receiving first data from the first layer, the first data including data transmitted from a terminal connected to the base station [abstract, par 0037, 0075, UE 100-1 is wirelessly connected to the gNB 200-1, the communication control method including: receiving, by a MAC layer of the base station function processor, from the lower apparatus, a first buffer state report, notifying, by the MAC layer of the base station function processor, a MAC layer of the user equipment function processor. In general, the BSR transmitted by UE 100 (hereinafter referred to as “legacy BSR”) indicates the amount of untransmitted data (i.e., uplink buffer amount) in each of the layers of MAC, RLC, and PDCP for each logical channel group (LCG). Each LCG includes at least one logical channel, and the LCGs are groups configured for each priority. The legacy BSR format includes a short BSR and a long BSR];
generating second data by changing the first data[par 0053, The receiver 111 performs various types of reception while being controlled by the controller 120. The receiver 111 includes an antenna, and converts a radio signal received by the antenna into a baseband signal (received signal) and outputs the baseband signal to the controller];
and transmitting the second data to the second layer[abstract, par 0012, The communication control method includes: notifying, by a MAC layer of the base station function processor, a MAC layer of the user equipment function processor, of an amount of upstream data queued in the MAC layer of the base station function processor; considering, by the MAC layer of the user equipment function processor, the amount of upstream data notified to be a part of an amount of upstream data queued in a MAC layer of the relay apparatus to calculate an amount of untransmitted upstream data of the relay apparatus; and transmitting, by the MAC layer of the user equipment function processor, a buffer state report indicating the amount of untransmitted upstream data calculated, to the upper apparatus],
wherein the first data includes a communication resource allocation request indicating a size of untransmitted data among data to be transmitted to the base station[par 0012, the amount of upstream data notified to be a part of an amount of upstream data queued in a MAC layer of the relay apparatus to calculate an amount of untransmitted upstream data of the relay apparatus; and transmitting, by the MAC layer of the user equipment function processor, a buffer state report indicating the amount of untransmitted upstream data calculated];
and the processing unit is configured to generate the second data by changing the size of the untransmitted data based on the estimated sze[par 0014, 0078-0084, the relay apparatus to calculate an amount of untransmitted upstream data of the relay apparatus; and transmitting, by the MAC layer of the user equipment function processor, a buffer state report indicating the amount of untransmitted upstream data calculated, to the upper apparatus. The amount of untransmitted upstream data indicated by the pre-emptive BSR includes variations A) to C), The IAB node #4 transmits a pre-emptive BSR indicating the amount of untransmitted upstream data D in the IAB node itself and the amount of untransmitted upstream data C].
FUJISHIRO fail to show receiving a data transmission interval of the terminal and a size of data to be generated by the terminal during the interval, the processing unit is configured to generate generating the second data comprises: calculating an estimation size of data to be generated by the terminal based on the transmission interval and a reception timing at which the first data from the first layer was received;
In an analogous art Masato show receiving a data transmission interval of the terminal and a size of data to be generated by the terminal during the interval[par 0079, 0289, Generally, a BSR transmitted by the UE 100 (hereinafter referred to as the “legacy BSR” as appropriate) indicates, for each logical channel group (LCG), the amount of uplink data having yet to be transmitted by each of the MAC, RLC, and PDCP layers (that is, an uplink buffer amount). Each LCG is a group including at least one logical channel and configured by priority. Based on the legacy BSR received from the UE 100, the gNB 200 determines, for each LCG, the amount of uplink data untransmitted by the UE. may be to provide the IAB node with configuration of whether to trigger the pre-emptive BSR at the time of UL grant transmission or BSR reception. Configuration by the IAB donor is easy, but the pre-emptive BSR is actually used in the IAB-DU of the parent node, in other words, in the scheduler]
the processing unit is configured to generate generating the second data comprises: calculating an estimation size of data to be generated by the terminal based on the transmission interval [par 0280, 0282, 0289, Accordingly, according to the current specifications, an insufficient amount of data is available for transmission. For better scheduling of topology-wide fairness, a more accurate buffer size needs to be reported in the legacy BSR. According to Rel-16, calculation of the buffer size of the pre-emptive BSR is highly dependent on the implementation of the IAB-DU. However, as the specification points out that “a buffer size field specifies the total amount of data expected to reach the IAB-MT of the node for which the pre-emptive BSR is triggered, One simple solution may be to provide the IAB node with configuration of whether to trigger the pre-emptive BSR at the time of UL grant transmission or BSR reception],
and a reception timing at which the first data from the first layer was received[par 0289, One simple solution may be to provide the IAB node with configuration of whether to trigger the pre-emptive BSR at the time of UL grant transmission or BSR reception]
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary sill in the art to combine the teachings of FUJISHIRO and Masato because upstream direction and an uplink (UL) direction may be used without distinction, and downstream direction and a downlink (DL) direction may be used without distinction par 0076]
13. FUJISHIRO discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing computer-executable instructions that, when executed, cause a computer to
receive first data from a first layer in a base station [par 0047, The controller 230 performs various kinds of controls for the gNB 200. The controller 230 includes at least one memory and at least one processor electrically connected to the memory. The memory stores programs to be executed by the processor and information to be used for processes by the processor],
the base station including the first layer and a second layer[abstract, par 0075, the communication control method including: receiving, by a MAC layer of the base station function processor, from the lower apparatus, a first buffer state report, notifying, by the MAC layer of the base station function processor, a MAC layer of the user equipment function processor. In general, the BSR transmitted by UE 100 (hereinafter referred to as “legacy BSR”) indicates the amount of untransmitted data (i.e., uplink buffer amount) in each of the layers of MAC, RLC, and PDCP for each logical channel group (LCG). Each LCG includes at least one logical channel, and the LCGs are groups configured for each priority. The legacy BSR format includes a short BSR and a long BSR];
and the first data including data transmitted from a terminal connected to the base station [abstract, par 0037, 0075, UE 100-1 is wirelessly connected to the gNB 200-1, the communication control method including: receiving, by a MAC layer of the base station function processor, from the lower apparatus, a first buffer state report, notifying, by the MAC layer of the base station function processor, a MAC layer of the user equipment function processor. In general, the BSR transmitted by UE 100 (hereinafter referred to as “legacy BSR”) indicates the amount of untransmitted data (i.e., uplink buffer amount) in each of the layers of MAC, RLC, and PDCP for each logical channel group (LCG). Each LCG includes at least one logical channel, and the LCGs are groups configured for each priority. The legacy BSR format includes a short BSR and a long BSR];
generate second data by changing the first data[par 0075 -0079, The gNB 200 determines, for each LCG, the amount of untransmitted data in the UE 100 based on the BSR from the UE 100, and performs scheduling such that uplink radio resources corresponding to the amount of untransmitted data are allocated to the UE 100. Thus, when only the amount of untransmitted data (Legacy buffer size) for the MT of the IAB node 300-1 is reported to the upper apparatus, the upper apparatus is prevented from perform scheduling taking into account the amount of potential untransmitted data. Thus, the pre-emptive BSR will reflect at least one of the amount of data queued in the DU of the IAB node 300-1 and the amount of untransmitted data in the IAB node 300-2 that connects to the DU. The pre-emptive BSR indicates each of the amount of untransmitted upstream data in the IAB node 300 itself and the amount of untransmitted upstream data in the lower apparatus connecting to the IAB node. The pre-emptive BSR second data];
and transmit the second data to the second layer [par 0085-0088, The IAB node #2 transmits a pre-emptive BSR indicating the amount of untransmitted upstream data B in the IAB node itself and the amount of untransmitted upstream data A];
wherein the first data includes a communication resource allocation request indicating a size of untransmitted data among data to be transmitted to the base station [par 0012, 0075, the amount of upstream data notified to be a part of an amount of upstream data queued in a MAC layer of the relay apparatus to calculate an amount of untransmitted upstream data of the relay apparatus; and transmitting, by the MAC layer of the user equipment function processor, a buffer state report indicating the amount of untransmitted upstream data calculated. In general, the BSR transmitted by UE 100 (hereinafter referred to as “legacy BSR”) indicates the amount of untransmitted data (i.e., uplink buffer amount) in each of the layers of MAC, RLC, and PDCP for each logical channel group (LCG).];
and the computer- executable instructions further cause the computer to: generate the second data by changing the size of the untransmitted data based on the estimate size [par 0013, 0078-0084, the amount of upstream data notified to be a part of an amount of upstream data queued in a MAC layer of the relay apparatus to calculate an amount of untransmitted upstream data of the relay apparatus; and transmitting, by the MAC layer of the user equipment function processor, a buffer state report indicating the amount of untransmitted upstream data calculated, to the upper apparatus].
FUJISHIRO fail to show receive a data transmission interval of the terminal and a size of data to be generated by the terminal during the interval, calculate an estimation size of data to be generated by the terminal based on the transmission interval and a reception timing at which the first data from the first layer was received;
In an analogous art Masato show receive a data transmission interval of the terminal and a size of data to be generated by the terminal during the interval[par 0079, 0289, Generally, a BSR transmitted by the UE 100 (hereinafter referred to as the “legacy BSR” as appropriate) indicates, for each logical channel group (LCG), the amount of uplink data having yet to be transmitted by each of the MAC, RLC, and PDCP layers (that is, an uplink buffer amount). Each LCG is a group including at least one logical channel and configured by priority. Based on the legacy BSR received from the UE 100, the gNB 200 determines, for each LCG, the amount of uplink data untransmitted by the UE. may be to provide the IAB node with configuration of whether to trigger the pre-emptive BSR at the time of UL grant transmission or BSR reception. Configuration by the IAB donor is easy, but the pre-emptive BSR is actually used in the IAB-DU of the parent node, in other words, in the scheduler],
calculate an estimation size of data to be generated by the terminal based on the transmission interval[par 0280, 0282, 0289, Accordingly, according to the current specifications, an insufficient amount of data is available for transmission. For better scheduling of topology-wide fairness, a more accurate buffer size needs to be reported in the legacy BSR. According to Rel-16, calculation of the buffer size of the pre-emptive BSR is highly dependent on the implementation of the IAB-DU. However, as the specification points out that “a buffer size field specifies the total amount of data expected to reach the IAB-MT of the node for which the pre-emptive BSR is triggered, One simple solution may be to provide the IAB node with configuration of whether to trigger the pre-emptive BSR at the time of UL grant transmission or BSR reception],
and a reception timing at which the first data from the first layer was received[par 0289, One simple solution may be to provide the IAB node with configuration of whether to trigger the pre-emptive BSR at the time of UL grant transmission or BSR reception]
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary sill in the art to combine the teachings of FUJISHIRO and Masato because upstream direction and an uplink (UL) direction may be used without distinction, and downstream direction and a downlink (DL) direction may be used without distinction par 0076]
Claim(s) 2, 3, 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FUJISHIRO et al. (U.S. Pub No 2022/0232593 A1) in view of FUJUSHIRO et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2024/0073736 A1) hereinafter Masato in further view of Pettersson et al. (U.S. Patent No. 9,271,303 B1)
2, FUJISHIRO and Masato creates the processing device of claim 1, FUJISIRO and Masato fail to show wherein the hardware processor is configured to estimate transmission timing of the data to be transmitted to the base station; and generate the second data before the transmission timing.
In an analogous art Pettersson show wherein the hardware processor unit is configured to estimate transmission timing of the data to be transmitted to the base station [abstract, col, 8, ln19-41, Method and arrangement in base station (110) for estimating the amount of data to be received from a terminal (120). The base station (110) and the terminal (120) are comprised within a wireless communication system (110). The terminal (120) comprises a buffer arranged to buffer frames comprising data. The method comprises determining (401) a service requested by the terminal (120), estimating (403) the arrival time of data to be received from the terminal (120), based on the determined service, and setting (404) a buffer estimate, comprising an estimation of the amount of data to be received, based on an estimated frame size for the determined service.]
and generate the second data before the transmission timing[col 3, ln 1-7, col, 8, ln19-41, The second determination unit 507 may be adapted to determine the size of the received data. Also, the arrangement 500 may optionally comprise a second setting unit 508. The second setting unit 508 may be adapted to set the state based on the determined size of the received data. In further addition, the arrangement 500 may also comprise a third setting unit 509. The third setting unit 509 may be adapted to set the estimated arrival time to the transmission time of the scheduling request and the buffer estimate to the expected size of one state specific frame size according to the set state].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of FUJISHIRO, Masato, and Pettersson because this would provide methods and arrangements, improved scheduling decisions can be taken by the base station which can reduce the packet delay and improve the radio resource utilization[Pettersson col 3, ln 24-35]
3, FUJISHIRO, Masato, and Pettersson disclose the processing device of claim 2, wherein the hardware processor is configured to estimate a transmission size of the data to be transmitted to the base station [FUJISHIRO, par 0075, In general, the BSR transmitted by UE 100 (hereinafter referred to as “legacy BSR”) indicates the amount of untransmitted data (i.e., uplink buffer amount) in each of the layers of MAC, RLC, and PDCP for each logical channel group (LCG). Each LCG includes at least one logical channel, and the LCGs are groups configured for each priority. The legacy BSR format includes a short BSR and a long BSR. The short BSR includes a field in which an ID of the LCG is stored and a buffer size field in which information indicating the amount of untransmitted data is store];
and change the size of the untransmitted data depending on the transmission size [par 0077, Accordingly, the upper apparatus can perform scheduling taking into account the potential amount of untransmitted data, thus allowing suppression of a possible shortage or delay in allocation of the uplink radio resources. For example, in a case that no radio resources have been allocated to the backhaul link (i.e., MT) of the IAB node 300-1, a scheduling request can be transmitted to the upper node by triggering the pre-emptive BSR];
5. FUJISHIRO, Masato, and Pettersson create the processing device of claim 3, wherein the hardware processor is configured to cause the first receiver to receive first allocation information indicating a communication resource determined, in response to the second data, by the second layer [FUJISHIRO par 0043, Layer 2, radio resources can be dynamically allocated to the data communication in the backhaul link, and paths of relay can be dynamically switched. Note that, for the access link and the backhaul link, millimeter wave bands may be used. The access link and the backhaul link may be multiplexed by means of time division multiplexing and/or frequency division multiplexing. First, the MAC layer of the DU notifies the MAC layer of the MT, of the amount BS #4 (amount of MAC data) of upstream data queued in the MAC layer of the DU. In this regard, the amount of upstream data queued in the MAC layer of the DU may be only the amount of data successfully received (specifically decoded) by the MAC layer of the DU];
and update the size of the untransmitted data depending on the transmission size and the first allocation information [par 0125, 0126, Second, the MAC layer of the MT considers the amount BS #4 of upstream data notified as a part of the amount of upstream data queued in the MAC layer of the IAB node 300-1, and calculates the amount of untransmitted upstream data in the IAB node 300-1. Third, the MAC layer of the MT transmits, to the upper apparatus, a pre-emptive BSR indicating the calculated amount of the untransmitted upstream data].
Claim(s) 4, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FUJISHIRO et al. (U.S. Pub No 2022/0232593 A1) in view of FUJUSHIRO et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2024/0073736 A1) hereinafter Masato in view of Pettersson et al. (U.S. Patent No. 9,271,303 B1 in view of Nakatsugawa et al. (U.S. Pub No.2015/0281352 A1)
4. FUJISHIRO, Masato, and Pettersson demonstrate the processing device of claim 3, FUJISHIRO, Masato, and Pettersson fail to show wherein the hardware processor is configured to receive identification information of a data generation source, a data generation cycle, and a data size from an external device;
In an analogous art Nakatsugawa show wherein the processing device is configured to receive identification information of a data generation source, a data generation cycle, and a data size from an external device [par 0101, the generation device information table includes data items of a generation device identifier, a connection destination storage device, a generation data size, and the generation cycle. The data items in the generation device information table are collected from a generation device in a network by the information collection unit 21 via the transmission/reception unit]
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of FUJISHIRO, Masato, Pettersson, and Nakatsugawa because storage rule may be quickly determined, such that the calculation load of determining the storage rule in the second step described below is reduced.[Nakatsugawa par 0128]
Fujishiro show generate the second data based on the identification information, the data generation cycle, and the data size [par 0093, The use of the LCG for node identification allows the legacy BSR to indicate the amount of untransmitted upstream data for each node].
6. Claim(s) 7, 8, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FUJISHIRO et al. (U.S. Pub No 2022/0232593 A1) in view of FUJUSHIRO et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2024/0073736 A1) hereinafter Masato in further view of TAKAHASHI (U.S. Pub No.2017/0078201 A1)
7. FUJISHIRO and Masato defines the processing device of claim 1, wherein the first layer is connected to radio communication terminals; the first data is data to be transmitted to the first layer by each of the radio communication terminals [FUJISHIRO par 0067, The RLC layer transmits data to the RLC layer on the reception side by using the functions of the MAC layer and the PHY layer. Data and control information are transmitted between the RLC layers via a logical channel];
and the hardware processor is configured to generate a plurality of the second data by changing the plurality of a plurality of the first data to be transmitted from the radio communication terminals based on the priorities of the radio communication terminals [par 0078, 0107, The amount of untransmitted upstream data indicated by the pre-emptive BSR includes variations A) to C). Third, the MAC layer of the MT considers the amount BS #3 of data notified, as a part of the amount of upstream data queued in the transmission MAC layer of the IAB node 300-1 to calculate the amount of untransmitted upstream data in the IAB node 300-1]
FUJISHIRO and Masato fail to show a priority is determined for each of the radio communication terminals;
In an analogous art TAKAHASHI show a priority is determined for each of the radio communication terminals [par 0042, The priority setting unit 124 sets a priority of each of the terminal apparatuses 200. The priority refers to information such as a priority order, a priority degree, or the like used when the terminal selection unit 123 selects a terminal apparatus to be a transmission destination of a request signal].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of FUJISHIRO, Masato, and TAKAHASHI because a server 100A can calculate a first congestion degree more accurately. As a result, the communication system 1000B can more efficiently execute data communication with the terminal apparatus 200A [TAKAHASHI par 0170]
8. FUJISHIRO, Masato, and TAKAHASHI demonstrate the processing device of claim 7, FUJISHIRO and Masato fail to show wherein the hardware processor is configured to cause the size of the untransmitted data included in the first data to be transmitted from any of the radio communication terminals with a relatively high first priority to be larger than the size of the untransmitted data included in the first data to be transmitted from any of the radio communication terminals with a relatively low priority.
In an analogous art TAKAHASHI show wherein the hardware processor is configured to cause the size of the untransmitted data included in the first data to be transmitted from any of the radio communication terminals with a relatively high first priority to be larger than the size of the untransmitted data included in the first data to be transmitted from any of the radio communication terminals with a relatively low priority [par 0080, Further, the priority setting unit 124 may set, when, for example, the terminal apparatuses 200 transmit data of a predetermined data size to the server 100, a priority of a terminal apparatus having a large untransmitted data size at a higher level. It is assumed that the server 100 is measuring an untransmitted data size of each terminal apparatus]
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of FUJISHIRO, Masato, and TAKAHASHI because a server 100A can calculate a first congestion degree more accurately. As a result, the communication system 1000B can more efficiently execute data communication with the terminal apparatus 200A [TAKAHASHI par 0170]
11. FUJISHIRO and Masato fail to describe a communication system comprising: FUJISHIRO and Masato fail to show a base station; and a server connected to a network, wherein the base station comprises: the processing device of claim 1;
In an analogous art TAKAHASHI describe a communication system comprising: a base station; and a server connected to a network [par 0154, FIG. 6, the communication system 1000B includes a server 100A, a terminal apparatus 200A, and a base station 400. In FIG. 6, illustration of the respective components of the server 100A],
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of FUJISHIRO, Masato, and TAKAHASHI because a server 100A can calculate a first congestion degree more accurately. As a result, the communication system 1000B can more efficiently execute data communication with the terminal apparatus 200A [TAKAHASHI par 0170]
FUJIHIRO shows wherein the base station comprises: the processing device of claim 1 a radio device configured to communicate with a terminal; and a communication device configured to communicate with the network. [FUJISHIRO, par 0044-0047, As illustrated in FIG. 2, the gNB 200 includes a wireless communicator 210, a network communicator 220, and a controller 230. The wireless communicator 210 is used for wireless communication with the UE 100 and wireless communication with the IAB node 300. The wireless communicator 210 includes a receiver 211 and a transmitter 212. The receiver 211 performs various types of reception while being controlled by the controller 230. The receiver 211 includes an antenna, and converts a radio signal received by the antenna into a baseband signal (received signal) and outputs the baseband signal to the controller 230. The network communicator 220 is used for wired communication (or wireless communication) with the 5GC 10 and wired communication (or wireless communication) with another neighboring gNB 200. The network communicator 220 includes a receiver 221 and a transmitter 222. The controller 230 performs various kinds of controls for the gNB 200. The controller 230 includes at least one memory and at least one processor electrically connected to the memory. The paragraphs shows the wireless communicator [radio device] communicating with a UE that comprises a processor, and a network communicator [communication device] that communicates with the network].
Claim(s) 9, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FUJISHIRO et al. (U.S. Pub No 2022/0232593 A1) in view of FUJUSHIRO et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2024/0073736 A1) hereinafter Masato in view of TAKAHASHI (U.S. Pub No.2017/0078201 A1)in view of Nakatsugawa et al. (U.S. Pub No.2015/0281352 A1)
9, FUJISHIRO, Masato, and TAKAHASHI convey the processing device of claim 7,
FUJISHIRO, Masato, and TAKAHASHI fail to show wherein the hardware processor is configured to receive identification information of a data generation source and a priority of the generation source from an external device.
In an analogous art Nakatsugawa show wherein the hardware processor is configured to receive identification information of a data generation source and a priority of the generation source from an external device[par 0101, the generation device information table includes data items of a generation device identifier, a connection destination storage device, a generation data size, and the generation cycle. The data items in the generation device information table are collected from a generation device in a network by the information collection unit 21 via the transmission/reception unit]
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of FUJISHIRO, Masato, TAKAHASHI, and Nakatsugawa because storage rule may be quickly determined, such that the calculation load of determining the storage rule in the second step described below is reduced.
Claim(s) 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FUJISHIRO et al. (U.S. Pub No 2022/0232593 A1) in view of FUJUSHIRO et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2024/0073736 A1) hereinafter Masato in view of Kung (U.S. Pub No. 2020/0351855 A1)
14, FUJISHIRO and Masato define the processing device of claim 1, FUJISHIRO fail to show wherein the hardware processor is configured to calculate an estimation size of data to be generated by the terminal during a time period based on the transmission interval and a reception timing at which the first data from the first layer was received by the processing unit,
In an analogous art Masato show wherein the hardware processor is configured to calculate an estimation size of data to be generated by the terminal during a time period based on the transmission interval[par 0079, 0289, Generally, a BSR transmitted by the UE 100 (hereinafter referred to as the “legacy BSR” as appropriate) indicates, for each logical channel group (LCG), the amount of uplink data having yet to be transmitted by each of the MAC, RLC, and PDCP layers (that is, an uplink buffer amount). Each LCG is a group including at least one logical channel and configured by priority. Based on the legacy BSR received from the UE 100, the gNB 200 determines, for each LCG, the amount of uplink data untransmitted by the UE. may be to provide the IAB node with configuration of whether to trigger the pre-emptive BSR at the time of UL grant transmission or BSR reception. Configuration by the IAB donor is easy, but the pre-emptive BSR is actually used in the IAB-DU of the parent node, in other words, in the scheduler]
the time period being a period of time between two consecutive transmission timings[par 0289, One simple solution may be to provide the IAB node with configuration of whether to trigger the pre-emptive BSR at the time of UL grant transmission or BSR reception].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary sill in the art to combine the teachings of FUJISHIRO and Masato because upstream direction and an uplink (UL) direction may be used without distinction, and downstream direction and a downlink (DL) direction may be used without distinction par 0076]
FUJISHIRO and Masato fail to show the time period being a period of time between two consecutive transmission timings
In an analogous art Kung show the time period being a period of time between two consecutive transmission timings [par 0456, The available transmission times may be spaced by the first periodicity. For example, the first periodicity may correspond to a duration of time between each consecutive pair of times of the available transmission times].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary sill in the art to combine the teachings of FUJISHIRO, Masato, and Kung because a network node can schedule one or more sidelink resources to be used by a UE for one or more sidelink transmissions.[Kung, par 0422]
15, FUJISHIRO and Masato disclose the communication method of claim 12, FUJISHIRO fail to show further comprising: calculating an estimation size of data to be generated by the terminal during a time period based on the transmission interval and a reception timing at which the first data from the first layer was received,
In an analogous art Masato show further comprising: calculating an estimation size of data to be generated by the terminal during a time period based on the transmission interval[par 0079, 0289, Generally, a BSR transmitted by the UE 100 (hereinafter referred to as the “legacy BSR” as appropriate) indicates, for each logical channel group (LCG), the amount of uplink data having yet to be transmitted by each of the MAC, RLC, and PDCP layers (that is, an uplink buffer amount). Each LCG is a group including at least one logical channel and configured by priority. Based on the legacy BSR received from the UE 100, the gNB 200 determines, for each LCG, the amount of uplink data untransmitted by the UE. may be to provide the IAB node with configuration of whether to trigger the pre-emptive BSR at the time of UL grant transmission or BSR reception. Configuration by the IAB donor is easy, but the pre-emptive BSR is actually used in the IAB-DU of the parent node, in other words, in the scheduler]
and a reception timing at which the first data from the first layer was received[par 0289, One simple solution may be to provide the IAB node with configuration of whether to trigger the pre-emptive BSR at the time of UL grant transmission or BSR reception].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary sill in the art to combine the teachings of FUJISHIRO and Masato because upstream direction and an uplink (UL) direction may be used without distinction, and downstream direction and a downlink (DL) direction may be used without distinction par 0076]
FUJISHIRO and Masato fail to show the time period being a period of time between two consecutive transmission timings
In an analogous art Kung show the time period being a period of time between two consecutive transmission timings [par 0456, The available transmission times may be spaced by the first periodicity. For example, the first periodicity may correspond to a duration of time between each consecutive pair of times of the available transmission times].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary sill in the art to combine the teachings of FUJISHIRO, Masato, and Kung because a network node can schedule one or more sidelink resources to be used by a UE for one or more sidelink transmissions.[Kung, par 0422]
16, FUJISHIRO and Masato create the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 13, FUJISHIRO fail to show wherein the computer-executable instructions further cause the computer to: calculate an estimation size of data to be generated by the terminal during a time period based on the transmission interval and a reception timing at which the first data from the first layer was received,
In analogous art Masato show wherein the computer-executable instructions further cause the computer to: calculate an estimation size of data to be generated by the terminal during a time period based on the transmission interval[par 0079, 0289, Generally, a BSR transmitted by the UE 100 (hereinafter referred to as the “legacy BSR” as appropriate) indicates, for each logical channel group (LCG), the amount of uplink data having yet to be transmitted by each of the MAC, RLC, and PDCP layers (that is, an uplink buffer amount). Each LCG is a group including at least one logical channel and configured by priority. Based on the legacy BSR received from the UE 100, the gNB 200 determines, for each LCG, the amount of uplink data untransmitted by the UE. may be to provide the IAB node with configuration of whether to trigger the pre-emptive BSR at the time of UL grant transmission or BSR reception. Configuration by the IAB donor is easy, but the pre-emptive BSR is actually used in the IAB-DU of the parent node, in other words, in the scheduler]
and a reception timing at which the first data from the first layer was received[par 0289, One simple solution may be to provide the IAB node with configuration of whether to trigger the pre-emptive BSR at the time of UL grant transmission or BSR reception].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary sill in the art to combine the teachings of FUJISHIRO and Masato because upstream direction and an uplink (UL) direction may be used without distinction, and downstream direction and a downlink (DL) direction may be used without distinction par 0076]
FUJISHIRO and Masato fail to show the time period being a period of time between two consecutive transmission timings
In an analogous art Kung show the time period being a period of time between two consecutive transmission timings [par 0456, The available transmission times may be spaced by the first periodicity. For example, the first periodicity may correspond to a duration of time between each consecutive pair of times of the available transmission times].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary sill in the art to combine the teachings of FUJISHIRO, Masato, and Kung because a network node can schedule one or more sidelink resources to be used by a UE for one or more sidelink transmissions.[Kung, par 0422]
Response to Arguments
It is respectfully submitted that Fujishiro et al fails to disclose, suggest, or render obvious the features recited in amended independent claim 1 with respect to (i) the first data, which includes data transmitted from a terminal connected to the base station, (ii) receiving a data transmission interval of the terminal and a size of data to be generated by the terminal during the interval, and (iii) calculating an estimation size of data to be generated by the terminal based on the transmission interval and a reception timing at which the first data from the first layer was received, and generating second data to be transmitted to the second layer by changing a size of the untransmitted data based on the estimated size.
It is respectfully submitted, moreover, that Fujihiro et al similarly fails to disclose, suggest, or render obvious the corresponding features recited in amended independent claims 12 and 13.
The examiner’s response applicant’s arguments are moot in view of newly rejected claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASON A HARLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/Thomas R Cairns/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2468