DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
2. Applicant’s amendments submitted on 7/21/26 have been received. Claims 1, 5, and 16 have been amended. Claims 2-4, 6 and 17 have been cancelled. Claims 21-25 are new.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claim(s) 1, 7, 8, 10, 23, and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Singh et al. (US 2024/0405324).
Regarding claim 1, Singh discloses a battery pack([0035], Fig. 1), comprising:
a first battery module including a first interior volume(module 102, Fig. 1, [0038]-[0039]);
a second battery module including a second interior volume that is fluidly isolated from
the first interior volume(module 102, Fig. 1, [0038]-[0039]); and an immersion cooling system for thermally managing the first battery module and the second battery module (cooling system 100, Fig. 1, [0038]-[0039]), wherein the immersion cooling system includes an intake manifold, an exhaust manifold, a first intake runner fluidly connected to the intake manifold and the first interior volume, a second intake runner fluidly connected to the intake manifold and the second interior volume, a first exhaust runner fluidly connected to the exhaust manifold and the first interior volume, a second exhaust runner fluidly connected to the exhaust manifold and the second interior volume, a first flow control valve positioned within the first intake runner, and a second flow control valve positioned within the second intake runner(see Fig. A as annotated Fig. 1)
Fig. A.
Regarding claim 7, Singh discloses the immersion cooling system is configured to circulate a dielectric fluid through the first interior volume([0036], [0039]).
Regarding claim 8, Singh discloses the immersion cooling system further includes a reservoir that is fluidly connected to the intake manifold(surge tank 118, Fig. 1, [0047]).
Regarding claim 10, Singh discloses the immersion cooling system further includes a pump configured to circulate a dielectric fluid through the intake manifold(114, Fig. 1, [0039]-[0040]).
Regarding claim 23, Singh discloses the first battery module further includes a first outer housing enclosing the first interior volume, and wherein the first intake runner extends into and terminates within the first interior volume such that a cooling fluid is directed by the first intake runner directly into the first interior volume([0039], Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 24, Singh discloses the second battery module further includes a second outer housing enclosing the second interior volume, and wherein the second intake runner extends into and terminates within the second interior volume such that the cooling fluid is directed by the second intake runner directly into the second interior volume([0039], Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Singh et al. (US 2024/0405324) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Gao (US2023/0299375).
Regarding claim 5, Singh discloses comprising a first and a second temperature sensors (110, Fig. 1, [0042]) but does not explicitly disclose positioned within or near the first exhaust runner, and a second temperature sensor positioned within or near the second exhaust runner.
Gao teaches a battery package comprising: one or more battery compartments each having an upstream end, a downstream end, and a plurality of sidewalls extending between the upstream end and the downstream end, each battery compartment having a plurality of battery cells disposed therein; and a supply module fluidly coupled to the upstream end of the one or more battery compartments, the supply module including: a supply pump having an inlet and an outlet, and a supply flow channel that fluidly couples the outlet of the supply pump to the upstream ends of the one or more battery compartments(claim 1). Gao teaches the battery package further includes a temperature sensor positioned at or near the downstream ends of the one or more battery compartments and a controller electrically coupled to the temperature sensor and the supply pump([0031]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the battery pack of Singh with a first temperature sensor positioned within or near the first exhaust runner, and a second temperature sensor positioned within or near the second exhaust runner as taught by Gao as applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143.
9. Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Singh et al. (US 2024/0405324) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hickey (US 2023/0318118).
Regarding claim 9, Singh does not explicitly disclose the immersion cooling system further includes a liquid-gas separator fluidly connected to the exhaust manifold.
Hickey teaches a battery pack(100, Figs. 2 & 3, [0033]), comprising: a first battery module (120, 200, Figs. 2-4, [0033], [0036]) including a first interior volume(liquid-tight immersion compartment 201, Fig. 4, [0036], [0038]); and an immersion cooling system for thermally managing the first battery module(active thermal management (ATM) system 104, Fig. 3, [0034], liquid immersion cooling system 204, Fig. 4, [0036]), wherein the immersion cooling system includes an intake manifold(see coolant liquid in inlet port 101 in Fig. 3 & inlet manifold 246 in Fig. 4), an exhaust manifold(see coolant liquid 111 in outlet port 103 in Fig. 3 & outlet manifold 250 in Fig. 4). Hickey teaches the immersion cooling system further includes a liquid-gas separator fluidly connected to the exhaust manifold(gas valve 260, Fig. 4, [0043]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the battery pack of Singh with the immersion cooling system further includes a liquid-gas separator fluidly connected to the exhaust manifold as taught by Hickey as applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143.
10. Claim(s) 11, 12, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Singh et al. (US 2024/0405324) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Mastrandrea (US 9,969,295).
Regarding claim 11, Singh discloses the first battery module includes a plurality of battery cells housed within an outer housing(module 102, Fig. 1) but does not explicitly disclose that includes a plurality of plates.
Mastrandrea teaches cooling system directly in housing (title). Mastrandrea teaches the rechargeable battery system 104 may be comprised of one or more battery packs 106(Fig. 1). Mastrandrea teaches FIG. 3 is a top-view of one embodiment of an exemplary bottom tray 300, also referred to herein as a bottom carrier 300, a bottom cell holder 300, or a housing 300 (Col. 5, lines 4-6, Figs. 3 & 4). Mastrandrea teaches the plurality of receptacles 302 can be configured to receive and hold a portion a battery cell such as the lithium battery 202(Col. 5, lines 24-26).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the battery pack of Singh with an outer housing that includes a plurality of plates as taught by Mastrandrea in order to hold battery cells.
Regarding claim 12, modified Singh discloses at least one plate of the plurality of plates includes a battery cell holder arranged to maintain a spaced relationship between the plurality of battery cells (Mastrandrea, Figs. 3 & 4).
Regarding claim 21, modified Singh discloses the battery cell holder includes a base secured to an interior surface of the at least one plate, and a plurality of spacer fingers protruding outwardly from the base, the plurality of spacer fingers extending between adjacent battery cells of the plurality of battery cells to maintain the spaced relationship(Mastrandrea, Fig. 4).
11. Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Singh et al. (US 2024/0405324) and further in view of Mastrandrea (US 9,969,295) as applied to claims 1, 11, 12, and 21 above, and further in view of Fujii (US 2008/0026284).
Regarding claim 22, modified Singh does not explicitly disclose the plurality of spacer fingers are configured to permit a cooling fluid to flow between adjacent battery cells of the plurality of battery cells and around each battery cell of the plurality of battery cells.
Fujii teaches an electric power source in which a plurality of batteries, contained within a holder case in a multi-tier manner, are cooled effectively and uniformly with a reduced temperature difference among the batteries([0012]). Fujii teaches the power source shown in FIG. 1 is so designed as to cool the batteries 1 contained in the holder case 2 by allowing the cooling air to flow from the intermediary duct 4 through the holder case 2 into the outer duct 5 to thus be exhausted([0039]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the battery pack of modified Singh with the plurality of spacer fingers are configured to permit a cooling fluid to flow between adjacent battery cells of the plurality of battery cells and around each battery cell of the plurality of battery cells as taught by Fujii as obvious to try choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.
Allowable Subject Matter
12. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the invention in independent claim 13 is directed to a battery pack, comprising: a first battery module that includes a plurality of battery cells arranged within a first interior volume; an intake manifold configured to receive a cooling fluid; a first intake runner fluidly connected to the intake manifold and the first interior volume; a first exhaust runner fluidly connected to the first interior volume and an exhaust manifold; a first flow control valve configured to control a flow of the cooling fluid through the first interior volume; and a control module programmed to control a position of the first flow control valve based on a temperature of the cooling fluid exiting the first interior volume through the first exhaust runner.
Singh discloses a battery pack ([0035], Fig. 1), comprising: a first battery module that includes a plurality of battery cells arranged within a first interior volume (module 102, Fig. 1, [0038]-[0039]); an intake manifold configured to receive a cooling fluid; a first intake runner fluidly connected to the intake manifold and the first interior volume; a first exhaust runner fluidly connected to the first interior volume and an exhaust manifold; a first flow control valve configured to control a flow of the cooling fluid through the first interior volume([0038]-[0039], see Fig. A above); and a control module programmed to control a position of the first flow control valve based on a temperature of the cooling fluid (112, Fig. 1, [0043]-[0045]) but does not disclose, teach or render obvious based on a temperature of the cooling fluid exiting the first interior volume through the first exhaust runner.
13. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the invention in independent claim 25 is directed to a battery pack, comprising: a first battery module including a first interior volume, a first plurality of battery cells arranged within the first interior volume, and a first outer housing that includes a first battery cell holder arranged to maintain a spaced relationship between the first plurality of battery cells; a second battery module including a second interior volume that is fluidly isolated from the first interior volume, a second plurality of battery cells arranged within the second interior volume, and a second outer housing that includes a second battery cell holder arranged to maintain a spaced relationship between the second plurality of battery cells; an intake manifold and an exhaust manifold; a first intake runner fluidly connected to the intake manifold and the first interior volume, the first intake runner extending into and terminating within the first interior volume such that a cooling fluid is directed by the first intake runner directly into the first interior volume; a first exhaust runner fluidly connected to the exhaust manifold and the first interior volume; a second intake runner fluidly connected to the intake manifold and the second interior volume; a second exhaust runner fluidly connected to the exhaust manifold and the second interior volume; a first flow control valve positioned within the first intake runner; a second flow control valve positioned within the second intake runner; a first temperature sensor positioned within or near the first exhaust runner; a second temperature sensor positioned within or near the second exhaust runner; and a control module programmed to control a position of the first flow control valve based on a temperature of the cooling fluid exiting the first interior volume through the first exhaust runner, as sensed by the first temperature sensor, and further programmed to control a position of the second flow control valve based on a temperature of the cooling fluid exiting the second interior volume through the second exhaust runner, as sensed by the second temperature sensor.
Singh discloses a battery pack ([0035], Fig. 1), comprising: a first battery module including a first interior volume, a first plurality of battery cells arranged within the first interior volume, and a first outer housing that includes a first battery cell holder arranged to maintain a spaced relationship between the first plurality of battery cells (module 102, Fig. 1, [0038]-[0039]); a second battery module including a second interior volume that is fluidly isolated from the first interior volume, a second plurality of battery cells arranged within the second interior volume, and a second outer housing that includes a second battery cell holder arranged to maintain a spaced relationship between the second plurality of battery cells (module 102, Fig. 1, [0038]-[0039]); an intake manifold and an exhaust manifold; a first intake runner fluidly connected to the intake manifold and the first interior volume, the first intake runner extending into and terminating within the first interior volume such that a cooling fluid is directed by the first intake runner directly into the first interior volume; a first exhaust runner fluidly connected to the exhaust manifold and the first interior volume; a second intake runner fluidly connected to the intake manifold and the second interior volume; a second exhaust runner fluidly connected to the exhaust manifold and the second interior volume; a first flow control valve positioned within the first intake runner; a second flow control valve positioned within the second intake runner ([0038]-[0039], see Fig. A above); temperature sensors (110, Fig. 1, [0042]), a control module programmed to control a position of the first flow control valve based on a temperature of the cooling fluid(112, Fig. 1, [0043]-[0045]) but does not disclose, teach or render obvious a first temperature sensor positioned within or near the first exhaust runner; a second temperature sensor positioned within or near the second exhaust runner; and a control module programmed to control a position of the first flow control valve based on a temperature of the cooling fluid exiting the first interior volume through the first exhaust runner, as sensed by the first temperature sensor, and further programmed to control a position of the second flow control valve based on a temperature of the cooling fluid exiting the second interior volume through the second exhaust runner, as sensed by the second temperature sensor.
Response to Arguments
14. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/VICTORIA H LYNCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724