DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
2. Applicant’s amendments submitted on 8/5/26 have been received. Claims1, 3, 9, 11, 12, and 19 have been amended. Claim 20 has been cancelled. Claim 21 is new.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claim(s) 1-7, 11-17, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US2021/0320385).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a battery array for a traction battery pack(abstract, [0030]-[0031], Figs. 1-3), comprising: a plurality of battery cells(110, Fig. 3, [0059]); and
an integrated battery interconnect assembly for electrically connecting the plurality of battery cells, the integrated battery interconnect assembly including a cell sensing assembly having a base (protection circuit module 250 with printed circuit board 254 and temperature sensing unit 253, Fig. 3, [0109]), a top cover secured over top of the cell sensing assembly(see inner cover 240 in Fig. 3), and a first bus bar module pivotably connected to the cell sensing assembly(bus bar assembly 220, Fig. 3, [0058], [0102]), wherein the base is secured to or integrally formed with an underside of the top cover (printed circuit board 254, claim 7), wherein the integrated battery interconnect assembly is movable between a first position in which the first bus bar module is transverse to the top cover (Fig. 9) and a second position in which the first bus bar module and the top cover establish a substantially flat profile (before support plates 222b of bus bar frames 222 & 224 have rotated towards cell assembly 100 in Fig. 10, [0101]-[0104]).
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses the first position is an assembly position of the integrated battery interconnect assembly(Fig. 9) and the second position is a shipping position of the integrated battery interconnect assembly(before support plates 222b of bus bar frames 222 & 224 have rotated towards cell assembly 100 in Fig. 10, [0101]-[0104]).
Regarding claim 3, Kim discloses the cell sensing assembly includes the base positioned over top of the plurality of battery cells (see printed circuit board 254 positioned over cell assembly 100 in Fig. 3) and a first bus bar frame mount (connector 258, Figs. 3 & 8) secured to a bus bar (225, Figs. 3 & 8) of the first bus bar module([0113]).
Regarding claim 4, Kim discloses the base (254, Fig. 8) is connected to a bus bar frame (222, Fig. 8) of the first bus bar module by a clip (252, Figs. 3 & 8).
Regarding claim 5, Kim discloses the first bus bar frame mount is connected to the base by a first hinge assembly(see Fig. A as annotated Fig. 8)
Fig. A.
Regarding claim 6, Kim discloses the first hinge assembly includes a first hinge section connected to the base, a second hinge section connected to the first bus bar module, and a living hinge that movably connects the first hinge section to the second hinge section(Fig. A).
Regarding claim 7, Kim discloses the living hinge is established by a thinned section of the first hinge assembly(Fig. A).
Regarding claim 11, Kim discloses a battery array for a traction battery pack(abstract, [0030]-[0031], Figs. 1-3), comprising: a plurality of battery cells(110, Fig. 3, [0059]); and an integrated battery interconnect assembly for electrically connecting the plurality of battery cells, the integrated battery interconnect assembly including: a first bus bar module(see bus bar assembly 220 with bus bar frame 222 in Fig. 3, [0058], [0102]); a second bus bar module(see bus bar assembly 220 with bus bar frame 224 in Fig. 3, [0058], [0102]); a cell sensing assembly that extends between the first bus bar module and the second bus bar module(protection circuit module 250 with temperature sensing unit 253, Fig. 3, [0109]), wherein the cell sensing assembly includes a base(printed circuit board 254, Fig. 3); and a top cover positioned over top of the cell sensing assembly(see inner cover 240 in Fig. 3), wherein the base of the cell sensing assembly is secured to or integrally formed with an underside of the top cover (claim 7).
Regarding claim 12, Kim discloses the base extends between the first bus bar module and the second bus bar module(printed circuit board 254, Fig. 3), and the cell sensing assembly further includes a first bus bar frame mount (connector 258, Fig. 3) secured to a first bus bar (225, Fig. 3) of the first bus bar module([0113]), and a second bus bar frame mount (connector 258, Fig. 3) secured to a second bus bar (225, Fig. 3) of the second bus bar module([0113]).
Regarding claim 13, Kim discloses the first bus bar (225, Fig. 3) is held within a first bus bar frame (222, Fig. 3) of the first bus bar module, and the second bus bar (225, Fig. 3) is held within a second bus bar frame (224, Fig. 3) of the second bus bar module.
Regarding claim 14, Kim discloses the base (254, Fig. 8) of the cell sensing assembly is connected to the first bus bar frame (222, Fig. 8) by a first clip (252, Figs. 3 & 8) and to the second bus bar frame (224, Fig. 3) by a second clip(252, Figs. 3 & 8).
Regarding claim 15, Kim discloses the first bus bar frame mount is connected to the base by a first hinge assembly(see Fig. A above), and the second bus bar frame mount is connected to the base by a second hinge assembly(see Fig. A above).
Regarding claim 16, Kim discloses each of the first hinge assembly and the second hinge assembly includes a first hinge section connected to the base, a second hinge section connected to the first bus bar module or the second bus bar module, and a living hinge that movably connects the first hinge section to the second hinge section(see Fig. A above).
Regarding claim 17, Kim discloses the living hinge is established by a thinned section of the first hinge assembly or the second hinge assembly (see Fig. A above).
Regarding claim 21, Kim discloses a battery array for a traction battery pack (abstract, [0030]-[0031], Figs. 1-3), comprising: a plurality of battery cells (110, Fig. 3, [0059]); and an integrated battery interconnect assembly for electrically connecting the plurality of battery cells, the integrated battery interconnect assembly including: a bus bar module(bus bar assembly 220, Fig. 3, [0058]); and a cell sensing assembly including a base (protection circuit module 250 with printed circuit board 254 and temperature sensing unit 253, Fig. 3, [0109]) and a bus bar frame mount (connector 258, Figs. 3 & 8) secured to a bus bar (225, Figs. 3 & 8) of the bus bar module ([0113]), the bus bar frame mount connected to the base by a hinge assembly, the hinge assembly including a first hinge section integrally formed with the base, a second hinge section integrally formed with the bus bar frame mount, and a living hinge that movably connects the first hinge section to the second hinge section(see Fig. B as annotated Fig. 8),
Fig. B.
Continuing with claim 21, Kim discloses wherein the base and the bus bar frame mount are separately formed components joined together by the hinge assembly(Fig. B), and the living hinge is established by a thinned section of the hinge assembly(Fig. B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US2021/0320385) as applied to claims 1, 3, 5, and 6 above, and further in view of Cheon et al. (US 2017/0250395).
Regarding claim 8, Kim does not explicitly disclose the first hinge section includes an opening configured to receive a boss of the first bus bar module.
Cheon teaches a battery pack includes a protection circuit module for a plurality of battery cells arranged in parallel in a case (abstract). Cheon teaches the first hinge section includes an opening (see Fig. 4 as annotated Fig. C)
Fig. C.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the first hinge assembly of Kim with the first hinge section includes an opening as taught by Cheon in order to provide a space for passing through.
9. Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US2021/0320385) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Rhee et al. (US 2022/0069377).
Regarding claim 9, Kim does not explicitly disclose comprising a foam barrier secured to an underside of the base of the cell sensing assembly.
Rhee teaches a battery module comprises a housing including an upper cover with a sensing module, a lower cover with a cooling plate, front cover and a rear cover, a plurality of secondary battery cells stacked within the housing, and a plurality of thermal barriers, each thermal barrier being disposed between adjacent secondary battery cells([0026]). Rhee teaches the thermal barrier may be located in at least one of the following i) between one secondary battery cell among the plurality of secondary battery cells accommodated in the housing and a neighboring secondary battery cell adjacent thereto; ii) between an cell tab of the one secondary battery cell and an cell tab of the neighboring secondary battery cell; and iii) in an upper space of the housing above the plurality of secondary battery cells accommodated in the housing([0024]). Rhee teaches the thermal barrier may include two heat resistant layers and a rigid mechanical layer disposed between the two heat resistant layers and the rigid mechanical layer may be at least one of a film, a woven fabric, a non-won fabric, or foam ([0015]-[0016]). Rhee teaches a battery module having a thermal barrier preventing heat or flame from transferring and spreading to other adjacent secondary battery cells, when a thermal runaway or flame occurs in a secondary battery cell in a housing accommodating the secondary battery cells([0041]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the battery array of Kim with comprising a foam barrier secured to an underside of a base of the cell sensing assembly as taught by Rhee in order to prevent heat or flame from transferring and spreading.
10. Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US2021/0320385), and further in view of Rhee et al. (US 2022/0069377) as applied to claims 1 and 9 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (US 2020/0259155).
Regarding claim 10, modified Kim does not explicitly disclose the base includes a plurality of vent channels.
Lee teaches a battery module which includes: a battery stack formed by stacking a plurality of battery cells respectively including electrode tabs on each other; bus bar assemblies located on both sides of the battery stack, from which the electrode tabs are drawn, to electrically connect the plurality of battery cells to each other through the plurality of electrode tabs; and a sensing module assembly disposed on one side of the battery stack, from which the electrode tab is not drawn out, to electrically connect the bus bar assemblies on both sides of the battery stack(abstract). Lee teaches the upper structure 30′ included in the battery module 1′ may include bus bar assemblies 320′ and a sensing module assembly 310′ which are coupled with each other, and the sensing module assembly may have at least one heat dissipation hole 312′ formed therein to dissipate the heat from the battery stack 10′ (Fig. 7, [0087]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the base of modified Kim with the base includes a plurality of vent channels as taught by Lee in order to dissipate the heat from the battery stack.
11. Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US2021/0320385) as applied to claims 11, 12, 15, and 16 above, and further in view of Cheon et al. (US 2017/0250395).
Regarding claim 18, Kim does not explicitly disclose the first hinge section includes an opening configured to receive a boss of the first bus bar module or the second bus bar module
Cheon teaches a battery pack includes a protection circuit module for a plurality of battery cells arranged in parallel in a case (abstract). Cheon teaches the first hinge section includes an opening (see Fig. 4 as annotated Fig. D)
Fig. D.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the first hinge assembly of Kim with the first hinge section includes an opening as taught by Cheon in order to provide a space for passing through.
12. Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US2021/0320385) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Rhee et al. (US 2022/0069377) and Lee et al. (US 2020/0259155).
Regarding claim 19, Kim does not explicitly disclose comprising a foam barrier secured to an underside of the base of the cell sensing assembly.
Rhee teaches a battery module comprises a housing including an upper cover with a sensing module, a lower cover with a cooling plate, front cover and a rear cover, a plurality of secondary battery cells stacked within the housing, and a plurality of thermal barriers, each thermal barrier being disposed between adjacent secondary battery cells([0026]). Rhee teaches the thermal barrier may be located in at least one of the following i) between one secondary battery cell among the plurality of secondary battery cells accommodated in the housing and a neighboring secondary battery cell adjacent thereto; ii) between an cell tab of the one secondary battery cell and an cell tab of the neighboring secondary battery cell; and iii) in an upper space of the housing above the plurality of secondary battery cells accommodated in the housing([0024]). Rhee teaches the thermal barrier may include two heat resistant layers and a rigid mechanical layer disposed between the two heat resistant layers and the rigid mechanical layer may be at least one of a film, a woven fabric, a non-won fabric, or foam ([0015]-[0016]). Rhee teaches a battery module having a thermal barrier preventing heat or flame from transferring and spreading to other adjacent secondary battery cells, when a thermal runaway or flame occurs in a secondary battery cell in a housing accommodating the secondary battery cells([0041]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the battery array of Kim with comprising a foam barrier secured to an underside of a base of the cell sensing assembly as taught by Rhee in order to prevent heat or flame from transferring and spreading.
Continuing with claim 19, modified Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein the base includes a plurality of vent channels.
Lee teaches a battery module which includes: a battery stack formed by stacking a plurality of battery cells respectively including electrode tabs on each other; bus bar assemblies located on both sides of the battery stack, from which the electrode tabs are drawn, to electrically connect the plurality of battery cells to each other through the plurality of electrode tabs; and a sensing module assembly disposed on one side of the battery stack, from which the electrode tab is not drawn out, to electrically connect the bus bar assemblies on both sides of the battery stack(abstract). Lee teaches the upper structure 30′ included in the battery module 1′ may include bus bar assemblies 320′ and a sensing module assembly 310′ which are coupled with each other, and the sensing module assembly may have at least one heat dissipation hole 312′ formed therein to dissipate the heat from the battery stack 10′ (Fig. 7, [0087]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the base array of modified Kim with the base includes a plurality of vent channels as taught by Lee in order to dissipate the heat from the battery stack.
Response to Arguments
13. Applicant's arguments filed 8/5/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s argument: Independent claims 1 and 11 have each been amended to recite that the base of the cell sensing assembly is secured to or integrally formed with an underside of the top cover integrated battery interconnect assembly. The Examiner maps the claimed cell sensing assembly to the inner cover 240 of Kim, and further maps the claimed top cover to the module housing 210 of Kim. As the Examiner further relies on the inner cover 240 for the "base" originally recited in claims 3 and 12, and for the "hinge" structure recited in claim 5, the inner cover 240 cannot simultaneously serve as the "top cover" of the assembly. The module housing 210 is therefore the only structure available in Kim to satisfy the newly added limitations.
Examiner’s answer: Kim discloses a cell sensing assembly having a base (printed circuit board 254, Fig. 3), a top cover (240, Fig. 3)………, wherein the base is secured to or integrally formed with an underside of the top cover (claim 7).
Applicant’s argument: Further, Cheon's hole portion 23 is disclosed only as exposing a region of the battery cell for a temperature measuring device 31 ([0041]), an access opening for sensor exposure. The claimed opening is configured to receive a boss for locating and securing purposes. Cheon discloses no structure received into hole portion 23, and an access hole is not equivalent to a receptacle sized for a mating protrusion. Cheon therefore does not teach this limitation.
Examiner’s answer: Cheon teaches the hinge section includes an opening as shown in Fig. C above. The opening provides a space for passing through, i.e., a protrusion.
Applicant’s argument: Further, Lee's heat dissipation hole 312' is disclosed only as dissipating heat from the battery stack ([0087]), a passive thermal function. The claimed vent channels permit battery cell vent gases to pass through the cell sensing assembly during a thermal event, accommodating pressurized gas ejection rather than passive heat flow. Lee does not disclose its hole as serving this venting function, and heat dissipation and gas venting present distinct structural requirements. Lee therefore does not support this limitation. Claim 10 would not have been obvious for at least this additional reason.
Examiner’s answer: Lee teaches a battery module which may increase a heat dissipation effect through a sensing module assembly of a battery stack([0011]). Lee teaches the sensing module assembly may have at least one heat dissipation hole 312′ formed therein to dissipate the heat from the battery stack 10′ ([0087]). Lee teaches a plurality of heat dissipation holes 312′ may be formed in the sensing module assembly 310′ by penetrating in a direction perpendicular to a planar direction of the sensing module assembly 310′ (a direction perpendicular to the direction in which the electrode tabs 120 are drawn out and the stacking direction of the battery cells 110), and the plurality of heat dissipation holes 312′ may be disposed spaced apart from each other([0088]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VICTORIA H LYNCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724