DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 20 May 2026 was filed after the mailing date of the Non-Final Rejection on 24 April 2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 24 July 2026 has been entered. Claims 1 and 3-13 remain pending in the application. Claim 2 has been canceled, rendering its rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) moot.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome the 112(b) rejections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 24 April 2026.
All prior art grounds of rejection are withdrawn. New grounds of rejection are presented herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4, 6, and 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanai et al. (JP 2019-169315 A, using attached machine translation, hereinafter "Kanai 2019").
Regarding claims 1 and 8-11, Kanai 2019 teaches an electrode comprising: a substrate (Fig. 1, element 40; [0055]: “the gas diffusion layer 40 is a porous substrate”); an intermediate layer including carbon particles and resin on the substrate (Fig. 1, element 20; [0032] and throughout: as water-retaining layer; [0035]: carbon particles; [0045]: resin); and a catalyst layer on the intermediate layer (Fig. 1, element 10; [0017]), wherein a thickness of the intermediate layer is 100 μm thick, fully within the claimed range of 70 μm or more and 300 μm or less ([0087], Table 1: example 18 has a 100 μm thick retention layer). The moisture management layer 30 may be removed when the electrode is used in a membrane electrolyte assembly ([0065]: as “membrane electrode assembly”). The MEA may be used in electrochemical cells ([0071]) or stacks ([0072]). A stack may also be made of electrochemical cells ([0072]).
The ratio of an average thickness of the intermediate layer to an average thickness of the catalyst layer may be within the range of 50:1 to 250:1 ([0020]: 0.05 μm thick catalyst layer corresponding to 2000:1, 3 μm corresponding to about 33:1 using the previously cited 100 μm thick intermediate layer). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. See MPEP § 2144.05(I). The claimed ratio of average thickness of the intermediate layer to the average thickness of the catalyst layer between 50:1 and 250:1 is therefore obvious absent a showing of unexpected results from ratios within the claimed range.
Figure 1 is shown below for clarity. The labels have been more clearly marked.
Regarding claim 3, Kanai 2019 further teaches that “the porosity of the water-retaining layer 20 is preferably 30% to 80%” ([0034]). The mathematical ratio of claim 3, “a product of the average thickness of the intermediate layer and a porosity of the intermediate layer to an average thickness of the catalyst layer from 20:1 to 200:1,” may therefore range from 10:1 to 1,600:1 based on the previously taught intermediate layer thickness of 100 μm and catalyst layer heights between 0.05 μm and 3 μm. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP § 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 4, the catalyst layer is carrier-less and has porous catalyst units ([0017]: “The catalyst layer 10 does not contain a support. The catalyst layer 10 contains pores.”).
Regarding claim 6, the average size of the catalyst unit, reading on “average circumscribed circle diameter,” is taught as “preferably 50 nm or more and 2 μm or less” ([0020]). These values are fully within the claimed range of “between 50 nm and 100 nm.”
Claims 5, 7, 12, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanai 2019 (JP 2019-169315 A) as applied to claims 1, 10, and 11 above, and further in view of Kanai et al. (JP 2020-047446 A, as previously attached, hereinafter "Kanai 2020").
Regarding claim 5, Kanai 2019 teaches that the average thickness of the catalyst layer “is preferably 0.05 μm or more and 3 μm or less” ([0020]), establishing a prima facie case of obviousness due to the ranges’ overlap, but does not specifically teach the claimed range of “0.5 μm or more and 5 μm or less.”
However, Kanai 2020 teaches that a more preferable average thickness of the catalyst layer disposed on a substrate is between 0.7 μm and 2.1 μm ([0024]: given in nm), fully within the claimed range of “0.5 μm or more and 5 μm or less.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use the more preferable catalyst layer thickness disclosed by Kanai 2020 within the range of Kanai 2019. One of ordinary skill in the art would have done so because heights within this range had been found to significantly improve proton conductivity throughout the membrane electrode assembly (Kanai 2020 [0024]).
Regarding claims 7, 12, and 13, Kanai 2019 does not teach using the previously taught electrode in the generation of hydrogen, nor the use of its associated stacks in electrolyzers.
However, Kanai 2020 teaches that in water electrolysis, the cathode is used to generate hydrogen ([0064]). Cells and stacks suitable for fuel cells may be used in water electrolysis ([0078]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use the electrode of Kanai 2019 in generating hydrogen and in assemblies of electrolyzers comprising stacks and membrane electrode assemblies. One of ordinary skill in the art would do so because they are known to be obvious variants in methods of using the same apparatus and produce the useful products of hydrogen and oxygen gases.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pp. 9-10, filed 24 July 2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1 and 3-13 under Gruver et al. (US 4,564,427) alone or in combination with Kanai 2020 (JP 2020-047446 A) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, new grounds of rejection are made in view of Kanai 2019 (JP 2019-169315 A) and Kanai 2020.
Conclusion
/CBF/Examiner, Art Unit 1711
/MICHAEL E BARR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1711