Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, Claims 1-13, in the reply filed on 06/01/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 14-18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 06/01/2026.
Applicant further elects Species B, claim 8, with traverse.
Upon comprehensive search and consideration of the claimed invention, Applicant’s arguments are found persuasive. The restriction requirement between Species A and Species B has been withdrawn.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In lines 2-4, The claim limitation, “the header in the installed position disposed over an opening in the enclosure, the header in the installed position receiving a portion of a busbar when the header is in the installed position” should read, “wherein, when in the installed position, the header is disposed over an opening in the enclosure and is configured to receive a portion of a busbar”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 7-8, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Atala et al. (US 11233363 B2, refer to US PG Pub US 20210091380 A1 for citations) in view of Sturza et al. (US 20180201153 A1) and De Souza et al. (US 20180269454 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Atala discloses a battery pack assembly ([0040]) comprising a header (i.e. plate/header plate, Fig. 3, 74). Atala further discloses the header is connected to the wall (Fig. 3, 66, [0046]) directly such that it is substantially air and water tight, or with a seal.
Atala discloses the header but does not explicitly detail the attachment mechanism that allows the header to transition from an uninstalled position to an installed position.
However, Sturza teaches a similar battery assembly a similar assembly with a connector interface (Fig. 4, 70) connected to an outer wall (Fig. 4, 64, [0027]), similar to the disclosed header plate of Atala, where the inner wall (Fig. 4, 62) is secured to the outer wall using any suitable approach such as snap-fit interference fit or mechanical fasteners ([0026]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have secured the header of Atala in a manner similar to that of Sturza through utilizing snap fit interference fit or mechanical fasteners, thus allowing the header to transition from an uninstalled to an installed position, as this is a well-known configuration in the art as suggested by Sturza.
Atala further discloses the header supports electrical connectors relative to the wall and the electrical connectors each electrically connect a component in the interior of the battery assembly to components outside the battery assembly ([0046]), and that the main body section of the plate covers one or more openings in the wall (i.e. enclosure, [0048]). Thus, Atala satisfies the claim limitation, “the header in the installed position disposed over an opening in the enclosure”.
While Atala does not explicitly disclose “the header in the installed position receiving a portion of a busbar when the header is in the installed position”, as the battery assembly comprises busbars in in the interior ([0041]), it would reasonable for a skilled artisan to expect Atala’s disclosed header to receive a portion of a busbar when the header is in an installed position.
De Souza teaches a similar battery assembly pack ([0004]) comprising a terminal (Fig. 2, 58, 64, [0050]), wherein the quick connect assembly is configured to mechanically and electrically couple bus bars to the terminals ([0048]). De Souza further teaches the terminal includes a socket configured to receive the end of the busbar upon application of a push force to the busbar ([0052]). De Souza further teaches a quick connect assembly which is a snap-fit connection where the push fittings are configured to electrically couple a busbar to a terminal by a push force without a threaded connection ([0055]). Furthermore, De Souza teaches that such quick connect assemblies increase the ease of assembly of electronic components of electrified vehicles and provide durable and reliable connection without ([0048-0049]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improved the header plate of Atala with a socket configured to receive the end of the busbar for the benefit of quick connect assemblies and an increase in the ease of assembly of electronic components, as taught by De Souza.
Regarding claim 4, modified Atala discloses all limitations as set forth above.
Modified Atala discloses the header being secured to the outer wall using any suitable approach such as snap-fit interference fit or mechanical fasteners, as rendered obvious above (Sturza, [0026]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have selected a mechanical fastener from the finite possible options, to secure the header to the enclosure when the header is in the installed position with reasonable expectation that such a selection will result in a satisfactory header and battery pack assembly.
Regarding claim 7, modified Atala discloses all limitations as set forth.
Modified Atala further discloses wherein the header is configured to receive the end of the busbar upon application of a push force to the busbar (De Souza, [0048-0049];[0052]), as rendered obvious above. “Press-fit”, interpreted broadly and absent of a special definition provided in the instant specification, is understood to be a way of joining two parts through pressing. Thus, modified Atala satisfies claim 7.
Regarding claim 8, modified Atala discloses all limitations as set forth above.
Modified Atala further discloses wherein the header is configured to receive the end of the busbar (De Souza, [0048-0049]), as rendered obvious above. Modified Atala further discloses the quick connect assembly can be a snap-fit connection (De Souza, [0055]). Thus, modified Atala satisfies claim 8.
Regarding claim 10, modified Atala discloses all limitations as set forth above.
Modified Atala further discloses the header (i.e. plate, Atala, [0048]) includes a plurality of openings configured to support electrical connectors (Atala, [0048]) and that the openings may be configured to permit the electrical connectors to snap-fit relative to the header or be attached using fasteners (Atala, [0049]).
Modified Atala further discloses the electrical connectors each electrically connect a component in the interior of the battery assembly to a component outside the battery assembly (Atala, [0046]).
Therefore, modified Atala satisfies the claim limitation, “wherein the header is configured to removable engage with an electrical connector to electrically connect to at least one component within an interior of the enclosure with at least one component outside the interior of the enclosure”.
Claims 2-3, 5-6, 9, and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Atala et al. (US 11233363 B2), Sturza et al. (US 20180201153 A1), and De Souza et al. (US 20180269454 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Shimoda et al. (US 20150228942 A1).
Regarding claim 2, modified Atala discloses all limitations as set forth above.
Modified Atala discloses the header main body section covers one or more openings in the wall (i.e. enclosure, Atala, [0048]) and that the header (i.e. plate, Atala, [0048]) includes a socket configured to receive the end of the busbar upon application of a push force to the busbar (De Souza, [0055]).
Modified Atala further discloses the header (i.e. plate) supports three electrical connects used to electrically connect a component in the interior of the battery assembly to a component outside the battery assembly (Atala, [0046]) but does not explicitly disclose wherein the busbar extends through the opening from an interior of the enclosure
Shimoda discloses a similar battery assembly (i.e. battery module, [0034]) wherein the busbars (Fig. 1, 38A, 38B) extend through openings (i.e. busbar draw-out ports, Fig. 1, 29B) from an interior of the enclosure (Fig. 1, 26, 11) ([0048]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have utilized the configuration of Shimoda wherein the busbars extend through the opening from an interior of the enclosure with a reasonable expectation of success in achieving a satisfactory battery pack assembly as such a configuration is well-known in the art, as taught by Shimoda.
Regarding claim 3, modified Atala discloses all limitations as set forth above.
Modified Atala discloses a header which is connected to the enclosure (i.e. outer wall, Sturza, Fig. 4, 64, [0027]), which is secured using snap-fit interference fit or mechanical fasteners (Sturza, [0026]), as rendered obvious above.
Therefore, a skilled artisan would recognize through being secured using snap-fit interference or mechanical fasteners, modified Atala’s header is configured to move from the uninstalled position to the installed position without accessing the interior. Thus, modified Atala satisfies claim 3.
Regarding claim 5, modified Atala discloses all limitations as set forth above.
Modified Atala further discloses wherein the opening is in a wall of a tray (i.e. busbar draw-out ports, Fig. 1, 29B) of the enclosure (Shimoda, 26, 11). Thus, modified Atala satisfies claim 5.
Regarding claim 6, modified Atala discloses all limitations as set forth above.
Modified Atala further discloses wherein the busbar is connected to the uppermost electric cell and may be a terminal that acts as the cathode or anode of the battery module, and may be made of a conductive material (Shimoda, [0066]).
Therefore, modified Atala satisfies claim 6.
Regarding claim 9, modified Atala discloses all limitations as set forth above.
Modified Atala discloses wherein a first and second busbar (Shimoda, Fig. 1, 38A, 38B, [0048]) extend through openings (i.e. busbar draw-out ports, Shimoda, Fig. 1, 29B, [0048]) from an interior of the enclosure (Shimoda, Fig. 1, 26, 11).
Furthermore, modified Atala discloses a header with multiple openings (Atala, Fig. 7, 92, 94, 96) and multiple electrical connectors (Atala, Fig. 4, 76, 78, 80) which electrically connect a component in the interior of the battery assembly to a component outside the battery assembly (Atala, [0046]), and the header is contains a socket configured to receive the end of the busbar upon application of a push force to the busbar (De Souza, [0052]).
Therefore, modified Atala satisfies the claim limitation “wherein the busbar is a first busbar, the header in the installed position further receiving a second busbar that extends through the opening from an interior of the enclosure”.
Regarding claim 11, modified Atala discloses all limitations as set forth above.
Modified Atala further discloses wherein the battery pack further comprises the enclosure (Atala, Fig. 2-3, 66), and the battery array held within an interior are of the enclosure (Atala, Fig. 2, 56A, 56B).
Modified Atala further discloses the header (i.e. plate) includes a plurality of openings configured to support electrical connectors (Atala, [0048]) and that the openings may be configured to permit the electrical connectors to snap-fit relative to the header or be attached using fasteners (Atala, [0049]), thus satisfying the claim limitation, “an electrical connector that is engageable with the header”.
Modified Atala further discloses the electrical connectors each electrically connect a component in the interior of the battery assembly to a component outside the battery assembly (Atala, [0046]), but does not explicitly disclose the electrical connector engaged with the header to electrically connect the electrical connector to the busbar. As the electrical connectors are engageable with the header (Atala, Fig. 4), a skilled artisan would recognize that the electrical connectors are capable of electrically connecting the electrical connectors to the busbars, satisfying the claim limitation “to electrically connect the electrical connector to the busbar”.
Modified Atala does not disclose wherein a second busbar extends from the battery array through the opening to the header.
Shimoda discloses a similar battery assembly (i.e. battery module. [0034]) wherein the busbars (Fig. 1, 38A, 38B) extend through openings (i.e. busbar draw-out ports, Fig. 1, 29B) from an interior of the enclosure (Fig. 1, 26, 11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have utilized the configuration of Shimoda wherein the first and second busbars extend through the opening from an interior of the enclosure with a reasonable expectation of success in achieving a satisfactory battery pack assembly as such a configuration is well-known in the art, as taught by Shimoda.
Regarding claim 12, modified Atala discloses all limitations as set forth above.
Modified Atala disclose wherein the busbar extends through the opening to an exterior of the enclosure, as rendered obvious above (Shimoda, Fig. 1, 38A, 38B, 29B, [0048]).
Regarding claim 13, modified Atala discloses all limitations as set forth above.
Modified Atala discloses an enclosure (Atala, Fig. 1, 66, Shimoda, Fig. 1, 26, 11 ) wherein the header (i.e. plate, Atala, Fig. 5, 74) is attached to the wall (Atala, Fig. 5, 66) using snap-fit interference fit or mechanical fasteners (Sturza, [0026-0027]), thus configuring the header to transition from the installed position to the uninstalled position, as rendered obvious above.
Modified Atala does not explicitly disclose wherein the enclosure includes an enclosure lid secured to an enclosure tray.
Shimoda teaches a similar battery pack assembly ([0034]) comprising an enclosure tray (i.e. case, [0037]) and an enclosure lid (i.e. lid portion, [0037]) fitted on the opening in the top of the main case body ([0037]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have utilized the battery case and lid as taught by Shimoda as these are common battery pack assembly configurations known in the art.
As modified Atala’s header is attached to the wall using snap-fit interference fit or mechanical fasteners and is not attached to the enclosure lid, a skilled artisan would recognize the header is able to transition from an uninstalled position to an installed position without separating the enclosure lid from the enclosure tray. Thus, modified Atala satisfies claim 13.
Conclusion
/E.J.T./Examiner, Art Unit 1751
/Haroon S. Sheikh/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1751