DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the claim amendments received 1/21/2026. Claims 1-5 are pending with claims 1-5 currently amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bilzerian [US20210097819], in view of Malek [US20190304249] and further in view of Huke [US 20210217277].
Regarding claim 1, Bilzerian discloses a method comprising:
Identifying, by a processor, a new data entry added to a news database; extracting, by the processor, content from the new data entry; parsing, by the processor, the content for one or more follower identifiers ([0040], “In a preferred embodiment of the invention, data from the sports data feed 302, stored sports data 311, wagering odds data feed 303, stored wagering odds data 312, metadata (305, 306, 307, 308), user account data 309 and/or association data 310 are factors in determining a leveraged sports wager”);
performing real-time analysis on the live event, wherein a change in odds is calculated using historical play data ([0039], “As shown in FIG. 3, in certain embodiments of the invention, the server 301 can associate data from the sports data feed 302 (and historical data) to the wagering odds data feed 303 and historical wagering data. Further, the server 301 can store and update such associations of data. The server 301 can also access and use such associations 310 in transmitting sports wagering options and services to users”); and sending, by the processor, to a device of those of follower identifiers, the content, wherein the content includes the change in data affecting odds corresponding to the one or more follower identifiers ([0040], “a leveraged sports wager that can be transmitted to a user through a network 304 by a server 301, and that can be selected by the user on a graphical interface via various alternative means (e.g., through web browser access on a personal computer, smart phone, or tablet, through an application downloaded on a smart phone, personal computer, or tablet, and/or through software downloaded on a smart phone, personal computer, or tablet)”).
However, Bilzerian does not explicitly disclose searching follower database for entries which match the one or more follower identifiers contained in the content, the follower database comprising a plurality of user IDs, each user ID of the plurality of user IDs associated with at least one follower identifier, and the at least one follower identifier relating to at least one of a player or athlete, a sports team, and a sports league; determining whether any of the plurality of user IDs which match the one or more follower identifiers correspond to a change in data affecting odds on a current or upcoming action of a live event.
Nevertheless, Malek teaches in a like invention, searching follower database for entries which match the one or more follower identifiers contained in the content, the follower database comprising a plurality of user IDs, each user ID of the plurality of user IDs associated with at least one follower identifier, and the at least one follower identifier relating to at least one of a player or athlete, a sports team, and a sports league; determining whether any of the plurality of user IDs which match the one or more follower identifiers correspond to a change in data affecting odds on a current or upcoming action of a live event ([0125], “Eligible players may be identified and approached through data collected by casino and/or gaming staff or regular people or as in draft procedure in a Football League or through profiles in a social network setting, for matching, searching, picking up, negotiating, or contracting, based on some terms or conditions”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the clamed invention to have modified the method disclosed by Bilzerian, to determine one or more follower identifiers correspond to a change in data affecting odds on a current or upcoming action of a live event, as taught by Malek, in order to customize the wagering service to those related players.
With regards to the newly amended limitations of performing real time analysis on the live event, wherein a change in odds is calculated using historical play data and real-time positioning of players in the live event based upon sensor devices tracker the players; Bilzerian and Malek does not explicitly teach the real-time positioning information, however Huke teaches in para. 72, betting network provides an artificial intelligence compares data from the live event to data in a historic action database. Betting network may be located on a server which may perform real time analysis on the type of play and the result of a play synchronized with game situational data, such as time of the game, the score, location on the field. Para 80. Situational data may be information related to sensor data related to individual players.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Huke to utilize real time location data in order to provide more detailed analysis of the play of the game.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Bilzerian and Malek discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the data entry comprises a change in odds in a wager (Bilzerian, [0023], “The wagering odds data can be received in real or near real time such that the server 101 can update the data and store trends and changes, and as described further, analyze such trends and changes”).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Bilzerian and Malek discloses the method of claim 2, further comprising automatically updating the follower database with a user ID (Bilzerian, [0039], “As shown in FIG. 3, in certain embodiments of the invention, the server 301 can associate data from the sports data feed 302 (and historical data) to the wagering odds data feed 303 and historical wagering data. Further, the server 301 can store and update such associations of data”).
Regarding claims 4-5, please refer to the claim rejection of claims 1-3.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s argument on 1/21/26 has been considered. The nonstatutory double patenting rejection and the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 101 have been withdrawn. The argument regarding rejection under 35 USC 103 are moot in view of the new ground of rejection.
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
KANG HU
Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3715
/KANG HU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3715