DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Objections Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informality: Claim 12 recites “ The method of claim 11, wherein, during the securing, the mechanical fastener extends through an aperture in the first flange, and aperture in the second flange, and an aperture in the clamped electrical contact. ” Although the claim language is clear and understood please change “and aperture in the second flange” to read “ an aperture in the second flange” to ensure proper antecedent basis. Appropriate correction is required. Claim Interpretation S pecial definition of “tapered” for Claim 8 : Claim 8 recites “ the slot is tapered moving toward the outer side of the clamped electrical contact .” The term “tapered” is defined by Merriam-Webster Dictionary as “to become progressively smaller toward one end” or “to diminish gradually.” Using the standard definition, a person of ordinary skill in the art would interpret the structure of Claim 8 to be similar to the electrode connection terminal 9a in Fig. 2 of Kagawa, US 20090218319 A1 : Kagawa – Fig. 2 Claim 14 recites “ the slot is flared moving toward an outer side of the clamped electrical contact. ” The term “flared” is defined by Merriam-Webster Dictionary as “to open or spread outward.” A person of ordinary skill in the art would interpret the structure of Claim 14 to be similar to Applicant’s Fig. 6: 18/461,745 – Annotated Fig. 6 However, t he instant disclosure use s the terms “tapered” and “flared” synonymously , wherein both terms are used to explain an increase in an opening size towards an outer side . See [0052] of the instant specification and Examiner’s annotations to instant Fig. 5 : [0052]: The slot 94 opens to an outer side 102 of the clamped electrical contact 70 . Approaching the outer side 102 , the slot 94 tapers or flares out to increase an effective opening size of the slot 94 . The flaring and tapering can facilitate positioning the mechanical fastener 74 within the slot 94 as the clamped electrical contact 70 is moved in the direction D relative to the clamping electrical contact 66 . The instant specification and drawings do not support a configuration for Claim 8 under the standard definition of “tapered.” Meaning, the instant specification does not support a slot with a decrease in an opening size towards an outer side. For this action, the term “tapered” in Claim 8 will be examined under Applicant’s special definition of the term, which is synonymous with “flared.” Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claim s 1, 5, 6, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Maguire et al., US 8033875 B1. Regarding Claim 1 , Maguire discloses an electrical connection system for a traction battery pack (a battery terminal connector for connecting associated battery terminals, in a traction battery 12 , Figs. 1-8; Col. 2, Lines 7-33) , comprising: a clamping electrical contact (U-shaped terminal clamp 20 of battery terminal connector 16 , Figs. 1-4 and 7 ) having a first flange and a second flange (each terminal clamp 20 has a pair of clamp portions 22 , Figs. 2-4 and 7 , see Annotated Figs. 2 and 4) a clamped electrical contact (battery terminal 18 clamped between clamp portions 22 , Annotated Fig. 2) ; and a mechanical fastener that is secured to clamp the clamped electrical contact between the first flange of the clamping electrical contact and the second flange of the clamping electrical contact (p air of clamp portions 22 receive battery terminal 18 by inserting the pair of U-shaped terminal clamps 20 onto respective battery terminals 18 ; fastener 28 for securing the battery terminal connector 16 to the associated battery terminal 18 , Figs. 2-4; Col. 2, lines 27-65) . Maguire – Annotated Fig. 2 (left) and Fig. 4 (right) Regarding Claim 5 , Maguire discloses all limitations as set forth above. Maguire discloses the clamping electrical contact is C-shaped (see “U-shaped terminal clamp 20 ” and shape of clamp portions 22 in Figs. 2-4 and 7 ) . Regarding Claim 6 , Maguire discloses all limitations as set forth above. Maguire discloses when the mechanical fastener is secured, the mechanical fastener extends through an aperture in the first flange, and aperture in the second flange, and an aperture in the clamped electrical contact ( openings 26 in the pair of clamp portions 22 are axially aligned along axis A to receive the fastener 28 through each of the openings 26 , openings 26 in the clamp portions 22 generally align with the openings in the associated battery terminal 18 ; Col. 2, lines 47 – Col. 3, line 2; Col. 4, lines 25-35; Figs. 2-4 and 7). Maguire – Fig. 3 Regarding Claim 9 , Maguire discloses all limitations as set forth above. Maguire discloses a weld nut secured to the second flange , wherein, when the mechanical fastener is secured, the mechanical fastener threadably engages the weld nut ( one of the clamp portions 22 may include a threaded inner neck portion 30 to receive a threaded fastener 28 , neck portion 30 secure s the clamp portions 22 on opposing sides of the battery terminal 18 ; Col. 2, lines 52-59). Regarding Claim 10 , Maguire discloses all limitations as set forth above. Maguire discloses the clamped electrical contact and the clamping electrical contact are within a traction battery pack (storage battery with multiple electrochemical cells or modules 14 , such as a high-voltage storage battery or traction battery ; Col. 2, lines 10-26). Claim s 11, 12, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Maguire et al., US 8033875 B1. Regarding Claim 1 1 , Maguire discloses a method of electrically connecting components, comprising: positioning a clamped electrical contact between a first flange of a clamping electrical contact and a second flange of the clamping electrical contact ( pair of clamp portions 22 may receive the associated battery terminal 18 by inserting the pair of U-shaped terminal clamps 20 onto respective battery terminals 18 ; Col. 2, lines 33-47 , Figs. 2-4 and 7 , Annotated Figs. 2 and 4 ) ; securing a mechanical fastener (threaded fastener 28 is received within the threaded inner neck portion 30 for securing the battery terminal connector 16 to the associated battery terminal 18 ; Col. 2, lines 55-60 ) ; and during the securing, clamping a clamped electrical contact between a first flange of the clamping electrical contact and a second flange of the clamping electrical contact ( fastener 28 secures the clamp portions 22 on opposing sides of the battery terminal 18 , clamp portions 22 may extend toward each other in a spaced relationship to bias the battery terminal 18 during insertion, Col. 2, lines 5 0-67) . Maguire – Annotated Fig. 2 (left) and Fig. 4 (right) Regarding Claim 1 2 , Maguire discloses all limitations as set forth above. Maguire discloses during the securing, the mechanical fastener extends through an aperture in the first flange, an aperture in the second flange, and an aperture in the clamped electrical contact ( clamp portions 22 may be generally co-axially aligned along axis A to receive the fastener 28 through each of the openings 26 , openings 26 in the clamp portions 22 generally align with the openings in the associated battery terminal 18 ; Col. 2, line 60- Col. 3, line 2; Col. 4, lines 25-35, Figs. 2-4 and 7 ) . Regarding Claim 15 , Maguire discloses all limitations as set forth above. Maguire discloses a weld nut secured to the second flange , wherein, when the mechanical fastener is secured, the mechanical fastener threadably engages the weld nut ( one of the clamp portions 22 may include a threaded inner neck portion 30 to receive a threaded fastener 28 , neck portion 30 secure s the clamp portions 22 on opposing sides of the battery terminal 18 ; Col. 2, lines 52-59). Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness . This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. Claim s 2-4 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maguire as applied to Claim 1 and Claim 11 above, and further in view of Abe et al., US 20230155255 A1. Regarding Claim s 2 -4 and 16-18 , Maguire discloses all limitations as set forth above. Maguire discloses the clamping electrical contact extends from a first busbar , and the first busbar is electrically connected to a first battery ( battery terminal connector 16 facilitates electric current flow and i s a one-piece body , comprises U-shaped terminal clamp 20 ; Col. 3, lines 8-24 ; see “1 st Battery” in Annotated Fig. 2, Claim 1 ). Maguire does not disclose : “ the clamped electrical contact extends from a second busbar ” (Claim s 2 and 16 ) ; “the second busbar is electrically connected to a second battery” (Claim s 3 and 17 ) ; and “the first battery is within a first cell stack and the second battery is within a different, second cell stack” (Claim s 4 and 18 ). However, th ese limitation s are taught by Abe. Abe teaches a battery module 100 comprising cell units 21 A-F , wherein each cell unit comprises a stack of battery cell s 11 ( [0071-0107], Figs. 1-7 , 10-12 ). Abe teaches by having the module comprise a plurality of distinct cell units , the total module capacity can be more easily increased or decreased, as each cell unit can be independently added (attached) or removed (detached) from the module in a simple manner via bolts and holes in the busbars ( [0006-0009, 0019, 0099-0101] , Figs. 5-7 ). In order to facilitate the electrical connection between the cell units in the module , Abe’s configuration requires each cell unit comprise a first busbar electrically connected to a first battery ( first bus-bar-divided body 61 and negative electrode terminal 16 N of battery cell 11 d disposed at the end portion in the +Y axis direction [0103] ), a second busbar electrically connected to a second battery ( second bus-bar-divided body 62 is connected to positive electrode terminal 16P of battery cell 11 a disposed at the end portion in the −Y axis direction [0103] ), and a bolt to fix the two busbars to each other ( [0099-0125] , Annotated Fig. 5). Abe’s configuration meets the Claim 4 and 18 limitation “ the first battery is within a first cell stack ” (see battery 11d in Cell Unit 21C , Annotated Fig. 5), and “ the second battery is within a different, second cell stack” (see battery 11a in Unit 21D , Annotated Fig. 5). Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to create distinct cell units in the traction battery pack of Maguire, wherein the clamped electrical contact extends from a second busbar connected to a second battery , as Abe teaches battery module capacity can be easily adjusted by having multiple cell units electrically connected and mechanically separable from each other. Abe – Annotated Fig. 5 Claims 7, 8, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maguire as applied to the claims above, and further in view of Kohler et al., US 2766438 A . Regarding Claim s 7 , 8, 13, and 14 , Maguire discloses all limitations as set forth above. Maguire does not disclose “ the aperture in the clamped electrical contact is a slot that opens to an outer side of the clamped electrical contact ” (Claim s 7 and 13 ), and also does not disclose “ the slot is tapered /flared moving toward the outer side of the clamped electrical contact ” (Claim s 8 and 14 – See Claim Interpretation section for “tapered” limitation ). However, these limitations are taught by Kohler. Kohler teaches a n electrical contact 10 having a slot 19 that is tapered /flared moving toward an outer side ( Col. 1 , line 70- Col. 3, line 60 ; Figs. 1-5 ). Kohler teaches another conductive member ( wire or terminal ) is securely mounted and electrically connected simply by pushing it into place , and may be detached by a reverse movement s uch as an outward pull , causing the portions 14 and 15 of the arms to spring apart and permit outward movement through the entrances 16 (Col. 2, line 50- Col. 3, line 30). Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to change the aperture in the clamped electrical contact of Maguire to be a slot that opens to an outer side of the clamped electrical contact , wherein the slot is flared moving toward an outer side of the clamped electrical contact , as Kohler teaches this configuration allows for a reliable electrical connection between the contact and another conductive member, but also permits easy attachment and detachment between the two components. Kohler – Figs. 1-16 Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT BETHANY C GARCIA whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-2475 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT Mon-Fri, 0800 - 1730 MT . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Allison Bourke can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT 303-297-4684 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /BETHANY C GARCIA/ Examiner, Art Unit 1721 /ALLISON BOURKE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1721