DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang (CN 211907615 with reliance upon the English-language machine translation).
In regard to claim 1, Zhang discloses an electrode assembly comprising a plurality of positive electrode plates (positive plates 5), a plurality of separators (diaphragms 3), and a plurality of negative electrode plates (negative plates 4); the plurality of positive electrode plates, the plurality of separators, and the plurality of negative electrode plates are stacked together (“the positive and negative plates are staggered and stacked with the diaphragm;” see the “Embodiment 2” section on page 3); wherein each positive electrode plate has a first tab portion and a second tab portion (four positive tabs 1 with two per side; see figure 2), the first tab portions of the plurality of positive electrode plates are stacked and electrically connected to form a main positive electrode tab (one of the positive tabs 1), and the second tab portions of the plurality of positive electrode plates are stacked and electrically connected to form a backup positive electrode tab (the other positive tab 1 on the same side); and each negative electrode plate has a third tab portion and a fourth tab portion (four negative tabs 2 with two per side; see figure 2), the third tab portions of the plurality of negative electrode plates are stacked and electrically connected to form a main negative electrode tab (any of the negative tabs 2), and the fourth tab portions of the plurality of negative electrode plates are stacked and electrically connected to form a backup negative electrode tab (the other negative tabs 2 on the same side); wherein the main positive electrode tab is electrically connected in parallel with the backup positive electrode tab, and the main negative electrode tab is electrically connected in parallel with the backup negative electrode tab (“two adjacent positive (negative) output tab foil and positive (negative) tab connected in parallel” which are “welded by nickel strip;” see page 2 and the “Embodiment 2” of page 3). See Figure 2 and the “Embodiment 2” section on page 3.
In regard to claims 2-3, Zhang discloses that when viewed along a stacking direction of the electrode assembly, the first tab portion and the second tab portion are located on a same side edge of the each positive electrode plate, and the third tab portion and the fourth tab portion are located on the same side edge of the each negative electrode plate as each end of the stack has two tabs of each polarity. See Figure 2 and the “Embodiment 2” section on page 3.
In regard to claim 6, Zhang discloses wherein the electrode assembly further comprises a first conductive member (“nickel strip” for welding the four anode lugs 1; see the “Embodiment 2” section of page 3), the first conductive member being connected to both the main positive electrode tab and the backup positive electrode tab to achieve the parallel electrical connection between the main positive electrode tab and the backup positive electrode tab. See Figure 2. Zhang also discloses that the more than two adjacent tabs are “connected in parallel” to expand the current conduction effect, reduce the battery internal resistance and further improve the electrical performance and safety performance on page 2.
In regard to claim 7, Zhang discloses wherein the electrode assembly further comprises a second conductive member (“nickel strip” for welding the four cathode lugs 2; see the “Embodiment 2” section of page 3), the second conductive member being connected to both the main negative electrode tab and the backup negative electrode tab to achieve the parallel electrical connection between the main negative electrode tab and the backup negative electrode tab. Zhang also discloses that the more than two adjacent tabs are “connected in parallel” to expand the current conduction effect, reduce the battery internal resistance and further improve the electrical performance and safety performance on page 2.
In regard to claim 8, Zhang discloses wherein the main positive electrode tab is directly connected to the backup positive electrode tab to achieve the parallel electrical connection between the main positive electrode tab and the backup positive electrode tab as a “nickel strip” is disclosed to be used for welding the four anode lugs 1. See the “Embodiment 2” section of page 3. Zhang also discloses that the more than two adjacent tabs are “connected in parallel” to expand the current conduction effect, reduce the battery internal resistance and further improve the electrical performance and safety performance on page 2.
In regard to claim 9, Zhang discloses wherein the main negative electrode tab is directly connected to the backup negative electrode tab to achieve the parallel electrical connection between the main negative electrode tab and the backup negative electrode tab as a “nickel strip” is disclosed to be used for welding the four cathode lugs 2. See the “Embodiment 2” section of page 3. Zhang also discloses that the more than two adjacent tabs are “connected in parallel” to expand the current conduction effect, reduce the battery internal resistance and further improve the electrical performance and safety performance on page 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 10-13 and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang as applied to claims 1-3 and 6 above and further in view of Batson et al. (US 2021/0184265; hereinafter “Batson”).
In regard to claim 4, Zhang is silent in regard to insulators disposed on surfaces of the backup positive and negative electrode tabs.
Batson discloses a battery cell system and architecture wherein electrode tab supports 706,708 are taught to include an electrically insulating polymeric material 714 for providing electrical isolation between the tabs and other components such as a protective housing. See [0055] and Figure 7.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the tab insulation of Batson with the backup electrode tabs of Zhang for the purpose of electrically isolating the tabs from other components to prevent short circuiting.
In regard to claims 10 and 16, the elements common to claim 1 are applied in the same manner as above.
Zhang does not explicitly disclose a housing, a positive electrode terminal, a negative electrode terminal and an electrolyte.
Batson discloses a battery cell system and architecture comprising a housing (laminate pouch 1200), positive and negative terminals (first and second extension tabs 702,704) which extend out of the housing, and an electrolyte (see [0060]) within the pouch. Batson teaches that the laminate pouch 1200 is provided with an accommodating cavity (the inside space of the pouch) for holding an electrode assembly and the electrolyte, and wherein a positive electrode tab (one of tab groups 502/504) is electrically connected to the positive electrode terminal (extension tab 702), the main negative electrode tab (one of tab groups 506/508) is electrically connected to the negative electrode terminal (extension tab 704), and a part of the positive electrode terminal and a part of the negative electrode terminal extend out of the housing (see Figure 12). See Figures 5, 7 and 12 and paragraphs [0044]-[0049].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the housing having a positive and negative electrode terminal and electrolyte of Batson with the electrode plate arrangement of Zhang for the purpose of providing a structurally complete battery for use in electronic devices.
In regard to claims 11 and 17, Zhang is applied in the same manner as for claim 2 above.
In regard to claims 12 and 18, Zhang is applied in the same manner as for claim 3 above.
In regard to claims 13 and 19, Zhang is silent in regard to insulators disposed on surfaces of the backup positive and negative electrode tabs.
Batson discloses a battery cell system and architecture wherein electrode tab supports 706,708 are taught to include an electrically insulating polymeric material 714 for providing electrical isolation between the tabs and other components such as a protective housing. See [0055] and Figure 7.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the tab insulation of Batson with the backup electrode tabs of Zhang for the purpose of electrically isolating the tabs from other components to prevent short circuiting.
In regard to claim 15, Zhang is applied in the same manner as for claim 6 above.
Claims 5, 14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Batson as applied to claims 4, 13 and 19 above and further in view of Choi et al. (US 2017/0040635; hereinafter “Choi”).
Zhang and Batson are silent in regard to the specific composition of the insulator applied on the surfaces of the backup positive and backup negative electrode tabs. Batson does disclose wherein the insulator made from polymeric material.
Choi discloses a secondary battery which includes a lead film 160 to electrically insulate electrical leads 150 from the case 120 to prevent short circuiting. Choi discloses wherein the lead film is made from a polymeric material such as polyethylene. See [0048] and Figure 3.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the polyethylene insulator material of Choi as the polymer insulator composition in the above combination of Zhang and Batson as one of ordinary skill in the art would have looked to the prior art to determine a suitable polymer insulator composition. The selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (see MPEP § 2144.07).
Conclusion
/TIMOTHY C CLEVELAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774