DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the communication dated 9/6/23.
Original claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Das et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20230315954[hereinafter Das] in view of Prakash et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0036968 [herein after Prakash].
As per claims 1, 10 and 19 Das discloses method comprising:
in a first gateway(174), monitoring failure information associated with a peer connection with a second gateway(176)(see par. 0028);
in the first gateway, determining that the failure information satisfies one or more criteria (see par. 0040);
in the first gateway and in response to the determining that the failure information satisfies the one or more criteria(see par. 0040 failure mode reaching severity value 137), initiating a remediation period(initiating recovery process associated with a failure mode.)(see par. 0059, the one or more remedies may include one or more of selecting among a first communication link (e.g., one of the communication links L1, L2, L3, L4, L5, L6, and L7) and a second communication link (e.g., another of the communication links L1, L2, L3, L4, L5, L6, and L7) for data transmission, selecting among the first communication link and the second communication link for data reception, selecting among a first device (e.g., any of the one or more cloud devices 164, the first gateway 174, the second gateway 176, or the devices 182, 184, 186, and 188) and a second device (e.g., another of the one or more cloud devices 164, the first gateway 174, the second gateway 176, or the devices 182, 184, 186, and 188) for performance of a first service (e.g., one of the services S1, S2), or selecting from the first service and a second service (e.g., the other of the services S1, S2).
Das does not explicitly disclose in the first gateway, preventing attempts to connect with the second gateway during the remediation period; in the first gateway, identifying an expiration of the remediation period; and in the first gateway and in response to identifying the expiration of the remediation period, initiating a connection attempt with the second gateway for the peer connection
PRAKASH discloses in the first gateway, preventing attempts to connect with the second gateway during the remediation period(see par. 0028); in the first gateway, identifying an expiration of the remediation period(see par. 0028, where and in the first gateway and in response to identifying the expiration of the remediation period, initiating a connection attempt with the second gateway for the peer connection(see par. 0029-0030, or example, the one or more criteria for the first attempt may comprise an indication that host 110 is available to support service 120. In response to the indication, management service 150 can initiate an attempt to configure service 120 on host 110). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of PRAKASH into the system of Das, thus enabling to identify a failure associated with the connection and remediate the failure by reconfiguring the various failed services.
For example, if a power failure occurs with respect to host 110, management service 150 can identify the power failure and flag host 110 for remediation, wherein the remediation can be used to restore services 120-122 on host 110, wherein remediation may include reconfiguring the service, reconfiguring one or more additional services on the host, or some other action to place the host in a healthy state.
As per claim 2. PRAKASH discloses the method of claim 1 further comprising: in the first gateway and when the failure information satisfies the one or more criteria, communicating a notification to the second gateway indicating a failure at the first gateway(see par. 0025).
As per claim 3, PRAKASH discloses The method of claim 1 further comprising: in the first gateway and when the failure information satisfies the one or more criteria, communicating a notification to a management service indicating a failure at the first gateway(see par. 0037).
As per claim 4 PRAKASH discloses the method of claim 1, wherein stopping the connection attempts for the peer connection with the second gateway during the remediation period comprises stopping transmission control protocol (TCP) connection attempts with the second gateway or stopping a transmission of keepalive packets to the second gateway(see par. 0028, where and in the first gateway and in response to identifying the expiration of the remediation period, initiating a connection attempt with the second gateway for the peer connection(see par. 0029-0030, or example, the one or more criteria for the first attempt may comprise an indication that host 110 is available to support service 120. In response to the indication, management service 150 can initiate an attempt to configure service 120 on host 110).
As per claim 5, PRAKASH discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the remediation period comprises a defined time duration sufficient to permit remediation operations associated with the peer connection to complete (see par. 0029-0030, for example, the one or more criteria for the first attempt may comprise an indication that host 110 is available to support service 120. In response to the indication, management service 150 can initiate an attempt to configure service 120 on host 110).
As per claim 6, PRAKASH discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the failure information comprises a quantity of failed connections with the second gateway or a rate of failed connections with the second gateway(se par. 0003, 0032 where failure may be associated with multiple services).
As per claim 7, PRAKASH discloses the method of claim | further comprising: in the first gateway, initiating one or more remediation operations associated with one or more services at the first gateway(see par. 0031).
As per claim 8, PRAKASH discloses The method of claim 7, wherein identifying the expiration of the remediation period comprises identifying when the one or more remediation operations are complete(see par. 0022, checking for status update).
As per claim 9, PRAKASH discloses The method of claim 7, wherein initiating the one or more remediation operations comprises restarting one or more services or reconfiguring one or more services(see par.0032).
As per dependent claims 11-18 and 20 , the claims are similar with dependent claims 2-9 discussed above and rejected same rational as claims 2-9.
Conclusion
/ABDULLAHI E SALAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466