DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s Amendments and Arguments filed 08/25/2026 have been considered for examination.
With regard to the 103 rejections to claims 1-7 and 14-20, Applicant’s arguments filed 08/25/2026 in view of the amendments have been fully considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
With regard to the 103 rejections to claims 8-10 and 11-13, Applicant’s arguments filed 08/25/2026 in view of the amendments have been fully considered but are not persuasive for at least reasons as set forth below.
On page 13 of Remarks, Applicant argued:
However, forwarding a decoded message for the convivence of a user, as in Chhabra, does not teach or suggest "transmit the decoded first message ... based at least in part on the decoded first message being associated with the wireless device" as recited in amended independent claim 8. The messages which are decoded and forwarded in Chhabra are initially
cellular communications sent to a UE. See id [0075]. The cellular communications received by
the UE in Wei are not described as meant for, or associated with, the second device. A decoded
message in which the message is not associated with the second device, as in Chhabra, is not the same as "the decoded first message being associated with the wireless device," as recited in amended independent claim 1. Therefore, Chhabra does not teach or suggest "transmit the decoded first message ... based at least in part on the decoded first message being associated with the wireless device," as recited in amended independent claim 8.
In response to Applicant’s argument, the Examiner respectfully disagrees.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). In order to establish prima facie obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103, Chhabra is only applied to cure deficiencies of Liu and Wei for “decode the first message received via the cellular connection; and transmit the decoded first message as the second message based at least in part on the decoded first message”, not for “the decoded first message being associated with the wireless device”, as set forth above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6-7, 14 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al (US Publication No. 2022/0417903)1 in view of Wei et al (US Publication No. 2024/0007908) and further in view of Shikari et al (US Publication No. 2021/0051583).
Regarding claim 1, Liu discloses, a wireless device [FIGS. 2 and 8; their related descriptions, second communication device/wearable device A], comprising:
one or more memories storing processor-executable code [FIGS. 2 and 8; their related descriptions, note that every communication device has at least one memory storing code(s)]; and
one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the wireless device to [FIGS. 2 and 8; their related descriptions, note that every communication device has at least one processor coupled with the memory to execute the code to cause the communication device to perform action(s)]:
establish a non-cellular connection between the wireless device and a user equipment (UE) [FIGS. 2 and 8; their related descriptions; ¶0146, a Bluetooth connection is established between the mobile phone and the wearable device A; further see ¶0053], the non-cellular connection supporting operation of the wireless device in a connected mode with the UE [FIGS. 2 and 8; their related descriptions; ¶0147, the mobile phone and the wearable device A perform an attachment operation to instruct the mobile phone to monitor a paging message for the wearable device A; further see ¶0054, the first communication device (mobile phone) and the second communication device (smart watch) are connected through the second-type network];
receive a wake-up signal from the network entity and via the . . . cellular connection . . . [FIGS. 2 and 8; their related descriptions; ¶0149-0151, the base station sends the paging message for the wearable device A, the mobile phone receives the paging message for the wearable device A, and the mobile phone sends the paging message to the wearable device A through the Bluetooth connection; further see ¶0055, when the second communication device is in the idle state or the non-active state, a core network or an access network of the first-type network can wake up (activate) the second communication device by sending the paging message. The base station may send the paging message to the second communication device to instruct the second communication device to initiate a connection with the base station and perform communication; further see ¶0057-0058, a network end of the first-type network may send the paging message intended to be sent to the second communication device to the first communication device, after monitoring the paging message sent by the network end of the first-type network to the second communication device, the first communication device can send the paging message to the second communication device through the second-type network; note that the paging message including the configuration information is received at least via the first-type network (cellular connection)],
Although Liu discloses, “establish a non-cellular connection between the wireless device and a user equipment (UE), the non-cellular connection supporting operation of the wireless device in a connected mode with the UE; receive a wake-up signal from a network entity and via a cellular connection” as set forth above, Liu does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized and bold limitations), the wake-up signal indicating that a first message is available via the established cellular connection; and receive, from the UE, a second message via the non-cellular connection based at least in part on the operation of the wireless device in the connected mode with the UE and in accordance with reception of the wakeup signal via the established cellular connection between the wireless device and the network entity, the second message comprising same information in the first message.
However, Wei discloses, the wake-up signal indicating that a first message is available via the cellular connection [FIG. 11; its related descriptions; ¶0109, RAN paging for the remote communication device 204; further see ¶0193, the RANG paging indicating that downlink data (i.e., first message) is available for transmission to the second communication device/remote communication device 204; note that the RAN paging is via a cellular connection]; and receive, from the UE [FIG. 11; its related descriptions; ¶0110, from Relay 404 (S990)], a second message via the non-cellular connection [FIG. 11; its related descriptions; ¶0110, the first base station 201 may transmit data (i.e., second message) for the remote communication device 204, which is received by the relay UE 404 and forwarded to the remote communications device 204; note that the connection between the relay UE 404 and the remote communication device 204 is a PC5 connection, not a cellular connection] based at least in part on the operation of the wireless device in the connected mode with the UE [¶0111, the transmission of the data at step S990 may be preceded by the remote communications device 204 entering the connected state at step S988, in response to receiving the RAN paging] and in accordance with reception of the wakeup signal [FIG. 11; its related descriptions; ¶0100-0101, based on the RAN paging 510], the second message comprising same information in the first message [FIG. 11; its related descriptions; ¶0109-0110, note that the data transmitted from the first base station is the same as the downlink data indicated by the RAN paging since the RAN paging is used to indicate availability of downlink (S986) and the transmission of data (S990) is performed as a result of the RAN paging].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the above-mentioned feature(s) as taught by Wei in the system of Liu in order to cause the system to be able to reduce power consumption by ensuring user equipment to be wake up depending on availability of data to receive [e.g., ¶0006 of Wei].
Although Liu in view of Wei discloses, “the wake-up signal indicating that a first message is available via the cellular connection; receive a wake-up signal from the network entity and via the cellular connection; and receive, from the UE, a second message via the non-cellular connection based at least in part on the operation of the wireless device in the connected mode with the UE and in accordance with reception of the wakeup signal, the second message comprising same information in the first message” as set forth above, Liu in view of Wei does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized and bold limitations), establish a cellular connection between the wireless device and the network entity, the cellular connection is modified to be “the established cellular connection between the wireless device and the network entity”.
However, Shikari discloses,
establish a cellular connection between the wireless device and the network entity [¶0066, the base station 102 and the UEs 106/107 may be configured to communicate over the transmission medium using any of various radio access technologies (RATs) or wireless communication technologies, such as GSM, UMTS (WCDMA, TDS-CDMA), LTE, LTE-Advanced (LTE-A), NR, HSPA, 3GPP2 CDMA2000 (e.g., 1xRTT, 1xEV-DO, HRPD, eHRPD), WiMAX etc; further see ¶0071, the accessory device 107 includes cellular communication capability and hence is able to directly communicate with cellular base station 102; note that communication with a base station requires establishing a cellular connection with the base station],
receive a wake-up signal from the network entity and via the established cellular connection between the wireless device and the network entity [¶0163, FIG. 19 illustrates exemplary techniques for providing messages to a UE by using wake up signals. Aspects of the method of FIG. 19 may be implemented by a wireless device, such as the UE(s) 106/107; further see ¶000164-0168; note that the reference number 107 is a device that is provided with the wake up signals from the base station, and the 107 receives the wake up signal from the base station and via the established cellular connection between the 107 and the base station].
It is noted that the above-mentioned feature is a known technique in the field Applicant's endeavor, e.g., telecommunication art.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the system of Liu in view of Wei with "the above-mentioned known feature(s)" taught by Shikari to reach the claimed invention as set forth above. Since one having ordinary skill in the art could have recognized that applying the known technique taught by Shikari into the system of Liu in view of Wei would have yield predictable results and/or resulted in the improved system, such as e.g., enabling to avoid unnecessary continuous monitoring and reduce power consumption, such a modification (or application) would have involved the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement," the claim is unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103(a). Ex Parte Smith, 83 USPQ.2d 1509, 1518-19 (BPAI, 2007) (citing KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)).
Regarding claim 6, Liu in view of Wei and Shikari discloses, the wireless device of claim 1 as set forth above.
Liu discloses, wherein the non-cellular connection comprises a Bluetooth connection [FIG. 2; its related descriptions; ¶0053, note that the second-type network between the first communication device and the second communication device is a Bluetooth network].
Regarding claim 7, Liu in view of Wei and Shikari discloses, the wireless device of claim 1 as set forth above.
Liu discloses, wherein the wireless device comprises a smart watch or a wearable device [FIG. 2; its related descriptions; ¶0054, note that the second communication device is a smart watch], wherein the smart watch or the wearable device is paired with the UE [FIG. 2; its related descriptions; ¶0054, both the first communication device and the second communication device can access the first-type network, and the first communication device and the second communication device are connected through the second-type network].
Regarding claim 14, claim 14 recites similar features to claim 1 without further additional features. Thus, claim 14 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 1.
Regarding claim 19, claim 19 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 6.
Regarding claim 20, claim 20 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 7.
Claims 2 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al (US Publication No. 2022/0417903) in view of Wei et al (US Publication No. 2024/0007908) and further in view of Shikari et al (US Publication No. 2021/0051583) and further in view of Xiang et al (US Publication No. 2023/0354266).
Regarding claim 2, Liu in view of Wei and Shikari discloses, the wireless device of claim 1 as set forth above.
Although Liu discloses, monitor for the message via the non-cellular connection . . , wherein the message is received via the non-cellular connection based at least in part on the monitoring [FIG. 2; its related descriptions; ¶0058, after monitoring the paging message sent by the network end of the first-type network to the second communication device, the first communication device can send the paging message to the second communication device through the second-type network (non-cellular connection); note that receiving of the paging message by the second communication device requires monitoring the paging message], Liu in view of Wei and Shikari does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Xiang discloses, monitor for a message in accordance with a paging cycle [¶0086, the terminal device monitors the RAN paging message based on a RAN paging cycle].
It is noted that the above-mentioned feature is a known technique in the field Applicant's endeavor, e.g., telecommunication art.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the system of Liu in view of Wei and Shikari with "the above-mentioned known feature(s)" taught by Xiang to reach the claimed invention as set forth above. Since one having ordinary skill in the art could have recognized that applying the known technique taught by Xiang into the system of Liu in view of Wei and Shikari would have yield predictable results and/or resulted in the improved system, such as e.g., ensure to reduce power consumption by allowing user device to periodically monitor paging occasions within a defined paging cycle, such a modification (or application) would have involved the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement," the claim is unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103(a). Ex Parte Smith, 83 USPQ.2d 1509, 1518-19 (BPAI, 2007) (citing KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)).
Regarding claim 15, claim 15 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 2.
Claims 3 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al (US Publication No. 2022/0417903) in view of Wei et al (US Publication No. 2024/0007908) and further in view of and further in view of Shikari et al (US Publication No. 2021/0051583) and further in view of Tan et al (WO 2020/207327)2.
Regarding claim 3, Liu in view of Wei and Shikari discloses, the wireless device of claim 1 and particularly “the operation of the wireless device in the connected mode with the UE” as set forth above.
Although Liu discloses, the wake-up signal based at least in part on the operation of the wireless device in the connected mode with the UE [FIG. 2; its related descriptions; ¶0055-0058, the configuration information included in the paging message is based on the operation of the second communication device in the connection mode with the first communication device], Liu in view of Wei and Shikari does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Tan discloses, refrain from performing, based at least in part on the operation of the wireless device in the connected mode with the UE, a wake-up procedure in response to the wake-up signal [¶0075, wearable device stops receiving the paging message after it is connected to the UE via Bluetooth].
It is noted that the above-mentioned feature is a known technique in the field Applicant's endeavor, e.g., telecommunication art.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the system of Liu in view of Wei and Shikari with "the above-mentioned known feature(s)" taught by Tan to reach the claimed invention as set forth above. Since one having ordinary skill in the art could have recognized that applying the known technique taught by Tan into the system of Liu in view of Wei and Shikari would have yield predictable results and/or resulted in the improved system, such as e.g., enabling to reduce unnecessary signaling and power consumption for improving battery life and network efficiency, such a modification (or application) would have involved the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement," the claim is unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103(a). Ex Parte Smith, 83 USPQ.2d 1509, 1518-19 (BPAI, 2007) (citing KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)).
Regarding claim 16, claim 16 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 3.
Claims 4-5 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al (US Publication No. 2022/0417903) in view of Wei et al (US Publication No. 2024/0007908) and further in view of Shikari et al (US Publication No. 2021/0051583) and further in view of Chhabra et al (US Publication No. 2022/0272781).
Regarding claim 4, Liu in view of Wei and Shikari discloses, the wireless device of claim 1 as set forth above.
Although Liu discloses, additionally receive a third message via the cellular connection, [FIGS. 2 and 8; their related descriptions; ¶0070, when performing paging, the base station needs to send paging messages to the wearable device and the mobile phone, respectively; note that more than one paging message is sent from the network to the second communication device/wearable device at least via the first-type network (cellular network)] and Liu discloses, the third message comprising the same information in the first message [FIG. 11; its related descriptions; ¶0109-0110, note that the data transmitted from the first base station is the same as the downlink data indicated by the RAN paging since the RAN paging is used to indicate availability of downlink (S986) and the transmission of data (S990) is performed as a result of the RAN paging], Liu in view of Wei and Shikari does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Chhabra discloses, refrain from decoding, based at least in part on the operation of the wireless device in the connected mode with the UE, the message additionally received via the cellular connection [¶0075, the cellular communications received by the UE from the cellular network may be decoded by the UE and converted to an alternate (non-cellular) format for transmission to the second device (i.e., wireless device). For example, a “cellular extension” application executing on the UE might translate audio and/or other data/signaling messages (e.g., paging messages) (i.e., message) received from the cellular network via cellular communication into a different (generic or proprietary) format for transmission to the second device; note that since the paging message received via the cellular communications is decoded by the UE and converted to be sent to the second device based on the operation of the second device in the connection mode with the UE, the second device does not need to decode the message].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the above-mentioned feature(s) as taught by Chhabra in the system of Liu in view of Wei and Shikari in order to cause the wireless device to be able to communication with cellular networks even without cellular communication capabilities [e.g., ¶0005 of Chhabra].
Regarding claim 5, Liu in view of Wei and Shikari discloses, the wireless device of claim 1 and particularly, “the message received via the non-cellular connection” as set forth above.
Although Liu in view of Wei and Shikari discloses, the fourth message comprising the same information in the first message [FIG. 11; its related descriptions; ¶0109-0110 of Wei, note that the data transmitted from the first base station is the same as the downlink data indicated by the RAN paging since the RAN paging is used to indicate availability of downlink (S986) and the transmission of data (S990) is performed as a result of the RAN paging], Liu in view of Wei and Shikari does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Chhabra discloses, refrain from decoding the second message received via the non-cellular connection based at least in part on a fourth message being decoded at the UE [¶0075, the cellular communications received by the UE from the cellular network may be decoded by the UE and converted to an alternate (non-cellular) format for transmission to the second device (i.e., wireless device). For example, a “cellular extension” application executing on the UE might translate audio and/or other data/signaling messages (e.g., paging messages) (i.e., message) received from the cellular network via cellular communication into a different (generic or proprietary) format for transmission to the second device; note that since the paging message received via the cellular communications is decoded by the UE and converted to be sent to the second device, the second device does not need to decode the message].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the above-mentioned feature(s) as taught by Chhabra in the system of Liu in view of Wei and Shikari in order to cause the wireless device to be able to communication with cellular networks even without cellular communication capabilities [e.g., ¶0005 of Chhabra].
Regarding claim 17, claim 17 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 4.
Regarding claim 18, claim 18 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 5.
Claims 8 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al (US Publication No. 2022/0417903) in view of Wei et al (US Publication No. 2024/0007908) and further in view of Chhabra et al (US Publication No. 2022/0272781).
Regarding claim 8, Liu discloses, a user equipment (UE) [FIGS. 2 and 8; their related descriptions, first communication device/mobile phone] comprising
one or more memories storing processor-executable code [FIGS. 2, 8 and 12; their related descriptions; ¶0189, memory 3004 storing instructions; note that every communication device has at least one memory storing code(s)]; and
one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the wireless device to [FIGS. 2, 8 and 12; their related descriptions; ¶0188, processing component 3002, note that every communication device has at least one processor coupled with the memory to execute the code to cause the communication device to perform action(s)]:
establish a non-cellular connection between the UE and a wireless device [FIGS. 2 and 8; their related descriptions; ¶0146, a Bluetooth connection is established between the mobile phone and the wearable device A; further see ¶0053], the non-cellular connection supporting operation of the wireless device in a connected mode with the UE [FIGS. 2 and 8; their related descriptions; ¶0147, the mobile phone and the wearable device A perform an attachment operation to instruct the mobile phone to monitor a paging message for the wearable device A; further see ¶0054, the first communication device (mobile phone) and the second communication device (smart watch) are connected through the second-type network];
receive a wake-up signal from a network entity and via a cellular connection, the wake-up signal . . . [FIGS. 2 and 8; their related descriptions; ¶0149-0151, the mobile phone receives the paging message for the wearable device A from the base station via the cellular connection between the base station and the mobile phone];
receive . . . the first message via the cellular connection with the network entity, the first message associated with the wireless device comprising an indicator of the wireless device [FIGS. 2 and 8; their related descriptions; ¶0149-0151 and 0057-0058, the mobile phone receives the paging message for the wearable device A from the base station via the cellular connection between the base station and the mobile phone; further see ¶0160, both a paging identity of the first communication device and a paging identity of the second communication device are carried by the paging message].
Although Liu discloses, “receive a wake-up signal from a network entity and via a cellular connection, the wake-up signal” and “receive . . . the first message via the cellular connection with the network entity, the first message associated with the wireless device comprising an indicator of the wireless device” as set forth above, Liu does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized and bold limitations), the wake-up signal indicating that a first message is available via the cellular connection, receive, after receiving the wake-up signal, the first message via the cellular connection with the network entity, determine to forward the first message to the wireless device as a second message based at least in part on the first message; and transmit the second message via the non-cellular connection to the wireless device based at least in part on the first message being associated with the wireless device and the operation of the wireless device in the connected mode with the UE, the second message comprising same information as the first message.
However, Wei discloses, the wake-up signal indicating that a first message is available via the cellular connection [FIG. 11; its related descriptions; ¶0109, RAN paging for the remote communication device 204; further see ¶0193, the RANG paging indicating that downlink data (i.e., first message) is available for transmission to the second communication device/remote communication device 204; note that the RAN paging is via a cellular connection], receive, after receiving the wake-up signal, a first message via a cellular connection with a network entity [FIG. 11; its related descriptions; ¶0109-0111, Relay 404 receives, after receiving RAN paging 510 (from the BS 201), data/first message 512 via RRC connected mode with the BS/cellular connection], determine to forward the first message to the wireless device as a second message based at least in part on the first message [FIG. 11; its related descriptions; ¶0110, Relay 404 forwards the data 512 to Remote UE 204; note that forwarding of the data requires determining to forward the data beforehand]; and transmit the second message via the non-cellular connection to the wireless device based at least in part on the first message being associated with the wireless device [FIG. 11; its related descriptions; ¶0109-0110, the first base station 201 may transmit data (i.e., second message) for the remote communication device 204, which is received by the relay UE 404 and forwarded to the remote communications device 204; note that the connection between the relay UE 404 and the remote communication device 204 is a PCS connection, not a cellular connection] and the operation of the wireless device in the connected mode with the UE [¶0111, the transmission of the data at step S990 may be preceded by the remote communications device 204 entering the connected state at step S988, in response to receiving the RAN paging], the second message comprising same information as the first message [FIG. 11; its related descriptions; ¶0109-0110, note that the data transmitted from the first base station is the same as the downlink data indicated by the RAN paging since the RAN paging is used to indicate availability of downlink (S986) and the transmission of data (S990) is performed as a result of the RAN paging].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the above-mentioned feature(s) as taught by Wei in the system of Liu for similar rationales set forth above in claim 1.
Further, Liu in view of Wei does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized and bold limitations), decode the first message received via the cellular connection; and transmit the decoded first message as the second message . . . based at least in part on the decoded first message.
However, Chhabra discloses, decode the first message received via the cellular connection; and transmit the decoded first message as the second message . . . based at least in part on the decoded first message [¶0075, the cellular communications received by the UE from the cellular network may be decoded by the UE and converted to an alternate (non-cellular) format for transmission to the second device (i.e., wireless device). For example, a “cellular extension” application executing on the UE might translate audio and/or other data/signaling messages (e.g., paging messages) (i.e., message) received from the cellular network via cellular communication into a different (generic or proprietary) format for transmission to the second device; note that the UE decodes the cellular communications received via the cellular network and transmit the decoded communication to the second device based on the decoded communication; further see ¶0075, a similar application executing on the second device might then interpret and present the data received in the different format, which implies transmission of the data decoded in the different format to the second device].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the above-mentioned feature(s) as taught by Chhabra in the system of Liu in view of Wei in order to cause the wireless device to be able to communication with cellular networks even without cellular communication capabilities [e.g., ¶0005 of Chhabra].
Regarding claim 11, Liu in in view of Wei and Chhabra discloses, the UE of claim 8 as set forth above.
Liu discloses, determine to forward the message to the wireless device based at least in part on the message comprising an indicator of the wireless device, wherein the message is transmitted via the non-cellular connection based at least in part on the determining [FIGS. 2 and 8; their related descriptions; ¶0074, the first communication device may determine the paging message to be sent to the second communication device according to the received paging identity of the second communication device; note that the paging message is sent from the first communication device to the second communication device via the Bluetooth network].
Regarding claim 12, Liu in in view of Wei and Chhabra discloses, the UE of claim 8 as set forth above.
Liu discloses, wherein the non-cellular connection comprises a Bluetooth connection [FIG. 2; its related descriptions; ¶0053, note that the second-type network between the first communication device and the second communication device is a Bluetooth network].
Regarding claim 13, Liu in in view of Wei and Chhabra discloses, the UE of claim 8 as set forth above.
Liu discloses, wherein the wireless device comprises a smart watch or a wearable device [FIG. 2; its related descriptions; ¶0054, note that the second communication device is a smart watch], wherein the smart watch or the wearable device is paired with the UE [FIG. 2; its related descriptions; ¶0054, both the first communication device and the second communication device can access the first-type network, and the first communication device and the second communication device are connected through the second-type network].
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al (US Publication No. 2022/0417903) in view of Wei et al (US Publication No. 2024/0007908) and further in view of Chhabra et al (US Publication No. 2022/0272781) and further in view of Xiang et al (US Publication No. 2023/0354266).
Regarding claim 9, Liu in view of Wei and Chhabra discloses, the UE of claim 8 as set forth above.
Although Liu in view of Wei discloses, transmit the second message via the non-cellular connection [FIG. 2; its related descriptions; ¶0058 of Wei, after monitoring the paging message sent by the network end of the first-type network to the second communication device, the first communication device can send the paging message to the second communication device through the second-type network (non-cellular connection); further see ¶0110 of Wei, the first base station 201 may transmit data (i.e., second message) for the remote communication device 204, which is received by the relay UE 404 and forwarded to the remote communications device 204; note that the connection between the relay UE 404 and the remote communication device 204 is a PC5 connection, not a cellular connection]], Liu in view of Wei and Chhabra does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Xiang discloses, monitor for a message in accordance with a paging cycle [¶0086, the terminal device monitors the RAN paging message based on a RAN paging cycle].
It is noted that the above-mentioned feature is a known technique in the field Applicant's endeavor, e.g., telecommunication art.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the system of Liu in view of Wei and Chhabra with "the above-mentioned known feature(s)" taught by Xiang to reach the claimed invention as set forth above. Since one having ordinary skill in the art could have recognized that applying the known technique taught by Xiang into the system of Liu in view of Wei and Chhabra would have yield predictable results and/or resulted in the improved system, such as e.g., ensure to reduce power consumption by allowing user device to periodically monitor paging occasions within a defined paging cycle, such a modification (or application) would have involved the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement," the claim is unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103(a). Ex Parte Smith, 83 USPQ.2d 1509, 1518-19 (BPAI, 2007) (citing KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.f attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ian Moore can be reached on (571) 272-3085. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/SUN JONG KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469
1 Liu was filed in an IDS by the applicant.
2 Copy of English translation (see attached) to Tan is used for the sake of claim mapping purpose