CTNF 18/461,772 CTNF 94960 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114 07-42-04 AIA A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on 04/10/2026 has been entered. Response to Arguments Applicant’s Amendments and Arguments filed 04/10/2026 have been considered for examination. With regard to the 103 rejections, Applicant’s arguments filed 04/10/2026 in view of the amendments have been fully considered but are not persuasive at least in view of reasons set forth below. On pages 9-10 of Remarks with respect to claims 1 and 14, Applicant argued: However, the RAN paging message forwarded by the relay UE in Wei is not the same as, and does not teach or suggest "receive a wake-up signal from a network entity and via a cellular connection," as recited in amended independent claim 1. Instead, the remote communications device of Wei has moved beyond the cellular coverage area (and actively refrained from updating a connection) and therefore has no cellular connection with any network entity. See Wei ¶ [0108]. Instead, the remote communications device of Wei receives the RAN paging message exclusively through the relay UE-which is not "from a network entity" and not "via a cellular connection" as recited in amended independent claim 1. See Wei. ¶¶[0109]-[0l10]. Moreover, the data forwarded by the relay UE in Wei does not teach or suggest receiving a second message "in accordance with reception of the wake-up signal via the cellular connection," as recited in amended independent claim 1, at least because there is no reception of any signal "via a cellular connection" at the remote communications device of Wei. That is, because the remote communications device of Wei lacks any cellular connection, it cannot receive a wake-up signal "via a cellular connection," much less receive a second message "in accordance with reception of the wake-up signal via the cellular connection," as claimed. Thus, Wei does not teach or suggest "receive a wake-up signal from a network entity and via a cellular connection," and receiving a second message "in accordance with reception of the wake-up signal via the cellular connection," as recited in amended independent claim 1, or overcome the deficiencies of Liu. In response to the above Applicant’s argument, Examiner respectfully disagrees. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller , 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). In order to establish prima facie obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103, Wei is only applied to cure deficiencies of Liu for “ the wake-up signal indicating that a first message is available via the cellular connection; and receive a second message via the non-cellular connection based at least in part on the operation of the wireless device in the connected mode with the UE, the second message comprising same information in the first message. ”, not for “receiving of the wake-up signal via the cellular connection ” since Liu already clearly teaches, “receive a wake-up signal from a network entity and via a cellular connection”, as set forth above. On pages 11-12 of Remarks with respect to claim 18, Applicant argued: However, a paging message containing a paging identity of the second communication device, as in Liu, is not the same as, and does not teach or suggest receiving, "after receiving the wake-up signal, a first message via a cellular connection with a network entity, the first message associated with the wireless device," as recited in amended independent claim 8. In Liu, there is no prior wake-up signal received before the paging message, much less a first message received "after receiving the wake-up signal" that "compris[ es] an indicator of the wireless device," as claimed. That is, Liu describes a single paging message that carries the paging identity of the second communication device, but does not describe any sequence in which a wake-up signal is first received and then a separate first message comprising an indicator of the wireless device is received after the wake-up signal. See Liu ¶¶[0060], [0064]-[0065]. Moreover, Liu does not describe the UE determining "to forward the first message to the wireless device as a second message based at least in part on the first message comprising the indicator of the wireless device," as recited in amended independent claim 8, at least because Liu does not describe any first message received after a wake-up signal. Instead, Liu merely describes the first communication device determining whether to forward the paging message based on the paging identity contained within that same paging message. See id ¶ [0064]. . . . Wei, Xiang, Tan, and Chhabra do not overcome the deficiencies of Liu, nor does the Office Action suggest otherwise. In response to the above Applicant’s argument, Examiner respectfully disagrees. Unlike the applicant’s argument above, the combination of Liu and Wei teaches, receiving, "after receiving the wake-up signal, a first message via a cellular connection with a network entity. Although Liu does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Wei discloses, receiving, "after receiving the wake-up signal, a first message via a cellular connection with a network entity [FIG. 11; its related descriptions; After Relay 404 receives RAN paging 510 (S988), it receives data 512 via RRC connection mode (S988) with old BS 201] . On page 12 of Remarks, Applicant argued: Dependent claims 2-7, 9-13, and 15-20 each depend from one of independent claims 1, 8, and 14 and are therefore allowable for at least the same reasons that independent claims 1, 8, and 14 are allowable. Dependent claims 2-7, 9-13, and 15-20 also recite allowable features that have not been shown to be taught or suggested by Liu, Wei, Xiang, Tan, and Chhabra, alone or in any combination. Accordingly, for at least these reasons, Applicant requests that the rejection of dependent claims 2-7, 9-13, and 15-20 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 be reconsidered and withdrawn In response to the above Applicant’s argument, Examiner respectfully disagrees. Since claims 1, 8 and 14 are unpatentable over the cited references of record as set forth above, patentability of other dependent claims should be determined based on the claimed limitations recited thereon, rather than their respective independent claims. The dependent claims are also unpatentable in view of the corresponding cited references of records as set forth below. Claim Objections Claims 8-13 are objected to because of the following informality: Claim 8 recites, “the wake-up signal corresponding to a first message” (line 9). It is suggested to replace it with “the wake-up signal indicating that a first message is available via the cellular connection” to conform with the specification (see ¶0093). Claim 8 recites, “ . . . a first message via a cellular connection with a network entity, the first message associated with the wireless device comprising an indicator of the wireless device;” (lines 10-12). It is suggested to replace it with “. . . the first message via the cellular connection with the network entity, the first message associated with the wireless device comprising the indicator of the wireless device;” for more clarity. Claim 11 recites, “ . . . an indicator of the wireless device,” (line 5). It is suggested to replace it with “. . . the indicator of the wireless device,” for more clarity. Claims 9-13 are also objected to since they are directly or indirectly dependent upon the objected claim 8, as set forth above. Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries set forth in Graham v. John Deere Co. , 383 U.S. 1, 148 USPQ 459 (1966), that are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1, 6-8, 11-14 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al (US Publication No. 2022/0417903) 1 in view of Wei et al (US Publication No. 2024/0007908) . Regarding claim 1, Liu discloses, a wireless device [FIGS. 2 and 8; their related descriptions, second communication device/wearable device A] , comprising: one or more memories storing processor-executable code [FIGS. 2 and 8; their related descriptions, note that every communication device has at least one memory storing code(s) ] ; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the wireless device to [FIGS. 2 and 8; their related descriptions, note that every communication device has at least one processor coupled with the memory to execute the code to cause the communication device to perform action(s) ] : establish a non-cellular connection between the wireless device and a user equipment (UE) [FIGS. 2 and 8; their related descriptions; ¶0146, a Bluetooth connection is established between the mobile phone and the wearable device A; further see ¶0053] , the non-cellular connection supporting operation of the wireless device in a connected mode with the UE [FIGS. 2 and 8; their related descriptions; ¶0147, the mobile phone and the wearable device A perform an attachment operation to instruct the mobile phone to monitor a paging message for the wearable device A; further see ¶0054, the first communication device (mobile phone) and the second communication device (smart watch) are connected through the second-type network] ; receive a wake-up signal from a network entity and via a cellular connection [FIGS. 2 and 8; their related descriptions; ¶0149-0151, the base station sends the paging message for the wearable device A, the mobile phone receives the paging message for the wearable device A, and the mobile phone sends the paging message to the wearable device A through the Bluetooth connection; further see ¶0055, when the second communication device is in the idle state or the non-active state, a core network or an access network of the first-type network can wake up (activate) the second communication device by sending the paging message . The base station may send the paging message to the second communication device to instruct the second communication device to initiate a connection with the base station and perform communication; further see ¶0057-0058, a network end of the first-type network may send the paging message intended to be sent to the second communication device to the first communication device, after monitoring the paging message sent by the network end of the first-type network to the second communication device, the first communication device can send the paging message to the second communication device through the second-type network; note that the paging message including the configuration information is received at least via the first-type network (cellular connection) ] , Although Liu discloses, “establish a non-cellular connection between the wireless device and a user equipment (UE), the non-cellular connection supporting operation of the wireless device in a connected mode with the UE; receive a wake-up signal from a network entity and via a cellular connection” as set forth above, Liu does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized and bold limitations), the wake-up signal indicating that a first message is available via the cellular connection ; and receive, from the UE, a second message via the non-cellular connection based at least in part on the operation of the wireless device in the connected mode with the UE and in accordance with reception of the wakeup signal, the second message comprising same information in the first message . However, Wei discloses, the wake-up signal indicating that a first message is available via the cellular connection [FIG. 11; its related descriptions; ¶0109, RAN paging for the remote communication device 204; further see ¶0193, the RANG paging indicating that downlink data (i.e., first message) is available for transmission to the second communication device/remote communication device 204; note that the RAN paging is via a cellular connection ] ; and receive, from the UE [FIG. 11; its related descriptions; ¶0110, from Relay 404 (S990)] , a second message via the non-cellular connection [FIG. 11; its related descriptions; ¶0110, the first base station 201 may transmit data (i.e., second message) for the remote communication device 204, which is received by the relay UE 404 and forwarded to the remote communications device 204; note that the connection between the relay UE 404 and the remote communication device 204 is a PC5 connection, not a cellular connection ] based at least in part on the operation of the wireless device in the connected mode with the UE [¶0111, the transmission of the data at step S990 may be preceded by the remote communications device 204 entering the connected state at step S988, in response to receiving the RAN paging] and in accordance with reception of the wakeup signal [FIG. 11; its related descriptions; ¶0100-0101, based on the RAN paging 510] , the second message comprising same information in the first message [FIG. 11; its related descriptions; ¶0109-0110, note that the data transmitted from the first base station is the same as the downlink data indicated by the RAN paging since the RAN paging is used to indicate availability of downlink (S986) and the transmission of data (S990) is performed as a result of the RAN paging ] . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the above-mentioned feature(s) as taught by Wei in the system of Liu in order to cause the system to be able to reduce power consumption by ensuring user equipment to be wake up depending on availability of data to receive [e.g., ¶0006 of Wei]. Regarding claim 6, Liu in view of Wei discloses, the wireless device of claim 1 as set forth above. Liu discloses, wherein the non-cellular connection comprises a Bluetooth connection [FIG. 2; its related descriptions; ¶0053, note that the second-type network between the first communication device and the second communication device is a BlueTooth network ] . Regarding claim 7, Liu in view of Wei discloses, the wireless device of claim 1 as set forth above. Liu discloses, wherein the wireless device comprises a smart watch or a wearable device [FIG. 2; its related descriptions; ¶0054, note that the second communication device is a smart watch ] , wherein the smart watch or the wearable device is paired with the UE [FIG. 2; its related descriptions; ¶0054, both the first communication device and the second communication device can access the first-type network, and the first communication device and the second communication device are connected through the second-type network] . Regarding claim 8, Liu discloses, a user equipment (UE) [FIGS. 2 and 8; their related descriptions, first communication device/mobile phone] comprising one or more memories storing processor-executable code [FIGS. 2, 8 and 12; their related descriptions; ¶0189, memory 3004 storing instructions; note that every communication device has at least one memory storing code(s) ] ; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the wireless device to [FIGS. 2, 8 and 12; their related descriptions; ¶0188, processing component 3002, note that every communication device has at least one processor coupled with the memory to execute the code to cause the communication device to perform action(s) ] : establish a non-cellular connection between the UE and a wireless device [FIGS. 2 and 8; their related descriptions; ¶0146, a Bluetooth connection is established between the mobile phone and the wearable device A; further see ¶0053] , the non-cellular connection supporting operation of the wireless device in a connected mode with the UE [FIGS. 2 and 8; their related descriptions; ¶0147, the mobile phone and the wearable device A perform an attachment operation to instruct the mobile phone to monitor a paging message for the wearable device A; further see ¶0054, the first communication device (mobile phone) and the second communication device (smart watch) are connected through the second-type network] ; receive a wake-up signal from a network entity and via a cellular connection, the wake-up signal corresponding to a first message [FIGS. 2 and 8; their related descriptions; ¶0149-0151, the mobile phone receives the paging message for the wearable device A from the base station via the cellular connection between the base station and the mobile phone] ; receive . . . a first message via a cellular connection with a network entity, the first message associated with the wireless device comprising an indicator of the wireless device [FIGS. 2 and 8; their related descriptions; ¶0149-0151 and 0057-0058, the mobile phone receives the paging message for the wearable device A from the base station via the cellular connection between the base station and the mobile phone; further see ¶0160, both a paging identity of the first communication device and a paging identity of the second communication device are carried by the paging message] ; Although Liu discloses, “receive a wake-up signal from a network entity and via a cellular connection, the wake-up signal corresponding to a first message” and “receive . . . a first message via a cellular connection with a network entity, the first message associated with the wireless device comprising an indicator of the wireless device” as set forth above, Liu does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized and bold limitations), receive, after receiving the wake-up signal , a first message via a cellular connection with a network entity, determine to forward the first message to the wireless device as a second message based at least in part on the first message ; and transmit the second message via the non-cellular connection to the wireless device based at least in part on the first message being associated with the wireless device and the operation of the wireless device in the connected mode with the UE , the second message comprising same information as the first message . However, Wei discloses, receive, after receiving the wake-up signal , a first message via a cellular connection with a network entity [FIG. 11; its related descriptions; ¶0109-0111, Relay 404 receives, after receiving RAN paging 510 (from the BS 201), data/first message 512 via RRC connected mode with the BS/cellular connection] , determine to forward the first message to the wireless device as a second message based at least in part on the first message [FIG. 11; its related descriptions; ¶0110, Relay 404 forwards the data 512 to Remote UE 204; note that forwarding of the data requires determining to forward the data beforehand ] ; and transmit the second message via the non-cellular connection to the wireless device based at least in part on the first message being associated with the wireless device [FIG. 11; its related descriptions; ¶0109-0110, the first base station 201 may transmit data (i.e., second message) for the remote communication device 204, which is received by the relay UE 404 and forwarded to the remote communications device 204; note that the connection between the relay UE 404 and the remote communication device 204 is a PCS connection, not a cellular connection ] and the operation of the wireless device in the connected mode with the UE [¶0111, the transmission of the data at step S990 may be preceded by the remote communications device 204 entering the connected state at step S988, in response to receiving the RAN paging] , the second message comprising same information as the first message [FIG. 11; its related descriptions; ¶0109-0110, note that the data transmitted from the first base station is the same as the downlink data indicated by the RAN paging since the RAN paging is used to indicate availability of downlink (S986) and the transmission of data (S990) is performed as a result of the RAN paging ] . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the above-mentioned feature(s) as taught by Wei in the system of Liu for similar rationales set forth above in claim 1. Regarding claim 11, Liu in in view of Wei discloses, the UE of claim 8 as set forth above. Liu discloses, determine to forward the message to the wireless device based at least in part on the message comprising an indicator of the wireless device, wherein the message is transmitted via the non-cellular connection based at least in part on the determining [FIGS. 2 and 8; their related descriptions; ¶0074, the first communication device may determine the paging message to be sent to the second communication device according to the received paging identity of the second communication device; note that the paging message is sent from the first communication device to the second communication device via the BlueTooth network ] . Regarding claim 12, claim 12 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 6. Regarding claim 13, claim 13 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 7. Regarding claim 14, claim 14 recites similar features to claim 1 without further additional features. Thus, claim 14 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 1. Regarding claim 19, claim 19 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 6. Regarding claim 20, claim 20 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 7 . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 2, 9 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al (US Publication No. 2022/0417903) in view of Wei et al (US Publication No. 2024/0007908) and further in view of Xiang et al (US Publication No. 2023/0354266) . Regarding claim 2, Liu in view of Wei discloses, the wireless device of claim 1 as set forth above. Although Liu discloses, monitor for the message via the non-cellular connection . . , wherein the message is received via the non-cellular connection based at least in part on the monitoring [FIG. 2; its related descriptions; ¶0058, after monitoring the paging message sent by the network end of the first-type network to the second communication device, the first communication device can send the paging message to the second communication device through the second-type network (non-cellular connection); note that receiving of the paging message by the second communication device requires monitoring the paging message ] , Liu in view of Wei does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Xiang discloses, monitor for a message in accordance with a paging cycle [¶0086, the terminal device monitors the RAN paging message based on a RAN paging cycle] . It is noted that the above-mentioned feature is a known technique in the field Applicant's endeavor, e.g., telecommunication art. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the system of Liu in view of Wei with "the above-mentioned known feature(s)" taught by Xiang to reach the claimed invention as set forth above. Since one having ordinary skill in the art could have recognized that applying the known technique taught by Xiang into the system of Liu in view of Wei would have yield predictable results and/or resulted in the improved system, such as e.g., ensure to reduce power consumption by allowing user device to periodically monitor paging occasions within a defined paging cycle , such a modification (or application) would have involved the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement," the claim is unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103(a). Ex Parte Smith, 83 USPQ.2d 1509, 1518-19 (BPAI, 2007) (citing KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)). Regarding claim 9, claim 9 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 2. Regarding claim 15, claim 15 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 2 . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 3 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al (US Publication No. 2022/0417903) in view of in view of Wei et al (US Publication No. 2024/0007908) and Tan et al (WO 2020/207327) 2 . Regarding claim 3, Liu in view of Wei discloses, the wireless device of claim 1 and particularly “the operation of the wireless device in the connected mode with the UE” as set forth above. Although Liu discloses, the wake-up signal based at least in part on the operation of the wireless device in the connected mode with the UE [FIG. 2; its related descriptions; ¶0055-0058, the configuration information included in the paging message is based on the operation of the second communication device in the connection mode with the first communication device] , Liu in view of Wei does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Tan discloses, refrain from performing, based at least in part on the operation of the wireless device in the connected mode with the UE , a wake-up procedure in response to the wake-up signal [¶0075, wearable device stops receiving the paging message after it is connected to the UE via Bluetooth] . It is noted that the above-mentioned feature is a known technique in the field Applicant's endeavor, e.g., telecommunication art. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the system of Liu in view of Wei with "the above-mentioned known feature(s)" taught by Tan to reach the claimed invention as set forth above. Since one having ordinary skill in the art could have recognized that applying the known technique taught by Tan into the system of Liu in view of Wei would have yield predictable results and/or resulted in the improved system, such as e.g., enabling to reduce unnecessary signaling and power consumption for improving battery life and network efficiency , such a modification (or application) would have involved the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement," the claim is unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103(a). Ex Parte Smith, 83 USPQ.2d 1509, 1518-19 (BPAI, 2007) (citing KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)). Regarding claim 16, claim 16 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 3 . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 4-5, 10 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al (US Publication No. 2022/0417903) in view of Wei et al (US Publication No. 2024/0007908) and further in view of Chhabra et al (US Publication No. 2022/0272781) . Regarding claim 4, Liu in view of Wei discloses, the wireless device of claim 1 as set forth above. Although Liu discloses, additionally receive a third message via the cellular connection, [FIGS. 2 and 8; their related descriptions; ¶0070, when performing paging, the base station needs to send paging messages to the wearable device and the mobile phone, respectively; note that more than one paging message is sent from the network to the second communication device/wearable device at least via the first-type network (cellular network) ] and Liu discloses, the third message comprising the same information in the first message [FIG. 11; its related descriptions; ¶0109-0110, note that the data transmitted from the first base station is the same as the downlink data indicated by the RAN paging since the RAN paging is used to indicate availability of downlink (S986) and the transmission of data (S990) is performed as a result of the RAN paging ] , Liu in view of Wei does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Chhabra discloses, refrain from decoding, based at least in part on the operation of the wireless device in the connected mode with the UE, the message additionally received via the cellular connection [¶0075, the cellular communications received by the UE from the cellular network may be decoded by the UE and converted to an alternate (non-cellular) format for transmission to the second device (i.e., wireless device). For example, a “cellular extension” application executing on the UE might translate audio and/or other data/signaling messages (e.g., paging messages) (i.e., message) received from the cellular network via cellular communication into a different (generic or proprietary) format for transmission to the second device; note that since the paging message received via the cellular communications is decoded by the UE and converted to be sent to the second device based on the operation of the second device in the connection mode with the UE, the second device does not need to decode the message ] . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the above-mentioned feature(s) as taught by Chhabra in the system of Liu in view of Wei in order to cause the wireless device to be able to communication with cellular networks even without cellular communication capabilities [e.g., ¶0005 of Chhabra] . Regarding claim 5, Liu in view of Wei discloses, the wireless device of claim 1 and particularly, “the message received via the non-cellular connection” as set forth above. Although Liu in view of Wei discloses, the fourth message comprising the same information in the first message [FIG. 11; its related descriptions; ¶0109-0110 of Wei, note that the data transmitted from the first base station is the same as the downlink data indicated by the RAN paging since the RAN paging is used to indicate availability of downlink (S986) and the transmission of data (S990) is performed as a result of the RAN paging ] , Liu in view of Wei does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Chhabra discloses, refrain from decoding the second message received via the non-cellular connection based at least in part on a fourth message being decoded at the UE [¶0075, the cellular communications received by the UE from the cellular network may be decoded by the UE and converted to an alternate (non-cellular) format for transmission to the second device (i.e., wireless device). For example, a “cellular extension” application executing on the UE might translate audio and/or other data/signaling messages (e.g., paging messages) (i.e., message) received from the cellular network via cellular communication into a different (generic or proprietary) format for transmission to the second device; note that since the paging message received via the cellular communications is decoded by the UE and converted to be sent to the second device, the second device does not need to decode the message ] . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the above-mentioned feature(s) as taught by Chhabra in the system of Liu in view of Wei in order to cause the wireless device to be able to communication with cellular networks even without cellular communication capabilities [e.g., ¶0005 of Chhabra] . Regarding claim 10, claim 10 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 5. Regarding claim 17, claim 17 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 4. Regarding claim 18, claim 18 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 5. Conclusion 07-96 The prior art made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Agwal et al (US Publication No. 2018/0368202) [Abstract]. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SUN JONG KIM whose telephone number is (571)270-3216. The examiner can normally be reached on 7:30am-5:30pm (M-T). Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.f attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ian Moore can be reached on (571) 272-3085. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see https://ppair-my.uspto.gov/pair/PrivatePair. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /SUN JONG KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469 Application/Control Number: 18/461,772 Page 2 Art Unit: 2469 1 Liu was filed in an IDS by the applicant. 2 Copy of English translation (see attached) to Tan is used for the sake of claim mapping purpose