DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s Amendments and Arguments filed 01/05/2026 have been considered for examination.
With regard to the objections to Specification and Claims, Applicant’s arguments filed 01/05/2026 in view of the amendments have been fully considered and are persuasive. Thus, the objections to Specification and Claims have been withdrawn.
With regard to the 112(b) rejections, Applicant’s arguments filed 01/05/2026 in view of the amendments have been fully considered and are persuasive. Thus, the 112(b) rejections have been withdrawn.
With regard to the 103 rejections, Applicant’s arguments filed 01/05/2026 in view of the amendments have been fully considered but are moot because the arguments are not applied to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6-8, 11-14 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al (US Publication No. 2022/0417903)1 in view of Wei et al (US Publication No. 2024/0007908).
Regarding claim 1, Liu discloses, a wireless device [FIGS. 2 and 8; their related descriptions, second communication device/wearable device A], comprising:
one or more memories storing processor-executable code [FIGS. 2 and 8; their related descriptions, note that every communication device has at least one memory storing code(s)]; and
one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the wireless device to [FIGS. 2 and 8; their related descriptions, note that every communication device has at least one processor coupled with the memory to execute the code to cause the communication device to perform action(s)]:
establish a non-cellular connection between the wireless device and a user equipment (UE) [FIGS. 2 and 8; their related descriptions; ¶0146, a Bluetooth connection is established between the mobile phone and the wearable device A; further see ¶0053], the non-cellular connection supporting operation of the wireless device in a connected mode with the UE [FIGS. 2 and 8; their related descriptions; ¶0147, the mobile phone and the wearable device A perform an attachment operation to instruct the mobile phone to monitor a paging message for the wearable device A; further see ¶0054, the first communication device (mobile phone) and the second communication device (smart watch) are connected through the second-type network];
receive a wake-up signal from a network entity and via a cellular connection [FIGS. 2 and 8; their related descriptions; ¶0149-0151, the base station sends the paging message for the wearable device A, the mobile phone receives the paging message for the wearable device A, and the mobile phone sends the paging message to the wearable device A through the Bluetooth connection; further see ¶0055, when the second communication device is in the idle state or the non-active state, a core network or an access network of the first-type network can wake up (activate) the second communication device by sending the paging message. The base station may send the paging message to the second communication device to instruct the second communication device to initiate a connection with the base station and perform communication; further see ¶0057-0058, a network end of the first-type network may send the paging message intended to be sent to the second communication device to the first communication device, after monitoring the paging message sent by the network end of the first-type network to the second communication device, the first communication device can send the paging message to the second communication device through the second-type network; note that the paging message including the configuration information is received at least via the first-type network (cellular connection)],
Although Liu discloses, “establish a non-cellular connection between the wireless device and a user equipment (UE), the non-cellular connection supporting operation of the wireless device in a connected mode with the UE; receive a wake-up signal from a network entity and via a cellular connection” as set forth above, Liu does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized and bold limitations), the wake-up signal indicating that a first message is available via the cellular connection; and receive a second message via the non-cellular connection based at least in part on the operation of the wireless device in the connected mode with the UE, the second message comprising same information in the first message.
However, Wei discloses, the wake-up signal indicating that a first message is available via the cellular connection [FIG. 11; its related descriptions; ¶0109, RAN paging for the remote communication device 204; further see ¶0193, the RANG paging indicating that downlink data (i.e., first message) is available for transmission to the second communication device/remote communication device 204; note that the RAN paging is via a cellular connection]; and receive a second message via the non-cellular connection [FIG. 11; its related descriptions; ¶0110, the first base station 201 may transmit data (i.e., second message) for the remote communication device 204, which is received by the relay UE 404 and forwarded to the remote communications device 204; note that the connection between the relay UE 404 and the remote communication device 204 is a PC5 connection, not a cellular connection] based at least in part on the operation of the wireless device in the connected mode with the UE [¶0111, the transmission of the data at step S990 may be preceded by the remote communications device 204 entering the connected state at step S988, in response to receiving the RAN paging], the second message comprising same information in the first message [FIG. 11; its related descriptions; ¶0109-0110, note that the data transmitted from the first base station is the same as the downlink data indicated by the RAN paging since the RAN paging is used to indicate availability of downlink (S986) and the transmission of data (S990) is performed as a result of the RAN paging].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the above-mentioned feature(s) as taught by Wei in the system of Liu in order to cause the system to be able to reduce power consumption by ensuring user equipment to be wake up depending on availability of data to receive [e.g., ¶0006 of Wei].
Regarding claim 6, Liu in view of Wei discloses, the wireless device of claim 1 as set forth above.
Liu discloses, wherein the non-cellular connection comprises a Bluetooth connection [FIG. 2; its related descriptions; ¶0053, note that the second-type network between the first communication device and the second communication device is a BlueTooth network].
Regarding claim 7, Liu in view of Wei discloses, the wireless device of claim 1 as set forth above.
Liu discloses, wherein the wireless device comprises a smart watch or a wearable device [FIG. 2; its related descriptions; ¶0054, note that the second communication device is a smart watch], wherein the smart watch or the wearable device is paired with the UE [FIG. 2; its related descriptions; ¶0054, both the first communication device and the second communication device can access the first-type network, and the first communication device and the second communication device are connected through the second-type network].
Regarding claim 8, Liu discloses, a user equipment (UE) [FIGS. 2 and 8; their related descriptions, first communication device/mobile phone] comprising
one or more memories storing processor-executable code [FIGS. 2, 8 and 12; their related descriptions; ¶0189, memory 3004 storing instructions; note that every communication device has at least one memory storing code(s)]; and
one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the wireless device to [FIGS. 2, 8 and 12; their related descriptions; ¶0188, processing component 3002, note that every communication device has at least one processor coupled with the memory to execute the code to cause the communication device to perform action(s)].
Since claim 8 is merely different from claim 1 in that it recites claimed features from the perspective of a user equipment, but recites similar features to claim 1 without further additional features. Thus, claim 8 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 1.
Regarding claim 11, Liu in in view of Wei discloses, the UE of claim 8 as set forth above.
Liu discloses, determine to forward the message to the wireless device based at least in part on the message comprising an indicator of the wireless device, wherein the message is transmitted via the non-cellular connection based at least in part on the determining [FIGS. 2 and 8; their related descriptions; ¶0074, the first communication device may determine the paging message to be sent to the second communication device according to the received paging identity of the second communication device; note that the paging message is sent from the first communication device to the second communication device via the BlueTooth network].
Regarding claim 12, claim 12 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 6.
Regarding claim 13, claim 13 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 7.
Regarding claim 14, claim 14 recites similar features to claim 1 without further additional features. Thus, claim 14 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 1.
Regarding claim 19, claim 19 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 6.
Regarding claim 20, claim 20 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 7.
Claims 2, 9 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al (US Publication No. 2022/0417903) in view of Wei et al (US Publication No. 2024/0007908) and further in view of Xiang et al (US Publication No. 2023/0354266).
Regarding claim 2, Liu in view of Wei discloses, the wireless device of claim 1 as set forth above.
Although Liu discloses, monitor for the message via the non-cellular connection . . , wherein the message is received via the non-cellular connection based at least in part on the monitoring [FIG. 2; its related descriptions; ¶0058, after monitoring the paging message sent by the network end of the first-type network to the second communication device, the first communication device can send the paging message to the second communication device through the second-type network (non-cellular connection); note that receiving of the paging message by the second communication device requires monitoring the paging message], Liu in view of Wei does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Xiang discloses, monitor for a message in accordance with a paging cycle [¶0086, the terminal device monitors the RAN paging message based on a RAN paging cycle].
It is noted that the above-mentioned feature is a known technique in the field Applicant's endeavor, e.g., telecommunication art.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the system of Liu in view of Wei with "the above-mentioned known feature(s)" taught by Xiang to reach the claimed invention as set forth above. Since one having ordinary skill in the art could have recognized that applying the known technique taught by Xiang into the system of Liu in view of Wei would have yield predictable results and/or resulted in the improved system, such as e.g., ensure to reduce power consumption by allowing user device to periodically monitor paging occasions within a defined paging cycle, such a modification (or application) would have involved the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement," the claim is unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103(a). Ex Parte Smith, 83 USPQ.2d 1509, 1518-19 (BPAI, 2007) (citing KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)).
Regarding claim 9, claim 9 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 2.
Regarding claim 15, claim 15 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 2.
Claims 3 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al (US Publication No. 2022/0417903) in view of in view of Wei et al (US Publication No. 2024/0007908) and Tan et al (WO 2020/207327)2.
Regarding claim 3, Liu in view of Wei discloses, the wireless device of claim 1 and particularly “the operation of the wireless device in the connected mode with the UE” as set forth above.
Although Liu discloses, the wake-up signal based at least in part on the operation of the wireless device in the connected mode with the UE [FIG. 2; its related descriptions; ¶0055-0058, the configuration information included in the paging message is based on the operation of the second communication device in the connection mode with the first communication device], Liu in view of Wei does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Tan discloses, refrain from performing, based at least in part on the operation of the wireless device in the connected mode with the UE, a wake-up procedure in response to the wake-up signal [¶0075, wearable device stops receiving the paging message after it is connected to the UE via Bluetooth].
It is noted that the above-mentioned feature is a known technique in the field Applicant's endeavor, e.g., telecommunication art.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the system of Liu in view of Wei with "the above-mentioned known feature(s)" taught by Tan to reach the claimed invention as set forth above. Since one having ordinary skill in the art could have recognized that applying the known technique taught by Tan into the system of Liu in view of Wei would have yield predictable results and/or resulted in the improved system, such as e.g., enabling to reduce unnecessary signaling and power consumption for improving battery life and network efficiency, such a modification (or application) would have involved the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement," the claim is unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103(a). Ex Parte Smith, 83 USPQ.2d 1509, 1518-19 (BPAI, 2007) (citing KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)).
Regarding claim 16, claim 16 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 3.
Claims 4-5, 10 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al (US Publication No. 2022/0417903) in view of Wei et al (US Publication No. 2024/0007908) and further in view of Chhabra et al (US Publication No. 2022/0272781).
Regarding claim 4, Liu in view of Wei discloses, the wireless device of claim 1 as set forth above.
Although Liu discloses, additionally receive a third message via the cellular connection, [FIGS. 2 and 8; their related descriptions; ¶0070, when performing paging, the base station needs to send paging messages to the wearable device and the mobile phone, respectively; note that more than one paging message is sent from the network to the second communication device/wearable device at least via the first-type network (cellular network)] and Liu discloses, the third message comprising the same information in the first message [FIG. 11; its related descriptions; ¶0109-0110, note that the data transmitted from the first base station is the same as the downlink data indicated by the RAN paging since the RAN paging is used to indicate availability of downlink (S986) and the transmission of data (S990) is performed as a result of the RAN paging], Liu in view of Wei does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Chhabra discloses, refrain from decoding, based at least in part on the operation of the wireless device in the connected mode with the UE, the message additionally received via the cellular connection [¶0075, the cellular communications received by the UE from the cellular network may be decoded by the UE and converted to an alternate (non-cellular) format for transmission to the second device (i.e., wireless device). For example, a “cellular extension” application executing on the UE might translate audio and/or other data/signaling messages (e.g., paging messages) (i.e., message) received from the cellular network via cellular communication into a different (generic or proprietary) format for transmission to the second device; note that since the paging message received via the cellular communications is decoded by the UE and converted to be sent to the second device based on the operation of the second device in the connection mode with the UE, the second device does not need to decode the message].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the above-mentioned feature(s) as taught by Chhabra in the system of Liu in view of Wei in order to cause the wireless device to be able to communication with cellular networks even without cellular communication capabilities [e.g., ¶0005 of Chhabra].
Regarding claim 5, Liu in view of Wei discloses, the wireless device of claim 1 and particularly, “the message received via the non-cellular connection” as set forth above.
Although Liu in view of Wei discloses, the fourth message comprising the same information in the first message [FIG. 11; its related descriptions; ¶0109-0110 of Wei, note that the data transmitted from the first base station is the same as the downlink data indicated by the RAN paging since the RAN paging is used to indicate availability of downlink (S986) and the transmission of data (S990) is performed as a result of the RAN paging], Liu in view of Wei does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Chhabra discloses, refrain from decoding the second message received via the non-cellular connection based at least in part on a fourth message being decoded at the UE [¶0075, the cellular communications received by the UE from the cellular network may be decoded by the UE and converted to an alternate (non-cellular) format for transmission to the second device (i.e., wireless device). For example, a “cellular extension” application executing on the UE might translate audio and/or other data/signaling messages (e.g., paging messages) (i.e., message) received from the cellular network via cellular communication into a different (generic or proprietary) format for transmission to the second device; note that since the paging message received via the cellular communications is decoded by the UE and converted to be sent to the second device, the second device does not need to decode the message].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the above-mentioned feature(s) as taught by Chhabra in the system of Liu in view of Wei in order to cause the wireless device to be able to communication with cellular networks even without cellular communication capabilities [e.g., ¶0005 of Chhabra].
Regarding claim 10, claim 10 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 5.
Regarding claim 17, claim 17 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 4.
Regarding claim 18, claim 18 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 5.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.f attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ian Moore can be reached on (571) 272-3085. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/SUN JONG KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469
1 Liu was filed in an IDS by the applicant.
2 Copy of English translation (see attached) to Tan is used for the sake of claim mapping purpose