CTNF 18/461,792 CTNF 96203 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US20210247242) in view of Schmidt (DE102014216471, see Machine Translation for citations) (Provided in Applicant’s IDS filed on May 7 th , 2024) . Regarding Claim 1, Zhang discloses a battery ([003]) comprising: Each cell comprising an anode layer and a cathode layer separated by a permeable separator ([0014]); At least one temperature probe structure is disposed on the permeable separator between the anode layer and the cathode layer of a first cell (temperature sensor-40, separator-20, [0027], Fig. 2), the temperature probe structure comprising a first material partially coating the permeable separator (first electrode-42 act as first material, [0029], Fig. 3) and a second material partially coating the permeable separator (second electrode-44 act as second material,[0029], Fig. 3), the first material overlapping with the second material at an overlap region (resistive sensing element-46 acts as overlap region, Fig. 3), a first sensor output terminal connected to the first material and a second sensor terminal connected to the second material (first lead-43 and second lead-45 act as sensor output terminals, [0031], Fig. 2). Zhang does not directly disclose wherein a voltage differential between the first sensor output terminal and the second sensor output terminal corresponds to an average temperature of the overlap region. However, Zhang discloses wherein the temperature sensor includes a resistive sensing element and a first and second electrode ([0029]), where the temperature sensor is conductive and can be used to measure temperature within the battery cell ([0031]), wherein the temperature sensor is a resistive temperature sensor, where the temperature is determined in relation to the measured electoral resistance ([0032-0033]). The examiner notes that electrical resistance and voltage are inversely related. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the disclosure of Zhang to have wherein a voltage differential between the first sensor output terminal and the second sensor output terminal corresponds to an average temperature of the overlap region. Zhang does not directly disclose a plurality of stacked cells. Schmidt discloses a battery that comprises a cell stack wherein each cells tack has a temperature probe ([005]), wherein the temperature probe is placed within each cell ([0010]). Schmidt teaches that this structure provides reduction of short circuits ([002]). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the structure of Zhang with the teachings of Schmidt to have a plurality of stacked cells. This modification would yield the expected result of reduced short circuits. Regarding Claim 2, Zhang in view of Schmidt discloses the limitations as set forth above. Zhang discloses a cell with a temperature sensor. Zhang does not disclose wherein the battery comprises a plurality of temperature sensors, each temperature sensor in the plurality of temperature sensors being disposed in a distinct cell in the plurality of stacked cells. Schmidt discloses a battery that comprises a cell stack wherein each cells tack has a temperature probe ([005]), wherein the temperature probe is placed within each cell ([0010]). Schmidt teaches that this structure provides reduction of short circuits ([002]). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Zhang with the teachings of Schmidt to have wherein the battery comprises a plurality of temperature sensors, each temperature sensor in the plurality of temperature sensors being disposed in a distinct cell in the plurality of stacked cells. This modification would yield the expected result of reduced short circuits. Regarding Claim 3, Zhang in view of Schmidt discloses the limitations as set forth above. Zhang in view of Schmidt discloses a plurality of cells. Zhang discloses wherein the temperature sensor is at the same coordinate position within each cell (temperature sensor is placed in same location in cell, Fig. 1). Regarding Claim 4, Zhang in view of Schmidt discloses the limitations as set forth above. Zhang in view of Schmidt discloses a plurality of cells. Zhang discloses wherein the overlap region of each temperature sensor is at a distinct coordinate position within each cell (temperature sensor is placed in same location in cell, Fig. 1). Regarding Claim 5, Zhang in view of Schmidt discloses the limitations as set forth above. Zhang does not directly disclose wherein the first coating material has a coating thickness range from 50nm to 500 nm and the second coating material has a coating thickness range from 50nm to 500 nm. Zhang discloses wherein the temperature sensor is fabricated as a thin film that is 50 nm thick ([0040]), which is encompassed by the instant claim range of 50nm to 500nm. Zhang discloses wherein the first resistive path and second resistive path which form the first and second coating material respectively can have the same thickness ([0043]). Zhang further discloses wherein the thermistor that forms the temperature sensor can be varied for different applications ([0044]). Therefore, absent a showing of criticality, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art using the disclosure of Zhang to have wherein the first coating material has a coating thickness range from 50nm to 500 nm and the second coating material has a coating thickness range from 50nm to 500 nm. Regarding Claim 6, Zhang in view of Schmidt discloses the limitations as set forth above. Zhang discloses wherein the first material and second material can be formed of gold, nickel or conductive carbon black material ([004]). Zhang does not directly disclose wherein the first material is one of a Cu and Cu-Ni alloy, Ni-Al alloy, Ni-Cr Alloy, Fe, Ni-Si alloy, Pt, PD, PD-rare earth, and ceramic material and the second material is another of a Cu and Cu-Ni alloy, Ni-Al alloy, Ni-Cr Alloy, Fe, Ni-Si alloy, Pt, PD, PD-rare earth, and ceramic material. Schmidt discloses a temperature sensor with a thermocouple system formed from conductor structures ([0015]). Schmidt discloses wherein the conductor structure if formed of a nickel alloys, including Chromium nickel alloys and copper nickel alloys, or can be formed of iron, or platinum ([0019]). Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Zhang with the teachings of Schmidt to have wherein the first material is one of a Cu and Cu-Ni alloy, Ni-Al alloy, Ni-Cr Alloy, Fe, Ni-Si alloy, Pt, PD, PD-rare earth, and ceramic material and the second material is another of a Cu and Cu-Ni alloy, Ni-Al alloy, Ni-Cr Alloy, Fe, Ni-Si alloy, Pt, PD, PD-rare earth, and ceramic material. This modification would yield the expected result of reduced short circuits. Regarding Claim 7, Zhang in view of Schmidt discloses the limitations as set forth above. Zhang discloses a metal foil contacting one of the first material and the second material, wherein the metal foil is one of embedded in and disposed on the one of the first material and the second material, and wherein the metal foil is a reference electrode (reference electrode-48 acts as metal foil, [0027], Fig. 2/3). Regarding Claim 8, Zhang discloses a battery ([003]) comprising: Each cell comprising an anode layer and a cathode layer separated by a permeable separator ([0014]); At least one temperature probe structure is disposed on the permeable separator between the anode layer and the cathode layer of a first cell (temperature sensor-40, separator-20, [0027], Fig. 2), the temperature probe structure comprising a first material partially coating the permeable separator (first electrode-42 act as first material, [0029], Fig. 3) and a second material partially coating the permeable separator (second electrode-44 act as second material,[0029], Fig. 3), the first material overlapping with the second material at an overlap region (resistive sensing element-46 acts as overlap region, Fig. 3), a first sensor output terminal connected to the first material and a second sensor terminal connected to the second material (first lead-43 and second lead-45 act as sensor output terminals, [0031], Fig. 2). Zhang does not directly disclose wherein a voltage differential between the first sensor output terminal and the second sensor output terminal corresponds to an average temperature of the overlap region. However, Zhang discloses wherein the temperature sensor includes a resistive sensing element and a first and second electrode ([0029]), where the temperature sensor is conductive and can be used to measure temperature within the battery cell ([0031]), wherein the temperature sensor is a resistive temperature sensor, where the temperature is determined in relation to the measured electoral resistance ([0032-0033]). The examiner notes that electrical resistance and voltage are inversely related. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the disclosure of Zhang to have wherein a voltage differential between the first sensor output terminal and the second sensor output terminal corresponds to an average temperature of the overlap region. Zhang further discloses a controller including at least one input connected to the first terminal and the second terminal, wherein the controller is configured to convert a voltage differential across the first terminal and the second terminal to a temperature (monitoring controller-25, Fig. 1, [0031-0032]). Zhang does not directly disclose a plurality of stacked cells. Schmidt discloses a battery that comprises a cell stack wherein each cells tack has a temperature probe ([005]), wherein the temperature probe is placed within each cell ([0010]). Schmidt teaches that this structure provides reduction of short circuits ([002]). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the structure of Zhang with the teachings of Schmidt to have a plurality of stacked cells. This modification would yield the expected result of reduced short circuits. Zhang does not directly disclose a vehicle comprising a propulsion system including at least one electric motor and a battery system connection to the propulsion system via a power distribution system. Schmidt discloses a battery that comprises a cell stack wherein each cells tack has a temperature probe ([005]), wherein the temperature probe is placed within each cell ([0010]). Schmidt further discloses wherein the battery arrangement is placed into a motor vehicle with a propulsion system ([008-009]). Schmidt teaches that this structure provides reduction of short circuits ([002]). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the structure of Zhang with the teachings of Schmidt to have wherein a vehicle comprising a propulsion system including at least one electric motor and a battery system connection to the propulsion system via a power distribution system. Regarding Claim 9, Zhang in view of Schmidt discloses the limitations as set forth above. Zhang discloses wherein the controller is configured to determine a temperature map of the cell ([0032]). Zhang does not disclose wherein the battery comprises a plurality of temperature sensors, each temperature sensor in the plurality of temperature sensors being disposed in a distinct cell in the plurality of stacked cells. Schmidt discloses a battery that comprises a cell stack wherein each cells tack has a temperature probe ([005]), wherein the temperature probe is placed within each cell ([0010]). Schmidt teaches that this structure provides reduction of short circuits ([002]). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Zhang with the teachings of Schmidt discloses a plurality of cells with each cell having a temperature probe structure, each temperature probe structure in the plurality of temperature probes structures being disposed in a distinct cell in the plurality of stacked cells and wherein the controller is configured to determine a temperature map of the plurality of stacked cells. This modification would yield the expected result of reduced short circuiting. Regarding Claim 10, Zhang in view of Schmidt discloses the limitations as set forth above. Zhang in view of Schmidt discloses a plurality of stacked cells. Zhang discloses wherein the temperature probe structure is at the same coordinate position within each the corresponding cell as each other overlap region (temperature sensor is placed in same location in cell, Fig. 1, the temperature sensor includes a resistive sensing element and a first and second electrode ([0029]). Zhang further discloses where the temperature sensor is conductive and can be used to measure temperature within the battery cell ([0031]), wherein the temperature sensor is a resistive temperature sensor, where the temperature is determined in relation to the measured electric resistance ([0032-0033]). Zhang does not directly disclose wherein the temperature map of the plurality stacked cells defines a temperature gradient along the plurality of stacked cells. Schmidt discloses wherein the temperature sensors can create a temperature profile of each cell and have a temperature gradient of the overall battery structure ([0029]). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the structure of Zhang with the teachings of Schmidt to have wherein the temperature map of the plurality stacked cells defines a temperature gradient along the plurality of stacked cells. This modification would yield the expected result of reduced short circuiting. Regarding Claim 11, Zhang in view of Schmidt discloses the limitations as set forth above. Zhang in view of Schmidt discloses a plurality of stacked cells. Zhang discloses wherein the temperature probe structure is at a distinct coordinate position within each the corresponding cell as each other overlap region (temperature sensor is placed in same location in cell, Fig. 1, the temperature sensor includes a resistive sensing element and a first and second electrode ([0029]). Zhang further discloses where the temperature sensor is conductive and can be used to measure temperature within the battery cell ([0031]), wherein the temperature sensor is a resistive temperature sensor, where the temperature is determined in relation to the measured electric resistance ([0032-0033]). Zhang does not directly disclose wherein the temperature map of the plurality stacked cells defines a temperature gradient along the plurality of stacked cells. Schmidt discloses wherein the temperature sensors can create a temperature profile of each cell and have a temperature gradient of the overall battery structure ([0029]). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the structure of Zhang with the teachings of Schmidt to have wherein the temperature map of the plurality stacked cells defines a temperature gradient along the plurality of stacked cells. This modification would yield the expected result of reduced short circuiting. Regarding Claim 12, Zhang in view of Schmidt discloses the limitations as set forth above. Zhang does not directly disclose wherein the first coating material has a coating thickness range from 50nm to 500 nm and the second coating material has a coating thickness range from 50nm to 500 nm. Zhang discloses wherein the temperature sensor is fabricated as a thin film that is 50 nm thick ([0040]), which is encompassed by the instant claim range of 50nm to 500nm. Zhang discloses wherein the first resistive path and second resistive path which form the first and second coating material respectively can have the same thickness ([0043]). Zhang further discloses wherein the thermistor that forms the temperature sensor can be varied for different applications ([0044]). Therefore, absent a showing of criticality, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art using the disclosure of Zhang to have wherein the first coating material has a coating thickness range from 50nm to 500 nm and the second coating material has a coating thickness range from 50nm to 500 nm. Regarding Claim 13, Zhang in view of Schmidt discloses the limitations as set forth above. Zhang discloses wherein the first material and second material can be formed of gold, nickel or conductive carbon black material ([004]). Zhang does not directly disclose wherein the first material is one of a Cu and Cu-Ni alloy, Ni-Al alloy, Ni-Cr Alloy, Fe, Ni-Si alloy, Pt, PD, PD-rare earth, and ceramic material and the second material is another of a Cu and Cu-Ni alloy, Ni-Al alloy, Ni-Cr Alloy, Fe, Ni-Si alloy, Pt, PD, PD-rare earth, and ceramic material. Schmidt discloses a temperature sensor with a thermocouple system formed from conductor structures ([0015]). Schmidt discloses wherein the conductor structure if formed of a nickel alloys, including Chromium nickel alloys and copper nickel alloys, or can be formed of iron, or platinum ([0019]). Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Zhang with the teachings of Schmidt to have wherein the first material is one of a Cu and Cu-Ni alloy, Ni-Al alloy, Ni-Cr Alloy, Fe, Ni-Si alloy, Pt, PD, PD-rare earth, and ceramic material and the second material is another of a Cu and Cu-Ni alloy, Ni-Al alloy, Ni-Cr Alloy, Fe, Ni-Si alloy, Pt, PD, PD-rare earth, and ceramic material. This modification would yield the expected result of reduced short circuits. Regarding Claim 14, Zhang in view of Schmidt discloses the limitations as set forth above. Zhang discloses a metal foil contacting one of the first material and the second material, wherein the metal foil is one of embedded in and disposed on the one of the first material and the second material, and wherein the metal foil is a reference electrode (reference electrode-48 acts as metal foil, [0027], Fig. 2/3). Regarding Claim 15, , Zhang discloses a method for determining a cell temperature battery ([003]) comprising: Each cell comprising an anode layer and a cathode layer separated by a permeable separator ([0014]); At least one temperature probe structure is disposed on the permeable separator between the anode layer and the cathode layer of a first cell (temperature sensor-40, separator-20, [0027], Fig. 2), the temperature probe structure comprising a first material partially coating the permeable separator (first electrode-42 act as first material, [0029], Fig. 3) and a second material partially coating the permeable separator (second electrode-44 act as second material,[0029], Fig. 3), the first material overlapping with the second material at an overlap region (resistive sensing element-46 acts as overlap region, Fig. 3), a first sensor output terminal connected to the first material and a second sensor terminal connected to the second material (first lead-43 and second lead-45 act as sensor output terminals, [0031], Fig. 2). Zhang does not directly disclose providing at least a first voltage potential difference between a first output terminal and a second output terminal to a controller, and converting the at least the first voltage potential difference to a temperature using the controller wherein a voltage differential between the first sensor output terminal and the second sensor output terminal corresponds to an average temperature of the overlap region. However, Zhang discloses wherein the temperature sensor includes a resistive sensing element and a first and second electrode ([0029]), where the temperature sensor is conductive and can be used to measure temperature within the battery cell ([0031]), wherein the temperature sensor is a resistive temperature sensor, where the temperature is determined in relation to the measured electoral resistance ([0032-0033]). Zhang further discloses a controller including at least one input connected to the first terminal and the second terminal, wherein the controller is configured to convert a voltage differential across the first terminal and the second terminal to a temperature (monitoring controller-25, Fig. 1, [0031-0032]). The examiner notes that electrical resistance and voltage are inversely related. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the disclosure of Zhang to have wherein at least a first voltage potential difference between a first output terminal and a second output terminal to a controller, and converting the at least the first voltage potential difference to a temperature using the controller wherein a voltage differential between the first sensor output terminal. Zhang does not directly disclose a cell stack. Schmidt discloses a battery that comprises a cell stack wherein each cells tack has a temperature probe ([005]), wherein the temperature probe is placed within each cell ([0010]). Schmidt teaches that this structure provides reduction of short circuits ([002]). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Zhang with the teachings of Schmidt to have a plurality of stacked cells. This modification would yield the expected result of reduced short circuits. Regarding Claim 16, Zhang in view of Schmidt discloses the limitations as set forth above. Zhang in view of Schmidt discloses a cell stack wherein each cell comprises a temperature prob structure. Zhang does not directly disclose wherein providing at least the first voltage potential difference between the first sensor output terminal and the second sensor output terminal to the controller, comprises providing multiple voltage potential difference to the controller, comprises providing multiple voltage potential difference to the controller and converting each of the multiple voltage potential difference to the controller and converting each of the multiple voltage potential differences to multiple temperatures with each provided voltage potential differences corresponding to a distinct temperature sensor within the stacked cell. However, Zhang discloses wherein the temperature sensor includes a resistive sensing element and a first and second electrode ([0029]), where the temperature sensor is conductive and can be used to measure temperature within the battery cell ([0031]), wherein the temperature sensor is a resistive temperature sensor, where the temperature is determined in relation to the measured electoral resistance ([0032-0033]). Zhang further discloses a controller including at least one input connected to the first terminal and the second terminal, wherein the controller is configured to convert a voltage differential across the first terminal and the second terminal to a temperature (monitoring controller-25, Fig. 1, [0031-0032]). The examiner notes that electrical resistance and voltage are inversely related. Schmidt discloses wherein the temperature sensors can create a temperature profile of each cell and have a temperature gradient of the overall battery structure ([0029]). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Zhang with the teachings of Schmidt to have wherein providing at least the first voltage potential difference between the first sensor output terminal and the second sensor output terminal to the controller, comprises providing multiple voltage potential difference to the controller, comprises providing multiple voltage potential difference to the controller and converting each of the multiple voltage potential difference to the controller and converting each of the multiple voltage potential differences to multiple temperatures with each provided voltage potential differences corresponding to a distinct temperature sensor within the stacked cell. Regarding Claim 17, Zhang in view of Schmidt discloses the limitations as set forth above. Zhang in view of Schmidt discloses a plurality of stacked cells. Zhang discloses wherein the temperature probe structure is at a distinct coordinate position within each the corresponding cell as each other overlap region (temperature sensor is placed in same location in cell, Fig. 1, the temperature sensor includes a resistive sensing element and a first and second electrode ([0029]). Zhang further discloses where the temperature sensor is conductive and can be used to measure temperature within the battery cell ([0031]), wherein the temperature sensor is a resistive temperature sensor, where the temperature is determined in relation to the measured electric resistance ([0032-0033]). Zhang does not directly disclose wherein the temperature map of the plurality stacked cells defines a temperature gradient along the plurality of stacked cells. Schmidt discloses wherein the temperature sensors can create a temperature profile of each cell and have a temperature gradient of the overall battery structure ([0029]). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Zhang with the teachings of Schmidt to have wherein the temperature map of the plurality stacked cells defines a temperature gradient along the plurality of stack. Regarding Claim 18, Zhang in view of Schmidt discloses the limitations as set forth above. Zhang does not directly disclose combining the multiple temperatures into a point cloud measurement of a cell stack temperature. Schmidt discloses at a certain temperature difference T1 – T2, a temperature sensor 10 with a total of ten thermocouples 14 will obtain twice the thermoelectric voltage at the contact elements 16 as in the case of a temperature sensor 10 with only five thermocouples 14 ([0029]). Schmidt further discloses that by selecting a sufficiently high number of thermocouples 14 connected in series, the sensitivity of the temperature sensor 10 can be specifically increased to enable particularly accurate detection of the temperature profile in the energy storage cell ([0029]). It is the examiner’s position that since Zhang in view of Schmidt disclose measured various temperature gradients and comparing and combining hem together to create a temperature profile, that one of ordinary skill would understand that taking these temperature measurements and putting them into a point cloud measurement would be obvious. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Zhang with the teachings of Schmidt to have wherein combining the multiple temperatures into a point cloud measurement of a cell stack temperature. Regarding Claim 19, Zhang in view of Schmidt discloses the limitations as set forth above. Zhang does not directly disclose wherein the first coating material has a coating thickness range from 50nm to 500 nm and the second coating material has a coating thickness range from 50nm to 500 nm. Zhang discloses wherein the temperature sensor is fabricated as a thin film that is 50 nm thick ([0040]), which is encompassed by the instant claim range of 50nm to 500nm. Zhang discloses wherein the first resistive path and second resistive path which form the first and second coating material respectively can have the same thickness ([0043]). Zhang further discloses wherein the thermistor that forms the temperature sensor can be varied for different applications ([0044]). Therefore, absent a showing of criticality, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art using the disclosure of Zhang to have wherein the first coating material has a coating thickness range from 50nm to 500 nm and the second coating material has a coating thickness range from 50nm to 500 nm. Regarding Claim 20, Zhang in view of Schmidt discloses the limitations as set forth above. Zhang discloses wherein the first material and second material can be formed of gold, nickel or conductive carbon black material ([004]). Zhang does not directly disclose wherein the first material is one of a Cu and Cu-Ni alloy, Ni-Al alloy, Ni-Cr Alloy, Fe, Ni-Si alloy, Pt, PD, PD-rare earth, and ceramic material and the second material is another of a Cu and Cu-Ni alloy, Ni-Al alloy, Ni-Cr Alloy, Fe, Ni-Si alloy, Pt, PD, PD-rare earth, and ceramic material. Schmidt discloses a temperature sensor with a thermocouple system formed from conductor structures ([0015]). Schmidt discloses wherein the conductor structure if formed of a nickel alloys, including Chromium nickel alloys and copper nickel alloys, or can be formed of iron, or platinum ([0019]). Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Zhang with the teachings of Schmidt to have wherein the first material is one of a Cu and Cu-Ni alloy, Ni-Al alloy, Ni-Cr Alloy, Fe, Ni-Si alloy, Pt, PD, PD-rare earth, and ceramic material and the second material is another of a Cu and Cu-Ni alloy, Ni-Al alloy, Ni-Cr Alloy, Fe, Ni-Si alloy, Pt, PD, PD-rare earth, and ceramic material. This modification would yield the expected result of reduced short circuits. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ANKITH R SRIPATHI whose telephone number is (571)272-2370. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday: 7:30 am - 5:00pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Matthew Martin can be reached at 571-270-7871. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ANKITH R SRIPATHI/ Examiner, Art Unit 1728 /MATTHEW T MARTIN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728 Application/Control Number: 18/461,792 Page 2 Art Unit: 1728 Application/Control Number: 18/461,792 Page 3 Art Unit: 1728 Application/Control Number: 18/461,792 Page 4 Art Unit: 1728 Application/Control Number: 18/461,792 Page 5 Art Unit: 1728 Application/Control Number: 18/461,792 Page 6 Art Unit: 1728 Application/Control Number: 18/461,792 Page 7 Art Unit: 1728 Application/Control Number: 18/461,792 Page 8 Art Unit: 1728 Application/Control Number: 18/461,792 Page 9 Art Unit: 1728 Application/Control Number: 18/461,792 Page 10 Art Unit: 1728 Application/Control Number: 18/461,792 Page 11 Art Unit: 1728 Application/Control Number: 18/461,792 Page 12 Art Unit: 1728 Application/Control Number: 18/461,792 Page 13 Art Unit: 1728 Application/Control Number: 18/461,792 Page 14 Art Unit: 1728 Application/Control Number: 18/461,792 Page 15 Art Unit: 1728 Application/Control Number: 18/461,792 Page 16 Art Unit: 1728 Application/Control Number: 18/461,792 Page 17 Art Unit: 1728 Application/Control Number: 18/461,792 Page 18 Art Unit: 1728