Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: sealing member in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,8, 15, 16, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamashita (US 7147123).
Claim 1: Yamashita discloses a cap comprising: a metal cap 3 (cap body) including a top plate and a skirt having a tubular shape disposed on a circumferential edge of the top plate; a packing 9 (sealing member) disposed on an inner surface of the top plate and configured to seal a container mouth; a slit 16c extending in the skirt in a circumferential direction of the skirt and having a first end portion and a second end portion; and a knurl 6 (first worked portion) and a knurl 6 (second worked portion), wherein the knurl 6 (first worked portion) is present at the first end portion of the slit 16c in the skirt and the knurl 6 (second worked portion) is present at the second end portion of the slit 16c in the skirt, wherein the slit 6a can be formed on the bottom line of the knurls 6 (first and second worked portions) resulting in the knurl 6 (first worked portion) and the knurl 6 (second worked portion) extending closer to the top plate than the slit 16c in the skirt is to the top plate [see C. 3 L. 53-56], wherein the knurl 6 (first worked portion) and the knurl 6 (second worked portion) are recesses disposed in the skirt so that the knurl 6 (first worked portion) and the knurl 6 (second worked portion) are reinforced and made more difficult to deform, wherein the skirt defines a plurality of knurls 6 (knurl portions) therein, where the plurality of knurls 6 (knurled portions) exclude knurls 6 which contact slits 16c, wherein some of the plurality of knurls 6 (knurled portions) therein are arranged at equal intervals in the circumferential direction to constitute a plurality of knurl portion groups, wherein the slit 16c in the skirt is disposed between the plurality of knurl portion groups separately from the plurality of knurls 6, that exclude knurls 6 which contact slits 16c, (knurled portions), and wherein the cap is of a metal material due to the metal cap 3 (cap body) being metal (see annotated fig. 10 below and fig. 6 & 11).
The sealing member for sealing a container mouth is/are interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as an annular or disk shaped seal, and equivalents thereof.
Claim 8: Yamashita discloses wherein the knurl 6 (first worked portion) and the knurl 6 (second worked portion) each have a length in an axial direction of the cap longer than in the circumferential direction (see fig. 11).
Claim 15: Yamashita discloses wherein the packing 9 (sealing member) is of a disk shape (see fig. 6).
Claim 16: Yamashita discloses wherein the packing 9 (sealing member) is of a tubular shape (see fig. 6).
Claim 18: Yamashita discloses wherein the skirt has a plurality of slits 16c therein (see C. 4 L. 54-58).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamashita (US 7147123) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Matukawa (US 20060169665).
Claim 17: Yamashita discloses the claimed invention except wherein the sealing member includes a resin material.
Matukawa teaches a metallic pilfer-proof cap 1 having a packing 2 of a resin on the lower side of a top end wall 11 (see P. 0044 and fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have made the packing 9 (sealing member) out of a resin material, as taught by Matukawa, due to its low cost, good sealability, and thermal stability and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 24 February 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument that the knurls 6 or 7 of Yamashita are located below slit 6a or 7a, respectively, i.e., on the side opposite to the top plate of the metal cap, the Examiner responds that this argument is not commensurate in scope with the rejection at hand which relies upon the embodiment in which the slit 6a is formed on the bottom line of the knurls 6 (first and second worked portions) resulting in the knurl 6 (first worked portion) and the knurl 6 (second worked portion) extending closer to the top plate than the slit 16c in the skirt is to the top plate [see C. 3 L. 53-56].
In response to applicant’s argument that the Action acknowledges knurls 6 or 7 located below the slit 6a or 7a in Yamashita correspond to the first and second portions recited in claim 1 of the present application, the Examiner initially responds that the most recent Office Action makes no mention to knurls 7 or slit 7a. Additionally, this argument is not commensurate in scope with the rejection at hand which relies upon the embodiment in which the slit 6a is formed on the bottom line of the knurls 6 (first and second worked portions) resulting in the knurl 6 (first worked portion) and the knurl 6 (second worked portion) extending closer to the top plate than the slit 16c in the skirt is to the top plate [see C. 3 L. 53-56].
In response to applicant’s argument that Yamashita also has a configuration in which a slit 16c extends across two knurls 6 which is in contrast the claim 1 which requires the “first and second portions” be located on the top plate side of the slit, the Examiner responds that slit 16c extending across two knurls 6 is not in contrast with the limitation of claim 1 that the “first and second portions” be located on the top plate side of the slit. Yamashita discloses that the slit 6a can be formed on the bottom line of the knurls 6 (first and second worked portions) resulting in the knurl 6 (first worked portion) and the knurl 6 (second worked portion) extending closer to the top plate than the slit 16c in the skirt is to the top plate [see C. 3 L. 53-56].
In response to applicant’s argument that in Yamashita the slit is formed integrally with the knurl which is in contrast to the claimed cap which requires a plurality of knurl portions, and, among these, some of the plurality of knurl portions arranged at equal intervals in a circumferential direction, to form knurl portion groups, a slit disposed between these knurl portion groups separately from the knurl portions, such that the slit in the claimed cap is separate from the knurl portion groups, the Examiner responds that Yamashita discloses a plurality of knurls 6 (knurl portions), where the plurality of knurls 6 (knurl portions) exclude knurls 6 which contact slits 16c, and, among the plurality of knurls 6 (knurl portions), some of the plurality of knurls 6 (knurl portions) arranged at equal intervals in a circumferential direction, to form knurl portion groups [see annotated fig. 10 above], and a slit 16c is disposed between these knurl portion groups, separately from the plurality of knurls 6, that exclude knurls 6 which contact slits 16c, (knurled portions), such that the slit 16c is separate from the knurl portion groups.
Conclusion
All claims are identical to or patentably indistinct from, or have unity of invention with claims in the application prior to the entry of the submission under 37 CFR 1.114 (that is, restriction (including a lack of unity of invention) would not be proper) and all claims could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the application prior to entry under 37 CFR 1.114. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action after the filing of a request for continued examination and the submission under 37 CFR 1.114. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALLAN D STEVENS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3736