DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s Amendment and Remarks filed on 25 June 2026 in which claims 3, 4, 10 and 11 were canceled, and claims 1, 6, 8 and 13 were amended to change the scope and breadth of the claims.
Claims 1, 2, 5-9 and 12-14 are pending in the current application and are examined on the merits herein.
Withdrawn Objection
Applicant’s amendment, filed 25 June 2026, with respect to the objection of claim 8, has been fully considered and is persuasive because the claim has been amended to delete “e.g.”. The objection is hereby withdrawn.
Modified Rejections
The following are new ground(s) or modified rejections necessitated by Applicant's amendment, filed on 25 June 2026, where the limitations in pending claims 1, 6, 8, and 13 as amended now have been changed. Therefore, rejections from the previous Office Action, dated 27 March 2026, have been modified and are listed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1, 2, 5-9 and 12-14 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Himmelsbach et al. (US Patent No. 7,713,938, cited in previous Office Action) in view of Malatiali et al. (Experimental Diabetes Research, 2008, volume 2008, 7 pages, cited in previous Office Action) and further in view of Premaratne et al. (Diabetologia, 2005, vol. 48, pp.2486-2493, cited in PTO-892).
Himmelsbach et al. teach a pharmaceutical composition comprising 1-chloro-4-(β-D-glucopyranos-1-yl)-2-[4-((S)-tetrahydrofuran-3-yloxy)-benzyl]-benzene (claim 4), also known as empagliflozin (hereinafter referred to as empagliflozin). Himmelsbach et al. teach empagliflozin is an SGLT2 inhibitor (column 1, lines 25-47), and is suitable for preventing, slowing, delaying or treating conditions including type 1 or type 2 diabetes mellitus and complications of diabetes such as nephropathy; as well as acute renal failure (column 6, lines 21-51; also see column 6-7, bridging paragraph). Himmelsbach et al. teach empagliflozin is particularly suitable for the prevention or treatment of individuals diagnosed with one of the following conditions: overweight, obesity, visceral obesity and/or abdominal obesity (column 7, lines 4-7). Himmelsbach et al. teach an oral dosage preferably comprising 1 to 30 mg of compound of claim 4, administered 1 to 4 times a day (column 7, lines 13-16).
Himmelsbach et al. do not expressly disclose wherein the patient has a GFR equal to or greater than 125 mL/min/1.73 m2 or 140 ml/min/1.73 m2 (present claims 1, 5, 6, 8, 12, and 13).
Malatiali et al. teach phlorizin, an SGLT inhibitor, prevents glomerular hyperfiltration in subjects with diabetes (title and p.4, section 3.3). Malatiali et al. teach there is an increased tubular Na+ glucose reabsorption in uncontrolled diabetes due to increased expression of SGLT1 and SGLT2 transporters in proximal tubule cells (p.1, fourth paragraph). Malatiali et al. teach this reabsorption causes decreased distal delivery of Na+ which increases the glomerular filtration rate (GFR) through tubuloglomerular feedback (TGF) (p.1, fourth paragraph) and suggest it may be the cause of glomerular hyperfiltration. Malatiali et al. teach phlorizin prevented renal growth observed in diabetic rats (p.3, section 3.1). Malatiali et al. teach phlorizin inhibits the proximal tubule sodium glucose reabsorption in patients with diabetes (i.e. an SGLT2 inhibitor), (p.4, section 3.3).
Premaratne et al. teach GFR is defined as a rate of > 130 ml/min/1.73 m2 (p.2487, second para). Premaratne et al. found hyperfiltration was more common among younger patients with type 2 diabetes, even after adjusting for the expected age-related decline (abstract). The age adjusted prevalence rate for hyperfiltration was 50% for patients <40 years (abstract).
It would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to administer empagliflozin to a patient having type 2 diabetes, wherein the patient has a GFR equal to or greater than 130 ml/min/1.73 m2.
One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to administer empagliflozin to a patient having type 1 or 2 diabetes because Himmelsbach et al. expressly teach the compound can be used to treat patients having type 1 or 2 diabetes.
As discussed above, Malatiali et al. teach uncontrolled diabetics have an increased expression of SGLT1 and SGLT2 transporters in proximal tubule cells, which increases tubular Na+ glucose reabsorption, which in turn decreases distal delivery of Na+, which increases the GFR through TGF.
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to treat glomerular hyperfiltration by administering empagliflozin because it is functionally similar to phlorizin, in that they are both SGLT inhibitors for treating conditions associated with nephropathy, wherein the SGLT inhibitor phlorizin was demonstrated to prevent glomerular hyperfiltration in subjects with diabetes because of its role as an SGLT inhibitor. Specifically, Malatiali et al. found phlorizin prevented glomerular hyperfiltration by inhibiting the proximal tubule sodium glucose reabsorption in the kidney of patients with diabetes.
The skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success in using empagliflozin for preventing the progression of glomerular hyperfiltration injury because empagliflozin is a known SGLT inhibitor and has been demonstrated to have therapeutic effect on the kidneys, including nephropathy and acute renal failure. Furthermore, the drug is suitable for preventing, slowing, delaying or treating type 1 or type 2 diabetes.
The skilled artisan would have been motivated to treat a patient having a GFR equal to or greater than 130 ml/min/1.73 m2 because glomerular hyperfiltration is defined as patients having a GFR equal to or greater than 130 ml/min/1.73 m2. The GFR range taught by Premaratne encompasses the range recited in present claims 1, 5, 6, 8, 12, 13 (GFR equal to or greater than 140 ml/min/1.73 m2).
Finally, it is noted that administering empagliflozin to a subject having diabetes (as required in present claims 3 and 10), will necessarily result in preventing glomerular hyperfiltration. Performing the positively recited steps of administering the empagliflozin to a subject having diabetes meets the preamble limitation, since the preamble does not require the subject to have glomerular hyperfiltration. See MPEP 2111.02, section II, “If a prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use as recited in the preamble, then it meets the claim.”.
The amount of empagliflozin taught by Himmelsbach et al. substantially overlaps and encompasses the amount recited in the present claims. See MPEP 2144.05, “In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists.”.
MPEP 2144.05, section I states: “In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists.”; and MPEP 2144.05, section II states “Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical.”.
Thus, the claimed invention as a whole is prima facie obvious over the combined teaching of the prior art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 25 June 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant contends the claims have been amended to specify the patient is diagnosed with or showing type 2 diabetes mellitus. Applicant argues the prior art references do not teach this patient population. However, Applicant notes Himmelsbach et al. teach the use of the SGLT2 inhibitor, empagliflozin, for treating disorders including type 2 diabetes. Malatiali uses the term “diabetes”, and does not specify “type 2 diabetes”. And Vervoort et al. is concerned with eGFR rates in patients with type 1 diabetes.
The arguments have been carefully considered. The Vervoort et al. reference has been replaced with Premaratne et al., and the rejection has been modified to address the newly amended patient population, directed towards type 2 diabetes.
The rejection is hereby maintained.
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
I. Claims 1, 2, 5-9 and 12-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-48 of U.S. Patent No. 8,551,957 in view of Malatiali et al. and Premaratne et al. (cited above).
Claim 4 of the ‘957 Patent is directed towards a method of slowing the progression of, delaying or treating type 1 diabetes mellitus, type 2 diabetes mellitus, overweight and obesity comprising administering 1-chloro-4-(β-D-glucopyranos-1-yl)-2-[4-((S)-tetrahydrofuran-3-yloxy)-benzyl]-benzene to a patient in need thereof. Claim 7 is directed towards a method of treating complications of diabetes including nephropathy. Claims 20 and 30 teaches administering the composition orally. Claims 42 and 43 of the ‘957 Patent discloses the compound is administered in an amount of 10 mg or 25 mg once daily.
The claims of the ‘957 Patent do not expressly disclose the GFR of the patient in need thereof (present claims 1, 5, 6, 8, 12, and 13).
Malatiali et al. and Premaratne et al. teach as discussed above.
It would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to administer empagliflozin once a day to a patient having a GFR equal to or greater than 130 ml/min/1.73 m2.
The skilled artisan would have been motivated to treat a patient having a GFR equal to or greater than 130 ml/min/1.73 m2 for the reasons discussed above. The GFR range taught by Premaratne et al. encompasses the range recited in instant claim 1.
The recitation “for preventing…renal hyperfiltrative injury in a patient in need thereof” is broadly and reasonably interpreted as a patient having diabetes mellitus and acute renal failure as per instant claim 2; type 1 or type 2 diabetes mellitus as per instant claims 3 and 4; an individual diagnosed as being overweight or having obesity, visceral obesity and abdominal obesity as per instant claim 7.
Claims 1, 2, 5-9 and 12-14 are prima facie obvious over claims 1-48 of the ‘957 Patent in view of Malatiali et al. and Premaratne et al.
II. Claims 1, 2, 5-9 and 12-14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 9,192,617 in view of Himmelsbach et al. (cited above), Malatiali et al. (cited above) and Premaratne et al. (cited above).
Claim 2 of the ‘617 Patent is directed towards a method of preventing, slowing the progression of, delaying or treating a metabolic disorder including diabetes mellitus comprising administering empagliflozin. Claim 4 of the ‘617 Patent is directed towards treating an overweight or obese patient having diabetes mellitus.
The claims of the ‘617 Patent do not expressly disclose the GFR of the patient in need thereof (present claims 1, 5, 6, 8, 12, and 13). The claims of the ‘617 Patent do not expressly disclose a dosage of empagliflozin (instant claims 9 and 18).
Himmelsbach et al., Malatiali et al. and Premaratne et al. teach as discussed above.
The obviousness rational is the same as discussed above.
Claims 1, 2, 5-9 and 12-14 are prima facie obvious over claims 1-14 of the ‘617 Patent in view of Himmelsbach et al. and Premaratne et al.
III. Claims 1, 2, 5-9 and 12-14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 9,949,997 in view of Himmelsbach et al. (cited above), Malatiali et al. (cited above) and Premaratne et al. (cited above).
The claims of the ‘997 Patent are directed towards reducing the risk of cardiovascular death in a patient with type 2 diabetes mellitus, the method comprising administering 10 or 25 mg empagliflozin to the patient.
The claims of the ‘997 Patent do not expressly disclose the GFR of the patient in need thereof (present claims 1, 5, 6, 8, 12, and 13). The claims of the ‘997 Patent do not expressly disclose wherein the patient is an individual diagnosed as being overweight, having obesity, visceral obesity and abdominal obesity (instant claims 6, 13).
Himmelsbach et al., Malatiali et al. and Premaratne et al. teach as discussed above.
The obviousness rational regarding the GFR limitation is the same as discussed above.
It would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to administer empagliflozin to a subject diagnosed as being overweight, having obesity, visceral obesity and abdominal obesity because Himmelsbach et al. teach administering empagliflozin to this particular patient population and also having diabetes, as recited in the claims of the ‘997 Patent.
Claims 1, 2, 5-9 and 12-14 are prima facie obvious over claims 1-18 of the ‘997 Patent in view of Himmelsbach et al., Malatiali et al. and Premaratne et al.
IV. Claims 1, 2, 5-9 and 12-14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-24 of U.S. Patent No. 10,406,172 in view of Himmelsbach et al. (cited above), and Premaratne et al. (cited above).
The claims of the reference Patent are directed towards a pharmaceutical composition comprising in a single dosage form, empagliflozin. The claims are also drawn towards administering the composition to a patient with type 2 diabetes for improving glycemic control, wherein the composition comprises 25 mg of the empagliflozin. The claims of the patent include the same patient populations recited in the instant claims.
The claims of the Patent do not expressly disclose the GFR.
It would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to administer empagliflozin to a patient having a GFR equal to or greater than 130 ml/min/1.73 m2.
The skilled artisan would have been motivated to treat a patient having a GFR equal to or greater than 130 ml/min/1.73 m2 because Premaratne et al. teach glomerular hyperfiltration is defined as patients having a GFR equal to or greater than 130 ml/min/1.73 m2, wherein glomerular hyperfiltration is a condition associated with diabetes and nephropathy. The GFR range taught by Premaratne et al. encompasses the range recited in instant claim 1.
Claims 1, 2, 5-9 and 12-14 are prima facie obvious over claims 1-24 of the ‘172 Patent in view of Himmelsbach et al. and Premaratne et al.
The following are additional rejections on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting, having the same or similar fact patterns as the above US Patents. Namely, the following US Patents are similarly directed towards empagliflozin and its use as an SGLT2 inhibitor, including for the treatment of the disorders recited in the instant claims (including obesity, diabetes type I and type II) as those recited in the instant claims. For the sake of brevity, these have been summarized as below: The below patents are silent with respect to the glomerular filtration rate and dosage of drug.
Claims 1, 2, 5-9 and 12-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-23 of U.S. Patent No. 7,683,160 in view of Himmelsbach et al. (cited above), and Premaratne et al. (cited above).
Claims 1, 2, 5-9 and 12-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-27 of U.S. Patent No. 7,723,309 in view of Himmelsbach et al. (cited above), and Premaratne et al. (cited above).
Claims 1, 2, 5-9 and 12-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 8,507,450 in view of Himmelsbach et al. (cited above), and Premaratne et al. (cited above).
Claims 1, 2, 5-9 and 12-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 10,596,120 in view of Himmelsbach et al. (cited above), and Premaratne et al. (cited above).
Claims 1, 2, 5-9 and 12-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-29 of U.S. Patent No. 10,610,489 in view of Himmelsbach et al. (cited above), and Premaratne et al. (cited above).
Claims 1, 2, 5-9 and 12-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7, 9-17, 19-24, 26-27, 30-32 of US Patent No. 11,666,590 in view of Himmelsbach et al. (cited above), and Premaratne et al. (cited above).
Claims 1, 2, 5-9 and 12-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. 11,813,275 in view of Himmelsbach et al. (cited above), and Premaratne et al. (cited above).
Claims 1, 2, 5-9 and 12-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6, 8, 10-19, 21, 23-30 of U.S. Patent No. 11,813,275 in view of Himmelsbach et al. (cited above), and Premaratne et al. (cited above).
Claims 1, 2, 5-9 and 12-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6, 8-12, 14 and 15 of U.S. Patent No. 11,813,275 in view of Himmelsbach et al. (cited above), and Premaratne et al. (cited above).
Claims 1, 2, 5-9 and 12-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 of U.S. Patent No. 12,427,161 in view of Himmelsbach et al. (cited above), and Premaratne et al. (cited above).
Claims 1, 2, 5-9 and 12-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13, 15, 17-20, 22-26, 28-30 and 41 of U.S. Patent No. 12,433,906 in view of Himmelsbach et al. (cited above), and Premaratne et al. (cited above).
Claims 1, 2, 5-9 and 12-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6, 8-12, 14 and 15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,263,157 in view of Himmelsbach et al. (cited above), and Premaratne et al. (cited above).
Claims 1, 2, 5-9 and 12-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13, 15, 17-26, 28-30 and 41 of U.S. Patent No. 12,263,157 in view of Himmelsbach et al. (cited above), and Premaratne et al. (cited above).
The obviousness rational is the same as discussed above.
Thus, the instant claims are prima facie obvious over the claims of the reference Patent.
The following are additional provisional rejections on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting, having the same or similar fact patterns as the above US Patents. Namely, the following US Patents are similarly directed towards empagliflozin and its use as an SGLT2 inhibitor, including for the treatment of the disorders recited in the instant claims (including obesity, diabetes type I and type II) as those recited in the instant claims. For the sake of brevity, these have been summarized as below:
Claims 1, 2, 5-9 and 12-14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 and 8 of copending Application No. 18/930,470 in view of Himmelsbach et al. (cited above), and Premaratne et al. (cited above).
Claims 1, 2, 5-9 and 12-14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of copending Application No. 18/123,359 in view of Himmelsbach et al. (cited above), and Premaratne et al. (cited above).
Claims 1, 2, 5-9 and 12-14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 9-11, 13-16 of copending Application No. 18/413,822 in view of Himmelsbach et al. (cited above), and Premaratne et al. (cited above).
Claims 1, 2, 5-9 and 12-14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 3-9 of copending Application No. 19/051,292 in view of Himmelsbach et al. (cited above), and Premaratne et al. (cited above).
The obviousness rational is the same as discussed above.
Thus, the present claims are prima facie obvious over the claims of the copending Application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 25 June 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments are drawn towards Vervoort for teaching the definition of glomerular hyperfiltration in patients with type 1 diabetes.
The rejections have been modified to include the teaching of Premaratne et al., which teaches the definition of glomerular hyperfiltration in patients with type 2 diabetes, which incidentally is the same as in patients with type 1 diabetes. However, Premaratne et al. establish that patients with type 2 diabetes also suffer from glomerular hyperfiltration.
The above rejections are hereby maintained.
Conclusion
In view of the rejections to the pending claims set forth above, no claim is allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BAHAR CRAIGO/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1699