Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
A. Claims 2-6, 8, 10-14, 16, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang, (Segmented Sphere Projection for 360-degree video, JVET Jan 2017) in view of Lambers (Mappings between Sphere, Disc and Square, JCGT 2016)
As for claim 2, Zhang teaches
A method for processing video data, comprising:
obtaining 360-degree video data including a plurality of video frames, each video frame of the plurality of video frames including a spherical representation of video data for the video frame; (title, abstract)
segmenting a video frame from the plurality video frames into a top region, a middle region, and a bottom region, the top region including a first circular area of the spherical representation, the bottom region including a second circular area of the spherical representation that is opposite on the spherical representation from the first circular area, wherein the middle region including an area of the spherical representation between the top region or the bottom region; (Fig 1a, north, equator and south segments)
mapping the top region into a first rectangular area of an output video frame: (Fig 1b, equation (1), ch 2, mapping the top segment of sphere in Fig 1a to square area “N” in Fig 1b) .. ; and
..
mapping the bottom region into a second rectangular area of the output video frame (Fig 1b, equation (1), ch 2, mapping the bottom segment of sphere in Fig 1a to square area “S” in Fig 1b)
..
Zhang does not specifically teach, Lambers however teaches
wherein mapping the top region into the first rectangular area comprises
selecting a first pixel location in the output video frame; (Lambers ch 2 1st par, eq in ch 2.1, (x,y) coordinates of the output square)
determining a first point on the spherical representation corresponding to the first pixel location, wherein the first point on the spherical representation is determined using a mapping for converting from a square to a circle; (coordinates (u,v) in the input disc)
sampling a first pixel from the first point on the spherical representation (equation in 2.1); and
placing the sampled first pixel at the first pixel location (equation in 2.1, correlating the two coordinates)
wherein mapping the bottom region into the second rectangular area comprises
selecting a second pixel location in the output video frame; (Lambers ch 2 1st par, eq in ch 2.1, (x,y) coordinates of the output square)
determining a second point on the spherical representation corresponding to the first second pixel location, wherein the second point on the spherical representation is determined using a mapping for converting from a square to a circle; (coordinates (u,v) in the input disc)
sampling a second pixel from the second point on the spherical representation (equation in 2.1); and
placing the sampled second pixel at the second pixel location (equation in 2.1, correlating the two coordinates)
It would have been obvious, at the time of invention, to modify the teaching of Zhang to include features of Lambers, as all pertain to representing spherical visual data in rectangular format. The motivation to do so would have been, for example, to fully utilize display space, in cases when preserving area ratios are a lower priority.
As for claim 4, 12, the combination of Zhang and Lambers teaches
mapping the top region into a first rectangular area of an output video frame, wherein mapping the top region includes expanding video data included in the first circular area to fill the first rectangular area (Fig 1b, equation (1), ch 2, mapping the top segment of sphere in Fig 1a to square area “N” in Fig 1b), each pixel of the first rectangular area including at least a portion of the video data included in the first circular area of the spherical representation; (Lambers, Fig 1, teaches two hemispheres each being mapped to a full rectangle)
mapping the bottom region into a second rectangular area of the output video frame, wherein mapping the bottom region includes expanding video data included the second circular area to fill the second rectangular area (Fig 1b, equation (1), ch 2, mapping the bottom segment of sphere in Fig 1a to square area “S” in Fig 1b), each pixel of the second rectangular area including at least a portion of the video data included in the second circular area of the spherical representation; (Lambers, Fig 1, teaches two hemispheres each being mapped to a full rectangle)
As for claims 5, 13, the combination of Zhang and Lambers teaches
the video frame is segmented at a first latitude above an equator of the spherical representation and a second latitude below the equator (Zhang, Fig 1a, top and bottom), wherein
the first latitude and the second latitude are equidistant from the equator, wherein the top region is above the first latitude, and wherein the bottom region is below the second latitude. (Zhang, Fig 1a, top and bottom above 45 and -45 degrees)
As for claims 6, 14, the combination of Zhang and Lambers teaches
mapping the middle region to one or more rectangular areas of an output video frame (Zhang, Fig 1b, equation (2), ch 2, mapping the equator/middle segment of sphere in Fig 1a to rectangular area “E” in Fig 1b)
As for claims 8, 16, the combination of Zhang and Lambers teaches
the middle region includes a back view (Zhang Fig 1, the sphere offers a 360 direction, thus some appropriate segment of the sphere can be considered “a back view”; depending on the point of reference, a view diametrically opposite of that point of reference will be “a back view”)
the bottom region is placed in the output video frame adjacent to the back view, and wherein the top region is placed adjacent to the back view (NOTE applicant claim does not specify which point of reference is used to define the “back view”; while Zhang does not appear to specify which pixels corresponding to the Equator sphere segment follow immediately the Southern hemisphere data in the rectangular data packet, any pixels from the Equator segment can be called “a back view” given the diametrically opposite point of reference)
B. Claims 7, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang and Lambers in view of Ye, “Algorithm descriptions of projection format conversion and video quality metrics in 360Lib” JVET Jan 2017
As for claims 7, 15 the combination of Zhang and Lambers doesn’t teach, Ye however teaches
the middle region includes a left view, a front view, and a right view, wherein the left view is placed in the output video frame adjacent to the front view, and wherein the right view is placed adjacent to front view (Ye, ch 2.6 and Fig 8, views 2-5, views can be named “left”, “front” and “right”, depending on the point of reference; for example if view 3 is called “front”, then view 2 can be called “left” etc)
It would have been obvious, at the time of invention, to modify the teaching of Zhang and Lambers to include features of Ye, as all pertain to representing spherical visual data in rectangular format. The motivation to do so would have been, to specify in greater detail how segments of the sphere view, represented in rectangular output format, may be stored for future use, and referencing the segments as needed - for example if only the front segment is needed, it can be found more quickly if it is known where in the output it is stored.
C. Claims 9, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang and Lambers in view of Lin “Compact cube layout with tile partition”, JVET Oct 2016
As for claims 9, 17, the combination of Zhang and Lambers does not teach, Lin however teaches
the output video frame has a three-by-two aspect ratio (Figs 1-2 specify the 3x2 layout for representing spherical view data in rectangular format)
It would have been obvious, at the time of the invention, to modify the teaching of Zhang and Lambers to include features of Lin, as both pertain to representing spherical visual data in rectangular format. The motivation to do so would have been, to specify in greater detail how segments of the sphere view, represented in rectangular output format, may be stored for future use, and referencing the segments as needed.
Final Rejection
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Chan Park can be reached on (571)272-7409. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/MARK ROZ/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2669