DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1-20 have been examined and are pending.
Response to Amendment
2. In response to the amendments received in the Office on 12/17/2025, the Office acknowledges the current status of the claims: claims 14 and 18 have been amended, and no new matter appears to be included.
3. In response to the amendments received in the Office on 12/17/2025, the objection to the specification has been withdrawn. The new title of the invention is “COMMUNICATION METHOD WITH REDUCED CAPABILITY INFORMATION AND COMMUNICATION APPARATUS”.
Response to Arguments
4. Applicant's arguments filed 12/17/2025 with respect to the rejections of claims 1-6, 11, 12, 14, 15, 18, and 19 as being anticipated by United States Patent Application Publication 2023/0362787 A1 to Ohlsson et al. (hereinafter “Ohlsson”) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Examiner addresses the Applicant’s concerns in the following response.
Applicant argues “Ohlsson, as applied by the Office, does not disclose or suggest “determining, by the first network element based on the first REDCAP information and the second REDCAP information, whether to allow the terminal apparatus to use a service corresponding to the first REDCAP information”. Applicant notes similar features recited in claims 14 and 18 are not anticipated by Ohlsson. In support of this argument, Applicant alleges that although Ohlsson may disclose determining whether or not to allow the terminal apparatus to use a service corresponding to the first REDCAP information based on the second REDCAP information, Ohlsson does not disclose determining whether or not to allow the terminal apparatus to use a service corresponding to the first REDCAP information based on the second REDCAP information and the first redcap information (Remarks, pages 10-11).
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Step 303 of Ohlsson must first obtain the reduced capability of the subscriber and the requested service of the subscriber, described in steps 301 and 302, before the communication network determines whether or not to allow the service. [0064] – “…The apparatus 110, 120, 130 may in some embodiments obtain an indication that the UE 120 intend to access the radio communications network 100 using reduced capabilities. The apparatus 110, 120, 130 may obtain the indication by receiving it from the UE 120 or a node.” That is, even though the claim does not state how the network element obtains the first REDCAP information, Ohlsson explicitly does in at least [0064]. In [0066] of Ohlsson, the network element also obtains second REDCAP information which corresponds to the subscriber information of the user. In step 303, in order for the network element to determine whether or not to allow the UE access, both the capabilities and the subscription information are required, since this is based on the “obtained” information of steps 301 and 302.
Examiner respectfully maintains the rejections in view of the amendments received in the Office on 12/19/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
6. Claims 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
a) Claim 14 recites “the second REDCAP information”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation within the claim.
b) Claims 15-17, dependent upon claim 14, do not satisfy the deficiencies of the rejected base claim and are therefore also rejected.
c) Claim 18 recites “the second REDCAP information”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation within the claim.
b) Claims 19-20, dependent upon claim 18, do not satisfy the deficiencies of the rejected base claim and are therefore also rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
9. Claims 1-6, 11, 12, 14, 15, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by United States Patent Application Publication 2023/0362787 A1 to Ohlsson et al. (hereinafter “Ohlsson”).
Regarding Claim 1, Ohlsson discloses a communication method, comprising:
obtaining, by a first network element, first reduced capability (REDCAP) information from a terminal apparatus (Ohlsson: Figure 3 with [0056-0064] – corresponds to a network node receiving an intention to access radio communications from a UE utilizing reduced capabilities (step 301).);
obtaining, by the first network element, second REDCAP information that is subscribed by the terminal apparatus (Ohlsson: Figure 3 with [0065-0075] – corresponds to receiving by the network node subscription information related to a service requested by the UE having reduced capabilities (step 302).); and
determining, by the first network element based on the first REDCAP information and the second REDCAP information, whether to allow the terminal apparatus to use a service corresponding to the first REDCAP information (Ohlsson: Figure 3 with [0074-0088] – corresponds to the network node determining whether or not the UE is authorized to access radio communications based on the reduced capabilities and obtained information.).
Regarding Claim 2, Ohlsson discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the first REDCAP information is usable to indicate a REDCAP access technology and a first service type, and a first access technology usable for the first service type is the REDCAP access technology (Ohlsson: Figure 3 with [0074-0088] and Figure with [0100-0108] – a network node determines whether or not the UE is allowed to access a network, including a list of networks the UE is allowed to access based on the subscriber profile. The network node also determines whether or not if the UE is operable, according to reduced capabilities, to access particular services. See also [0055], [0143], [0155].), the second REDCAP information is usable to indicate the REDCAP access technology subscribed by the terminal apparatus and at least one second service type, and a second access technology usable for the at least one second service type is the REDCAP access technology subscribed by the terminal apparatus (Ohlsson: Figure 3 with [0074-0088] and Figure with [0100-0108] – a network node determines whether or not the UE is allowed to access a network, including a list of networks the UE is allowed to access based on the subscriber profile. The network node also determines whether or not if the UE is operable, according to reduced capabilities, to access particular services. See also [0055], [0143], [0155]. Examiner notes both the first and second service types may comprise the REDCAP access technology.).
Regarding Claim 3, Ohlsson discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the first REDCAP information is usable to indicate a first-type REDCAP access technology (Ohlsson: [0047], [0067], [0090-0103] – corresponds to the UE operable to indicate access to a radio access technology or network, which corresponds to an access technology type, either explicitly or implicitly.), the second REDCAP information is usable to indicate at least one type of REDCAP access technology subscribed by the terminal apparatus (Ohlsson: [0047], [0067], [0090-0103] – corresponds to the UE operable to indicate access to a radio access technology or network, which corresponds to an access technology type, either explicitly or implicitly, or based on a subscription profile.), and different types of REDCAP access technologies correspond to different service types (Ohlsson: [0051], [0055], [0073-0074], [0102] – “…a dedicated network or network slice in the radio communications network 100 has been configured for a particular service, and UEs e.g. the UE 120 which are allowed to connect to this network or network slice are also allowed to use reduced capabilities.”).
Regarding Claim 4, Ohlsson discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises:
sending, by the first network element, first indication information to the terminal apparatus, wherein the first indication information is usable to indicate to the terminal apparatus not to allow the terminal apparatus to use the service corresponding to the first REDCAP information (Ohlsson: Figure 3 with [0074-0088] – corresponds to step 305 – “Reject access to radio communications network using reduced capabilities.”).
Regarding Claim 5, Ohlsson discloses the method according to claim 4, wherein the first indication information comprises a cause value, and the cause value is usable to indicate a reason the terminal apparatus is rejected (Ohlsson: [0105] – “…the AMF, such as the CN node 130, may reject the registration request by sending a NAS Registration Reject to the UE 120 with an appropriate cause value, e.g. “PLMN not allowed”, “TA not allowed” or “RedCap not allowed”.”. See also [0128]).
Regarding Claim 6, Ohlsson discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the first network element is an access network device (Ohlsson: [0049], [0108-0112] – the deciding network node may be a RAN node.), and the obtaining, by the first network element, the first REDCAP information from the terminal apparatus comprises:
receiving, by the first network element, a radio resource control (RRC) message from the terminal apparatus, wherein the RRC message comprises the first REDCAP information (Ohlsson: [0110], [0113-0114] – the RAN node determines whether or not the UE may access the network in an RRC exchange.);
receiving, by the first network element, first radio capability information from the terminal apparatus, and determining the first REDCAP information based on the first radio capability information (Ohlsson: [0110], [0113-0114] – the RAN node determines whether or not the UE may access the network in an RRC exchange, including the reduced capabilities of the UE.); and one of:
receiving, by the first network element, a first message from an access and mobility management network element, wherein the first message comprises the first REDCAP information (Ohlsson: [0117-0124] – corresponds to the AMF (or CN) sending information related to the UE profile to the network node (gNB) including whether or not the UE may have access to the radio technology.); or
receiving, by the first network element, second radio capability information that is of the terminal apparatus and that is from an access and mobility management network element, and determining the first REDCAP information based on the second radio capability information (Ohlsson: [0117-0124] – corresponds to the AMF (or CN) sending information related to the UE profile to the network node (gNB) including whether or not the UE may have access to the radio technology, or access to particular allowed networks.).
Regarding Claim 11, Ohlsson discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the first network element is an access and mobility management network element, and the obtaining, by the first network element (Ohlsson: [0117-0124] – corresponds to the AMF (or CN) sending information related to the UE profile to the network node (gNB) including whether or not the UE may have access to the radio technology.), the first REDCAP information from the terminal apparatus comprises:
receiving, by the first network element, a non-access stratum (NAS) message from the terminal apparatus, wherein the NAS message comprises the first REDCAP information (Ohlsson: [0098] – the gNB forwards the NAS request to the AMF, suggesting the gNB received the NAS request from the user. [0091-0096] – the NAS request includes information regarding RedCap capabilities, either explicitly or implicitly.); or
receiving, by the first network element, the first REDCAP information from an access network device (Ohlsson: [0117-0124] – corresponds to the AMF (or CN) sending information related to the UE profile to the network node (gNB) including whether or not the UE may have access to the radio technology.).
Regarding Claim 12, Ohlsson discloses the method according to claim 11, wherein before the receiving, by the first network element, the first REDCAP information from the access network device (before the gNB receives RedCap information from either the AMF or CN…), the method further comprises:
sending, by the first network element, radio capability information of the terminal apparatus to the access network device (Ohlsson: [0090-0098] – the gNB sends/forwards a NAS request to the AMF with either explicit or implicit reduced capabilities signaling.), wherein the radio capability information is usable for the access network device to determine the first REDCAP information (Ohlsson: [0090-0098] – the NAS request may either contain explicit or implicit reduced capability signaling, such that the AMF may look-up subscriber information to determine whether or not the user is allowed to access a/the network.).
Regarding Claim 14, Ohlsson discloses a communication method, comprising:
sending, by a terminal apparatus, first reduced capability (REDCAP) information (Ohlsson: Figure 3 with [0056-0064] – corresponds to a network node receiving an intention to access radio communications from a UE utilizing reduced capabilities (step 301).); and
receiving, by the terminal apparatus, indication information from a first network element based on the first REDCAP information, wherein the indication information is usable to indicate whether to allow the terminal apparatus to use a service corresponding to the first REDCAP information (Ohlsson: Figure 3 with [0074-0088] – corresponds to the network node determining whether or not the UE is authorized to access radio communications based on the reduced capabilities and obtained information. See also [0105], [0128] describing the rejection sent to the UE may also include a cause value.), wherein the indication information is determined based on the first REDCAP information and the second REDCAP information (Ohlsson: Figure 3 with [0065-0075] – corresponds to receiving by the network node subscription information related to a service requested by the UE having reduced capabilities (step 302). Figure 3 with [0074-0088] – corresponds to the network node determining whether or not the UE is authorized to access radio communications based on the reduced capabilities and obtained information.).
Regarding Claim 15, Ohlsson discloses the method according to claim 14, wherein the method further comprises:
sending, by the terminal apparatus based on the indication information, adjusted REDCAP information (Ohlsson: [0105-0106] – corresponds to the UE, upon receipt of rejection, sending signaling including a modification of the UE capabilities, either enablement or disablement of capabilities.), wherein the adjusted REDCAP information is different from the first REDCAP information (Ohlsson: [0105-0106] – corresponds to the UE, upon receipt of rejection, sending signaling including a modification of the UE capabilities, either enablement or disablement of capabilities, and/or a modification of the data connectivity (i.e., slice or particular service).).
Claims 18 and 19, directed to an apparatus embodiment of claims 14 and 15, recite similar features as claims 14 and 15, respectively, and are therefore rejected upon the same grounds as claims 14 and 15. Please see above rejections of claims 14 and 15. Ohlsson further discloses the communication apparatus comprising a processor, memory, and a medium in at least Figure 8ba with [0156-0164].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
11. Claims 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohlsson in view of United States Patent Application Publication 2023/0133172 A1 to Breuer (hereinafter “Breuer”).
Regarding Claim 7, Ohlsson discloses the method according to claim 1, but does not specifically disclose wherein the first network element is an access network device in a second network in a hand-over process in which the terminal apparatus is handed over from a first network to the second network.
However, this feature is not new or novel in the presence of Breuer. Breuer is similarly concerned with communication networks wherein one or more user devices operate with reduced capabilities, or RedCap (Breuer: [0017-0024]). Breuer discloses a first network element is an access network device in a second network in a hand-over process in which the terminal apparatus is handed over from a first network to the second network (Breuer: [0024-0027], [0066-0068] – corresponds to a neighboring base station determining a user’s reduced capability when in the process of being handed over from one network to a second network.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the method for determining access to a radio network based on a user’s reduced capabilities of Ohlsson in view of the method of determining access to another radio network based on a user’s reduced capabilities of Breuer to handover between network based on a user’s capabilities for the reasons of reduce signaling between access nodes in order to provide seamless running connections between networks (Breuer: [0069]).
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Ohlsson and Breuer discloses the method according to claim 7, wherein Breuer further discloses the obtaining, by the first network element, the first REDCAP information from the terminal apparatus comprises:
receiving, by the first network element, radio capability information of the terminal apparatus from an access network device in the first network (Breuer: [0024-0027] – user’s reduced cabaility information is made available between another base station and a serving (or future serving) base station. See also [0066-0070] – user capability is shared between a serving base station and a neighboring base station in case of handover.); and
determining, by the first network element, the first REDCAP information based on the radio capability information (Breuer: [0064-0070] – user’s reduced capability is shared between a serving base station and a neighboring base station in case of handover.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the method for determining access to a radio network based on a user’s reduced capabilities of Ohlsson in view of the method of determining access to another radio network based on a user’s reduced capabilities of Breuer to handover between network based on a user’s capabilities for the reasons of reduce signaling between access nodes in order to provide seamless running connections between networks (Breuer: [0069]).
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Ohlsson and Breuer discloses the method according to claim 8, wherein Breuer further discloses before the determining, by the first network element, the first information based on the radio capability information, the method further comprises:
receiving, by the first network element, REDCAP indication information from an access and mobility management network element in the second network (Breuer: [0109-0116] – an AMF may be used for the purpose of sharing a user’s reduced capability function to reduce signaling between a user and a second base station, during handover.), wherein the REDCAP indication information is usable to indicate to the first network element to determine the first REDCAP information based on the radio capability information (Breuer: [0024-0027] – user’s reduced cabaility information is made available between another base station and a serving (or future serving) base station. See also [0066-0070] – user capability is shared between a serving base station and a neighboring base station in case of handover. This aspect takes place before handover, and one of the network elements that shares capability information is an AMF, replacing a first/serving base station.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the method for determining access to a radio network based on a user’s reduced capabilities of Ohlsson in view of the method of determining access to another radio network based on a user’s reduced capabilities of Breuer to handover between network based on a user’s capabilities for the reasons of reduce signaling between access nodes in order to provide seamless running connections between networks (Breuer: [0069]).
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of Ohlsson and Breuer discloses the method according to claim 7, wherein Ohlsson further discloses the obtaining, by the first network element, second REDCAP information that is subscribed by the terminal apparatus comprises:
sending, by the first network element based on the first REDCAP information, request information to an access and mobility management network element (Ohlsson: [0091-0098] – the gNB forwards a NAS registration request to the AMF. [0117-0124] – corresponds to the AMF (or CN) sending information related to the UE profile to the network node (gNB) including whether or not the UE may have access to the radio technology, or access to particular allowed networks.), wherein the request information is usable for requesting the access and mobility management network element to obtain the second REDCAP information from a unified data management network element (Ohlsson: [0101-0102] – the AMF then retrieves from the UDM a subscriber profile based on (for example) an explicit indication through a flag “RedCap allowed”, whether or not the user device may access the network.); and
receiving, by the first network element, the second REDCAP information from the access and mobility management network element (Ohlsson: [0117-0124] – corresponds to the AMF (or CN) sending information related to the UE profile to the network node (gNB) including whether or not the UE may have access to the radio technology.).
Allowable Subject Matter
12. Claim 13 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
13. Claims 16, 17, and 20 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
14. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
BENJAMIN H. ELLIOTT IV
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2474
/BENJAMIN H ELLIOTT IV/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474 February 9, 2026