Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is not supported by either a asserted utility or a well-established utility. The claim provides for the use of the polyurethane but does not include steps or methods of using or how to use the polyurethane. Claim 18 provides for the use of the polyurethane but, since the claim does not set forth any steps involved in the method/process, it is unclear what method/process applicant is intending to encompass. A claim is indefinite where it merely recites a use without any active, positive steps delimiting how this use is actually practiced.
Claim 18 is also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph. Specifically, because the claimed invention is not supported by either a asserted utility or a well-established utility for the reasons set forth above, one skilled in the art clearly would not know how to use the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-8, 11, 13, 15, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent No. 3,438,916 to Davis.
As to claims 1-2, 4-8, 11, 13, and 15, Davis discloses a millable polyurethane comprising 1757 grams of polyester diol with a molecular weight of 2,000 prepared by the condensation of adipic acid with a 90:10 ratio of ethylene glycol and 1,2-propanediol, 388 (17.2%) grams of tolylene diisocyanate, 98 (4.3%) grams of glycerol allyl ether (diol with MW of 132 g/mol) containing 0.5 grams of 2,2-methylene bis (4-methyl, 6-tertiary butyl phenol) as antioxidant, 1.0 parts of sulfur, 0.5 parts of stearic acid and other additives including other types of activators such as 0.10 to 1.2 parts of chlorinate melamine (Examples, Table I).
As to claim 18, Davis discloses uses of the millable polyurethanes in tires, tubing, wire coatings, thread, footwear, and mechanical goods (1:50-55).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 5,760,158 to Schroeter in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2019/0144735 to Fu et al. and U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2019/0071535 to Poeselt et al.
As to claims 1-14, Schroeter discloses vulcanizable by peroxide and/or sulfur polyurethane rubbers comprising 1.0 mols of a polyester diol having a molecular weight of 1500 to 7,000 g/mol comprising a condensation reaction of adipic acid and 2,-methylpropanediol-1,3 in combination with cyclohexyldimethanol and/or propanediol in a ratio of 70:30 to 30:70, 0.95 to 3.5 mols of diisocyanate such as TDI or MDI (2:30-35) , and 0.3 to 0.5 mols of a diol such as 1,4-butanediol having a molecular weight of 60 to 200 g/mol (Abstract, 2:7-43, Production of the Polymers A-1 to A-5, col. 3).
Schroeter does not expressly disclose the use of antioxidant.
However, within the same field of endeavor Fu discloses millable polyurethanes comprising 0.5 to 5 parts of antioxidant. At the time of filing it would have been obvious to add the antioxidant within the claimed amounts as taught in Fu within the composition of Schroeter to improve stability and increase shelf life (0056).
With regards to the content of sulfur and peroxide, Schroeter in view of Fu teach 1 to 10 parts of peroxide and 0.1 to 10 parts of sulfur (0047, 0051). At the time of filing it would have been obvious to include the curing agents to the composition of Schroeter within the amounts taught in Fu to improve degrees of crosslinking and improve mechanical properties (0048, 0051).
Schroeter does not expressly disclose the use of catalyst.
However, within the same field of endeavor Poeselt discloses crosslinked polyurethanes wherein catalysts such as bismuth carboxylates or dibutyltin dilaurate are added in amounts of 0.0001 to 5% by weight to increase reaction rate (0041, 0042).
At the time of filing it would have been obvious to add the catalyst taught in Poeselt to the composition of Schroeter to strongly accelerate the reaction of urethane polymeric components (0040).
As to claim 15, Schroeter in view of Fu teach additional additives to control hydroytical degradation may be used to modify the compositions for specifically desired environments (Fu, 0057).
As to claims 16-17, Schroeter discloses dehydrating polyester diol comprising a condensation reaction of adipic acid and 2,-methylpropanediol-1,3 in combination with cyclohexyldimethanol and/or propanediol in a ratio of 70:30 to 30:70 and chain extender followed by the addition of diisocyanate and other components to prepare the polyurethane, the products can be molded (See Poselt or Fu) and then milled or vulcanized with sulfur or peroxide using normal rubber temperature, pressures, and times (Production of Test Pieces, Schroter, 0015 and 0059, Poeselt).
As to claim 18, the references disclose suitable uses for the millable polyurethanes.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL L LEONARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763