DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-3, 6, and 8-9 have been amended; support is found in Figures 4-5 and [0032,0034-0039,0041,0048] of the instant specification.
Claims 7 and 11 have been cancelled.
Claims 13-14 have been added, support is found in Figures 4-5 and [0032,0034-0039,0041,0048] of the instant specification. No new matter has been added.
Claims 1-6, 8-10, and 12-14 are currently pending and have been examined on the merits in this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Muroya et al. (US 2020/0212415 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Muroya discloses a battery comprising:
A terminal which comprises a first conductive member, and a second conductive member electrically connected to the first conductive member (Figures 3/4 electroconductive member 14/15 can be read as the first conductive member for the positive electrode and the negative electrode, terminals 9/7 read as the second conductive member); and
A third conductive member that is connected to the terminal (Figures 3-4; current collectors 8/6 are electrically connected to the terminal members), wherein
The second conductive member comprises a crimp part at one of end parts (Figure 3 crimp part of the terminals 7/9), and comprises a positioning part on an outer surface of another one of the end parts (Figures 3-6 protrusion 9d),
The crimp part is crimped to the third conductive member (Figure 3 above; the crimped part is crimped to the third conductive member),
The first conductive member has a through-hole (Figures 3-6, first conductive through hole 15a), and
The positioning part is provided to overlap with the through hole when viewed along a central axis of the through-hole (Figure 3-6; positioning part is provided within the through hole),
The positioning part is entirely disposed within the through-hole (Figures 3-6), and
The positioning part and an inner wall of the through hole do not come into contact with each other (Figures 3-6).
Regarding claim 5, Muroya discloses all the claim limitations of claim 1. Muroya further teaches wherein the positioning part is a protruding part (Figure 3-6; the positioning part protrudes, 9d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muroya et al. (US 2020/0212415 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Muroya discloses a manufacturing method of a battery comprising:
A terminal which comprises a first conductive member, and a second conductive member electrically connected to the first conductive member (Figures 3/4 electroconductive member 14/15 can be read as the first conductive member for the positive electrode and the negative electrode, terminals 9/7 read as the second conductive member), and comprising a third conductive member that is connected to the terminal (Figures 3-4; current collectors 8/6 are electrically connected to the terminal members), wherein
The second conductive member comprises a crimp part at one of end parts (Figure 3 crimp part of the terminals 7/9), and comprises a positioning part on an outer surface of another one of the end parts (Figures 3-6 protrusion 9d), and
The manufacturing method comprises:
Inserting the crimp part into a through hole provided at the third conductive member, crimping the crimp part to the third conductive member under a state of making the positioning part abut (Figure 3 above; [0030] terminal is inserted into the through hole and has the tip crimped to fix the terminal and the electrode collector),
Wherein the first conductive member has a through-hole (Figures 3-6, first conductive through hole 15a), and
The positioning part is provided to overlap with the through hole when viewed along a central axis of the through-hole when viewed along a central axis direction of the through hole of the first conductive member (Figure 3-6; positioning part is provided within the through hole),
The positioning part is entirely disposed within the through-hole (Figures 3-6), and
The positioning part and an inner wall of the through hole do not come into contact with each other (Figures 3-6).
Muroya is explicitly silent with respect to a jig/tool being used in the manufacturing method, however, it would have been obvious in view of a skilled artisan to use a tool/ positioning jig to insert and crimp the second conductive member to the third conductive member as a tool/jig is known to be used to perform the method of construction and thus a skilled art5isan would have found it obvious to use a tool to perform the construction of the battery.
Regarding claim 12, Muroya discloses all the claim limitations of claim 6. Muroya further teaches wherein the positioning part is a protruding part (Figure 3-6; the positioning part protrudes, 9d).
Regarding claim 13, Muroya discloses a battery comprising:
A terminal which comprises a first conductive member, and a second conductive member electrically connected to the first conductive member (Figures 3/4 electroconductive member 14/15 can be read as the first conductive member for the positive electrode and the negative electrode, terminals 9/7 read as the second conductive member); and
A third conductive member that is connected to the terminal (Figures 3-4; current collectors 8/6 are electrically connected to the terminal members), wherein
The second conductive member comprises a crimp part at one of end parts (Figure 3 crimp part of the terminals 7/9), and comprises a positioning part on an outer surface of another one of the end parts (Figures 3-6 protrusion 9d),
The positioning part is a protruding part (Figure 3-6; the positioning part protrudes, 9d),
The crimp part is crimped to the third conductive member (Figure 3 above; the crimped part is crimped to the third conductive member),
The first conductive member has a through-hole (Figures 3-6, first conductive through hole 15a), and
The positioning part is provided to overlap with the through hole when viewed along a central axis of the through-hole (Figure 3-6; positioning part is provided within the through hole).
Muroya discloses wherein the positioning part does not contact the conductive member within the through hole as seen in Figure 3 and appears to have a diameter of the positioning part to be less than 0.8 than the inner diameter of the through hole. Muroya is explicitly silent with respect to the ratio of a diameter of the positioning part to an inner diameter of the through hole is equal to or less than 0.8, however, it would have been obvious in view of a skilled artisan to adjust the size of the protruding part of Muroya to be less than 0.8 the diameter of the through hole as a simple adjustment of size that would yield predictable results and would not change the function of the battery and terminal member. The size of an article is not a matter of invention. See In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
Regarding claim 14, Muroya discloses all the claim limitations of claim 1. Muroya discloses wherein the positioning part does not contact the conductive member within the through hole as seen in Figure 3 and appears to have a diameter of the positioning part to be less than 0.8 than the inner diameter of the through hole. Muroya is explicitly silent with respect to the ratio of a diameter of the positioning part to an inner diameter of the through hole is equal to or less than 0.8, however, it would have been obvious in view of a skilled artisan to adjust the size of the protruding part of Muroya to be less than 0.8 the diameter of the through hole as a simple adjustment of size that would yield predictable results and would not change the function of the battery and terminal member. The size of an article is not a matter of invention. See In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4 and 8-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the dependent claims 2 and 8 are objected to for containing the structure of the first conductive member having a plate shape with a recessed part, a second conductive member having a flange that is electrically connected to the first conductive member, a shaft column part extending downward from a lower end part which is a lower surface of the flange, wherein the flange part has an upper surface, a lower surface opposite the upper surface, a side surface between the upper surface and the lower surface and a narrowed part at which a part of the side surface is narrowed, wherein the flange part of the second conductive member is partially disposed within the recessed part of the first conductive member, and wherein a fastening part is a fit part on which the recessed part of the first conductive member and the narrowed part of the second conductive member are fit.
The prior art fails to teach nor disclose the connection between the first and second conductive members as claimed in dependent claims 2 and 8. Claims 3-4 and 9-10 are objected for depending upon claims 2 and 8.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the amended claims overcome the rejection of record. Examiner notes that the rejection has been updated replacing the primary reference and thus renders the arguments moot.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ADAM J FRANCIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1728